• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 343

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwellI think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwell on old stuff, Blizzard did not patent the over the head game play and THQ just did it better I think, and the being able to zoom in on the person was pretty new, and I bet money that Blizzard will use that idea in the new Diablo. I give this masterpiece a 10/10 Expand
  2. NykoM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Tq get your money worth. Not really original, but really exciting and visually nice. The graphics are well optimized..so you don't need a monster config to play decently. I just hope real patchs (and not fake 1weekwork placebo) are coming soon to play online without crashs.
  3. PaulClarke
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    A fine fine game - with wonderfullo nline play - a vibrant community (already) and a fantastic online economy. I'm not sure what game Alec H is playing , but it can't be Titan Quest , because this game has all the things he says it hasn't ... and they are up front and centre in the opening game menu.

    Odd ... Anyway, yes it is a Diablo type game, the only thing it
    A fine fine game - with wonderfullo nline play - a vibrant community (already) and a fantastic online economy. I'm not sure what game Alec H is playing , but it can't be Titan Quest , because this game has all the things he says it hasn't ... and they are up front and centre in the opening game menu.

    Odd ...

    Anyway, yes it is a Diablo type game, the only thing it seems to be missing is the use of new tactics against some of the larger (boss) monsters. They drop the same way as the rest.

    Other than that, excellent game, being able to decide to enchant your own weapons with the artifacts you find makes for some interesting strategic choices, and the "take downs" just get better and better as you character progresses.

    Grtaphics a fantastic (though with approximately 10x the requirements of Diablo II - read the back of the box's - To play it in 1600*1200 with all the X's, then have a processor well over 3 gig, and a £300 quid graphics card and a lot of ram.

    Clarker
    Expand
  4. PhilipL.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    People will no longer talk about "Diablo-games" but about "Titan Quest-games" !
  5. JauqueS.
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This game is Rocks!
  6. SteveS.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    I'm not sure why someone would rate this game so poorly, especially on the strength of "it lacks online play", when it is an awesome game and does in fact have free online play--great free online play, I might add. I've completed the game's single player campaign and now my friends and I are hooked on the co-op mode.The art is excellent, the level design is superb, if a bit I'm not sure why someone would rate this game so poorly, especially on the strength of "it lacks online play", when it is an awesome game and does in fact have free online play--great free online play, I might add. I've completed the game's single player campaign and now my friends and I are hooked on the co-op mode.The art is excellent, the level design is superb, if a bit linear, and the gameplay captures all of the little elements that satisfy me--a long time Diablo 2 addict. I look forward to future efforts from this up-and-coming studio. Expand
  7. WillR.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    ok, its in the same genre as diablo 2, but I went back and played diablo2 after playing some of this...and dang...it wasn't as good as I remembered..its only 7 years old...but it feels like it's twice that, especially after playing TQ for a few days. TQ streamlines a lot from d2 but doesn't try and be the same game.. not in my opinion. oh. and d2's random levels look ok, its in the same genre as diablo 2, but I went back and played diablo2 after playing some of this...and dang...it wasn't as good as I remembered..its only 7 years old...but it feels like it's twice that, especially after playing TQ for a few days. TQ streamlines a lot from d2 but doesn't try and be the same game.. not in my opinion. oh. and d2's random levels look like crap.Back then they were neat, but nowadays they 'feel' random.. like a pointless grind.. I'll take something designed over that anyday...there's so much surface area in TQ that you can't possibly get bored of it..at least not before all the editor mods start come out. Expand
  8. M.Sheidow
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This game is sweet! If Blizzard made this game, the critics would be shouting from the roof tops about how great this game is. If you like Diablo or even if you don't you'll love the action combat, skills and ragdoll physics. The game world is huge. You totally get your moneys worth.
  9. KevinR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game with tonnes of replayability.
  10. JulioG.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Hot, sweaty Spartans in metal bracers and gorgets! What more could anybody ask for?
  11. GustavoG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Addictive, fun and very nice graphics.
  12. DuncanR.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great, its graphics , its monsters , the bosses... i played it 4 times to do all the mastery's. instalation problems? where??? i didnt had any... ''Diablo clone''? This game is way better.
  13. JamesT
    May 1, 2009
    8
    Nice graphics, good storyline, etc, etc... I would have prefered a more 'open world' feel, different, more varied types of equiptment and a couple touch ups to monster sight ranges. It certainly had good graphics for an orbital view game and a sweet ambient soundtrack. Worth the $30 I payed for it.
  14. AnsonG.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Alright, alright, now what went wrong this game particular? Everything gameplay is awe some. the only things i wish for would be gore and inventory (Will be added). The expansion will contain closed online play(Like battlenet) and possible 'stash'space shared by ALL characters. The graphics are almost TOO good. it will test your machine on hgih settings, runs flawlessly without Alright, alright, now what went wrong this game particular? Everything gameplay is awe some. the only things i wish for would be gore and inventory (Will be added). The expansion will contain closed online play(Like battlenet) and possible 'stash'space shared by ALL characters. The graphics are almost TOO good. it will test your machine on hgih settings, runs flawlessly without hiccups. Ive seen a couple hiccups when i ran the game form a virtual CD, using my copy had no issues. Well, im not a big fan of story and voice acting in these games, but it was quite done and informative. The voice acting is very well done for an english game, was impressed, there was a well done attention to detail to history. The item system is even better rhan diablo's, i miss the rune words, but the relics and charms really great. I find myself missing diablo's item color coding, still getting used to Yellow being magical and green being rare. The customization really becomes apparent after you played maybe 10-20 hours.... love it, u will have TONS of options once u really look into the skills. Right now im going with Hunting/Rogue, which i building my character with STR/DEX to melee/range with my character. Anyone who say is same exactly like Diablo, dont go into this game expecting Diablo 2, it is better than Diablo 2 pre expansion, and just as good as D2 with the expansion. It improves in many areas, but u will miss several aspects. This game is amazing, and with patches will easily surpass anything battlenet Diablo 2 expansion ever had, for now, its equal. Expand
  15. JoeyK.
    Jul 16, 2006
    8
    I got this recently, and am still just playing it, far from finished. It's very apparent that it's just a dungeon crawler. But dang, it sure is fun. The skill system is intriguing. The graphics are gorgeous, far beyond what I would expect from a game like this. And there' online multiplayer for co-op. It's not innovative or groundbreaking, it's not amazing or a I got this recently, and am still just playing it, far from finished. It's very apparent that it's just a dungeon crawler. But dang, it sure is fun. The skill system is intriguing. The graphics are gorgeous, far beyond what I would expect from a game like this. And there' online multiplayer for co-op. It's not innovative or groundbreaking, it's not amazing or a must-have, it's a linear dungeon crawling action rpg, and it does the job damn well. Expand
