Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1571 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combinesCrafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Polished from its first pixel to its last, this FPS will show the way of multiplayer action for years to come. [Issue #240]
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    93
    Respawn took a chance with Titanfall, embracing what it knew best with a multiplayer-only experience and pushing the envelope with its imaginative twists on classic competitive play. The result feels like a new breed of multiplayer that is inviting to established shooter players, but also compelling for people intrigued by everything from the free-running to the giant robotic titans.
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    90
    There is a lot of content in the main multiplayer of Titanfall. The capacity and ability of each player to approach each round and game mode in multiple is noteworthy. And the symbiosis between the pilot and the Titan is made with remarkable, where there is a real reason for the presence of each. The condiments are all here, varied game modes that are accompanied by a capable gameplay.
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    89
    A few things hold it back from being a complete success, but these can largely be overlooked in favor of all the things the game does right. Never before has a game made four words fill me with such excitement and anticipation. "Pilot, prepare for Titanfall."
  5. May 11, 2014
    85
    Titanfall is a highly entertaining online shooter, but it's a bit light on content for a full priced game. You quickly start to realize that Titanfall could desperately use more maps, more unlockables, more upgrades and more customization. [Apr 2014]
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    81
    The game has obviously been lovingly crafted by a team of developers who live for online multiplayer and they have pretty much got everything right. But at some point someone should have pointed out that a large portion of the gaming audience also like single player and playing just for fun.
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    A lot of fun, but perhaps a little too polished. [May 2014, p.54]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game has taken me back to the magic days of first discovering Halo:CE...the thrill of competition and a really good multiplayer game. IThis game has taken me back to the magic days of first discovering Halo:CE...the thrill of competition and a really good multiplayer game. I haven't really enjoyed an FPS online since Modern Warfare 2. The thrills and fun this game brings are just great.

    Are the graphics the best? Nope. Is there a storyline? Not really. Are there a zillion million weapons? No. Is there an insane amount of fun that leaves me shaking after basically every round from adrenaline? You bet. It takes me back to a simpler time when we weren't worried about all the stigma the FPS genre has around it these days; back to just running around like mad and shooting things.

    If you are looking for an in depth, story-driven game, this isn't for you. However, if you are looking for a fun way to kill a few hours and not even realize it...pick it up!
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    Unless you have a descent graphic card, this game will not be a good experience for you get the xbox version instead. for those who doesn'tUnless you have a descent graphic card, this game will not be a good experience for you get the xbox version instead. for those who doesn't want to get an xbox one and have a mainstream pc, this game is perfect. I have both the xb1 and pc version i have to say I enjoy more on the xb1 experience, but I still enjoy playing this on my pc with my radeon hd 7750 card, which runs medium setting flawlessly, no lags. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    This is a pretty long review! If youd like to skip to the summary, then go to the bottom!

    I made an accounts on Metacritic solely for
    This is a pretty long review! If youd like to skip to the summary, then go to the bottom!

    I made an accounts on Metacritic solely for Titanfall. The game is unbelievable. Is it worth a 10? No. Its not perfect. Ill make this very simple with cons and pros, then go more in depth from there.
    Pros:
    Intuitive
    Smooth
    Exciting
    Uh, Titans? Duh.
    ITS ALIVE!
    Cons:
    Content
    Graphics
    Normal Annoying FPS problems.
    Price
    Price
    PRICE!!!!!!

    Now for the more in depth:
    The game is so much fun with the wall runs and the jumps and the mantles etc etc, and that is very very smooth and it feels as normal as walking on the ground. The titans also feel very normal, its just as if youre on the ground, but instead of human size, youre giant. But where the game shines is in between these two. The balance between the two game play styles is so well thought out its damn near perfect. Any pilot can take on any titan, it may be dangerous, but its possible, and vice versa. If you want to just run on walls and play the game play CoD, well then do so! drop your titan in and make him follow and help you, or have him lock an area down! and speaking of titans, they are well made and balanced, with very few flaws about them, and the flaws are just annoying rather than gamebreaking. Now lets move on to the (kinda) cons.

