• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 305

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I think that people need to give the whole "It's like Diablo" thing a rest for goodness sakes we all know that Diablo was a great game series and still will be with the release of Diablo 3 but to be honest I had more fun playing Titans Quest, for many reasons one being the fact that it has much better graphics, and yes I know Diablo is older but thats the idea people think new don't dwell on old stuff, Blizzard did not patent the over the head game play and THQ just did it better I think, and the being able to zoom in on the person was pretty new, and I bet money that Blizzard will use that idea in the new Diablo. I give this masterpiece a 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    When I first played this game, I loved it. It was simple, addictive, fun, and mindless. However, the gameplay NEVER changes, eventually the addictive feeling leaves, and you realize that you're aimlessly trekking across the world for no good reason except to left-click things some more. I always finish a game that I start, but the last 5 hours or so of this was just miserable. The online may be fun, but it's not my sort of thing. I went back and played Diablo 1 after this game and had a lot more fun with it. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Shameless D2 clone which just about improves upon it. Good visuals for the high level abilities, some interesting adversaries. Some good player classes, some bad. A perfunctory storyline, repetitiveness and super linearity make this the usual mind numbing left clicking orgy. Enjoyable on those occasions when your neurons can't be bothered to fire.
  4. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Titan Quest is an underrated game. While it isn't the most original game, it is a solid, fun game that is very enjoyable. The story, while not the best, was good enough to keep me going. However, if you're looking for a deep, involved story, you won't find it here. The best part about this game, in my opinion, are the class combinations available for you to use. They accommodate and enhance many different kinds of play-styles, For someone like me, who likes to experiment and tinker with different builds, this adds a lot of replayability to the game. The graphics are actually not too bad and have aged extremely well over the years. Do yourself a favor and give this a shot, if you haven't. If you like hack and slash games, you owe it to yourself to give Titan Quest a chance. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Titan Quest is a good game. Well....sort of. But i certainly wouldnt give it a 10/10 nor 6/10 - 7/10 seems reasonable. Why? Okay the graphics: They're good, not recent but still good and the world is very beautiful and all. Gameplay: Okay, first time you play TQ, its really fun and you really get into the RPG mood but the second time you play it, knowing the quests and stuff, it just isen't all that great. The combat can be rather boring and some items are ridicously overpriced. 80%, if not 90% of the game is all about battling seemingly endless hordes of strange monsters, continous and monotonous left mouse clicks with little strategy depth. That said, it can be fun upgrading your character with new weopons, gear and armour and new spells. But overall, it isen't 'classic' or 'legendary' or even 'amazing' - its good. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    3
    Horrible and weak, game looks like lazy mix of Sacred and Diablo. What is cheap, always will be, no magic will change it, doesn't matter how good critics can describe it.
  7. May 7, 2011
    8
    One of the best ARPGs. Granted, buying items is irrelevant (same as in Diablo 2), areas are not randomly generated, and inventory is a bit harder to manage. The expansion improves so many things, and makes the original game seem weaker. I love the ability to develop classes in-game and adjust tactics, which works great with co-op. It makes the static classes of Diablo seem ancient. I'd say the difficulty is on par with Diablo. I've played the game for 100's of hours with different class combos, and the biggest issue is the repetitive nature of levels after playing so much. But join up with friends and work together to push through faster. It would be nice to start on Epic difficulty with levels under your belt, since that is where the game really gets good. Expand
  8. May 17, 2011
    9
    The only reason I am giving Titan Quest a 9 and not a 10 is because once you try out Titan Quest: Immortal Throne, its expansion, you realise that the original lacked a lot of things. Nevertheless without the expansion it is still an incredible game. The environments are very beautiful, ranging from massive picturesque landscapes, and all the way up to intricate details, such as small birds and even frogs among the grass. The game takes place during ancient times and takes the player through Ancient Greece, Egypt and Orient, where you get to encounter a wide variety of mythological monsters, such as the Gorgons, the Minotaur, the centauri, the automatoi, Manticore, Chimera, pengs, yeti, etc etc. The game gives the player a choice of 8 masteries, of which the player has to pick a combination of 2. This gives 36 different classes to play as, ranging from tanking Conquerors, to dual-wielding Assassins, to Elementalists, to petmancers Soothsayers, to dexterous Brigands. The original game does have a few bugs and other faults. However a lot has been changed in its expansion, the Immortal Throne. Expand
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Great Game hope they make the next one first person view. Add shops to buy weapons & upgrades..
  10. May 30, 2013
    8
    I have the Golden edition but reviewing Titan Quest and Titan Quest: Immortal Throne separately because they are a little different. The original Titan Quest is rather unpolished and lacks certain key features which seem only logical to include in an action-RPG. I would give the Original around 77/100 while the Immortal Throne (which tremendously expands and improves the games) deserves, in my opinion, a solid 85/100. If you have the Gold Edition play Immortal Throne! Expand
  11. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Titan Quest is one the best dungeon crawlers ever made. You get tons of cool loot and can play with a gorup of four on multiplayer via P2P (Thanks goodness no servers, bleh). The character classes were one thing that really made this game unique, as you could combine two classes to create a new class (Why is this not being done more?). You can basically be a hybrid (combine two classes) or you could just put all your points into one class. If you like dungeon crawlers you will be right at home. Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    A good game with ability to assign points, different types of mobs, maps well designed and good loot only a flaw; i can't read anything at high resolution.
  13. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    A all most perfect game the only thing this game need is end game content like the duel system in Diablo 2. One of my favorite games of all time only beaten mostly because of the amazing class system with Thirty-Six Classes.
  14. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Titan Quest is an action RPG in which your character sets out to save the ancient world from evil. It takes you from ancient Greece to the Egypt of the Pharaohs, Babylon and beyond. While it looks absolutely stunning (even in 2013) and has a refreshing, inspiring theme, I found many flaws prohibit me from really enjoying it. The checkpoint system isn't well balanced, sometimes there's an abundance of checkpoints in a safe region, and a total lack of checkpoints in an extremely dangerous zone. There are difficulty spikes, one moment you're fighting low level trash, the next moment you're killed by a flock of uber-elites. There's so much loot, but most of it is vendor trash. The past 7 levels I haven't found anything that I could use! And then there's the fabled skill system, that requires you to dump all your skillpoints into the same 2 proficiency skills for 21 levels, in order to unlock the best skills. All of this detracts from an otherwise enjoyable game. Most sessions I quit in an hour, out of boredom or frustration. I recommend the similar but much more entertaining Torchlight 2. Only buy this if it's on sale and you've tried all the other aRPG's, in that case this is a really nice investment. Expand
