• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 5, 2007
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    Complete requisite for TQ, improves the game 100%. New features, items, shops, options, and a new land that will truly challenge you. Honestly, the new map is nearly too difficult. Other than that, there's nothing really negative here for fans of ARPG. This expansion puts it clearly marks above Diablo 2. The developers are coming back with an independently published game set to improve everything about TQ, which I feel will be better than activision's cash-in on Diablo. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    Ah, the beautiful expansion to an already amazing game. Titan Quest is great, but it pales in comparison to Titan Quest: Immortal Throne. Now on top of the original three acts (Greece, Egypt and Orient) you have another act, and it's the longest one too, and also the most atmospheric and challenging. Act 4 takes the player into the Underworld, the realm of Hades himself. The original game featured a good soundtrack, but a lot of the time those played during key parts of the game. Now however even the ordinary areas are filled with beautiful music. The NPCs now are more animated, they actually call out to you when they see you. The AI of the monsters has been improved from the original - the archers for example now will tend to run away from you once you damage them.

    Immortal Throne also introduces a new mastery to the game, now giving 9 masteries, and hence 45 different character classes! As well as a new act and a mastery, many other elements are added too, such as a whole arsenal of new weapons and armor, and also the ability to reclaim some of the lost experience points upon dying. I'll admit, Titan Quest and Immortal Throne aren't for everyone. However for fans of adventure RPG games this game is more than satisfactory. If you like swords and magic, as well as ancient mythology, there is no excuse to pass this game. Just remember to buy and install the original first and then switch to Immortal Throne (IT still contains everything the original had, so there is no reason to go back to the original EVER). Though many bugs have been fixed since the original, there are still a handful present. But those have been fixed by a fanpatch 1.17.
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2011
    9
    This is THE best hack and slash game since Diablo II. This game is a pure DII clone, but of highest quality and with beautiful graphics. The possibility of mixing so called masteries offers totally 45 possible combinations! Collect item, make a perfec build, improve your gear by collectim artifacts and relics. Classic stuff - nothing fancy but exactly what one may expect form this kind of game. Also there are some very interesting mods available! Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Titan Quest: Immortal Throne is easily the best action/rpg ever made. It has amazing graphics,sounds,environments,story and offers insane amounts of customization. You can combine classes and skilltrees as you like. Also the developers made cool editor that allows you to create your own worlds and mods. I highly recommend this game to everyone, even those who have not played this types of games before. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Generally awesome. The graphic is fascinating. The buildings and stuff are amazing (especially babylon and great wall). The skill system is also very convenient. Some people don't like it. But i like it because it is simply easier to manage your skill points and control your skills in battles. First, the mastery system gives a lot more freedom than Diablo 2 skill system because you can combine different sets of skill as you wish. I chose warrior and earth mastery thus battlemage. Another great thing about skill system is that you dont have a lot of active skills which makes choice very difficult. There are a lot of passive skills for you to enhance your active skills which will be used in battle by chance.

    in terms of the armors and weapons, the diversity is amazing (different styles of weapons according to different culture). It is a great game that is underestimated.
    Expand
  6. May 27, 2013
    9
    Probably my absolute all time favourite ARPG, the graphics were way ahead of their time and still hold up remarkably well today, graphics aren't everything but the game looks pretty damn fine. The classes are plentiful and extremely varied in terms of playstyle and there is something to suit most tastes, whether it be the typical 'tank, DPS or healing' roles, there is also some rather unique ones, such as the spirit class which combines summoning undead with life sapping and spiritual buffs. I also love the fact the game lets you pick dual classes after a certain level which adds a new layer of depth most ARPG's don't attain. The combat and abilities feel satisfying, and the ragdoll makes for some hilarious deaths. The expansion also adds additional story and a new class. My only gripe with the game is its lack of variety the story and side quests are always the same and there are no random areas, making multiple playthroughs a chore as you never see anything you haven't seen before. This aside it is an almost perfect ARPG and the dev's next game Grim Dawn, is looking equally as fantastic. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Immortal Throne is a necessity, if you intend on playing Titan Quest. As soon as the new act begins, you will notice that your enemies are much tougher here. The addition of caravans, artifacts, and enchanters make this expansion a must-have. There is also a new skills mastery that was added, which in turn adds eight new playable character classes. All in all, Immortal Throne completes Titan Quest in all fathomable ways. The new hero monsters and bosses are also more difficult, and a few of them even boasts creepy voice actors. There are a couple long-winded quests that were added, as well as a frustrating one. If this is the intended difficulty on the Normal level, I have no interest in playing in the more difficult settings. The difficulty can be quite overwhelming at times. Especially with the ill-conceived save system, forcing one to only use rebirth fountains. In the end, Immortal Throne should be considered part of Titan Quest, and not a mere expansion. It truly brings finality to the story, and leaves you with a sense of accomplishment. The end credits music did not fit the setting of the game at all, as it was a bad Metal song. It took me about 18 hours to complete. Expand
  8. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Generally speaking, this game doesn't take a lot of risks. It's clearly cut from the same cloth as Diablo 2, quite intentionally. Despite that, there's really something enjoyable here that makes it rise above its predecessors. Maybe it's the sense of open world that provides a feeeling of exploration. Maybe it's the parade of small towns and a sense of a real place deriving from its real-world setting. I can't really put my finger on it, but it engages me in a way that the original did not. The skill trees also seem simulataneously a bit more deep, and yet without so many useless skills as the original.

