Toki Tori 2 + PC

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    72
    In Toki Tori 2, Two Tribes made a big open world that will take you hours to fully explore. It is a not a laid-back exploration game, though - glitchy AI and time-sensitive puzzles can make up for a very frustrating experience.
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    The "+" edition of Toki Tori 2 adds a great level editor and some minor improvements on the original game, but the overall difficulty of the puzzles remains. So, beware.
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    70
    Most of the puzzles are well balanced and cleverly connected – a bit of experimenting quickly leads to the correct solution. Although finding alternative paths can be frustrating.
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    60
    The improvements in Toki Tori 2+ makes it the best version of the sequel to the old platform puzzler. The mechanics are simple yet elegant and the puzzles are cleverly constructed. Unfortunately it is rather easy to get stuck and the player is often left with too little information as to what to do.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    60
    Toki Tori 2+ joins Fez as part of a new breed of exploration-based puzzle games.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    If you are looking into this game because you liked the first part, I would recommend watching some footage first. This sequel is a lotIf you are looking into this game because you liked the first part, I would recommend watching some footage first. This sequel is a lot different than its former game. And I like it, a lot. The game isn't just playing more and more levels anymore, this time the levels are linked to eachother and are one big world with a nice world map. In this world you have to figure everything out for yourself with just 2 moves. The clever part is that there are a lot of animals in the world that interact with your 2 moves and with eachother. This way you can have very hard puzzles with just 2 moves.

    In the world there are a lot of routes, you just won't realize that in the beginning of the game. For example, later I figured out that in the very first level you can go in a whole different direction than you would usually do. Add into this that the game looks great, it has a little story, and some challenges for people who are done with the story with cool rewards, and you got one great and awesome game. The cherry on the cake is that you can again make your own levels, only this time with added steam workshop support. And that works greatt!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    it's a cute puzzle game about a chick the cute animals are totally worth the purchase itself aren't they just adorable buy it for him thatit's a cute puzzle game about a chick the cute animals are totally worth the purchase itself aren't they just adorable buy it for him that adorable chick on the cover so we can have more. Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2013
    4
    As a fan of the original PC version of Toki Tori, the sequel was a day one purchase for me. Unfortunately, after struggling to find somethingAs a fan of the original PC version of Toki Tori, the sequel was a day one purchase for me. Unfortunately, after struggling to find something to like about the game for a couple of hours, I've moved on to something more enjoyable to play.
    The sequel changes gameplay significantly from the first game. There are no instructions for the game, you are suppose to discover everything. At first this sounded like a fun challenge, but after getting stuck a few times where I wasn't sure if it was because of a puzzle or because I didn't understand the game rules, it got to be annoying.
    Certain commonly used commands like rewind are no longer a single button/keypress. Now you have to chirp out your commands, which can require up to six button presses of varying lengths. Cute a first, then very annoying.
    The puzzles themselves aren't as interesting as the ones in the first game.
    Full Review »