Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tiny & Big, a comic styled jump and slice platformer, gives you the unique ability to shape a whole world at your will! You are Tiny, a nerdy inventor who tries to reclaim his most beloved possession: Grandpa's white, fine rib underpants! On his journey through a forsaken desert he will meet mysterious creatures, no clowns, a taxi robot and his arch enemy: Big! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    90
    Despite the game's short length, Tiny and Big: Grandpa's Leftovers captures the player's curiosity and doesn't let go till its thrilling conclusion.
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    We've loved Tiny and Big: Granpa's Leftover. It is one of those charming games that lets you smiling, and its mechanics feel fresh and different, as well as its atmosphere. It is a bit short, as it lasts around 3 or 4 hours, but to pick all the collectibles and achievements, it can last for some more hours.
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Authentically strange, and effortlessly entertaining. [Sept 2012, p.56]
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    75
    Tiny & Big is an action platforming game with a unique style and cool gameplay. The laser is fun to use and the levels are smartly crafted. Unfortunately it doesn't live up to the high standards of games of the same genre like Portal or Phychonauts, since it's just too short and the developers couldn't get the most out of their gimmick.
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Overall, I think Tiny and Big is a decent little experience. The game play never wears out its welcome, and the presentation is unique. There are some small quips with the game, but for ten dollars, you can get a fun experience with some replay value.
  6. Aug 19, 2012
    70
    A puzzle-platformer with innovative gameplay ideas and a charming art direction. Too bad it ends when it's starting to become really interesting.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Tiny & Big is not an altogether bad game. It's certainly not broken, it has a lot going for it, and on paper it would sound great. But it also serves as a good example as to why publishers can be a good thing. I think that with additional play testing and someone higher up to reign in the focus a little, Tiny & Big could have been another entry into the growing list of awesome "indie" games. As is, it's a game with solid base but one that fails to do anything with it.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Fracking awesome game. One of the most inventive I've ever played. The pure fun you can have by just destroying the terrain is just.... OVER 9000!

    The difficulty scales pretty well too :D

    Tiny and Big could use a sandbox mode where you just place WHATEVER you want. That would make the game 10x awesomer :D
    Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Bearing in mind I bought this for $2.49 from GOG.com it blew me away.

    I enjoy physics puzzlers, especially when the terrain can be
    manipulated in a meaningful way.

    The game screams "INDIE!" but in a good way, from the Central American/Eastern European jazzy music to the graphic novel type graphics. It is irreverent and "different" without trying so hard that it's like watching your dad dance at a disco.

    It has that "one more go" dynamic down to a "T" especially as each block move or cut is unique and you can solve each puzzle in any way the engine allows you to.

    Ultimately the game is fun; the vibe is spot on and I hope the developers get to make a bigger game some time soon. Even at full price I will buy it.

    Oh, it's a kind of 3d 3rd person platformer where you have to make your own platforms and routes by pulling with a rope, pushing with rockets or slicing with a laser. If that doesn't sell it then I bet you wouldn't like sharks with lasers either.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    There is nothing on the market that delivers the kind of experience you get from this game. The art and music are memorable and enjoyable. The game play is innovative and unique and the story is, while a bit shallow, enjoyable. The comic style art was flawlessly executed. The game simply looks good. From the open areas bright areas to the enclosed dark ones, the art style never fails to deliver. Visually, the game is wonderful. The soundtracks fit in perfectly with the game. I enjoyed almost every track. The game play is what really grabs you. The slicing, pulling and rocketing is an incredible mechanic that gives you unrivaled flexibility in the game. Since almost everything can be manipulated, it gives new meaning to "the world is your playground". You can choose the paths the developers created for you and drag a block here and cut a block there or have some fun, explore and be creative. This is where the game shines. That being said, one big gripe i have about the game play is the controls. The movement feels very clunky and when you're trying to inch along a narrow beam, you'll frequently accidentally step too far and die. I'd say 80% of my deaths were these kinds. Luckily its no huge deal since the respawns are instant. No load times between deaths, no nothing. Just bam! There you are. And the checkpoints are frequent enough that dying is far from the end of the world. The game does get a little repetitive if you try to play it all in one sitting. If you take this game in pieces, you'll enjoy every bit of it. The story is incredibly simple but gains a surprising amount of depth. It is simply this: You are Tiny, your brother, Big, stole your grandpa's magical underwear (and has decided to wear it on his head) and has gone a bit nuts. You have to get to him and take your underwear back. In the last level, the game actually develops a bit of depth and all the stuff around you starts to have some meaning. It was a surprisingly pleasant discovery. The ending is pretty good too. Not the greatest I've ever seen but good. Overall, for delivering a fun and memorable experience, I give it an 8. 2 points were docked for the minor control issue and the occasional feeling of tedium. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    Very funny Indie-Game. Waiting for a continuation.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    Don't be fooled. It is an action platformer in disguise of a sandbox puzzler. I spend majority of play time jumping, dodging, and aiming than thinking. And it Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Joeberto's Short Review: - Great and innovative platform-game - Nice arts, and funny 3D graphic, it remembers Psychonauts - Too short! I mean.. 2 hours of gameplay.. seriously?? Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    This game is like any other 3d puzzle platformer with all the fun sucked right out of it. The graphics are pretty cool, but that's not what most people play games for. The puzzles are repetitive and dull, and don't ever seem to use Tiny's arsenal to its full extent. The controls are awkward and almost broken, and it is riddled with glitches. I was bored most of the time. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews