Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tiny & Big, a comic styled jump and slice platformer, gives you the unique ability to shape a whole world at your will! You are Tiny, a nerdy inventor who tries to reclaim his most beloved possession: Grandpa's white, fine rib underpants! On his journey through a forsaken desert he willTiny & Big, a comic styled jump and slice platformer, gives you the unique ability to shape a whole world at your will! You are Tiny, a nerdy inventor who tries to reclaim his most beloved possession: Grandpa's white, fine rib underpants! On his journey through a forsaken desert he will meet mysterious creatures, no clowns, a taxi robot and his arch enemy: Big! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    90
    Despite the game's short length, Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers captures the player's curiosity and doesn't let go till its thrilling conclusion.
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    We've loved Tiny and Big: Granpa's Leftover. It is one of those charming games that lets you smiling, and its mechanics feel fresh and different, as well as its atmosphere. It is a bit short, as it lasts around 3 or 4 hours, but to pick all the collectibles and achievements, it can last for some more hours.
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Authentically strange, and effortlessly entertaining. [Sept 2012, p.56]
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    75
    Tiny & Big is an action platforming game with a unique style and cool gameplay. The laser is fun to use and the levels are smartly crafted. Unfortunately it doesn't live up to the high standards of games of the same genre like Portal or Phychonauts, since it's just too short and the developers couldn't get the most out of their gimmick.
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think Tiny and Big is a decent little experience. The game play never wears out its welcome, and the presentation is unique. There are some small quips with the game, but for ten dollars, you can get a fun experience with some replay value.
  6. Aug 19, 2012
    70
    A puzzle-platformer with innovative gameplay ideas and a charming art direction. Too bad it ends when it's starting to become really interesting.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Tiny & Big is not an altogether bad game. It's certainly not broken, it has a lot going for it, and on paper it would sound great. But it also serves as a good example as to why publishers can be a good thing. I think that with additional play testing and someone higher up to reign in the focus a little, Tiny & Big could have been another entry into the growing list of awesome "indie" games. As is, it's a game with solid base but one that fails to do anything with it.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Fracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVERFracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVER 9000!

    The difficulty scales pretty well too :D

    Tiny and Big could use a sandbox mode where you just place WHATEVER you want. That would make the game 10x awesomer :D
    Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    Tiny & Big has very different and fresh game mechanics that make for a great gaming experience. I haven't been so pleasantly surprised by aTiny & Big has very different and fresh game mechanics that make for a great gaming experience. I haven't been so pleasantly surprised by a game in a long time. This one is worth checking out. Collapse
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    Grandpa's Leftovers is short, sweet, and has a novel game mechanic that actually works. Most people will get less than a day of play timeGrandpa's Leftovers is short, sweet, and has a novel game mechanic that actually works. Most people will get less than a day of play time from this game. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    'Tiny & Big' is a wonderfully original platformer, despite the fact that it takes more time to cook a Thanksgiving turkey than it does to'Tiny & Big' is a wonderfully original platformer, despite the fact that it takes more time to cook a Thanksgiving turkey than it does to complete the game. Yes, this game is very short and can be beaten in just a few hours. But should that take away from the overall experience? No! The price maybe...actually definitely the price, but certainly not the experience. The artistic style is simple, beautiful and gives off a nice 'Playstation 2 in High Definition' feel to it, and the soundtrack is very reminiscent of 'LittleBigPlanet'; two of the most refreshing aspects of the game. And I don't know about you, but I needs me some good songs when I be platforming.

    The idea of finding songs is also a great way of encouraging exploration; something most newer games still don't get right. There is no voice acting, only grunts and groans like in the early 'LEGO' games, but this only adds to the overall retro feel of the game. And the whole 'cut-anything-you-want-to-get-to-where-you-need-to-go' thing also reminded me of the original 'Red Faction' game; which is a very good thing. So overall, for a game where you search for lost pants, it's definitely worth playing through, if only once. Fans of older platformers will definitely appreciate this one as well as there are several aspects from games long forgotten.
    Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2014
    6
    It's a fun little 3D platform game, but it gets old quite fast, even though it's already short. The physics part looked like it had some greatIt's a fun little 3D platform game, but it gets old quite fast, even though it's already short. The physics part looked like it had some great possibilities, but didn't end up to be what it could've been. There isn't much variation in the puzzles (if you could call them puzzles). Sometimes you need to play parts over a few times just to get a laser-cut exactly right, otherwise something you're creating (say a bridge) doesn't drop perfect, falls down and is gone for good, leaving you stuck. Worst part of that is that if you've collected some collectibles and need to reload a checkpoint, you need to grab those again too.

    On a whole it seems well put together though, but I've played demos that kept me entertained longer than this.

    Get it when it's on sale, the full price is a bit much for this game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Tiny & Big is a pleasant puzzle/platformer game. The visuals, soundtrack, story and dialog is surprisingly good and i would recommend aTiny & Big is a pleasant puzzle/platformer game. The visuals, soundtrack, story and dialog is surprisingly good and i would recommend a playthrough simply because of that and the games cheap price. As for the gameplay its kind of up and down. The psychics works well enough and its fun to cut things up with your laser, but it gets old really quick and the puzzles aren't challenging enough. The platforming do work alright but later in the game when a faulty step can set you back to a checkpoint that you passed a few minutes earlier you start to notice all of the flaws with the platforming. I dont want to sound to critical since i did enjoy my time with the game but there is room for improvement. Its still quite cool to cut up gigantic rocks thrown at you in midair and if you are looking for a short, cheap and interesting game i would absolutely recommend this game. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    This game is like any other 3d puzzle platformer with all the fun sucked right out of it. The graphics are pretty cool, but that's not whatThis game is like any other 3d puzzle platformer with all the fun sucked right out of it. The graphics are pretty cool, but that's not what most people play games for. The puzzles are repetitive and dull, and don't ever seem to use Tiny's arsenal to its full extent. The controls are awkward and almost broken, and it is riddled with glitches. I was bored most of the time. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews