Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    90
    Despite the game's short length, Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers captures the player's curiosity and doesn't let go till its thrilling conclusion.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    85
    Tiny & Big is all that an indie title should be. A game created without bringing out figures with an embarrassing number of zeros, which points to a more artistic direction rather than unmatched obsession for polygon counting.
  3. Aug 12, 2012
    83
    Delightfully drawn and packed with both personality and innovative game ideas, but more tiny than big. [Sept 2012, p.86]
  4. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Authentically strange, and effortlessly entertaining. [Sept 2012, p.56]
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    All in all I loved Tiny and Big. Even though it is a fairly short game story wise, the secrets and sub-objectives add up to what I believe is a suitable asking price of £9.99.
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    The cut, push pull mechanics of this platform work fine and it's a pleasure to stare at how much it is truly nice. Sadly Tiny & Big, if your not an achiviement hunter or secret unlocker, is really short.
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    We've loved Tiny and Big: Granpa's Leftover. It is one of those charming games that lets you smiling, and its mechanics feel fresh and different, as well as its atmosphere. It is a bit short, as it lasts around 3 or 4 hours, but to pick all the collectibles and achievements, it can last for some more hours.
  8. Jul 14, 2012
    80
    Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers is a fabulous, unique gaming experience powered by a fantastic gameplay hook.
  9. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    While it's not every day that emails about "underpant games" make it through my spam filters, I'm particularly glad this one did. It's indie gaming at its finest.
  10. 80
    As a sandbox full of enormous building blocks, that you can cut and position at your own liking, Tiiny & Big leaves a very well-rounded impression.
  11. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Tiny & Big is short; most gamers should finish in under five hours. It's not terribly taxing of your brain or fingers, as the puzzles aren't tough to figure out and action segments have generous checkpoints. It is, however, an excellent way to fill an afternoon or two with a playfully absurd story and godlike power over a heavily physics-modeled world.
  12. Jun 19, 2012
    80
    Black Pants didn't only work on creative physics puzzles, but also implemented a well executed platformer. It's a little short though.
  13. Oct 1, 2012
    75
    Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers is a good, but not great, indie puzzle platformer.
  14. Jul 31, 2012
    75
    It's a pity that the game ends after 3-4 hours. Maybe if it was twice as long its attractive concept would wear out, but I had so much fun I wished it would last longer. [September 2012, p.64]
  15. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Tiny & Big: Granpas Leftovers is a laser-centric mix of puzzle gaming and freedom. You can cut almost everything with a powerful laser and that's really funny. Oddly the game suffers from poor level design and is unable to fulfill its potential.
  16. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think Tiny and Big is a decent little experience. The game play never wears out its welcome, and the presentation is unique. There are some small quips with the game, but for ten dollars, you can get a fun experience with some replay value.
  17. Jul 12, 2012
    75
    Here's hoping that Black Studio is able to make an even more ambitious and outlandish project someday soon. They certainly have proven they are worth it with this charming debut.
  18. Jul 3, 2012
    75
    Platforms, puzzles and a unique style. Alright, Tiny & Big isn't an AAA game and has several errors, but it's funny.
  19. Jun 30, 2012
    75
    Tiny & Big is an action platforming game with a unique style and cool gameplay. The laser is fun to use and the levels are smartly crafted. Unfortunately it doesn't live up to the high standards of games of the same genre like Portal or Phychonauts, since it's just too short and the developers couldn't get the most out of their gimmick.
  20. Jun 22, 2012
    75
    It's the right length to keep from feeling too repetitive, though I'd still have enjoyed it a lot more if the types of tasks I had to do had evolved in ways beyond cut, push, pull, repeat, or if the story had been more heavily implemented.
  21. Jun 25, 2012
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Aug 19, 2012
    70
    A puzzle-platformer with innovative gameplay ideas and a charming art direction. Too bad it ends when it's starting to become really interesting.
  23. 70
    Appealing, entertaining and original game will catch and hold you thanks to its specific kind of humor. [Issue#220]
  24. Aug 8, 2012
    70
    A tiny game with some big ideas. [Sept 2012, p.106]
  25. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    An open-ended puzzler whose only real restrictions are how imaginative you're willing to be in wielding its wonderfully bizarre gadgets.
  26. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    Everyone would want a laser slicer that cuts a single column size of the Žižkov Television Tower in half. Grandpa's Leftovers truly puts you a tool like that into your hands. Too bad this original arcade game is terribly short.
