User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 66
  2. Negative: 9 out of 66
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MrT.
    Jul 17, 2007
    6
    Nice Graphics and team control BUT the team isn't very tactical (they cannot even go prone). AI better than GRAW1 but that isn't saying much. The enemy AI is a joke. I sneak up on a guy keeping watch, shot him from behind, he falls over, gets up and resumes his watch. Of course I finished him and then finished playing this goofy game.
  2. Adamd.R.
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    GRAW2 is a huge improvement over GRAW1 . The game and map design is actually very good, especially compared to GRAW1's empty city streets. The multiplayer maps are awesome...I've played about 5 of them, all are fun and they're the most gorgeous maps I've ever fought on in an FPS. Single player's alot less boring now too since your usually taking out enclosed enemy GRAW2 is a huge improvement over GRAW1 . The game and map design is actually very good, especially compared to GRAW1's empty city streets. The multiplayer maps are awesome...I've played about 5 of them, all are fun and they're the most gorgeous maps I've ever fought on in an FPS. Single player's alot less boring now too since your usually taking out enclosed enemy bases instead of wandering around the huge city of GRAW1. My only complaint would be the Single player AI could be alot better, and the sniper rifles are too easy to use. (I prefer assault guns anyway, its more fun to take advantage of the great physics.) Over all I give it a 9 because I now prefer this multiplayer over BF2142. Single player's worth about a 7 so far. Expand
  3. RoelD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    6
    Playing GRAW 2 feels like playing a fps from the year 2000, only with 'pretty' graphics and fancy physics that hardly serve a purpose. I started playing on 'hard', since I figured my reasonable experience with fps games warranted a challenge. Little did I know that the challenge is still mainly comprised of making sure your teammates can find their way across a street Playing GRAW 2 feels like playing a fps from the year 2000, only with 'pretty' graphics and fancy physics that hardly serve a purpose. I started playing on 'hard', since I figured my reasonable experience with fps games warranted a challenge. Little did I know that the challenge is still mainly comprised of making sure your teammates can find their way across a street with some rubble, and not end up facing a blind wall, with their backs in the direction the enemy is likely to come from. The last part isn't much of a problem though, since the enemy is quite happy to hold their positions, even when their buddies get picked off one by one by me or one of my fellow ghosts (if he's having a moment of clarity). If they do move, they do so without any sign of intelligence at all. Apparently Mexican army soldiers and 'highly trained' Panamanian mercenaries share the same passion for running straight into your line of fire in a single file. Flanking is for sissies and ghosts, is the lesson GRAW 2 teaches. On the occasions where the AI did manage to spot me, it often came off as if they had superhuman eyesight, since I was either shrouded in complete darkness or crouched behind a car a good 69 meters away. I guess my brown helmet sticks out like a sore thumb in the colorful palette or various shades of yellow and brown that is a Mexican village in GRAW 2. Then there is the level design. Developer GRIN took the easy way out by making sure my highly trained GHOST soldier can't even jump a over a one foot obstacle (think rubble, elevated curbs and the occasional sandbag reinforcement), and subsequently using said obstacles to funnel me along the path that they want me to take. A path lined with zombie-like soldiers conveniently facing my direction. Sure, you can sometimes choose between which alley to take, but it feels more like a cookie thrown at you than a smart tactical move on your part. Add to this a couple of game stopping bugs (getting permanently stuck in a folding chair, the driver of my evacuation vehicle getting shot mid-cutscene, preventing the game from moving on, etc.) and you have a game on your hands that is easy and frustrating at the same time, and for all the wrong reasons. The only redeemable features are the extensive weapon selection (although they're pretty damn interchangeable with so little tactical challenge), the nice explosions and the occasional moment of clarity of enemy AI. In short, I can imagine Mexican politicians being pissed off at this game, although not for the reasons you read in the news. Expand
