User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 8 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    There is nothing on the market that delivers the kind of experience you get from this game. The art and music are memorable and enjoyable. The game play is innovative and unique and the story is, while a bit shallow, enjoyable. The comic style art was flawlessly executed. The game simply looks good. From the open areas bright areas to the enclosed dark ones, the art style never fails to deliver. Visually, the game is wonderful. The soundtracks fit in perfectly with the game. I enjoyed almost every track. The game play is what really grabs you. The slicing, pulling and rocketing is an incredible mechanic that gives you unrivaled flexibility in the game. Since almost everything can be manipulated, it gives new meaning to "the world is your playground". You can choose the paths the developers created for you and drag a block here and cut a block there or have some fun, explore and be creative. This is where the game shines. That being said, one big gripe i have about the game play is the controls. The movement feels very clunky and when you're trying to inch along a narrow beam, you'll frequently accidentally step too far and die. I'd say 80% of my deaths were these kinds. Luckily its no huge deal since the respawns are instant. No load times between deaths, no nothing. Just bam! There you are. And the checkpoints are frequent enough that dying is far from the end of the world. The game does get a little repetitive if you try to play it all in one sitting. If you take this game in pieces, you'll enjoy every bit of it. The story is incredibly simple but gains a surprising amount of depth. It is simply this: You are Tiny, your brother, Big, stole your grandpa's magical underwear (and has decided to wear it on his head) and has gone a bit nuts. You have to get to him and take your underwear back. In the last level, the game actually develops a bit of depth and all the stuff around you starts to have some meaning. It was a surprisingly pleasant discovery. The ending is pretty good too. Not the greatest I've ever seen but good. Overall, for delivering a fun and memorable experience, I give it an 8. 2 points were docked for the minor control issue and the occasional feeling of tedium. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    This is a unique game with a very good style. To be honest the art sold me this. As a gaming experience it's not as satisfying as I expected it would be. To cut it short, I haven't felt really challenged throughout the game. The puzzles are pretty easy and manipulating the surroundings is getting routine after a while. My other problem was the sloppy camera movement. If you are easily nauseated, avoid this game. I can't play it for more than half an hour at a time, because it makes me dizzy. It would have been nice to see more variety of environments too. All in all it's a good effort but if I were you and I wanted to play this game, I would wait for a price drop. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    Boring and uninteresting. The graphics are disgusting in this game, i know it's trying to look like a comic, but that doesn't give it an excuse. To try to hide the bad textures, they devs just added tons of black lines to everything which ends up just making it look worse. The game also prides it self on its supposed awesome indie music. I personally couldn't stand listening to any of the tracks provided and found myself deliberately not picking up the music tapes so i could play in peace. On top of this, the story is incoherent and boring. the controls are unintuitive and I'd often find myself doing one thing when i meant to do another. Add this to the strange bug where your character won't walk in a straight line when going up or down an incline, just makes moving around a chore. The worst part of the game however is its camera, which is downright terrible. The character is placed so close to the crosshair, that it's incredibly difficult to see what's going on right in front of you, and this makes certain segments of the game immensely frustrating, especially one of the arcade minigames. Overall, it's not a terrible game, but it's definitely not a good one either. It gets a 4 because at no point in the game did I enjoy myself. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    Don't be fooled. It is an action platformer in disguise of a sandbox puzzler. I spend majority of play time jumping, dodging, and aiming than thinking. And it
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Tiny & Big is a pleasant puzzle/platformer game. The visuals, soundtrack, story and dialog is surprisingly good and i would recommend a playthrough simply because of that and the games cheap price. As for the gameplay its kind of up and down. The psychics works well enough and its fun to cut things up with your laser, but it gets old really quick and the puzzles aren't challenging enough. The platforming do work alright but later in the game when a faulty step can set you back to a checkpoint that you passed a few minutes earlier you start to notice all of the flaws with the platforming. I dont want to sound to critical since i did enjoy my time with the game but there is room for improvement. Its still quite cool to cut up gigantic rocks thrown at you in midair and if you are looking for a short, cheap and interesting game i would absolutely recommend this game. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    A refreshing indie title that mixes platformer and puzzle elements. It's fun and unique, but can get boring after a time. Let's hope the devs win enough money to make a richer second part, because they have a lot of talent and great ideas.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    6
    Really interesting arcade game. Cool vibe and funny story. Interesting ideas. It is a pity that the graphics look so poorly and I wish that the game does not have more weapons / opportunities because after a short time, the possibility offered by the game just bored. For this game has some not elaborate and it can sometimes upset. It is a pity that such an idea has not been fully exploited. My Rating - 6/10 Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Fracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVER 9000!