  27. Jun 29, 2012
    70
    Tiny & Big is at its strongest when it focuses on this semi-freeform puzzling approach.
  28. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    As intriguing and well-crafted as the adventure is, Tiny & Big peters out on a flat note that leaves me wanting more.
  29. Jul 26, 2012
    65
    If Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers was a snack, it would be a delicious one. For just a few bucks you will get some puzzles you can solve with your own vision and creativity. The game isn't very long and after completing the story you won't have much to fall back on.
  30. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Tiny & Big is not an altogether bad game. It's certainly not broken, it has a lot going for it, and on paper it would sound great. But it also serves as a good example as to why publishers can be a good thing. I think that with additional play testing and someone higher up to reign in the focus a little, Tiny & Big could have been another entry into the growing list of awesome "indie" games. As is, it's a game with solid base but one that fails to do anything with it.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    There is nothing on the market that delivers the kind of experience you get from this game. The art and music are memorable and enjoyable. The game play is innovative and unique and the story is, while a bit shallow, enjoyable. The comic style art was flawlessly executed. The game simply looks good. From the open areas bright areas to the enclosed dark ones, the art style never fails to deliver. Visually, the game is wonderful. The soundtracks fit in perfectly with the game. I enjoyed almost every track. The game play is what really grabs you. The slicing, pulling and rocketing is an incredible mechanic that gives you unrivaled flexibility in the game. Since almost everything can be manipulated, it gives new meaning to "the world is your playground". You can choose the paths the developers created for you and drag a block here and cut a block there or have some fun, explore and be creative. This is where the game shines. That being said, one big gripe i have about the game play is the controls. The movement feels very clunky and when you're trying to inch along a narrow beam, you'll frequently accidentally step too far and die. I'd say 80% of my deaths were these kinds. Luckily its no huge deal since the respawns are instant. No load times between deaths, no nothing. Just bam! There you are. And the checkpoints are frequent enough that dying is far from the end of the world. The game does get a little repetitive if you try to play it all in one sitting. If you take this game in pieces, you'll enjoy every bit of it. The story is incredibly simple but gains a surprising amount of depth. It is simply this: You are Tiny, your brother, Big, stole your grandpa's magical underwear (and has decided to wear it on his head) and has gone a bit nuts. You have to get to him and take your underwear back. In the last level, the game actually develops a bit of depth and all the stuff around you starts to have some meaning. It was a surprisingly pleasant discovery. The ending is pretty good too. Not the greatest I've ever seen but good. Overall, for delivering a fun and memorable experience, I give it an 8. 2 points were docked for the minor control issue and the occasional feeling of tedium. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    Boring and uninteresting. The graphics are disgusting in this game, i know it's trying to look like a comic, but that doesn't give it an excuse. To try to hide the bad textures, they devs just added tons of black lines to everything which ends up just making it look worse. The game also prides it self on its supposed awesome indie music. I personally couldn't stand listening to any of the tracks provided and found myself deliberately not picking up the music tapes so i could play in peace. On top of this, the story is incoherent and boring. the controls are unintuitive and I'd often find myself doing one thing when i meant to do another. Add this to the strange bug where your character won't walk in a straight line when going up or down an incline, just makes moving around a chore. The worst part of the game however is its camera, which is downright terrible. The character is placed so close to the crosshair, that it's incredibly difficult to see what's going on right in front of you, and this makes certain segments of the game immensely frustrating, especially one of the arcade minigames. Overall, it's not a terrible game, but it's definitely not a good one either. It gets a 4 because at no point in the game did I enjoy myself. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Tiny & Big is a pleasant puzzle/platformer game. The visuals, soundtrack, story and dialog is surprisingly good and i would recommend a playthrough simply because of that and the games cheap price. As for the gameplay its kind of up and down. The psychics works well enough and its fun to cut things up with your laser, but it gets old really quick and the puzzles aren't challenging enough. The platforming do work alright but later in the game when a faulty step can set you back to a checkpoint that you passed a few minutes earlier you start to notice all of the flaws with the platforming. I dont want to sound to critical since i did enjoy my time with the game but there is room for improvement. Its still quite cool to cut up gigantic rocks thrown at you in midair and if you are looking for a short, cheap and interesting game i would absolutely recommend this game. Full Review »