  4. TimS.
    Jul 19, 2007
    7
    Well well... having played GRAW and GRAW2 both on PC and on Xbox360 I must recommend that if you own the Xbox360 you'd be better off buying that version. The own soldiers' AI on PC is just well... it sucks. I find myself spending more time on hearding the troops around the field than actually fighting the fight. And the problem that your own men go into corners with their backs Well well... having played GRAW and GRAW2 both on PC and on Xbox360 I must recommend that if you own the Xbox360 you'd be better off buying that version. The own soldiers' AI on PC is just well... it sucks. I find myself spending more time on hearding the troops around the field than actually fighting the fight. And the problem that your own men go into corners with their backs to to enemy is still around. The Xbox360 seems to be a tad more refined and the own troops A. can accomplish the tasks you give them and B. know how to move and fight back... they actually can solve situations by themselves instead of you just killing 98% of the enemies. On the plus side on PC is the Multiplayer and graphics. And the MP is why I bought the PC version in the first place. It's excellent. Much better than GRAW and I like the PC MP more than Xbox360. If you're into some realistic multiplayer war with some tactical elements, then GRAW2 is totally worth the dime on PC. If you value a smooth single player and casual MP more, then I'd go for the Xbox360 version. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2011
    5
    This game is very tactical based and it will take you a good hour to complete one mission effectively. I will say the gun selections and load out customization is great. However, this game is heavily reliant on micromanaging your squad and needless to say you squad members AI is completely useless other that being meat shield distractions. Silencers are a must since 1 non-silenced shotThis game is very tactical based and it will take you a good hour to complete one mission effectively. I will say the gun selections and load out customization is great. However, this game is heavily reliant on micromanaging your squad and needless to say you squad members AI is completely useless other that being meat shield distractions. Silencers are a must since 1 non-silenced shot will alert everyone including a Snorlax. Also the controls are clunky and simple movements, prone, stand, crouch and item selection is overly spaced out and are a bit hampering in heated gunfight. Also keep your head down 2-3 hits and your dead. No difficulty selection either because the AI acts the same anyway. So have fun getting fragged by 100% accuracy enemy AI with superhuman eyesight. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    In my opinion this is the best Ghost Recon game to date. They improved the GRAW story but ruined Ghost Recon in Future Soldier/GRFS. Yes it may not be developed by Ubisoft like it is on the 360 or PS3 but it still is a good game and I was happy to see that STEAM put a deal on it which I took advantage of straight away!
  7. May 28, 2014
    0
    after watching watch dogs ,this game the same would happen and probably will be a waste
    ..........
    ..........
    ....................
    ................................
    ............................................
    ......................................................
  8. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    Graw 2 is nothing like its console brethren. Graw 2 is developed by Grin, the company behind Graw 1 on the PC, however not the company behind the console versions of the two games. Grin tries to make the game more tactical and difficult than the console versions. The PC version of Graw 2 plays in the first-person mode, unlike the console version. They differ greatly, including the AI,Graw 2 is nothing like its console brethren. Graw 2 is developed by Grin, the company behind Graw 1 on the PC, however not the company behind the console versions of the two games. Grin tries to make the game more tactical and difficult than the console versions. The PC version of Graw 2 plays in the first-person mode, unlike the console version. They differ greatly, including the AI, which is very imbecilic in the PC version, the gameplay mechanics, and the overall feel. They do not feel like the same game at all, with the pc version playing like a very slow paced tactical shooter, with the console version being more of a laid-back over the shoulder shoot em up. The PC version is tremendously harder, and will make even the best gamers cringe. The teammates are also very dumbfounded, they usually have no idea what to do and will always make bad decisions, and you will constantly need to babysit them and make sure their every need is taken care of, which happens much too often. Graw 2 is not the best PC game i have ever played, and its not a big step up from Graw 1 on the PC either, and the console versions just seem more polished, with the graphics on the PC being very inadequate, as the game is not demanding in the least bit. Graw 2 is not a horrible first person shooter, fans of Graw 1 on PC should check the game out and fans will most likely appreciate the approach taken to bring it back to the older-style Graw games. The missions are very long and boring, and all feel jumbled together, and the whole game feels like it is a mod of something else. Expand
  9. May 29, 2012
    1
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a first person shooter, where a squad of elite solders have to infiltrate, shoot some bad guys and carry out some objective. It's pretty bland, boring and did not provide me with any satisfying experience. First of all, I bought the game to play co-op with a friend. We started on normal, but quickly got bored - the game was just very, very easy. WeGhost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a first person shooter, where a squad of elite solders have to infiltrate, shoot some bad guys and carry out some objective. It's pretty bland, boring and did not provide me with any satisfying experience. First of all, I bought the game to play co-op with a friend. We started on normal, but quickly got bored - the game was just very, very easy. We then upped the difficulty to the hardest level, but we were still bored. This, mind you, is a setup where two human players who only played the game for 30 minutes takes over for a squad of one player and a group of three bots on the very hardest difficulty and the game still fails to challenge us in any way. The story is seen before, and details the eternal conflict between good Americans and some filthy foreign dictator or such (yawn). The briefings are absurdly long but with very little content. We ran into a bug where the game would crash upon us reaching a certain trigger - this had been reported years previously, but the developer apparently couldn't be bothered fixing it and assumed that players, like we did, would google the problem after crashing at the same place a few times and simply take another route through the map. There is no save-functionality in co-op, so a crash means starting the map over. The co-op is not well-executed either. Only one of the players get to use the map (who came up with that design decision?). The map will go to another player if the first one dies, and with more than two it can be difficult to figure out who can actually use it. The game has nothing going for it and only the most dedicated fans of the genre should even consider buying it. It pains me to see so many good models and so many programming hours going into a game this uninspired. Maybe it's just about time to stop making these Tom Clancy games? Expand
  10. DaveP.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    I don't really understand why the game is getting bad reviews. I am finding it exciting, quite hard (though probably the right difficulty level), graphically gorgeous. Sure, the AI could be a little better, but I don't junk a game over something so trivial. Y'all need to try game development, and get a reality check.
