Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers PC

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    70
    A puzzle-platformer with innovative gameplay ideas and a charming art direction. Too bad it ends when it's starting to become really interesting.
  3. 70
    Appealing, entertaining and original game will catch and hold you thanks to its specific kind of humor. [Issue#220]
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    70
    A tiny game with some big ideas. [Sept 2012, p.106]
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    An open-ended puzzler whose only real restrictions are how imaginative you're willing to be in wielding its wonderfully bizarre gadgets.
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    Everyone would want a laser slicer that cuts a single column size of the Žižkov Television Tower in half. Grandpa's Leftovers truly puts you a tool like that into your hands. Too bad this original arcade game is terribly short.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    70
    Tiny & Big is at its strongest when it focuses on this semi-freeform puzzling approach.
  8. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    As intriguing and well-crafted as the adventure is, Tiny & Big peters out on a flat note that leaves me wanting more.
  9. Jul 26, 2012
    65
    If Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers was a snack, it would be a delicious one. For just a few bucks you will get some puzzles you can solve with your own vision and creativity. The game isn't very long and after completing the story you won't have much to fall back on.
  10. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Tiny & Big is not an altogether bad game. It's certainly not broken, it has a lot going for it, and on paper it would sound great. But it also serves as a good example as to why publishers can be a good thing. I think that with additional play testing and someone higher up to reign in the focus a little, Tiny & Big could have been another entry into the growing list of awesome "indie" games. As is, it's a game with solid base but one that fails to do anything with it.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    There is nothing on the market that delivers the kind of experience you get from this game. The art and music are memorable and enjoyable. TheThere is nothing on the market that delivers the kind of experience you get from this game. The art and music are memorable and enjoyable. The game play is innovative and unique and the story is, while a bit shallow, enjoyable. The comic style art was flawlessly executed. The game simply looks good. From the open areas bright areas to the enclosed dark ones, the art style never fails to deliver. Visually, the game is wonderful. The soundtracks fit in perfectly with the game. I enjoyed almost every track. The game play is what really grabs you. The slicing, pulling and rocketing is an incredible mechanic that gives you unrivaled flexibility in the game. Since almost everything can be manipulated, it gives new meaning to "the world is your playground". You can choose the paths the developers created for you and drag a block here and cut a block there or have some fun, explore and be creative. This is where the game shines. That being said, one big gripe i have about the game play is the controls. The movement feels very clunky and when you're trying to inch along a narrow beam, you'll frequently accidentally step too far and die. I'd say 80% of my deaths were these kinds. Luckily its no huge deal since the respawns are instant. No load times between deaths, no nothing. Just bam! There you are. And the checkpoints are frequent enough that dying is far from the end of the world. The game does get a little repetitive if you try to play it all in one sitting. If you take this game in pieces, you'll enjoy every bit of it. The story is incredibly simple but gains a surprising amount of depth. It is simply this: You are Tiny, your brother, Big, stole your grandpa's magical underwear (and has decided to wear it on his head) and has gone a bit nuts. You have to get to him and take your underwear back. In the last level, the game actually develops a bit of depth and all the stuff around you starts to have some meaning. It was a surprisingly pleasant discovery. The ending is pretty good too. Not the greatest I've ever seen but good. Overall, for delivering a fun and memorable experience, I give it an 8. 2 points were docked for the minor control issue and the occasional feeling of tedium. Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Bearing in mind I bought this for $2.49 from GOG.com it blew me away.

    I enjoy physics puzzlers, especially when the terrain can be
    Bearing in mind I bought this for $2.49 from GOG.com it blew me away.

    I enjoy physics puzzlers, especially when the terrain can be manipulated in a meaningful way.

    The game screams "INDIE!" but in a good way, from the Central American/Eastern European jazzy music to the graphic novel type graphics. It is irreverent and "different" without trying so hard that it's like watching your dad dance at a disco.

    It has that "one more go" dynamic down to a "T" especially as each block move or cut is unique and you can solve each puzzle in any way the engine allows you to.

    Ultimately the game is fun; the vibe is spot on and I hope the developers get to make a bigger game some time soon. Even at full price I will buy it.

    Oh, it's a kind of 3d 3rd person platformer where you have to make your own platforms and routes by pulling with a rope, pushing with rockets or slicing with a laser. If that doesn't sell it then I bet you wouldn't like sharks with lasers either.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Fracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVERFracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVER 9000!

    The difficulty scales pretty well too :D

    Tiny and Big could use a sandbox mode where you just place WHATEVER you want. That would make the game 10x awesomer :D
    Full Review »