    I haven't played past the initial campaign, so I'm not sure if it will have the same staying power -- diablo 2 was heavy on randomization and this is not -- but for a first playthrough it seems the superior experience.
    Expand
  9. May 19, 2012
    9
    Wonderful game with lots of nice touches. The Graphics and art direction is breathtaking. The music and soundeffects fits well. An enormous amount of enemies makes it very diverse and there is always something new to see. The skillsystem is masterfully made and a huge number of different and FUN builds are possible. This game is a real gem that really shows the passion of the developers. Immortal Throne is probably one of the best, if not the best expansion to any game. It really makes a huge difference to an already very good game. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Hey, it's more TQ! TQ was already amazing, so now add in a high quality expansion. It's rare to see expansion of this quality lately, as this was really well done. Awesome, awesome game.
  11. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    DIablo3? Nah Titan Quest and its expansion are years ahead in terms of playability and atmosphere. It grabs you and won't let go. The setting moves underground after teh sunshine of the original game (well a lot of underground) and the difficulty ratchets up 20%. The extras, secrets well it's smooth as silk, plays like a game like this should play. I look up and another 90 minutes has gone by and I still don't want to stop. Played this game through twice before and will likely still be playing it in another 7 years Expand
  12. May 30, 2013
    8
    Well, i started to play the Original Titan Quest, which seemed a little unfinished in terms of development. Luckily, not having progressed too far there, i read on some forums that Immortal Throne is not a continuation but really an expansion of the original, so you can start and play from the original Quest BUT with tons of improvement. If you bought Golden Edition play Immortal Throne and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Very nice game, probably the closest to Diablo 1 and Diabloe 2 that i have played. Enjoying it thoroughly. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    This is a top notch "Diablo" style game, though you can play through it rather quickly breezing through the levels pointing and clicking your way out of danger and engaging in constant flows of quick heals you won't want to. At least any fan of this genre won't want to for this game has so much to offer even within its linear map level concepts the character creation is among the most diverse out there and the weapons range from junk to elite. Though i wished that it was more true to actual mythology and it falls short a bit in the story department i still can't bring myself to give it an 8. Great game! Expand
  14. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    After the failure of d3, i bought Titan Quest Gold on steam, 2,5 Euros, that was the best investment ever made, the quality/fun/price ration is just awsome ^^

    This game offer everything d3 failed at, tons of cool loot, even at low level you will find some nice gear to make you feel powerful, unlike in d3 where i spent countless hours, went through normal, nightmare, and half of hell and
    had no item better than magical...

    Nice monster variety, what you see a mob is wearing will drop! this is one of the best features ever, not only a skeleton wearing armor is harder to kill, but once you kill it, that armor you saw on him will drop! No more boars without livers, or murloc without heads or full plate armor dropping of a squirel...

    There are 9 masteries, you create a class by picking up 2 of the masteries, that gives a big number of classes, tons of skill to be configured in the skill trees, you get to allocate stats points yourself so you can devise some crazy builds, which can't be done in d3...