    The difficulty scales pretty well too :D

    Tiny and Big could use a sandbox mode where you just place WHATEVER you want. That would make the game 10x awesomer :D
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    A **** awesome game. I love it as much as super meat boy, but as an adventure-kind-of-type game! but even a little more, because you're chasing the magic underpants. I like it a lot :-)
  10. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    I liked the game, but i found it quite repetetive. The Slice, Push, Pull mechanic gives you some interesting gameplay but perhaps there is more puzzle potential than the developers realised. Again, the radio constantly giving you hints which kills what little difficulty the game has anyway, got on my nerves a lot.

    It passed 2 hours of my time anyway and quite enjoyed it, shame there is
    no replay value to it other than cutting stuff up. Expand
  11. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    Tiny & Big has very different and fresh game mechanics that make for a great gaming experience. I haven't been so pleasantly surprised by a game in a long time. This one is worth checking out.
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    Very funny Indie-Game. Waiting for a continuation.
  13. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    Tiny & Big is an innovative adventure that suffers a bit from lack of polish (small team). You're armed with a lazer that cuts rocks half (and creates ledges for you to use), hook to pull rocks near you and a rocket weapon that let's you shoot a spiked rocket to any surface and then activate it to push it away. Combining these tools you are tasked to get back your grandpas old magical underwear, cutting through levels filled with huge rocks, statues and stairways. If you like the artstyle of Borderlands you will find Tiny & Bigs' sandy temples rather pretty. I must warn though that the controls and camera feel a bit slippery in certain tight moments and you might end up dying "for the wrong reasons". The game is also very short as I completed it in 2 hours. I didn't try to pick all of the collectibles, secrets etc. though, so if you're a completionist the game will offer you much more. Also, Tiny & Big is good enough to fool around after being completed. Expand
  14. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Bearing in mind I bought this for $2.49 from GOG.com it blew me away.

    I enjoy physics puzzlers, especially when the terrain can be manipulated in a meaningful way.

    The game screams "INDIE!" but in a good way, from the Central American/Eastern European jazzy music to the graphic novel type graphics. It is irreverent and "different" without trying so hard that it's like watching your
    dad dance at a disco.

    It has that "one more go" dynamic down to a "T" especially as each block move or cut is unique and you can solve each puzzle in any way the engine allows you to.

    Ultimately the game is fun; the vibe is spot on and I hope the developers get to make a bigger game some time soon. Even at full price I will buy it.

    Oh, it's a kind of 3d 3rd person platformer where you have to make your own platforms and routes by pulling with a rope, pushing with rockets or slicing with a laser. If that doesn't sell it then I bet you wouldn't like sharks with lasers either.
    Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    This game is like any other 3d puzzle platformer with all the fun sucked right out of it. The graphics are pretty cool, but that's not what most people play games for. The puzzles are repetitive and dull, and don't ever seem to use Tiny's arsenal to its full extent. The controls are awkward and almost broken, and it is riddled with glitches. I was bored most of the time.
  16. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game, but feels a bit more like a tech demo than an actual game. The way you can cut pretty much any piece of the level is really fun for a while, and can help you come up with outside-the-box-solutions to puzzles. It's short enough to stay interesting to the end.

    The other ways to manipulate stuff the rocket and the hook feel somewhat less pleasant. The way Tiny takes the
    device off his back every time you use it gets somewhat annoying. The other thing I didn't like was the art style, but that's a personal preference. Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    I really, really wanted this game to be good, I waited so long for it to come out, and what do I end up with? A broken platformer with 3 hours of gameplay. 1 1/2 hours will be falling off the same platform because the running and jumping is so broken it feels like you're controlling a brick.
  18. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Very underrated and very fun game, great design, great soundtrack, great gameplay, any fan of 3D platformers will really enjoy their time with this game. One drawback though from making this game a 10 out of 10 would be how short the game is, to finish the game without getting all the collectables will take about only 4hours of gameplay. But a very fun 4hours, I’d also recommend picking up the soundtrack too if you’re into indi bands. 8/10 Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Joeberto's Short Review:

    - Great and innovative platform-game

    - Nice arts, and funny 3D graphic, it remembers Psychonauts

    - Too short! I mean.. 2 hours of gameplay.. seriously??
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    75
    Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers is a good, but not great, indie puzzle platformer.
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Authentically strange, and effortlessly entertaining. [Sept 2012, p.56]
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Tiny & Big is not an altogether bad game. It's certainly not broken, it has a lot going for it, and on paper it would sound great. But it also serves as a good example as to why publishers can be a good thing. I think that with additional play testing and someone higher up to reign in the focus a little, Tiny & Big could have been another entry into the growing list of awesome "indie" games. As is, it's a game with solid base but one that fails to do anything with it.