  16. BlakeT.
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    I love this game! If you are interested in the game, listen carefully. The game does not forge new ground or move the genre forward. In other words, there is nothing new here. However, the excels at borrowing elements from some of the greatest games to date: Diablo, Sacred, Guild Wars, and Warcraft. The gameplay is much like Sacred. The uniqueness of the character paths is similar to GuildI love this game! If you are interested in the game, listen carefully. The game does not forge new ground or move the genre forward. In other words, there is nothing new here. However, the excels at borrowing elements from some of the greatest games to date: Diablo, Sacred, Guild Wars, and Warcraft. The gameplay is much like Sacred. The uniqueness of the character paths is similar to Guild Wars. The skill tree is similar to Diablo II but more varied. My favorite aspect of the game is the incredible number of ways you can play the game simply by choosing different combinations of skills and different character paths. It really is quite amazing and fun to try the game from different angles. The graphics and sound are also very nice and what you would expect for a modern release. The weaknesses are simple. The game is linear - very linear. The lands are not vast like in Sacred. And, unlike what you may read, the game is not really built to be a multiplayer game. Like Sacred, you can play with others by hosting servers. If you are expecting Battle.net, you will be very disappointed. The few multiplayer games I tried experienced heavy lag and unstable. If the game had a service like Battle.net to foster a stable multiplayer environment, it would be amazing. Still, I love the game for single player hack-n-slash fun! I highly recommend it, especially if you were a fan of Sacred. Expand
  17. NightM.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    The Game is great as Diablo 2 was , lot of items , lot of skills , the 3 diferent levels of dificult makes you go over and over iproving your character and items. this game doesnt get a 10 couse the lack of multiplayer.
  18. Slackiller
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Great game , love playing it, nice graphics.
  19. BirdeB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    A Diablo clone that pretends to be nothing else. This is not innovation, it is refinement. If you are a fan of Diablo 2 and have been away for a while, you'll get a kick out of Titan Quest. If you're expecting a huge leap in RPG gaming, you've picked up the wrong box. This is basic, mindless, meat-and-potatoes gaming--satisfying and filling, but it'll never be A Diablo clone that pretends to be nothing else. This is not innovation, it is refinement. If you are a fan of Diablo 2 and have been away for a while, you'll get a kick out of Titan Quest. If you're expecting a huge leap in RPG gaming, you've picked up the wrong box. This is basic, mindless, meat-and-potatoes gaming--satisfying and filling, but it'll never be expensive haute cuisine. And sometimes that is not a bad thing. Expand
  20. JohnM.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Ignore the 2/10 scores, game runs fine even without the patching up in most cases. The reason i think some have trouble with this will purely be down to PC hardware, game will run fine on a PC with 2gb DDR, decent gfx card and midrange CPU. Its a great little hack-n-slash adventure with lush looking gfx considering style of the game. Great mutli player fun to be had, not much reply value Ignore the 2/10 scores, game runs fine even without the patching up in most cases. The reason i think some have trouble with this will purely be down to PC hardware, game will run fine on a PC with 2gb DDR, decent gfx card and midrange CPU. Its a great little hack-n-slash adventure with lush looking gfx considering style of the game. Great mutli player fun to be had, not much reply value once completed though, Expand
  21. MikeL.
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    Great game, now to all you blizzard bumming folk who gave this a poor score just because it's like to diablo, I hope you know how retarded you sound. So... it's got a similar game play too diablo ahy? true enough. So should the same be said about half-life? good story good npc's BUT THE CONTROLLS AND WEAPONS WHERE NOT ORIGINAL! I played several fps's before half-life Great game, now to all you blizzard bumming folk who gave this a poor score just because it's like to diablo, I hope you know how retarded you sound. So... it's got a similar game play too diablo ahy? true enough. So should the same be said about half-life? good story good npc's BUT THE CONTROLLS AND WEAPONS WHERE NOT ORIGINAL! I played several fps's before half-life came out! Doesn Expand
  22. ChristopherS.
    Jul 26, 2007
    8
    I've only played the demo. But from what I've played, it's a nice refreshing welcome into the Diablo 2 genre. The graphics are real nice to look at, and the game plays very smooth. It's only 30 bucks to get both this and the expansion, might as well get both. Something else to play when you get the WOW blues.
  23. AlexH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Great games, I would recommend this to any one who loved the diablo series like me.
  24. ScottM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    I am really glad I found out about this game through Steam. It was refreshing to play a game that isn't over-complex, has a familiar style without a learning curve, and that has such great scope, setting, and graphics. FUN!
  25. Dretti
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Great game! Really addictive. If you like Diablo II or Sacred this is your game.
  26. RynoB
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    It's an awesome game! The best features is the co-op mode and that everything is randomized. A must have for LAN parties or Online internet play. The graphics are also quite nice if you have a decent pc.
  27. RichG.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    The dude that gave it a zero score based on it having no online gameplay should perhaps investigate the fact that Titan Quest does, in fact, have free online gameplay for up to 6 players at once. How did he miss this? Probably didn't buy the game. Kind of hard to miss the option on the main menu screen :) In short, this is a great D2 update and a damn fine way to spend a day slaying The dude that gave it a zero score based on it having no online gameplay should perhaps investigate the fact that Titan Quest does, in fact, have free online gameplay for up to 6 players at once. How did he miss this? Probably didn't buy the game. Kind of hard to miss the option on the main menu screen :) In short, this is a great D2 update and a damn fine way to spend a day slaying hordes of good-looking monsters. Expand