    No online drm...cheap...looks nice, great sounds, decent story, addictive and fun.
    Expand
  15. Jan 25, 2012
    0
    The game is alot worse then Diablo and it is waaaaay too expensive. No value for your money what so ever. Wait for Diablo 3 instead! You really dont want to play all the characters and the game itself is really really boring. Stay away from this crapfest
  16. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    TQIT is one of my absolute favourite games! All I have are memories of countless ours of good ol' fashin fun, I mixed fire and earth together for one helluva smashing combo... sent enemies flying everywhere! Never got old, I just couldn't help hunting down better and more rare items as I tore through my enemies. TQIT brings an additional act and mastery. The new act is totally worth it, really atmospheric and draws you deeper into the mythical universe. It's better than D3, trust me! Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the top three games I have played this decade. The added content for Immortal Throne was awesome. The upper levels get really tough (unless you get one of the piercing weapons) but it was just so much fun relieving stress hacking and slashing my way through mythological monsters with some buddies. And the secret area was incredible too! Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    New locations, more exp levels, more gear and equipment types, and a new skill tree round out a solid expansion. After finishing the original campaign you can go right into the expansion so there's pretty much no downside to playing this. Titan Quest Gold comes bundled with this and is a great deal on Steam. Worth picking up for any Action RPG fans and plays even better with friends.
  19. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    Everything about this game is perfect. It's beautiful, even 7 years after it came out. Many other RPG's don't look as good and only now they're starting to look better (Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3) The expansion made the gameplay go from really engrossing to insanely, awesomely engrossing! I played this game for nearly 200 hours and made a few high level characters, which I've never really done with any other similar RPG (Diablo series and Torchlight series). The Audio is also fantastic, especially the song in the Secret Passage. It's definitely the best RPG I've ever played. Every RPG I play I benchmark against this game. I'm playing Diablo 3 now and if it doesn't get better soon I'm gonna do another TQIT runthrough and even if it does get better I'm still going to do another TQIT runthrough! Expand
  20. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This expansion is to Titan Quest what Lord of Destruction was to Diablo 2. Absolutely awesome, to the extent that going back to vanilla Titan Quest feels awful. Overall, a fantastic expansion for a fantastic game.
  21. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Any fan of the Diablo series should try this game. Still beautiful now and if you have an interest in Greek/Eastern mythology this game is pretty much a downloadable orgasm.
  22. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Awesome game and expansion. Titan Quest even in its basic form is a fun ARPG with diverse classes, tons of enemies, a good story (albeit a simple one) and a bunch of content to keep you going. It also keeps leveling balanced, has mostly equalized abilities (some are plain OP or somewhat useless), and overall is a game that can be played many times over. If you like RPGs, get Titan Quest: Immortal Throne. Expand
  23. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Diablo clone ever. TQ grabs the good ideas from Blizzard game, mix them with their's and present it to us. Furs hack&slash RPG I'v replayed more tha 2 times in years.RPG Nice! Expand
  24. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This expansion further improves on an already winning formula. The added areas give an added challenge, and the new items, shareable storage, and the Dream mastery give so much more to the original game. This expansion is a must have if you have TQ or are thinking of buying it. It gives the game the finishing touches it needed, and gave so much more depth to a great game.
  25. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    It plays very much like Diablo and Torchlight. It is set in Greece (to begin with) and is themed around the era of Titans, Gods and the like. The setting is spot on, the graphics are surprisingly good and the game itself is a pleasure to play.

    You have a multitude of options to go with on your character. You get 9 "masteries" to choose from, however, at level 8 you get to add an
    additional mastery if you want, further customising your character. This means a total of 81 class combinations, not to mention all the hundreds of skills to choose from, or attributes to assign.

    It also comes with multiplayer and a level editor, breathing yet more life into what looks like a large game.

    So, what's not to like? Erm, I really am struggling on this one. No random levels? That's all I can come up with.

    This game is a solid action-RPG that I would recommend to anyone interested in the genre.

    Jimbo Rating: 8/10
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 90
    Immortal Throne continues Titan Quest's winning blend of killing, shopping, and strategic decision-making. It's a textbook case of a great expansion.
  2. There is definitely a case that some of the structural improvements and additions should have found inclusion in the original title, but all of them are well thought-out and implemented, adding longevity and replay value to an already deep title.
  3. With hundreds of great new items, some simple but effective new features, and a dozen hours or more of gameplay (which multiplies with the new difficulty levels), any fan of the game will likely find this to be a worthy addition.