Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    Simple, straightforward and brilliant indie game. Pick it up at a bargain, or even pay full price; it is worth every penny. So well executed - a definite must play for any and everyone.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a new masterpiece of independent development. Essential and creative, brilliant and funny.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    81
    Short, sweet, and entirely too touching for a platform game about bouncy squared narrated by Danny Wallace. [Oct 2012, p.96]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Fiddly bits notwithstanding, Thomas Was Alone is a game crafted with real love and attention. It shines through most prominently in its neurotic set of blocks, a cast so delightful you'd give them a cuddle if they weren't all sharp edges. Mind you, I'm not sure Chris would like that too much. But even that grumpy old square would admit that spending time with Thomas is, actually, a whole lot of fun.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    The understated aesthetic design and unusual co-op puzzles will absorb you for the game's duration – the wit and personality of the writing, though, will stay with you for much longer.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Thomas Was Alone utilizes its diverse characters and varied obstacles to create an engaging platformer.
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable puzzle platformer wrapped in boundless charm. [Jan 2013, p.76]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 3 out of 75
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    What should i say! If you are bored and you are looking for a good game than play TWA. Great story, funny, and i think it is like an addiction! Help me bros can't stop playing Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    I would never have guessed that playing as coloured quadrilaterals in puzzle platformer would be able to have one of the most captivating story lines, interesting varietys of challenges and hilarious group of characters out of the many games I have played.
    Thomas was alone, is an unmissable game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This game's storyline is like a reincarnation of Douglas Adams. I found myself smiling through the whole game. The puzzles are easy to understand and they make you want to keep solving them to get more of the story. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Thomas Was Alone is a simple platformer with some of the best narration I have ever seen in a game. The developers by actually making you care about differently colored rectangles. This game is well worth the money and it's story will not disappoint you.

    The characters are great because of the absolutely fantastic narration, who needs highly rendered humanoids with six-quadrillion polygons, just good story telling and rectangles makes one of the best characters ever in gaming.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    The wit of portal in a puzzle based platformer. Narration is great, you will "Feel" for your little blocky avatars. It is easy to support a game like this especially when upcoming lone developers create it. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    I love this game. It shows that you don't have to have good graphics to make good characters. The narration is excellent and the great story makes you want to keep going on, no matter how many times you die. This game can be a bit frustrating, but it is also very rewarding. This game probably won't take you too long to beat, but you'll be happy the whole way, Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    Thomas Was Alone is not good. I'll give it credit for being pretty to look at and modestly pleasant to listen to. Aside from that it's simply a really poor gaming experience. First of all, it's way, way too easy: I think I was only briefly challenged on maybe 5 levels. That leaves 95 that were a total breeze. Even if a solution to a particular puzzle is obvious you still have to waste time wrangling the imprecise controls and swapping between polygonal "characters" as you move them into position over and over again. Towards the end I even ran into a bug that got one block stuck. I had to restart the whole level and painstakingly move around 10 different blocks step by step into the correct spots.

    The less said about the "story" the better. The volume level of the narrator's voice fades in and out, making him hard to understand. The script's attempts at humanizing a bunch of polygons is laughable and fails miserably. The ending is a complete enigma, and not in a good way.

    In short, skip Thomas Was Alone unless you like games that are short, easy, buggy and generally irritating.
    Expand

See all 75 User Reviews