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    If you loved GRAW, you'll love GRAW 2. The graphics are prettier, and the gameplay continues the style of part one with a few cool gameplay improvements. It's sometimes more challenging than part 1, I suppose the devs knew that if you finished part 1, you want to continue enjoying the challenge. Great stuff.
  12. Jul 4, 2012
    1
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2... yeah, it's so advanced there's no "jump" key. The PC version was developed by Grin, using their appropriately named "Diesel" engine. Diesel makes me think of smog, which explains why the graphics are so damn blurry and washed out (you can barely tell the difference between an enemy soldier and a palm tree).

    The story is bland and uninteresting (blah
    Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2... yeah, it's so advanced there's no "jump" key. The PC version was developed by Grin, using their appropriately named "Diesel" engine. Diesel makes me think of smog, which explains why the graphics are so damn blurry and washed out (you can barely tell the difference between an enemy soldier and a palm tree).

    The story is bland and uninteresting (blah blah Mexican rebels blah blah nukes, mercenaries, blah blah) and is told through loooooong booooring briefings. The voice acting, however, is where GRAW2 really shines: it's so poor you can't help but laugh. Add to this the fact that Grin decided to make this a more realistic tactical shooter and what do you get? A "realistic" shooter with hammy voice acting, blurry graphics, poor controls, useless teammates that you have to constantly babysit and some good old fashioned "we-can-see-your-toe-sticking-out-from-a-mile-away"-AI. Lovely... just lovely! We do however get a happy ending, since Grin filed for bankruptcy and closed its doors in 2009.
    Expand
  13. GeorgeA
    Oct 18, 2009
    3
    Absolutely boring and uninteresting. Don't buy it -you'll be bored in one hour. The mission are completely uninteresting and dull. There is no strategy involved -your teammates are completely useless. The health system is also annoying- a few bullets and you are dead. I have a question why should i buy this game, when there is Call of Duty 4?
  14. BitB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    6
    Unfairly hard indeed. Gets boring after a while.
  15. FranciscoM..
    Jul 19, 2007
    7
    Uneventful, uninspiring and boring. It looks like a chess game, even a check mate fails to get your heart pounding, there are no emotions. This is a robotic game, both ghosts and Mexican rebels are zombies doing cold kills, with no adrenaline rush like in Vegas. Again the PC version fails well behind its Xbox 360 brethren, in what is most important : gameplay and fun.
  16. Nov 6, 2011
    0
    Bad! The single player missions are boring and the multiplayer is extremely challenging and stupidly realistic (wtf's the point of a game)? Read the other reviews if you want more info on how terribad this game is. I have nothing more to say.
  17. ReidS.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Wow what a game this game is one of the best i have ever played i actually thought i was right there in the game besides the fact that half of this could never happen it was over all pretty good.