  28. KennyL.
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    The only reason i didnt give this game a 10 was in fact cuz of the bugs. Not too big a deal for me as it has only crashed twice in 27+ hours of gameplay. True, it shouldnt crash at all but the game looks so gorgeous and plays so well, i can overlook the crashes here and there. Call it a Diablo clone but i say TQ plays better than Diablo. Graphics and sound are superb, the variety of The only reason i didnt give this game a 10 was in fact cuz of the bugs. Not too big a deal for me as it has only crashed twice in 27+ hours of gameplay. True, it shouldnt crash at all but the game looks so gorgeous and plays so well, i can overlook the crashes here and there. Call it a Diablo clone but i say TQ plays better than Diablo. Graphics and sound are superb, the variety of creatures are as vast as the spells, items, and skills you acquire in the game. The controls are very intuitive and makes real-time battles an absolute blast and feels less repetitive than most rpgs. In this sense, i like it better than Diablo or Diablo 2. I know some, if not many, will say that is blasphemous to a rpg fan but its hard not to get caught up in world of Titan Quest. Free online play is also a definite plus!!! Expand
  29. Chris
    Aug 18, 2006
    8
    I love this game. It has great graphics, challanging game play and enough content to keep me busy. It may not be the most innovative game but I think it reaches a market of advent Diablo II fans that are starving for something to occupy themselves with. Dungeon Siege 2 didn't cut it any better than the other D2 wanna-bes. This game DOES satisfy that craving and in the process creates I love this game. It has great graphics, challanging game play and enough content to keep me busy. It may not be the most innovative game but I think it reaches a market of advent Diablo II fans that are starving for something to occupy themselves with. Dungeon Siege 2 didn't cut it any better than the other D2 wanna-bes. This game DOES satisfy that craving and in the process creates it's own solid gaming experience. If beating D2: LOD for the millionth time sounds more like a chore than it used to, I strongly recommend Titan Quest. I find it funny how many people are giving the game a lower rating because it has bugs. ALL games have bugs when they first come out. There is no such thing as the "perfect" game. Thankfully, patching the game is as easy as clicking the Udates option in the main menu and before you know it, the issues are gone. Expand
  30. LukeS.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    Awesome game great graphics and sound quality.
  31. PaulF.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    If you liked Diablo, you'll probably love this game. I'm playing it with my girlfriend (almost done with Immortal Throne) and we like it more than Diablo or Neverwinter Nights. It can be sleep-deprivingly addictive. The game play is smoother and the graphics are fantastic. They spent a lot of time on the details and it makes the game that much more satisfying. We're not If you liked Diablo, you'll probably love this game. I'm playing it with my girlfriend (almost done with Immortal Throne) and we like it more than Diablo or Neverwinter Nights. It can be sleep-deprivingly addictive. The game play is smoother and the graphics are fantastic. They spent a lot of time on the details and it makes the game that much more satisfying. We're not really FPS'ers, so this is just what we were looking for. And the story is fun as well. The character skill trees, and the fact that you dual-class, makes it even more interesting and varied. Expand
  32. JoshM
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    After playing Diablo 2, this game seemed so much better. The graphics, general gameplay and the ability to change talents later which was highly irritating in Diablo when I found out you couldn't. I highly reccomend this to anyone who enjoys RPGs.
  33. [Anonymous]
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    TQ is easily the best Diablo-clone to come along since...Diablo. The class system, based on combinations of masteries, allows for an incredible variety of character builds in a game that offers loot finding galore. This is one game I'm keeping on my system for a very long time. With Immortal Throne, it gets even better.
  34. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Titan Quest is an underrated game. While it isn't the most original game, it is a solid, fun game that is very enjoyable. The story, while not the best, was good enough to keep me going. However, if you're looking for a deep, involved story, you won't find it here. The best part about this game, in my opinion, are the class combinations available for you to use. They accommodate andTitan Quest is an underrated game. While it isn't the most original game, it is a solid, fun game that is very enjoyable. The story, while not the best, was good enough to keep me going. However, if you're looking for a deep, involved story, you won't find it here. The best part about this game, in my opinion, are the class combinations available for you to use. They accommodate and enhance many different kinds of play-styles, For someone like me, who likes to experiment and tinker with different builds, this adds a lot of replayability to the game. The graphics are actually not too bad and have aged extremely well over the years. Do yourself a favor and give this a shot, if you haven't. If you like hack and slash games, you owe it to yourself to give Titan Quest a chance. Expand
  35. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Titan Quest is a good game. Well....sort of. But i certainly wouldnt give it a 10/10 nor 6/10 - 7/10 seems reasonable. Why? Okay the graphics: They're good, not recent but still good and the world is very beautiful and all. Gameplay: Okay, first time you play TQ, its really fun and you really get into the RPG mood but the second time you play it, knowing the quests and stuff, it justTitan Quest is a good game. Well....sort of. But i certainly wouldnt give it a 10/10 nor 6/10 - 7/10 seems reasonable. Why? Okay the graphics: They're good, not recent but still good and the world is very beautiful and all. Gameplay: Okay, first time you play TQ, its really fun and you really get into the RPG mood but the second time you play it, knowing the quests and stuff, it just isen't all that great. The combat can be rather boring and some items are ridicously overpriced. 80%, if not 90% of the game is all about battling seemingly endless hordes of strange monsters, continous and monotonous left mouse clicks with little strategy depth. That said, it can be fun upgrading your character with new weopons, gear and armour and new spells. But overall, it isen't 'classic' or 'legendary' or even 'amazing' - its good. Expand
  36. May 17, 2011
    9
    The only reason I am giving Titan Quest a 9 and not a 10 is because once you try out Titan Quest: Immortal Throne, its expansion, you realise that the original lacked a lot of things. Nevertheless without the expansion it is still an incredible game. The environments are very beautiful, ranging from massive picturesque landscapes, and all the way up to intricate details, such as smallThe only reason I am giving Titan Quest a 9 and not a 10 is because once you try out Titan Quest: Immortal Throne, its expansion, you realise that the original lacked a lot of things. Nevertheless without the expansion it is still an incredible game. The environments are very beautiful, ranging from massive picturesque landscapes, and all the way up to intricate details, such as small birds and even frogs among the grass. The game takes place during ancient times and takes the player through Ancient Greece, Egypt and Orient, where you get to encounter a wide variety of mythological monsters, such as the Gorgons, the Minotaur, the centauri, the automatoi, Manticore, Chimera, pengs, yeti, etc etc. The game gives the player a choice of 8 masteries, of which the player has to pick a combination of 2. This gives 36 different classes to play as, ranging from tanking Conquerors, to dual-wielding Assassins, to Elementalists, to petmancers Soothsayers, to dexterous Brigands. The original game does have a few bugs and other faults. However a lot has been changed in its expansion, the Immortal Throne. Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Great Game hope they make the next one first person view. Add shops to buy weapons & upgrades..
  38. May 30, 2013
    8
    I have the Golden edition but reviewing Titan Quest and Titan Quest: Immortal Throne separately because they are a little different. The original Titan Quest is rather unpolished and lacks certain key features which seem only logical to include in an action-RPG. I would give the Original around 77/100 while the Immortal Throne (which tremendously expands and improves the games)I have the Golden edition but reviewing Titan Quest and Titan Quest: Immortal Throne separately because they are a little different. The original Titan Quest is rather unpolished and lacks certain key features which seem only logical to include in an action-RPG. I would give the Original around 77/100 while the Immortal Throne (which tremendously expands and improves the games) deserves, in my opinion, a solid 85/100. If you have the Gold Edition play Immortal Throne! Expand
  39. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Titan Quest is one the best dungeon crawlers ever made. You get tons of cool loot and can play with a gorup of four on multiplayer via P2P (Thanks goodness no servers, bleh). The character classes were one thing that really made this game unique, as you could combine two classes to create a new class (Why is this not being done more?). You can basically be a hybrid (combine two classes) orTitan Quest is one the best dungeon crawlers ever made. You get tons of cool loot and can play with a gorup of four on multiplayer via P2P (Thanks goodness no servers, bleh). The character classes were one thing that really made this game unique, as you could combine two classes to create a new class (Why is this not being done more?). You can basically be a hybrid (combine two classes) or you could just put all your points into one class. If you like dungeon crawlers you will be right at home. Expand
  40. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    A good game with ability to assign points, different types of mobs, maps well designed and good loot only a flaw; i can't read anything at high resolution.
