Titan Quest PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 364
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    Titan Quest is a good game. Well....sort of. But i certainly wouldnt give it a 10/10 nor 6/10 - 7/10 seems reasonable. Why? Okay the graphics: They're good, not recent but still good and the world is very beautiful and all. Gameplay: Okay, first time you play TQ, its really fun and you really get into the RPG mood but the second time you play it, knowing the quests and stuff, it justTitan Quest is a good game. Well....sort of. But i certainly wouldnt give it a 10/10 nor 6/10 - 7/10 seems reasonable. Why? Okay the graphics: They're good, not recent but still good and the world is very beautiful and all. Gameplay: Okay, first time you play TQ, its really fun and you really get into the RPG mood but the second time you play it, knowing the quests and stuff, it just isen't all that great. The combat can be rather boring and some items are ridicously overpriced. 80%, if not 90% of the game is all about battling seemingly endless hordes of strange monsters, continous and monotonous left mouse clicks with little strategy depth. That said, it can be fun upgrading your character with new weopons, gear and armour and new spells. But overall, it isen't 'classic' or 'legendary' or even 'amazing' - its good. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    A good game with ability to assign points, different types of mobs, maps well designed and good loot only a flaw; i can't read anything at high resolution.
  3. LeahR
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    The best of the "left-click action-RPGs." An improvement over Diablo 2 in nearly every way, and still deeper and more satisfying than even newer games like Torchlight. Its faults lie in the fact that Iron Lore didn't innovate and offer more complex, interesting gameplay. You hit one or two skills, and your Drink Potion button, for 99% of the game, no matter the difficulty level. The best of the "left-click action-RPGs." An improvement over Diablo 2 in nearly every way, and still deeper and more satisfying than even newer games like Torchlight. Its faults lie in the fact that Iron Lore didn't innovate and offer more complex, interesting gameplay. You hit one or two skills, and your Drink Potion button, for 99% of the game, no matter the difficulty level. Still, if you want a traditional left-click ARPG, Titan Quest scratches the itch like no other. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Shameless D2 clone which just about improves upon it. Good visuals for the high level abilities, some interesting adversaries. Some good player classes, some bad. A perfunctory storyline, repetitiveness and super linearity make this the usual mind numbing left clicking orgy. Enjoyable on those occasions when your neurons can't be bothered to fire.
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Titan Quest is an action RPG in which your character sets out to save the ancient world from evil. It takes you from ancient Greece to the Egypt of the Pharaohs, Babylon and beyond. While it looks absolutely stunning (even in 2013) and has a refreshing, inspiring theme, I found many flaws prohibit me from really enjoying it. The checkpoint system isn't well balanced, sometimes there's anTitan Quest is an action RPG in which your character sets out to save the ancient world from evil. It takes you from ancient Greece to the Egypt of the Pharaohs, Babylon and beyond. While it looks absolutely stunning (even in 2013) and has a refreshing, inspiring theme, I found many flaws prohibit me from really enjoying it. The checkpoint system isn't well balanced, sometimes there's an abundance of checkpoints in a safe region, and a total lack of checkpoints in an extremely dangerous zone. There are difficulty spikes, one moment you're fighting low level trash, the next moment you're killed by a flock of uber-elites. There's so much loot, but most of it is vendor trash. The past 7 levels I haven't found anything that I could use! And then there's the fabled skill system, that requires you to dump all your skillpoints into the same 2 proficiency skills for 21 levels, in order to unlock the best skills. All of this detracts from an otherwise enjoyable game. Most sessions I quit in an hour, out of boredom or frustration. I recommend the similar but much more entertaining Torchlight 2. Only buy this if it's on sale and you've tried all the other aRPG's, in that case this is a really nice investment. Expand
  6. RobE.
    Oct 5, 2006
    5
    It is pretty? I dont understand what people see in this game. Maybe you're too young to remember diablo- an original. This stuff is so derivative it's disgusting. Your character appearance doesn't even change, regardless of your class. This game has no 'character.' If you want to have some mindless hack and slash, upgrade your character, etc, there are so many It is pretty? I dont understand what people see in this game. Maybe you're too young to remember diablo- an original. This stuff is so derivative it's disgusting. Your character appearance doesn't even change, regardless of your class. This game has no 'character.' If you want to have some mindless hack and slash, upgrade your character, etc, there are so many alternatives. Try Guild Wars. Expand
  7. JamieS.
    Oct 2, 2006
    6
    Titan quest is a great looking game --- that's not much fun to play. In this type of game, you spend all your time doing two things: (1) Combat against an endless horde of creatures and (2) Going back to the shop to sell your loot and upgrade your gear. The problem is, in Titan Quest, neither of these is much fun. First off, the combat. The combat consists of clicking either the left Titan quest is a great looking game --- that's not much fun to play. In this type of game, you spend all your time doing two things: (1) Combat against an endless horde of creatures and (2) Going back to the shop to sell your loot and upgrade your gear. The problem is, in Titan Quest, neither of these is much fun. First off, the combat. The combat consists of clicking either the left or the mouse button on an enemy. To keep attacking, hold the mouse button down. As I hadn't chosen optional skills for the right mouse button, all I do in combat is ... click and hold the left mouse button. Repeatedly. For hours at a time. No strategy, no depth, no variation, and NO FUN. If I HAD invested in right button skills, I could have clicked the right button instead, and alternated ... whoop de do. Secondly, shoppping. The items are hugely expensive, and the merchants are a rip-off. You seem to get around 10% of an items value when you sell it. ALso, whereas in dungeon siege the items are nicely graded, and clearly marked -- IE blue for magic, outlined if unable to buy, etc etc --- in titan quest they're not. You can find many items that are highlighted as if you are able to buy them, but tiny red text that doesn;t appear until you actually clock onm the item tells you "it's too expensive" or "your level is insufficient". And the items in general are boring boring boring ... you'll seee one picture, for example of an axe, that