• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. If you love RPGs, then this title is a must have for any PC gamer. With the right hardware, it offers better graphics than any game in its genre to date, with a really nice set of monsters that will sometimes scare you right off your mouse.
  2. An addictive, beautiful, well-designed game that is easily at the top of its genre.
  3. And heaven forbid you tire of repetitive creature-clobbering - take your game online and swap in up to six players, then keep on playing solo after they've left, or bring them back again later. Come on... how cool is that?
  4. When it comes to Diablo clones, I’ve played them all; Sacred, Harbinger, Blade & Sword, Dungeon Siege, and Space Hack. I’ve also loved each and every one of them for reasons unique to each. Titan Quest is easily the best of the lot, simply for doing everything this type of game requires and doing it better than all of its contemporaries.
  5. 90
    Titan Quest is a godsend. It has been a while since we’ve played a quality action RPG, and Titan Quest fulfills our expectations perfectly. The game is deep, the combat is enjoyable, the game looks superb and there’s just so much to do. While the game borrows a few gameplay elements from Diablo II, Titan Quest does enough to feel fresh and offers enough variety to ensure that newcomers and fans of the genre will enjoy the experience.
  6. One of those rare games where the ratio of time spent to the cost of the game makes for some of the most efficient entertainment this side of "Oblivion" or "Civilization IV."
  7. A solid approach to the Diablo formula. The game gives you a lot of flexibility with regards to your character, it lets you play online if you want, and you can create your own maps and quests. Add to this a stellar presentation and it’s hard to fault the game.
  8. While Titan Quest definitely scores points for presentation, stunning visuals, and powerful sound and music, there is just too many gameplay oddities lurking below the surface to make this a solid recommendation.
  9. A "Diablo" clone done right! With excellent balance, cooperative multiplayer, addictive loot gathering, and a great graphical presentation, it is easy to overlook the few flaws within the game.
  10. Bottom line, if you care for your mouse and have no desire to kill thousands upon thousands of monsters, you can safely skip this one, but if you’re a fan of the hack and slash genre you certainly won’t regret the time spent in Titan Quest.
  11. Probably the best or at least the most entertaining "Diablo" clone out there at the moment. While Titan Quest looks great, it does not quite reach the sophistication and richness of Diablo II. The multiplayer mode could have used a lot more work. [Sept 2006]
  12. Due to some critical flaws in the multiplayer mode, Titan Quest winds up being a blast for you and your trusted friends for at least a couple weeks if not more, but it just won't go any further than that without Iron Lore doing some serious work on the online play.
  13. 85
    While Iron lore deserve kudos for the much-needed tweaks, it's a shame they didn't take more ambitious chances and really push the formula to new heights. On the plus side, if you liked "Diablo II" or "Dungeon Siege II," you're sure to love Titan Quest. It is, after all, almost precisely the same game.
  14. I honestly would have thought that this game would have become boring long before now. I mean, I have a combat technique that I used on 99% of the monsters that I come across, and all I’m really doing is walking around left clicking on everything ad infinitum. And yet the monster variation, the pretty scenery, the plethora of items, the character skills, the hope of finding better loot are all keeping it going for me.
  15. Titan Quest doesn't do much more than "Diablo II" did to innovate in the action RPG space, but it's still a hell of a good time. [Sep 2006, p.70]
  16. A solid game, it will not knock "Diablo 2" off the thrown of greatest Hack ‘n Slash ever, but it definitely made a good showing for itself.
  17. Failing a rejection of the entire mindset that Tita Quest caters to, however, many good times can be easily found in this land of mytholigical wonder and fat loots. [Aug 2006, p.89]
  18. Overall Titan Quest is definitely recommendable to those looking for the simple pleasure of slaying thousands of monsters with their mouse. In depth and complex it is not, but it still can be fun and addicting in its own right.
  19. 81
    I think it looks impressive and offers a ton of content, and there are certainly worse games with which to spend your summer days (and there are worse games coming out of new development houses).
  20. A beautiful ancient-myth-set "Diablo" clone with nothing to be ashamed of. [Aug 2006, p.102]
  21. This is a pure action RPG with huge production values, great visuals and a fairly diverting levelling system. It doesn't rewrite the rules of the genre because it isn't supposed to.
  22. Any "Diablo" fan should lap the game up. It's a detailed, entertaining and long-lasting adventure with plenty to do and see.
  23. Some niggles with the inventory system are a little grating, but it's easy to forgive a few slight oversights when the game as a whole is so well put together.
  24. Familiar and effective controls. [Aug 2006, p.73]
  25. If you loved the Diablo series, get Titan Quest it’s a simple as that. Newcomers really do have the most to gain though; Titan Quest has taken the best of the genre and polished it up for the 21’st century.
  26. As addictive as the gameplay can become, the comprehensive (albeit complicated) modding software is sure to trigger compulsion in the more creative players.
  27. 80
    Can something be entirely derivative and almost great? Why not! Titan Quest does for action-RPGs what "Serious Sam" did for shooters and offers something enjoyable to mouse-poke-poke-poke until Blizzard gets off its collective derriere and dishes up a proper sequel.
  28. An amazing game. It has an extremely fun adventure, filled with insane beasts and exciting battles. The gear, the classes, and the many combinations of each bring hours of joy.
