Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The best graphics, control, A.I., and multiplayer, and the deepest career mode of any golf sim on the planet.
  2. The catalog of user created courses and online flexibility make you consistently want to come back for more.
  3. For pure on-course excitement and graphical wizardry, Tiger Woods 2004 will be awfully hard to beat.
  4. Truly a wonderful golf simulation game, and one that deserves praise for its attention to detail and the staggering amount of features.
  5. It's also an enjoyable game with a huge collection element (there are hundreds of different clothes, shoes, and other accessories that will actually have an effect on your stats), unconventional game modes, and fantasy courses and golfers.
  6. When you combine the new features with a physics model that takes wind into account more than last year, stunningly beautiful visuals, more online options via EASO, and a course architect program, it's hard to fathom how this game can get any better. [Jan 2004, p.60]
  7. A game that will please both hardcore golf-sim addicts & casual gamers. [Dec 2003, p.148]
  8. 90
    There's just a ton of golf to experience here, and I highly recommend Tiger 2004. The online scene is sure to be crawling with activity, too, which is going to extend this replay value significantly.
  9. Ball physics are right on the money, with a mouse-swing that really does capture the "feel" of a measured swing. [Dec 2003, p.134]
  10. This relaxed, arcade-like approach makes for something that's not so much about simulation, but more emulation; letting you thwack the ball with all the verve of an expert, without the worry of any homework. Fun, then, and lots of it. [Nov 2003, p.107]
  11. EA Sports has put considerable effort into improving this franchise by adding more game modes, an intuitive swing mechanism, online play, lifelike graphics, plus more depth, options and customizability. No other golf game is on par.
  12. While there's no doubt that it's a solid golf game that’s engrossing and fun to play, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2004 just doesn't feel like a true sequel.
  13. Imitating a swing with the analogue stick is still as satisfying as ever, and the balance between control and room for error is nigh-on perfect. However, it would have been nice to see a few more changes to keep the experience fresh. [Oct 2003, p.122]
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Seriously. It's freaking golf from 2004. I mean seriously why? Why would anyone play this? Do you remember what 2004 was like? It was awfulSeriously. It's freaking golf from 2004. I mean seriously why? Why would anyone play this? Do you remember what 2004 was like? It was awful Don't buy this game. Full Review »
  2. Anthony
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing with the graphics and Career mode its one of my fravorite games. i give 10/on/10.
  3. KeezaG.
    Apr 22, 2004
    7
    Great game as are all the EA products however when completing a hole, the PC sometimes hangs requiring a reboot. May be my PC but don't Great game as are all the EA products however when completing a hole, the PC sometimes hangs requiring a reboot. May be my PC but don't think so. Perhaps there is a patch out there as there was with 2003. If it's not an game fault, 9/10. I don't like the way the women walk like they have kegs under their arms. Full Review »