  15. FiZ
    Aug 3, 2012
    2
    I'm going to start with the bottom line: This game is garbage. The graphics are dull, the plot is inane and the gameplay is non-existant. There honestly isn't anything to this game beyond clicking on monsters until there's no more monsters. Then you find more monsters to click. Oh, there may have been a potion somewhere in there. I don't care what TQ is or isn't compared to Diablo, it's just mind-numbingly dull and a total waste of time. Expand
  16. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    Though literally tons of Diablo clones in general are already around, Titan Quest seeks to actively interest people that haven't heard of any of these "other" Diablo-esque titles. It practically banks on it even, given the fact that it shared an Xbox platform release as well as a PC one. Of course here is the kicker, the punchline, the ultimatum: Its Diablo II. No the weapon names aren't the same, and hey level design, you get my vote for being a little more terrifying (for how much more limited and claustrophobic you feel). The animations are well done, combat works fine, and goodness me it is a pretty game years after its release, but what isn't compared to Diablo 2 at this point. Unsurprisingly, these games have become rather rare, since most people have moved on to other game series or banished themselves from ever seeking out Diablo ever again, which is probably good as I'm sure that I myself do not need another hour-draining experience like Diablo 2 ever again. Expand
  17. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Titan Quest begins and takes players very much into action from the first minute. There are extensive references made to Greek mythology from the quests and NPC interactions. Moving through the areas is done simply by clicking, and attacking is done in the same fashion, with the addition of hotkeys. The inventory system is a bit cumbersome and small. There is so much loot in the game that could be later sold in town, but you are simply not allowed to carry very much. Thankfully, once you learn how to use the portals, it's rather convenient to go from the wilderness and back to town to sell your goods. The voice acting is a bit corny because of the forced accent, but they are adequate for the theme. The environments were designed proficiently, with lots of attention to detail, including good mood music, as well as day and night cycles. Even though the battle mechanics are simplistic, they are never boring. The amount of different enemies and loot is outstanding. All bodies of your dead foes remain on the ground of the entire game world permanently, which is really nice. Titan Quest boasts extremely addictive gameplay that will have you coming back for more again and again. The Skills and Masteries system alone extends replayability to at least two or more complete replays. The loot/equipment and enemies are designed exceptionally, and Titan Quest is all about loot, enemies, and skills! The ability to filter dropped loot searches by broken or rare is simply superb, and should be included in all RPGs. Exploring the world is a real pleasure. All the new discoveries are interesting and exciting. Many hours will pass feeling as if they were minutes. Loot variation is abundant throughout the entire game, which ensures that you will always upgrade, exchange, and experiment with an extreme amount of equipment and items. Summoning various creatures to aid you as pets is awesome and quite helpful. Even though Titan Quest is fully linear, it is never boring. Everything from the story, to the battles, to the level and enemy design is done almost perfectly. The animations, in conjunction with the sound effects are superb. All enemies perform ragdoll physics' movements constantly, and sometimes, your blows sends enemies flying up into the air. There is so much one could do with the relics, charms, and formulas. The bosses and hero monsters are challenging and fun to fight. The amount of loot, skills, and classes available ensures that you will be able to play the game many times over. Sometimes, the rebirth fountain you have activated is somewhat far from where you last died, which is slightly annoying. The areas that you have previously visited from an earlier game become grayed out once you reload a saved game, which means that all enemies and chests have been respawned, also allowing you to do some grinding if you would like. I have not encountered any bugs or glitches at all. The game is polished, and this shows in every aspect. Much thought and effort were put forth in the creation of Titan Quest. The last boss was quite difficult, and required a bit of trickery to defeat. There is no reason to play Titan Quest without Immortal Throne. I feel that all additions and improvements are necessary for the full experience. The different classes and equipment that could be found will entice you to play the game at least three times (each at a different difficulty level) for each class you are interested in. The excellent overall design in association with the variety and incredibly interesting appearance and behavior of the enemies will also keep you interested during each and every minute of gameplay. The familiars you are able to summon through the various skills pertaining to each class are exceptional. Titan Quest is as close to perfection as possible, for the RPG genre, even if the story and mechanics are simple. This should be an example to be followed for all upcoming RPG games. It will be difficult to find another game of this same class and category. Games of such quality do not come around very often. It took me about 49 hours to complete. Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    I played alot of this game... and it's layout and way of "customizing" a unique class was AWESOME... the art and gameplay, also fun. WHAT IT MISSES HORRIDLY... no unique charachter (skin) customizaion at the start and it REALLY should've had multiplayer or even an MMO element added... I truely believe a ton of people would've loved it. They coulda even released DLC and people would've bought it. My cousin played it for the first time and he even loves it; but it's missing that comunity and charachter-cosmetic custom element (which would've relatively easy to add). Another game that had so much more potential but I they were short-sighted. Expand
  19. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Gutes spiel aba manchma zu schwer :P
  20. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful Diablo-like ARPG for the past few years. It's simply fun and addictive, provides you a journey with both Western and Eastern mythology. You can build whatever character you want, for example, a warrior wielding a staff, or a rogue with a spear. Anyway, it's awesome but after you finish the game several times, you will feel a bit bored 'cause the multiplayer mode isn't good enough. I recommend Titan Quest: Immortal Throne too. The game would have much more fun if you have them both. Expand
  21. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I only give this a 9 because of what you can do with the expansion. This is better then Diablo 1 or 2 for hack and slash! And it has mythological monsters, how awesome is that!
  22. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A beautiful and lengthy Action RPG in the vein of dungeon crawlers like Diablo, Titan Quest focuses more on open world exploration and offers many unique environments to explore. Character customization lets you pick from 2 skill schools with many active, passive, and toggle skills that you can pick and choose from letting you create a unique hero each time. There is an attempt at a storyline here but it's a bit ridiculous and is mostly a vehicle for taking you through ancient lands with mythological monsters and locations. The music and sound are also top notch with a memorable soundtrack and immersive environmental & monster sounds. Overall, Titan Quest is a fantastic aRPG and is worth your time with or without friends. Expand
  23. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    A very solid top down hack and slash game with plenty of classes and skills. The game play is quite good as well as the range of characters however the actual game tends to drag on for some time and after a time becomes quite repetitive.