will have 30 different names attached to it "copper axe" "copper reinforced axe" "copper reinforced axe of chlling" "bronze axe" but they all look the damn same so it gives the impression of little variety. This is true of armour, shields, rings etc. SO you have a game where you spend all your time in combat or trading --- but the combat and trading is boring. SO what's left? Well, the world is pretty. Damn pretty. But there again, where the graphics is very realistic, (IE not cartoony) the world itself is unrealistic. SO you have a game where even a tree's canopy will cast shadows against a rock wall ior flowerswill swish aside as you walk through them --and yet the people stand like statues, day or night, fixed to the same spot. SO, graphically, they've put in a lot of effort --- and yet, lifewise, they've put in very little. So youove got a game that's great to look at, so pretty it almost seems alive ... yet so non-interactive (People don't move, enemies stay in fixed spots always with their own little treasure chest) it almost feels dead. In the end, it gets six for a damn pretty engine. But it's lucky to get that. Many times I've TRIED to play this game ..I keep telling myslef I SHOULD like it ... but I always wind up feeling bored after an hour or so and put it away again. Don't waste your time with this one unless you'e bored and have nothing else to play. Expand
  8. M.Archer
    Jul 7, 2006
    5
    There is just nothing new or compelling about this game. This could very easily be a mod from any other click happy RPG game.
  9. TylerB.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    After as much time as the game devs had to improve on the Diablo 2 formula, they really didn't do any justice. The only thing this game is lacking is gameplay. The graphics are good, the game runs smoothly, the voice acting is good, and even going back to ancient Greece was a fun time trip, but the gameplay is so lacking it makes me just want to install Diablo 2 just to spite this After as much time as the game devs had to improve on the Diablo 2 formula, they really didn't do any justice. The only thing this game is lacking is gameplay. The graphics are good, the game runs smoothly, the voice acting is good, and even going back to ancient Greece was a fun time trip, but the gameplay is so lacking it makes me just want to install Diablo 2 just to spite this game. Diablo 1 was more fun to play actually. You have no incentive to buy items because you get better stuff free from monsters that you can only sell for about 1/100th the price you buy them. The class system really nagged me. You are forced to a skillset you choose, and that makes the game so much more linear. There are no random maps, and the dungeons are too easy and end up like a shopping spree that involves killing monsters for loot. This game just seems like too much work to enjoy, and this is the last time I trust other user reviews. Apparently, the other reviewers seem to have a fetish for anything Spartan since the movie 300 or they haven't played any real games before and think this is a great game. Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    Though literally tons of Diablo clones in general are already around, Titan Quest seeks to actively interest people that haven't heard of any of these "other" Diablo-esque titles. It practically banks on it even, given the fact that it shared an Xbox platform release as well as a PC one. Of course here is the kicker, the punchline, the ultimatum: Its Diablo II. No the weapon namesThough literally tons of Diablo clones in general are already around, Titan Quest seeks to actively interest people that haven't heard of any of these "other" Diablo-esque titles. It practically banks on it even, given the fact that it shared an Xbox platform release as well as a PC one. Of course here is the kicker, the punchline, the ultimatum: Its Diablo II. No the weapon names aren't the same, and hey level design, you get my vote for being a little more terrifying (for how much more limited and claustrophobic you feel). The animations are well done, combat works fine, and goodness me it is a pretty game years after its release, but what isn't compared to Diablo 2 at this point. Unsurprisingly, these games have become rather rare, since most people have moved on to other game series or banished themselves from ever seeking out Diablo ever again, which is probably good as I'm sure that I myself do not need another hour-draining experience like Diablo 2 ever again. Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    I played alot of this game... and it's layout and way of "customizing" a unique class was AWESOME... the art and gameplay, also fun. WHAT IT MISSES HORRIDLY... no unique charachter (skin) customizaion at the start and it REALLY should've had multiplayer or even an MMO element added... I truely believe a ton of people would've loved it. They coulda even released DLC and people would'veI played alot of this game... and it's layout and way of "customizing" a unique class was AWESOME... the art and gameplay, also fun. WHAT IT MISSES HORRIDLY... no unique charachter (skin) customizaion at the start and it REALLY should've had multiplayer or even an MMO element added... I truely believe a ton of people would've loved it. They coulda even released DLC and people would've bought it. My cousin played it for the first time and he even loves it; but it's missing that comunity and charachter-cosmetic custom element (which would've relatively easy to add). Another game that had so much more potential but I they were short-sighted. Expand
  12. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Titan Quest is a Diablo style Action RPG meaning that it is neither a proper action game nor a proper RPG. There are action elements but not really a major need for fast reflexes and there are some RPG-like elements, i.e. leveling up and quests, but comparatively little of character customization and detailed statistics compared to most turn-based RPG's, very little of strategical choicesTitan Quest is a Diablo style Action RPG meaning that it is neither a proper action game nor a proper RPG. There are action elements but not really a major need for fast reflexes and there are some RPG-like elements, i.e. leveling up and quests, but comparatively little of character customization and detailed statistics compared to most turn-based RPG's, very little of strategical choices in combat which is mostly just about clicking on enemies, and of course no actual role playing. What is the strength of the game then? Epic battles. You will slay hordes and hordes of monsters. This makes the game enjoyable in the same way that e.g. action movies and classic shoot 'em up games like Raptor are enjoyable, the carnage makes it fun. And Titan's quest gets the Diablo-like elements just right. You level up at a good rate, not so fast that levelling up becomes trivial but fast enough that there is a constant sense of progress and something similar holds for number of monsters you kill, enough to create the right epic battle feel, but not so much that killing an enemy always feels like a trivial accomplishment.