  41. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    A all most perfect game the only thing this game need is end game content like the duel system in Diablo 2. One of my favorite games of all time only beaten mostly because of the amazing class system with Thirty-Six Classes.
  42. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    The best of the "left-click action-RPGs." An improvement over Diablo 2 in nearly every way, and still deeper and more satisfying than even newer games like Torchlight. Its faults lie in the fact that Iron Lore didn't innovate and offer more complex, interesting gameplay. You hit one or two skills, and your Drink Potion button, for 99% of the game, no matter the difficulty level. The best of the "left-click action-RPGs." An improvement over Diablo 2 in nearly every way, and still deeper and more satisfying than even newer games like Torchlight. Its faults lie in the fact that Iron Lore didn't innovate and offer more complex, interesting gameplay. You hit one or two skills, and your Drink Potion button, for 99% of the game, no matter the difficulty level. Still, if you want a traditional left-click ARPG, Titan Quest scratches the itch like no other. Expand
  43. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Shameless D2 clone which just about improves upon it. Good visuals for the high level abilities, some interesting adversaries. Some good player classes, some bad. A perfunctory storyline, repetitiveness and super linearity make this the usual mind numbing left clicking orgy. Enjoyable on those occasions when your neurons can't be bothered to fire.
  44. Spoozle
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Just a note to Alec H.
    THE GAME DOES HAVE ONLINE MULTIPLAYER AND THE WEAPONS ARE RANDOMIZED AND THE CHARACTERS ARE PERSISTANT AND THERE IS COMMUNITY SUPPORT . . . next time you want to give a game a 0 maybe you should take the time to check it out first.
  45. ChrisW.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    I played the demo of this game, and still playing, and i am going to buy it, but i could not put this game down, i had to keep playing it, i love it. NWN and diablo2 bored me to death after cahpter 1. The graphics are great, the gameplay is great, i can only immagine what Immortal Throne is like.
  46. PeniS
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Takes Diablo II, Nox, Baulder Gate, etc... and blows them away. If any of you have seen the trailers for Diablo III, I could almost swear they took some of the innovative and creative designs off of Titan Quest. A must have for RPG lovers! This is what the next-gen RPGs should model their games off of!!!!
  47. ChosenOne
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Best sword fighting game ever to have come out and will allways be my fav. And for those who gave it a bad rating because of instulling problems and bugs you need a better computer it has none. And its better than half life 1 and way more games.
  48. KurtM.
    Jul 21, 2007
    8
    -2 for being unorriginal (((that's it))) Titan Quest is a game that combines Diablo II and Guild Wars into an action RPG definately worth playing. It's also a great buy. You can now get it on Steam with expansion for 30 bucks (definately worth it, considering in order to get Guild Wars you'd need 50 bucks for 1 campaign (of 3) and Diablo II Battle Chest (which is almost the -2 for being unorriginal (((that's it))) Titan Quest is a game that combines Diablo II and Guild Wars into an action RPG definately worth playing. It's also a great buy. You can now get it on Steam with expansion for 30 bucks (definately worth it, considering in order to get Guild Wars you'd need 50 bucks for 1 campaign (of 3) and Diablo II Battle Chest (which is almost the only place you'll find Diablo II and its expansion) now costs 40 bucks). Definately worth it, especially for those who aren't big fans of Guild War's or WoW's costs or MMO interface, and want a bit of a graphical upgrade from D2. Expand
  49. May 7, 2011
    8
    One of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd sayOne of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd say the difficulty is on par with Diablo. I've played the game for 100's of hours with different class combos, and the biggest issue is the repetitive nature of levels after playing so much. But join up with friends and work together to push through faster. It would be nice to start on Epic difficulty with levels under your belt, since that is where the game really gets good. Expand
  50. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    When I first played this game, I loved it. It was simple, addictive, fun, and mindless. However, the gameplay NEVER changes, eventually the addictive feeling leaves, and you realize that you're aimlessly trekking across the world for no good reason except to left-click things some more. I always finish a game that I start, but the last 5 hours or so of this was just miserable. The onlineWhen I first played this game, I loved it. It was simple, addictive, fun, and mindless. However, the gameplay NEVER changes, eventually the addictive feeling leaves, and you realize that you're aimlessly trekking across the world for no good reason except to left-click things some more. I always finish a game that I start, but the last 5 hours or so of this was just miserable. The online may be fun, but it's not my sort of thing. I went back and played Diablo 1 after this game and had a lot more fun with it. Expand
  51. TravisH.
    Aug 17, 2008
    4
    Too easy, The hardest part of the game was a glitch that made the one boss invincible, even then he couldn't kill us. Fun to goof off in, but nothing that great.
  52. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Titan Quest is an action RPG in which your character sets out to save the ancient world from evil. It takes you from ancient Greece to the Egypt of the Pharaohs, Babylon and beyond. While it looks absolutely stunning (even in 2013) and has a refreshing, inspiring theme, I found many flaws prohibit me from really enjoying it. The checkpoint system isn't well balanced, sometimes there's anTitan Quest is an action RPG in which your character sets out to save the ancient world from evil. It takes you from ancient Greece to the Egypt of the Pharaohs, Babylon and beyond. While it looks absolutely stunning (even in 2013) and has a refreshing, inspiring theme, I found many flaws prohibit me from really enjoying it. The checkpoint system isn't well balanced, sometimes there's an abundance of checkpoints in a safe region, and a total lack of checkpoints in an extremely dangerous zone. There are difficulty spikes, one moment you're fighting low level trash, the next moment you're killed by a flock of uber-elites. There's so much loot, but most of it is vendor trash. The past 7 levels I haven't found anything that I could use! And then there's the fabled skill system, that requires you to dump all your skillpoints into the same 2 proficiency skills for 21 levels, in order to unlock the best skills. All of this detracts from an otherwise enjoyable game. Most sessions I quit in an hour, out of boredom or frustration. I recommend the similar but much more entertaining Torchlight 2. Only buy this if it's on sale and you've tried all the other aRPG's, in that case this is a really nice investment. Expand