  29. The combat segment of the action RPG experience is spectacular, the game looks beautiful and it offers an epic journey through a massive single-player campaign. Still, I must admit that my interest in it kept waning as time went on.
  30. The game is addicting to me personally, and the hack-and-slash style is something I’ve always enjoyed going back to Diablo days. If that type of style appeals to you, then get this game.
  31. A good looking game with a great setting and some original monsters that is linear, repetitive, and easy to exploit. And that is the long answer.
  32. Boasting over 30 hours of play time, multiple difficulty levels and an online component, Titan Quest offers enough gameplay content to make it worth a look.
  33. If you like a hack and slash game in the style of "Diablo," then you’ll definitely enjoy Titan Quest. If, on the other hand, you’re looking for a true role-playing experience in which bashing things with a sword, spear, axe, bow, or some other weapon isn’t the only way to achieve your goal, you’re probably better off playing "Oblivion" or waiting for "Neverwinter Nights II."
  34. With its lengthy single-player campaign, well-integrated multiplayer, and full-featured level editor, Titan Quest is a robust package that nonetheless feels all too familiar.
  35. The depth offered in Titan Quest is great, but when the beasts get harder and the rewards stay the same, you've got to ask if you're getting a raw deal. [Sept 2006, p.71]
  36. And despite some dropping glitches, the multiplayer mode shines when you can use a partner to help take out a big monster.
  37. One particularly frustrating aspect of the game is the inventory management system.
  38. Titan Quest fits the bill for a solid action RPG that gives you what you'd expect but nothing beyond it. It seems content enough to be big, and if you like Diablo-inspired games, you'll get what you'd expect from an isometric role-playing title based in ancient Greece.
  39. Titan Quest’s hyper-realism is, at least when above ground, dazzlingly picturesque, with lighting so natural you expect there to be an elemental resistance for sunburn. [Aug 2006, p.84]
  40. Although pleasingly wrapped in all the right legends, there's nothing here that fully chains us to the PC. It's too repetitious, too derivative and too fiddly to exult, especially when there's so much more artful PC RPG fodder that I haven't yet defeated.
  41. Excellently constructed and just addictive enough to encourage players to make it through to the end. In multi-player especially, it’s consistently enjoyable and occasionally compelling, if a little old fashioned. [Aug 2006, p.132]
  42. A good game, but not a great game. If this had been released three of four years ago it would have been heralded as a real contender for PC game of the year. However, as times have moved on and 3D RPGs such as Oblivion have taken the gaming world by storm, top-down RPGs like Titan Quest were always going to suffer.
  43. Filling the current void of click-click RPGs with a lengthy and absorbing campaign, high production values and enough loot to keep even a "ninjalooter" happy; whether or not such qualities are enough to look past the game's lack of creativity, however, very much depends on whether you've spent the last five years waiting for "Diablo 3" or not.
  44. Using Greek mythology as its base, Titan’s Quest takes a solid, balanced, and low risk gameplay approach. Although it’s not going to redefine a game genre, RPG fans will be more then satisfied.
  45. 70
    While it may not break, or even dent, any new ground, Titan Quest features a beautifully realized game world based on a tried-and-true core mechanic, with tons of replayability. What's not to like?
  46. 70
    The game is long, its systems are well done, and it's quite nice to look at. And most importantly, it has legs.
  47. Even if Titan Quest doesn't deliver on its promise to hang out with Homer, this is a cut above the average "Diablo" clone. [Sept. 2006, p.69]
  48. While it's a competent shell of a game, the only scrap of ingenuity is in the way each character picks any two of eight skill trees, and even that's been pipped at the post by "Guild Wars." [Aug 2006, p.84]
  49. If you're looking for something that's easy on the eye and not too demanding, then Titan Quest might help satisfy your thirst for adventure.
  50. "Ancient" is a good way to describe this fun ripoff. For those special few who cannot get enough of the hack-and-click action RPG thing, Titan Quest will effectively scratch that itch. However, its lack of substantial innovation, problems with loot and technical hiccups keep it from conquering Olympus.
  51. I can't give it as good a grade as I'd like to because of the installation issues, and it's not an original concept but it still manages to be a fun little game.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 91
  2. Negative: 15 out of 91
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwell on old stuff, Blizzard did not patent the over the head game play and THQ just did it better I think, and the being able to zoom in on the person was pretty new, and I bet money that Blizzard will use that idea in the new Diablo. I give this masterpiece a 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    When I first played this game, I loved it. It was simple, addictive, fun, and mindless. However, the gameplay NEVER changes, eventually the addictive feeling leaves, and you realize that you're aimlessly trekking across the world for no good reason except to left-click things some more. I always finish a game that I start, but the last 5 hours or so of this was just miserable. The online may be fun, but it's not my sort of thing. I went back and played Diablo 1 after this game and had a lot more fun with it. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Shameless D2 clone which just about improves upon it. Good visuals for the high level abilities, some interesting adversaries. Some good player classes, some bad. A perfunctory storyline, repetitiveness and super linearity make this the usual mind numbing left clicking orgy. Enjoyable on those occasions when your neurons can't be bothered to fire. Full Review »