    Okay. So.. No singleplayer. Yeah, it sucks.. but honestly, if you bought this friggin game and thought there was single player then you deserved to lose your money, because Respawn said very clearly that there is no singleplayer. Now, that being said, its still unfortunate that its not included, but the multiplayer campaign really isnt that bad. Sure, its generic and not too creative, but in all honesty, isnt generic supposed to be good? Not to mention theres some REALLY cool parts of the game that are only shown in campaign. But alas, no campaign is still unfortunate, perhaps a DLC will include some kind of survival mode. Okay. Now to the graphics. Contrary to what people seem to say, the graphics are fine.. Are they next gen? No.. Are they "HOLY HELL THATS SO REAL"? No, theyre not. Theyre acceptable though, and theyre more than serviceable. Oh, make sure you actually go to the setting and change your texture quality, because im guessing half the people on here never did.
    Okay, now the biggest problem of the game? The price. 60 bucks for a PC game? No. No PC game should ever be 60. At most it should be 50, and thats still too much. When you buy a digital copy of a game, you dont get a box, or anything that comes with it and that takes away from the price. This game might be worth 60 bucks, but it shouldnt be priced as so. Content does not affect gameplay, there are about 10 primary guns (or somewhere, i dont know for sure), and these guns are different enough to make you use each one, and never leave one behind and not use it. Its not that Titanfall doesnt have enough content, its that Call Of Duty has too much. How many times have you played CoD and only used a total of 8 different guns. Thats what i thought. Content is NOT a problem with Titanfall, and it should not be said that it is.

    Oh, and while im thinking of it: people seem to complain about the bots. Well, imagine a 12v12 game of titans and then tell me that sounds fun, because it sounds awful. I think the Specters should do more damage, but hey, its not a big deal. The bots are fun, and they make the world feel alive. Its crazy to see a squad of grunts fall from the sky, and as they rush out of their pod, a giant pterodactyl monster flies down and takes one away.

    Conclusion:
    The games worth 60 bucks, but shouldnt be priced as so, so wait for a sale or for it to drop to 40-50.
    The game is intuitive, new, and smooth. The titan vs pilot is balanced, and its a seamless transition.
    No singleplayer campaign, but honestly, if you didnt know there wasnt one, then why were you buying a game without looking at it first?
    The online campaign is very generic, yet still fun and epic. I sometimes play it over classic modes simply because i like the story, however little of one there is.
    Content is not a problem, guns are diverse, and you will use each one because you will need to.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    Great game. Very fast paced game and gets intense. This is an Honest rating on the game. many below and most likely above will give 0-4 orGreat game. Very fast paced game and gets intense. This is an Honest rating on the game. many below and most likely above will give 0-4 or 8-10... It doesnt deserve any of those. The games graphics are a 7.5/10 which is not bad, game play is a 9/10, content is a 5/10... I will say that the game is lacking in game content and will get repetitive. The developers should have made map packs and sold them for $25 when there is no content to start with. Had the game been valued at say, 30 or 40 dollars... this rating would be higher more around a 8 or maybe 9. The game play is VERY VERY fun. Considering this game was made from a branch off Infinity Ward, the company is newer, so I wasnt expecting a very great graphic intense game. The graphics are good though like i said, a 7.5/10 for our time. The 6 vs 6 in the game is right on and makes the game enjoyable. No one wants 30 bots running around on a map at a time, that wont be fun. The campaign mode is fun, but note *it is a multi-player 6 vs 6*.. same thing as multi player but has dialog and a little story behind why you are fighting. I'm just angered at at the content.... It's low.. and they want to sell a little bit more content later for $25 more... If they add more FREE content the game will advance and be better in all. Just like the Mass Effect 3 multiplayer. started small, ended up big after FREEEEE....FREEEE DLC. so again... game play 9/10... graphics 7.5/10... content 5/10 Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    5
    Possibly the most over-hyped game of this and last year, the game gets old fast the only decent part of the game would be the map design.Possibly the most over-hyped game of this and last year, the game gets old fast the only decent part of the game would be the map design. Other than that there seriously isn't enough content to warrant a full $60 purchase, going in I thought there would be maybe 7-8 Assault Rifles, at least 5-6 SMG's, maybe 4 LMG's and a vast array of customization options for your character I was sorely mistaken. The game barley has anything in the way of character customization, if multiplayer titles are the "future" you need to provide more content to warrant the purchase. I'd rather buy Battlefield 4 in the state that, that game has been in for the last 4 months than buy Titanfall. This game has been severely over-hyped, it really isn't that good, it's a mediocre shooter at best. I also feel sorry for console plays on this one as they are getting a game that runs at 792p for $60 that really isn't that good. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    3
    OK, so I recently bought this game on an impulse. It was fun for the first 4 hours and then a sudden pang of deathly boredom clouded anyOK, so I recently bought this game on an impulse. It was fun for the first 4 hours and then a sudden pang of deathly boredom clouded any further possible enjoyment. Great concept, great parkour, Titans are cool but the game is fundamentally unfinished and lacking the content demanded by it's $60 entry fee. Not pleased, not pleased at all. Getting the game refunded. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2014
    0
    this game shouldn't exists , it's full of fps drops , freezes, in a **** shooter if you freeze you're dead, don't buy it , it's a **** wastethis game shouldn't exists , it's full of fps drops , freezes, in a **** shooter if you freeze you're dead, don't buy it , it's a **** waste of your money Expand

See all 467 User Reviews