  53. RobE.
    Oct 5, 2006
    5
    It is pretty? I dont understand what people see in this game. Maybe you're too young to remember diablo- an original. This stuff is so derivative it's disgusting. Your character appearance doesn't even change, regardless of your class. This game has no 'character.' If you want to have some mindless hack and slash, upgrade your character, etc, there are so many It is pretty? I dont understand what people see in this game. Maybe you're too young to remember diablo- an original. This stuff is so derivative it's disgusting. Your character appearance doesn't even change, regardless of your class. This game has no 'character.' If you want to have some mindless hack and slash, upgrade your character, etc, there are so many alternatives. Try Guild Wars. Expand
  54. Jan 19, 2013
    3
    Horrible and weak, game looks like lazy mix of Sacred and Diablo. What is cheap, always will be, no magic will change it, doesn't matter how good critics can describe it.
  55. AlecH.
    Jun 29, 2006
    0
    This game completely misses the point of what drew people back over and over again to the Diablo 2 game: Persistent online avatars. Battle.net was free, and the randomly generated items created the ability for a single player to feel like he was doing something meaningful with his time, not just pissing it away playing some game. The online economy, and the online play, are the reason This game completely misses the point of what drew people back over and over again to the Diablo 2 game: Persistent online avatars. Battle.net was free, and the randomly generated items created the ability for a single player to feel like he was doing something meaningful with his time, not just pissing it away playing some game. The online economy, and the online play, are the reason that Diablo 2 is still 30 dollars today, and not some bargain bin product. I would have loved this game, and played it time and again if it had online play. Disappointing, I think I'll go reinstall Diablo 2. Expand
  56. JamieS.
    Oct 2, 2006
    6
    Titan quest is a great looking game --- that's not much fun to play. In this type of game, you spend all your time doing two things: (1) Combat against an endless horde of creatures and (2) Going back to the shop to sell your loot and upgrade your gear. The problem is, in Titan Quest, neither of these is much fun. First off, the combat. The combat consists of clicking either the left Titan quest is a great looking game --- that's not much fun to play. In this type of game, you spend all your time doing two things: (1) Combat against an endless horde of creatures and (2) Going back to the shop to sell your loot and upgrade your gear. The problem is, in Titan Quest, neither of these is much fun. First off, the combat. The combat consists of clicking either the left or the mouse button on an enemy. To keep attacking, hold the mouse button down. As I hadn't chosen optional skills for the right mouse button, all I do in combat is ... click and hold the left mouse button. Repeatedly. For hours at a time. No strategy, no depth, no variation, and NO FUN. If I HAD invested in right button skills, I could have clicked the right button instead, and alternated ... whoop de do. Secondly, shoppping. The items are hugely expensive, and the merchants are a rip-off. You seem to get around 10% of an items value when you sell it. ALso, whereas in dungeon siege the items are nicely graded, and clearly marked -- IE blue for magic, outlined if unable to buy, etc etc --- in titan quest they're not. You can find many items that are highlighted as if you are able to buy them, but tiny red text that doesn;t appear until you actually clock onm the item tells you "it's too expensive" or "your level is insufficient". And the items in general are boring boring boring ... you'll seee one picture, for example of an axe, that will have 30 different names attached to it "copper axe" "copper reinforced axe" "copper reinforced axe of chlling" "bronze axe" but they all look the damn same so it gives the impression of little variety. This is true of armour, shields, rings etc. SO you have a game where you spend all your time in combat or trading --- but the combat and trading is boring. SO what's left? Well, the world is pretty. Damn pretty. But there again, where the graphics is very realistic, (IE not cartoony) the world itself is unrealistic. SO you have a game where even a tree's canopy will cast shadows against a rock wall ior flowerswill swish aside as you walk through them --and yet the people stand like statues, day or night, fixed to the same spot. SO, graphically, they've put in a lot of effort --- and yet, lifewise, they've put in very little. So youove got a game that's great to look at, so pretty it almost seems alive ... yet so non-interactive (People don't move, enemies stay in fixed spots always with their own little treasure chest) it almost feels dead. In the end, it gets six for a damn pretty engine. But it's lucky to get that. Many times I've TRIED to play this game ..I keep telling myslef I SHOULD like it ... but I always wind up feeling bored after an hour or so and put it away again. Don't waste your time with this one unless you'e bored and have nothing else to play. Expand
  57. M.Archer
    Jul 7, 2006
    5
    There is just nothing new or compelling about this game. This could very easily be a mod from any other click happy RPG game.
  58. EdoardoD.
    Aug 19, 2006
    4
    It's absolutely similar to Diablo. After years from the pubblication of the Blizzard's game one can assume a game will have something original or be more advanced (AI scripts, action shortcuts, better inventory managmenet, better story...). It's much better Dungeon Siege 1. Graphic is irrelevant.
  59. LukasK.
    Sep 29, 2006
    2
    It's the worst Diablo games that I ever seen. It's boring. Nothing new. It's look awful for requrements that the game want. It's bad really bad.
  60. BobH.
    Jul 21, 2006
    3
    This is perhaps the buggiest PC game released in the last decade. Barely playable, filled with gamestopping bugs, and entirely rushed to the market. If the crashing, graphical corruptions, and quest bugs don't stop your gaming cold, then the character corruption bug surely will!
  61. HenryS.
    Jul 23, 2006
    2
    Be forewarned, this game is extremely buggy in my experience. It crashed almost every 10 minutes of play on both of my machines. The balance is bad imo, especially in legendary. The developers seem to agree, and promise to fix it in future patches. Indicating to me this game was rushed to market. I wouldn't recommend this product at this time.
  62. Aerows
    Jan 8, 2007
    2
    This game receives a two from me due to bugs. 4 patches later, and the game still plays awful for most people. The final slap in the face is the upcoming expansion, which is basically a large collection of things that should have been patched in the first place. It isn't completely without merit (if you can get it installed and it doesn't crash thus corrupting your character) This game receives a two from me due to bugs. 4 patches later, and the game still plays awful for most people. The final slap in the face is the upcoming expansion, which is basically a large collection of things that should have been patched in the first place. It isn't completely without merit (if you can get it installed and it doesn't crash thus corrupting your character) but the bugs, performance problems and lack of features kill it. It is a coulda-woulda-shoulda title. Expand
  63. DerekN.
    Jul 22, 2006
    0
    Warning: this game comes with major bugs. I bought the thing and wasted hours trying (unsuccessuflly) to install the perfect constellation of patches and updates that would allow the "game" to work. It is a collosal waste of time and rip-off. Do not buy this game.