    Worth playing but with out friends becomes a chore to complete.
  24. Dec 21, 2012
    1
    Not sure how good this game is as the text is so blurry it's unplayable. Unable to read what NPC's are saying. I don't recommend purchasing this game from Steam as it maybe a Steam issue/fault. However will change my review if they ever fix the issue.
  25. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    This was the first worthy successor to Diablo 2, and it has stood the test of time remarkably well. If you're a fan of the action RPG genre, you owe it to yourself to play this game.
  26. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Diablo clone ever. TQ grabs the good ideas from Blizzard game, mix them with their's and present it to us. Furs hack&slash RPG I'v replayed more tha 2 times in years.RPG Nice! Expand
  27. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    Only played this game for a couple hours so far and it has been nothing but frustration. First problem is trying to heal in a fight. Nearly every time I click the heal the cursor then disappears and I can't target my char so end up dying a lot. Second problem is also with healing but when not in a fight.. Cursor doesn't disappear but it may as well since it takes repeated attempts to heal my char because it constantly heals my pet even when it's 5 feet away and I have my char targeted.

    Third problem is seeing loot. Holding ALT only shows some items on ground. Still have to run cursor all over to see everything. Fourth, there is no char customization at all. It's just "here's a male, here's a female". Could have at least had 2 or 3 of each with different looks to choose from.