  18. WalterC.
    May 25, 2008
    9
    Offers something many games don't anymore, the feeling you accomplished something at the end of the game. Story and AI (friendly and enemy) could use a little tweaking. Hero characters (that's YOU Mitchell) have no place in a tactical shooter. Disappointed that once again were dealing with a 24-esque nuclear threat scenario. What ever happened to the good old days? Everyones got Offers something many games don't anymore, the feeling you accomplished something at the end of the game. Story and AI (friendly and enemy) could use a little tweaking. Hero characters (that's YOU Mitchell) have no place in a tactical shooter. Disappointed that once again were dealing with a 24-esque nuclear threat scenario. What ever happened to the good old days? Everyones got an A-Bomb today. Multiplayer is excellent, shame not a lot of people play it. Way more enjoyable than the spamming that is CoD4. Expand
  19. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    I always enjoyed tactical shooters from the Tom Clancy series. Rainbow Six got my attention in 1998, now I still play R6:Raven Shield and Vegas 2 (despite it's flaws). First Ghost Recon was one of the games I bought just after it's release, i really liked the idea of realistic combat in a much larger scale than Rainbow Six. Years had passed and I missed the new editions of Ghost Recon..I always enjoyed tactical shooters from the Tom Clancy series. Rainbow Six got my attention in 1998, now I still play R6:Raven Shield and Vegas 2 (despite it's flaws). First Ghost Recon was one of the games I bought just after it's release, i really liked the idea of realistic combat in a much larger scale than Rainbow Six. Years had passed and I missed the new editions of Ghost Recon.. But now im correcting my mistakes, starting with the latest game in the series - Advanced Warfighter 2. Overall impressions after first hours of gameplay are rather positive. It still has this realistic feel - you can die pretty easy, you cant pretend Rambo or rush into action without using a bit of strategy. Teamwork - that's the word. Tapping Tab key will show you tactical map, there you can give orders, waypoints and control behaviour of your soldiers. You can also use middle mouse button in the FPS view, when there's need to correct some orders or apply new ones. It's very clear and you'll get a hang of it very quickly. You've got plenty of guns and attachments to choose from, including my favorite - ultra-powerful sniper rifle resembling famous Barett. Visually game is decent, some years has passed and graphics can appear as little dated... but it's still a good looking game. What about flaws? There's only one, but major - A.I. Your foes are just plain stupid and blind. Most of the time it's not a big deal, because you're outnumbered and even stupid soldiers become threat in bigger groups xD .. But what can you do, when you're own collegues from Ghost Team resemble the same stupidity? They constantly get lost or stuck - you need to watch them carefully all the time. I happens very often - You give orders, take your position, click the "execute plan" button and.... flanking manouvers turn to s*it. One of your Ghosts stopped after two steps. In the middle of open ground... It can really irritate you. They are elite soldiers, why should I babysit them? ... Overall Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a good game. Long Campaign, good mechanics, very good "feel" of a real battlefield - that's why we all love Tom Clancy series. It's also exciting and challenging, so you've got the full package here ;) Lousy A.I cuts down one point from the score, so there it is - 7/10. Very decent game. Collapse
  20. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    I always enjoyed tactical shooters from the Tom Clancy series. Rainbow Six got my attention in 1998, now I still play R6:Raven Shield and Vegas 2 (despite it's flaws). First Ghost Recon was one of the games I bought just after it's release, i really liked the idea of realistic combat in a much larger scale than Rainbow Six. Years had passed and I missed the new editions of Ghost Recon..I always enjoyed tactical shooters from the Tom Clancy series. Rainbow Six got my attention in 1998, now I still play R6:Raven Shield and Vegas 2 (despite it's flaws). First Ghost Recon was one of the games I bought just after it's release, i really liked the idea of realistic combat in a much larger scale than Rainbow Six. Years had passed and I missed the new editions of Ghost Recon.. But now im correcting my mistakes, starting with the latest game in the series - Advanced Warfighter 2. Overall impressions after first hours of gameplay are rather positive. It still has this realistic feel - you can die pretty easy, you cant pretend Rambo or rush into action without using a bit of strategy. Teamwork - that's the word. Tapping Tab key will show you tactical map, there you can give orders, waypoints and control behaviour of your soldiers. You can also use middle mouse button in the FPS view, when there's need to correct some orders or apply new ones. It's very clear and you'll get a hang of it very quickly. You've got plenty of guns and attachments to choose from, including my favorite - ultra-powerful sniper rifle resembling famous Barett. Visually game is decent, some years has passed and graphics can appear as little dated... but it's still a good looking game. What about flaws? There's only one, but major - A.I. Your foes are just plain stupid and blind. Most of the time it's not a big deal, because you're outnumbered and even stupid soldiers become threat in bigger groups xD .. But what can you do, when you're own collegues from Ghost Team resemble the same stupidity? They constantly get lost or stuck - you need to watch them carefully all the time. I happens very often - You give orders, take your position, click the "execute plan" button and.... flanking manouvers turn to s*it. One of your Ghosts stopped after two steps. In the middle of open ground... It can really irritate you. They are elite soldiers, why should I babysit them? ... Overall Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 is a good game. Long Campaign, good mechanics, very good "feel" of a real battlefield - that's why we all love Tom Clancy series. It's also exciting and challenging, so you've got the full package here ;) Lousy A.I cuts down one point from the score, so there it is - 7/10. Very decent game. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Where a game like "SWAT4" manages to be fun, GRAW2 just feels a little bit too much like hard work. The fireworks don't crackle with the kind of spectacle we're paying for, and there just isn't enough juicy meat on the tactical bones for us to regard this as a feast. [Aug 2007, p.74]
  2. PC Format
    87
    Not a massive leap forward from Advanced Warfighter, but it's definitely a worthy addition to any tactical shoooter fan's collection. [Aug 2007, p.58]
  3. So, an improvement on the (initially) buggy port that the first GRAW on PC was, but even with the pleasingly significant interface and visual tweaks over the console version, this is still very much a an adequate but not spectacular sequel to an adequate but not spectacular tactical shooter. It's GRAW, but a bit better, and that's it.