  64. Jeff
    Jul 15, 2007
    2
    Horrible Bugs. I have a computer that goes up and beyond it's requirements yet I get a fatal crash and restart about 5 minutes in. Tech Support is non-existent. Try to borrow from a friend first to see if this works on your comp.
  65. TylerB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    After as much time as the game devs had to improve on the Diablo 2 formula, they really didn't do any justice. The only thing this game is lacking is gameplay. The graphics are good, the game runs smoothly, the voice acting is good, and even going back to ancient Greece was a fun time trip, but the gameplay is so lacking it makes me just want to install Diablo 2 just to spite this After as much time as the game devs had to improve on the Diablo 2 formula, they really didn't do any justice. The only thing this game is lacking is gameplay. The graphics are good, the game runs smoothly, the voice acting is good, and even going back to ancient Greece was a fun time trip, but the gameplay is so lacking it makes me just want to install Diablo 2 just to spite this game. Diablo 1 was more fun to play actually. You have no incentive to buy items because you get better stuff free from monsters that you can only sell for about 1/100th the price you buy them. The class system really nagged me. You are forced to a skillset you choose, and that makes the game so much more linear. There are no random maps, and the dungeons are too easy and end up like a shopping spree that involves killing monsters for loot. This game just seems like too much work to enjoy, and this is the last time I trust other user reviews. Apparently, the other reviewers seem to have a fetish for anything Spartan since the movie 300 or they haven't played any real games before and think this is a great game. Expand
  66. FiZ
    Aug 3, 2012
    2
    I'm going to start with the bottom line: This game is garbage. The graphics are dull, the plot is inane and the gameplay is non-existant. There honestly isn't anything to this game beyond clicking on monsters until there's no more monsters. Then you find more monsters to click. Oh, there may have been a potion somewhere in there. I don't care what TQ is or isn't compared to Diablo, it'sI'm going to start with the bottom line: This game is garbage. The graphics are dull, the plot is inane and the gameplay is non-existant. There honestly isn't anything to this game beyond clicking on monsters until there's no more monsters. Then you find more monsters to click. Oh, there may have been a potion somewhere in there. I don't care what TQ is or isn't compared to Diablo, it's just mind-numbingly dull and a total waste of time. Expand
  67. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    I played alot of this game... and it's layout and way of "customizing" a unique class was AWESOME... the art and gameplay, also fun. WHAT IT MISSES HORRIDLY... no unique charachter (skin) customizaion at the start and it REALLY should've had multiplayer or even an MMO element added... I truely believe a ton of people would've loved it. They coulda even released DLC and people would'veI played alot of this game... and it's layout and way of "customizing" a unique class was AWESOME... the art and gameplay, also fun. WHAT IT MISSES HORRIDLY... no unique charachter (skin) customizaion at the start and it REALLY should've had multiplayer or even an MMO element added... I truely believe a ton of people would've loved it. They coulda even released DLC and people would've bought it. My cousin played it for the first time and he even loves it; but it's missing that comunity and charachter-cosmetic custom element (which would've relatively easy to add). Another game that had so much more potential but I they were short-sighted. Expand
  68. Dec 21, 2012
    1
    Not sure how good this game is as the text is so blurry it's unplayable. Unable to read what NPC's are saying. I don't recommend purchasing this game from Steam as it maybe a Steam issue/fault. However will change my review if they ever fix the issue.
  69. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    Only played this game for a couple hours so far and it has been nothing but frustration. First problem is trying to heal in a fight. Nearly every time I click the heal the cursor then disappears and I can't target my char so end up dying a lot. Second problem is also with healing but when not in a fight.. Cursor doesn't disappear but it may as well since it takes repeated attempts to healOnly played this game for a couple hours so far and it has been nothing but frustration. First problem is trying to heal in a fight. Nearly every time I click the heal the cursor then disappears and I can't target my char so end up dying a lot. Second problem is also with healing but when not in a fight.. Cursor doesn't disappear but it may as well since it takes repeated attempts to heal my char because it constantly heals my pet even when it's 5 feet away and I have my char targeted.

    Third problem is seeing loot. Holding ALT only shows some items on ground. Still have to run cursor all over to see everything. Fourth, there is no char customization at all. It's just "here's a male, here's a female". Could have at least had 2 or 3 of each with different looks to choose from.

    Waste of money on an unplayable game.
    Expand
  70. Sep 30, 2013
    1
    That's a one more action-RPG without any allusion of interesting gameplay or challenge. Only difference between a classes or abilities it's how and with what flash of light you will tear a bunch of pathetic enemy/ After a 30 min. of playing this game I just wanna fall asleep. If you looking for dormitive this game for you.
  71. JoshS.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This Game rocks!! It's addicting and there is SOO much Loot! the art kicks some serious azz. The armor most notably. Great game. If you loved Diablo2 do your self a favor and pick this up asap.
  72. TravisD.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Best Visual FX in any game this year. Hands down.
  73. RanD.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Titan Quest artfully combines the conventions of the genre (why change what works) with vast amounts of depth when it comes to character builds and loot. I really don't think that too many of the reviewers to date have 'gotten' the loot system or the huge amount of replayability with difficulty levels and SO many possible character builds, but I think the game will shine Titan Quest artfully combines the conventions of the genre (why change what works) with vast amounts of depth when it comes to character builds and loot. I really don't think that too many of the reviewers to date have 'gotten' the loot system or the huge amount of replayability with difficulty levels and SO many possible character builds, but I think the game will shine through none the less. If you want to read a reviewer that 'did' get it - take a look at the yahoo games review. Titan Quest is destined to be one of the players in the genre. Expand
  74. Mobius
    Jun 28, 2006
    7
    first impressions are good, this game has lots of nice touches like how the wheat fields animate when you walk through them and how clean the graphics look, if you have ever played dungeon seige you will find this game very similar in playing style. another bug i have is that the game keeps crashing to desktop every now and then , i know not everybody will have this issue but its annoying first impressions are good, this game has lots of nice touches like how the wheat fields animate when you walk through them and how clean the graphics look, if you have ever played dungeon seige you will find this game very similar in playing style. another bug i have is that the game keeps crashing to desktop every now and then , i know not everybody will have this issue but its annoying enough to include it in the review im sure they will sort this out with a decent patch. (btw it was the second game to be installed after a clean rebuild of the PC). Expand
  75. RobS.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Fun RPG with some brilliant effects. Highly recommended for those that love wandering around ancient worlds and going head to head with epic beasts. Odysseus would be proud!
  76. MikeM.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    I just bought this game and can't stop playing it! If you like Diablo you got to buy this game!