    Waste of money on an unplayable game.
    Expand
  28. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    I really like this game, but i will give 9 because there is no character customization. Only `male and female`.
    Also sometimes it will randomly crash.
  29. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Titan Quest is a Diablo style Action RPG meaning that it is neither a proper action game nor a proper RPG. There are action elements but not really a major need for fast reflexes and there are some RPG-like elements, i.e. leveling up and quests, but comparatively little of character customization and detailed statistics compared to most turn-based RPG's, very little of strategical choices in combat which is mostly just about clicking on enemies, and of course no actual role playing. What is the strength of the game then? Epic battles. You will slay hordes and hordes of monsters. This makes the game enjoyable in the same way that e.g. action movies and classic shoot 'em up games like Raptor are enjoyable, the carnage makes it fun. And Titan's quest gets the Diablo-like elements just right. You level up at a good rate, not so fast that levelling up becomes trivial but fast enough that there is a constant sense of progress and something similar holds for number of monsters you kill, enough to create the right epic battle feel, but not so much that killing an enemy always feels like a trivial accomplishment.

    The game has impressive graphics. There are other games in the same genre, such as the Torchlight games, that are superior technically, but Titan Quest has more variation with a wider range of different looking locations in Greece, Egypt and the Orient and they all look very good.

    The sound is okay, but nothing special. The music is appropriately majestic and none to bad, but is is not particularly varied nor is it really chosen to be appropriate to the different locations. The sound effects works as well as in most other games of the genre but don't stand out.

    The story is completely uninteresting, as it usually is in this kind of game, and there is not too much story development as the game progresses. The interface is typical for this kind of game and works fairly well but doesn't stand out. I found it annoying that you cannot choose a difficulty level, but instead you unlock the next difficulty level when you beat the game at one difficulty level. This feels like a cheap way of trying to add replayability. I would have preffered to be able to choose a difficulty level from the start.

    All in all, Titan Quest is an enjoyable entry in the Diablo-like genre of games with good graphics that I would recommend to fans of this genre. I enjoyed it even though I am not in general a fan of the genre but prefer turn-base RPG's.
    Expand
  30. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Entertaining action rpg that turns into too much grinding. Its great fun to start and try new characters, but the pace drops off and you find yourself slogging through fields of enemies. Lots of passive skills and the slowing pace really takes away from character skill development. A fun quick fix but there are better games in this genre.
  31. Sep 30, 2013
    1
    That's a one more action-RPG without any allusion of interesting gameplay or challenge. Only difference between a classes or abilities it's how and with what flash of light you will tear a bunch of pathetic enemy/ After a 30 min. of playing this game I just wanna fall asleep. If you looking for dormitive this game for you.
  32. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Even after all these years I find this game just as much fun as the day I first played it. So many elements from Diablo make the game so much fun to play, while new innovations and fairly good visuals make the game better. Even though most people bash this for being a so similar to Diablo, I feel it has its own feel to it, and has concepts that further improve on the formula that Diablo started. This game is almost on par with Diablo in how the game flows, and the many different class configurations make it fun to start up all over again. Expand
  33. May 11, 2014
    8
    It's a good game, you can feel it from every details in graphic and UI that the developer put lots of effort into this project.
    The gameplay is well paced, not too hard, but it makes you regret your carelessness.
    One thing I can complain is that the final boss is a bit cheap. In order to win, you HAVE to be got the luck come across a real good weapon and resistance items, otherwise you
    have to grind it or keep popping potions, little strategy involved since the boss have lost his weakness in the new version of the game.
    In my opinion a good hack & slash game needs only concentration to beat the boss, not drugs (I died 15 times in my first run as a ritualist=Nature+Dream Mastery, had never used more than 5 potions in every boss battle except the Typhon which I can't pass without further grinding... This is really discouraging especially at the end of the game.
    Expand
  34. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Such an entertaining game, with a fantastic story line and good voice acting to go along with it. The graphics at the time were great and still look good. Only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is that on Windows 7 it is often unstable and will crash, causing you to lose saved game content.Also, when playing co-op with a friend, some quests are unavailable. A fantastic single player game though, it will cause you to get lost for hours exploring the environment of ancient Greece. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    Titan Quest is a godsend. It has been a while since we’ve played a quality action RPG, and Titan Quest fulfills our expectations perfectly. The game is deep, the combat is enjoyable, the game looks superb and there’s just so much to do. While the game borrows a few gameplay elements from Diablo II, Titan Quest does enough to feel fresh and offers enough variety to ensure that newcomers and fans of the genre will enjoy the experience.
  2. 81
    I think it looks impressive and offers a ton of content, and there are certainly worse games with which to spend your summer days (and there are worse games coming out of new development houses).
  3. One of those rare games where the ratio of time spent to the cost of the game makes for some of the most efficient entertainment this side of "Oblivion" or "Civilization IV."