    The game has impressive graphics. There are other games in the same genre, such as the Torchlight games, that are superior technically, but Titan Quest has more variation with a wider range of different looking locations in Greece, Egypt and the Orient and they all look very good.

    The sound is okay, but nothing special. The music is appropriately majestic and none to bad, but is is not particularly varied nor is it really chosen to be appropriate to the different locations. The sound effects works as well as in most other games of the genre but don't stand out.

    The story is completely uninteresting, as it usually is in this kind of game, and there is not too much story development as the game progresses. The interface is typical for this kind of game and works fairly well but doesn't stand out. I found it annoying that you cannot choose a difficulty level, but instead you unlock the next difficulty level when you beat the game at one difficulty level. This feels like a cheap way of trying to add replayability. I would have preffered to be able to choose a difficulty level from the start.

    All in all, Titan Quest is an enjoyable entry in the Diablo-like genre of games with good graphics that I would recommend to fans of this genre. I enjoyed it even though I am not in general a fan of the genre but prefer turn-base RPG's.
    Expand
  13. Mobius
    Jun 28, 2006
    7
    first impressions are good, this game has lots of nice touches like how the wheat fields animate when you walk through them and how clean the graphics look, if you have ever played dungeon seige you will find this game very similar in playing style. another bug i have is that the game keeps crashing to desktop every now and then , i know not everybody will have this issue but its annoying first impressions are good, this game has lots of nice touches like how the wheat fields animate when you walk through them and how clean the graphics look, if you have ever played dungeon seige you will find this game very similar in playing style. another bug i have is that the game keeps crashing to desktop every now and then , i know not everybody will have this issue but its annoying enough to include it in the review im sure they will sort this out with a decent patch. (btw it was the second game to be installed after a clean rebuild of the PC). Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    A very solid top down hack and slash game with plenty of classes and skills. The game play is quite good as well as the range of characters however the actual game tends to drag on for some time and after a time becomes quite repetitive.

    Worth playing but with out friends becomes a chore to complete.
  15. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Entertaining action rpg that turns into too much grinding. Its great fun to start and try new characters, but the pace drops off and you find yourself slogging through fields of enemies. Lots of passive skills and the slowing pace really takes away from character skill development. A fun quick fix but there are better games in this genre.
  16. Apr 30, 2015
    6
    wondeful scenery amazing graphics 2015 and I still play but for last time though. the reason..It`s not ''fast pace'' like diablo, torchlight & Van Helsing are. And this, because NO MATTER WHAT WEAPON YOU HOLD ALWAYS HIT ONE FOE AT A TIME!! So soon you realise how dificult it becomes and how frustrating. I wonder how the developers allow that..!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    Titan Quest is a godsend. It has been a while since we’ve played a quality action RPG, and Titan Quest fulfills our expectations perfectly. The game is deep, the combat is enjoyable, the game looks superb and there’s just so much to do. While the game borrows a few gameplay elements from Diablo II, Titan Quest does enough to feel fresh and offers enough variety to ensure that newcomers and fans of the genre will enjoy the experience.
  2. 81
    I think it looks impressive and offers a ton of content, and there are certainly worse games with which to spend your summer days (and there are worse games coming out of new development houses).
  3. One of those rare games where the ratio of time spent to the cost of the game makes for some of the most efficient entertainment this side of "Oblivion" or "Civilization IV."