  77. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    Though literally tons of Diablo clones in general are already around, Titan Quest seeks to actively interest people that haven't heard of any of these "other" Diablo-esque titles. It practically banks on it even, given the fact that it shared an Xbox platform release as well as a PC one. Of course here is the kicker, the punchline, the ultimatum: Its Diablo II. No the weapon namesThough literally tons of Diablo clones in general are already around, Titan Quest seeks to actively interest people that haven't heard of any of these "other" Diablo-esque titles. It practically banks on it even, given the fact that it shared an Xbox platform release as well as a PC one. Of course here is the kicker, the punchline, the ultimatum: Its Diablo II. No the weapon names aren't the same, and hey level design, you get my vote for being a little more terrifying (for how much more limited and claustrophobic you feel). The animations are well done, combat works fine, and goodness me it is a pretty game years after its release, but what isn't compared to Diablo 2 at this point. Unsurprisingly, these games have become rather rare, since most people have moved on to other game series or banished themselves from ever seeking out Diablo ever again, which is probably good as I'm sure that I myself do not need another hour-draining experience like Diablo 2 ever again. Expand
  78. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Titan Quest begins and takes players very much into action from the first minute. There are extensive references made to Greek mythology from the quests and NPC interactions. Moving through the areas is done simply by clicking, and attacking is done in the same fashion, with the addition of hotkeys. The inventory system is a bit cumbersome and small. There is so much loot in the game thatTitan Quest begins and takes players very much into action from the first minute. There are extensive references made to Greek mythology from the quests and NPC interactions. Moving through the areas is done simply by clicking, and attacking is done in the same fashion, with the addition of hotkeys. The inventory system is a bit cumbersome and small. There is so much loot in the game that could be later sold in town, but you are simply not allowed to carry very much. Thankfully, once you learn how to use the portals, it's rather convenient to go from the wilderness and back to town to sell your goods. The voice acting is a bit corny because of the forced accent, but they are adequate for the theme. The environments were designed proficiently, with lots of attention to detail, including good mood music, as well as day and night cycles. Even though the battle mechanics are simplistic, they are never boring. The amount of different enemies and loot is outstanding. All bodies of your dead foes remain on the ground of the entire game world permanently, which is really nice. Titan Quest boasts extremely addictive gameplay that will have you coming back for more again and again. The Skills and Masteries system alone extends replayability to at least two or more complete replays. The loot/equipment and enemies are designed exceptionally, and Titan Quest is all about loot, enemies, and skills! The ability to filter dropped loot searches by broken or rare is simply superb, and should be included in all RPGs. Exploring the world is a real pleasure. All the new discoveries are interesting and exciting. Many hours will pass feeling as if they were minutes. Loot variation is abundant throughout the entire game, which ensures that you will always upgrade, exchange, and experiment with an extreme amount of equipment and items. Summoning various creatures to aid you as pets is awesome and quite helpful. Even though Titan Quest is fully linear, it is never boring. Everything from the story, to the battles, to the level and enemy design is done almost perfectly. The animations, in conjunction with the sound effects are superb. All enemies perform ragdoll physics' movements constantly, and sometimes, your blows sends enemies flying up into the air. There is so much one could do with the relics, charms, and formulas. The bosses and hero monsters are challenging and fun to fight. The amount of loot, skills, and classes available ensures that you will be able to play the game many times over. Sometimes, the rebirth fountain you have activated is somewhat far from where you last died, which is slightly annoying. The areas that you have previously visited from an earlier game become grayed out once you reload a saved game, which means that all enemies and chests have been respawned, also allowing you to do some grinding if you would like. I have not encountered any bugs or glitches at all. The game is polished, and this shows in every aspect. Much thought and effort were put forth in the creation of Titan Quest. The last boss was quite difficult, and required a bit of trickery to defeat. There is no reason to play Titan Quest without Immortal Throne. I feel that all additions and improvements are necessary for the full experience. The different classes and equipment that could be found will entice you to play the game at least three times (each at a different difficulty level) for each class you are interested in. The excellent overall design in association with the variety and incredibly interesting appearance and behavior of the enemies will also keep you interested during each and every minute of gameplay. The familiars you are able to summon through the various skills pertaining to each class are exceptional. Titan Quest is as close to perfection as possible, for the RPG genre, even if the story and mechanics are simple. This should be an example to be followed for all upcoming RPG games. It will be difficult to find another game of this same class and category. Games of such quality do not come around very often. It took me about 49 hours to complete. Expand
  79. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Gutes spiel aba manchma zu schwer :P
  80. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful Diablo-like ARPG for the past few years. It's simply fun and addictive, provides you a journey with both Western and Eastern mythology. You can build whatever character you want, for example, a warrior wielding a staff, or a rogue with a spear. Anyway, it's awesome but after you finish the game several times, you will feel a bit bored 'cause the multiplayer mode isn'tThe most beautiful Diablo-like ARPG for the past few years. It's simply fun and addictive, provides you a journey with both Western and Eastern mythology. You can build whatever character you want, for example, a warrior wielding a staff, or a rogue with a spear. Anyway, it's awesome but after you finish the game several times, you will feel a bit bored 'cause the multiplayer mode isn't good enough. I recommend Titan Quest: Immortal Throne too. The game would have much more fun if you have them both. Expand
  81. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I only give this a 9 because of what you can do with the expansion. This is better then Diablo 1 or 2 for hack and slash! And it has mythological monsters, how awesome is that!
  82. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A beautiful and lengthy Action RPG in the vein of dungeon crawlers like Diablo, Titan Quest focuses more on open world exploration and offers many unique environments to explore. Character customization lets you pick from 2 skill schools with many active, passive, and toggle skills that you can pick and choose from letting you create a unique hero each time. There is an attempt at aA beautiful and lengthy Action RPG in the vein of dungeon crawlers like Diablo, Titan Quest focuses more on open world exploration and offers many unique environments to explore. Character customization lets you pick from 2 skill schools with many active, passive, and toggle skills that you can pick and choose from letting you create a unique hero each time. There is an attempt at a storyline here but it's a bit ridiculous and is mostly a vehicle for taking you through ancient lands with mythological monsters and locations. The music and sound are also top notch with a memorable soundtrack and immersive environmental & monster sounds. Overall, Titan Quest is a fantastic aRPG and is worth your time with or without friends. Expand
  83. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    A very solid top down hack and slash game with plenty of classes and skills. The game play is quite good as well as the range of characters however the actual game tends to drag on for some time and after a time becomes quite repetitive.

    Worth playing but with out friends becomes a chore to complete.
