Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore the world of Thirty Flights of Loving through a first-person short story. In this sequel to Gravity Bone, take a deep dive with high-flying schemers, lovelorn criminals, and more stray kittens than you can shake a stick at. Saddle up, gunslinger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    95
    It is so meticulously and lovingly crafted that it makes the traditional linear storytelling method seem drab and extraneous. This is storytelling distilled to its finest form; it is a game that does not waste your time. Moving forward, I will not look at storytelling the same way again.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    You should play this because it's an inventive story with three or four things you've never done in a game before, and because it suggests a future where games don't insult our intelligence with dull plotting, dire exposition, and endless cut-scenes. [Dec 2012, p.75]
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    Thirty Flights of Loving is precisely as long as it needs to be, and contains exactly what it needs to contain. This efficiency makes it a richer experience, not a poorer one, because it insists that the player engage with the story and piece it together himself, rather than sitting back and absorbing an endless train of cinematics.
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    89
    Thirty Flights of Loving is an experimental game which know how tell a story. Blendo Games has created a little masterpiece.
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Thirty Flights of Loving is as refreshing as it is alienating. The series of short scenes take you on a bizarre roller coaster ride, on which you unfortunately have little influence.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Thirty Flights of Loving gets off to a fascinating start before completely throwing any and all expectations you might form during its first few minutes into the wood chipper.
  7. 80
    Thirty Flights bets on and is transcended by, emotion. It’s part of a newly-arrived scene (fronted by the beautiful Dear Esther from Chinese Room) that attempts to blur the lines between gaming and art. You are given the tools to live a story that was written for you. Whether it will win you or not, rests completely upon your actions. [October 2012]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 66
  2. Negative: 33 out of 66
  1. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    It tells a tale so well that it can make you feel in just 30 minutes. The user review section is proving to be just as useless as any other. Please play this game knowing that it is a defiant anti-game that won't give you any great game play. It is here just to show what amazing things can be done with story telling in a first person game. It shows that games shouldn't always be about the grind but should be gripping and something to have a conversation about. Don't play looking for something easy. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    The developer knew the game was going to get bashed on, this game has a very interesting take on transitioning in games, infact I wish more games took this approach. Rather than having a consistent player space where content can indefinitely be admired, the player is trusted threw the narrative with no indication when a transition will happen; creating an interesting flow of player driven direction. Many subtleties will leave your face left with a smile during the developers commentary.

    This game is overlooked, and very short, but that's the point. The developer knew that many players would bash the game while leaving a very passionate niche. The game doesn't waste your time with it's very short completion time, and leaves room for re-playability with it's mind-boggling transitions and subtitles. I hope the developer doesn't read this because I haven't played it enough to completely wrap my mind around the game, but there is much to be desired.

    Thirty Flights of Loving is worth your time and money if you have the ability to differentiate video games from interactive media.
    Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    4
    This is a neat tech demo, as it would be a very good way to tell a story... but the story given is not complete. There's only half a story (and not a good one at then), then it ends after literally 15 minutes.

    I would recommend this if it were free (not as good as Stanley Parable, but still cool), but my god do not pay money for this.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    I'm a proud supporter of indie games. I had some spare money lying around in my Steam wallet and I decided I'd take a gamble and get a couple games. I was not expecting to be "blown-away" by this game, but i was expecting it to be unique, interesting and fun. Most of all I was expecting to be able to enjoyably play it for at least a couple hours worth of time. How wrong and disappointed I was. The story lasts approximately 20 minutes and there is no replayability to it. What makes the medium of art and story telling that is known as "video games" is their ability to let the user interact with the game. The level of interaction introduced in this game is dreadful; Google Earth is more interactive and it's free. I not only spent more time at the beginning just tweaking the graphics, but in the end I also enjoyed setting up my graphics more than the actual game. If you are looking for a good indie game of some sort, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Go buy something like Machinarium or LIMBO. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    1
    The high scores and the low scores are probably divided by the people getting the story and the people who don't get the story. I didn't follow what the story was about. Story telling isn't about graphics but this was too less emphasize on graphics for me. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    This can hardly be called a game, I would not even dare calling it a demo, because also those are longer than this piece of Critic reviews must have been ordered and paid by someone, because a normal gamer just can't evaluate this "game" at more than 0 points. The only thing you can do is to walk and talk to characters. When you get to a point by walking, this sequence ends and you appear on a totally unrelated place, and walk again. This is repeated about 30 times (I did not count), and the game is over. If I knew that beforehand, I would throw the 2 into a bin instead of buying this that would be a better investment. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.