  84. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This was the first worthy successor to Diablo 2, and it has stood the test of time remarkably well. If you're a fan of the action RPG genre, you owe it to yourself to play this game.
  85. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Diablo clone ever. TQ grabs the good ideas from Blizzard game, mix them with their's and present it to us. Furs hack&slash RPG I'v replayed more tha 2 times in years.RPG Nice! Expand
  86. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    I really like this game, but i will give 9 because there is no character customization. Only `male and female`.
    Also sometimes it will randomly crash.
  87. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Titan Quest is a Diablo style Action RPG meaning that it is neither a proper action game nor a proper RPG. There are action elements but not really a major need for fast reflexes and there are some RPG-like elements, i.e. leveling up and quests, but comparatively little of character customization and detailed statistics compared to most turn-based RPG's, very little of strategical choicesTitan Quest is a Diablo style Action RPG meaning that it is neither a proper action game nor a proper RPG. There are action elements but not really a major need for fast reflexes and there are some RPG-like elements, i.e. leveling up and quests, but comparatively little of character customization and detailed statistics compared to most turn-based RPG's, very little of strategical choices in combat which is mostly just about clicking on enemies, and of course no actual role playing. What is the strength of the game then? Epic battles. You will slay hordes and hordes of monsters. This makes the game enjoyable in the same way that e.g. action movies and classic shoot 'em up games like Raptor are enjoyable, the carnage makes it fun. And Titan's quest gets the Diablo-like elements just right. You level up at a good rate, not so fast that levelling up becomes trivial but fast enough that there is a constant sense of progress and something similar holds for number of monsters you kill, enough to create the right epic battle feel, but not so much that killing an enemy always feels like a trivial accomplishment.

    The game has impressive graphics. There are other games in the same genre, such as the Torchlight games, that are superior technically, but Titan Quest has more variation with a wider range of different looking locations in Greece, Egypt and the Orient and they all look very good.

    The sound is okay, but nothing special. The music is appropriately majestic and none to bad, but is is not particularly varied nor is it really chosen to be appropriate to the different locations. The sound effects works as well as in most other games of the genre but don't stand out.

    The story is completely uninteresting, as it usually is in this kind of game, and there is not too much story development as the game progresses. The interface is typical for this kind of game and works fairly well but doesn't stand out. I found it annoying that you cannot choose a difficulty level, but instead you unlock the next difficulty level when you beat the game at one difficulty level. This feels like a cheap way of trying to add replayability. I would have preffered to be able to choose a difficulty level from the start.

    All in all, Titan Quest is an enjoyable entry in the Diablo-like genre of games with good graphics that I would recommend to fans of this genre. I enjoyed it even though I am not in general a fan of the genre but prefer turn-base RPG's.
    Expand
  88. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Entertaining action rpg that turns into too much grinding. Its great fun to start and try new characters, but the pace drops off and you find yourself slogging through fields of enemies. Lots of passive skills and the slowing pace really takes away from character skill development. A fun quick fix but there are better games in this genre.
  89. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Even after all these years I find this game just as much fun as the day I first played it. So many elements from Diablo make the game so much fun to play, while new innovations and fairly good visuals make the game better. Even though most people bash this for being a so similar to Diablo, I feel it has its own feel to it, and has concepts that further improve on the formula that DiabloEven after all these years I find this game just as much fun as the day I first played it. So many elements from Diablo make the game so much fun to play, while new innovations and fairly good visuals make the game better. Even though most people bash this for being a so similar to Diablo, I feel it has its own feel to it, and has concepts that further improve on the formula that Diablo started. This game is almost on par with Diablo in how the game flows, and the many different class configurations make it fun to start up all over again. Expand
  90. May 11, 2014
    8
    It's a good game, you can feel it from every details in graphic and UI that the developer put lots of effort into this project.
    The gameplay is well paced, not too hard, but it makes you regret your carelessness.
    One thing I can complain is that the final boss is a bit cheap. In order to win, you HAVE to be got the luck come across a real good weapon and resistance items, otherwise you
    It's a good game, you can feel it from every details in graphic and UI that the developer put lots of effort into this project.
    The gameplay is well paced, not too hard, but it makes you regret your carelessness.
    One thing I can complain is that the final boss is a bit cheap. In order to win, you HAVE to be got the luck come across a real good weapon and resistance items, otherwise you have to grind it or keep popping potions, little strategy involved since the boss have lost his weakness in the new version of the game.
    In my opinion a good hack & slash game needs only concentration to beat the boss, not drugs (I died 15 times in my first run as a ritualist=Nature+Dream Mastery, had never used more than 5 potions in every boss battle except the Typhon which I can't pass without further grinding... This is really discouraging especially at the end of the game.
    Expand
  91. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Such an entertaining game, with a fantastic story line and good voice acting to go along with it. The graphics at the time were great and still look good. Only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is that on Windows 7 it is often unstable and will crash, causing you to lose saved game content.Also, when playing co-op with a friend, some quests are unavailable. A fantastic singleSuch an entertaining game, with a fantastic story line and good voice acting to go along with it. The graphics at the time were great and still look good. Only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is that on Windows 7 it is often unstable and will crash, causing you to lose saved game content.Also, when playing co-op with a friend, some quests are unavailable. A fantastic single player game though, it will cause you to get lost for hours exploring the environment of ancient Greece. Expand
  92. Apr 30, 2015
    6
    wondeful scenery amazing graphics 2015 and I still play but for last time though. the reason..It`s not ''fast pace'' like diablo, torchlight & Van Helsing are. And this, because NO MATTER WHAT WEAPON YOU HOLD ALWAYS HIT ONE FOE AT A TIME!! So soon you realise how dificult it becomes and how frustrating. I wonder how the developers allow that..!
  93. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Titan quest je nejlepším příkladem jak má vypadat rpg stylu diablo výborná grafika,měnící se prostředí,strom dovednosti je opravdu povedený.Jedna z mála věcí co se dá TQ vytknout ale to je nemoc v podstatě všech her tohoto typu je klikfest.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    Titan Quest is a godsend. It has been a while since we’ve played a quality action RPG, and Titan Quest fulfills our expectations perfectly. The game is deep, the combat is enjoyable, the game looks superb and there’s just so much to do. While the game borrows a few gameplay elements from Diablo II, Titan Quest does enough to feel fresh and offers enough variety to ensure that newcomers and fans of the genre will enjoy the experience.
  2. 81
    I think it looks impressive and offers a ton of content, and there are certainly worse games with which to spend your summer days (and there are worse games coming out of new development houses).
  3. One of those rare games where the ratio of time spent to the cost of the game makes for some of the most efficient entertainment this side of "Oblivion" or "Civilization IV."