Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 builds off of the events in the first game and places gamers in control of the U.S. military's elite fighting unit, the Ghosts. In the year 2014, the rising conflict between Mexican loyalists and insurgent rebel forces has thrown Mexico intoTom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 builds off of the events in the first game and places gamers in control of the U.S. military's elite fighting unit, the Ghosts. In the year 2014, the rising conflict between Mexican loyalists and insurgent rebel forces has thrown Mexico into full-scale civil war. Under the command of Captain Scott Mitchell, the Ghosts are called upon to face an imminent threat to the United States. The fate of two countries now lies in the hands of the Ghosts as they fend off an attack on U.S. soil. Equipped with the most cutting-edge weaponry and technology, the Ghosts must battle on both sides of the border to neutralize the escalating rebel threat. The Ghosts will battle enemies in mountain terrains, barren deserts and even on their home turf in El Paso, Texas. Each environment presents its own benefits and challenges and will call for fresh tactical approaches. Vastly Improved Artificial Intelligence (AI): Watch your back as rebels send their own team members to flank your position or gain vantage points by utilizing vertical gameplay to pick you off from the rooftops above. Improved squad-mate AI will now feed you more of the information you need with descriptive commands. The revolutionary new Cross-Com 2.0 will give the player more information than ever before. You will be able to see what your friendly forces see in the top left display and the click of a button will expand that to full-screen view for a clearer and more precise picture. Command lethal air strikes with jet fighters, gain mobile cover for otherwise impassable situations and replenish armaments on the battlefield using an unmanned artillery MULE. Players can now heal their team on the battlefield, including squad leader Scott Mitchell, with an all-new Medic class of soldier. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A Sherman Tank of a game - tough, armed to the teeth and... erm... more heavily armoured at the front!
  2. The story is forgettable, the dialog in the cut scenes is cheesy, the single-player campaign is short, and the AI leaves much to be desired — but the fighting is top notch, the battles are intense, the strategic options are myriad, and the immersion factor is so compelling I can give it a strong recommendation.
  3. Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 may vex even gamers with nerves of steel from time to time, but it's still a good game with an excellent multi-player mode.
  4. 79
    If the idea of having complete control of every aspect of your squad and planning the action down to the last detail floats your boat then the PC version is ideal, if you'd rather feel like you're in charge of a team of real people surviving moment to moment on your instincts alone then you'll have more fun with the console version.
  5. 72
    The added features for the PC version are certainly appreciated, and the more punishing level of difficulty definitely heightens the intensity of battle, but the AI problems really hinder the potential benefits.
  6. 70
    Reasonably competent, but otherwise fairly unremarkable.
  7. For the most part the game has been intelligently repositioned for the PC platform, but a lack of polish means that many minor flaws coalesce to make the experience a rather uneven one, often obscuring the creators’ worthwhile efforts. [Sept 2007, p.96]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. DaveP.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    I don't really understand why the game is getting bad reviews. I am finding it exciting, quite hard (though probably the right I don't really understand why the game is getting bad reviews. I am finding it exciting, quite hard (though probably the right difficulty level), graphically gorgeous. Sure, the AI could be a little better, but I don't junk a game over something so trivial. Y'all need to try game development, and get a reality check. Expand
  2. WalterC.
    May 25, 2008
    9
    Offers something many games don't anymore, the feeling you accomplished something at the end of the game. Story and AI (friendly and Offers something many games don't anymore, the feeling you accomplished something at the end of the game. Story and AI (friendly and enemy) could use a little tweaking. Hero characters (that's YOU Mitchell) have no place in a tactical shooter. Disappointed that once again were dealing with a 24-esque nuclear threat scenario. What ever happened to the good old days? Everyones got an A-Bomb today. Multiplayer is excellent, shame not a lot of people play it. Way more enjoyable than the spamming that is CoD4. Expand
  3. Adamd.R.
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    GRAW2 is a huge improvement over GRAW1 . The game and map design is actually very good, especially compared to GRAW1's empty city GRAW2 is a huge improvement over GRAW1 . The game and map design is actually very good, especially compared to GRAW1's empty city streets. The multiplayer maps are awesome...I've played about 5 of them, all are fun and they're the most gorgeous maps I've ever fought on in an FPS. Single player's alot less boring now too since your usually taking out enclosed enemy bases instead of wandering around the huge city of GRAW1. My only complaint would be the Single player AI could be alot better, and the sniper rifles are too easy to use. (I prefer assault guns anyway, its more fun to take advantage of the great physics.) Over all I give it a 9 because I now prefer this multiplayer over BF2142. Single player's worth about a 7 so far. Expand
  4. FranciscoM..
    Jul 19, 2007
    7
    Uneventful, uninspiring and boring. It looks like a chess game, even a check mate fails to get your heart pounding, there are no emotions. Uneventful, uninspiring and boring. It looks like a chess game, even a check mate fails to get your heart pounding, there are no emotions. This is a robotic game, both ghosts and Mexican rebels are zombies doing cold kills, with no adrenaline rush like in Vegas. Again the PC version fails well behind its Xbox 360 brethren, in what is most important : gameplay and fun. Expand
  5. RoelD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    6
    Playing GRAW 2 feels like playing a fps from the year 2000, only with 'pretty' graphics and fancy physics that hardly serve a Playing GRAW 2 feels like playing a fps from the year 2000, only with 'pretty' graphics and fancy physics that hardly serve a purpose. I started playing on 'hard', since I figured my reasonable experience with fps games warranted a challenge. Little did I know that the challenge is still mainly comprised of making sure your teammates can find their way across a street with some rubble, and not end up facing a blind wall, with their backs in the direction the enemy is likely to come from. The last part isn't much of a problem though, since the enemy is quite happy to hold their positions, even when their buddies get picked off one by one by me or one of my fellow ghosts (if he's having a moment of clarity). If they do move, they do so without any sign of intelligence at all. Apparently Mexican army soldiers and 'highly trained' Panamanian mercenaries share the same passion for running straight into your line of fire in a single file. Flanking is for sissies and ghosts, is the lesson GRAW 2 teaches. On the occasions where the AI did manage to spot me, it often came off as if they had superhuman eyesight, since I was either shrouded in complete darkness or crouched behind a car a good 69 meters away. I guess my brown helmet sticks out like a sore thumb in the colorful palette or various shades of yellow and brown that is a Mexican village in GRAW 2. Then there is the level design. Developer GRIN took the easy way out by making sure my highly trained GHOST soldier can't even jump a over a one foot obstacle (think rubble, elevated curbs and the occasional sandbag reinforcement), and subsequently using said obstacles to funnel me along the path that they want me to take. A path lined with zombie-like soldiers conveniently facing my direction. Sure, you can sometimes choose between which alley to take, but it feels more like a cookie thrown at you than a smart tactical move on your part. Add to this a couple of game stopping bugs (getting permanently stuck in a folding chair, the driver of my evacuation vehicle getting shot mid-cutscene, preventing the game from moving on, etc.) and you have a game on your hands that is easy and frustrating at the same time, and for all the wrong reasons. The only redeemable features are the extensive weapon selection (although they're pretty damn interchangeable with so little tactical challenge), the nice explosions and the occasional moment of clarity of enemy AI. In short, I can imagine Mexican politicians being pissed off at this game, although not for the reasons you read in the news. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2011
    5
    This game is very tactical based and it will take you a good hour to complete one mission effectively. I will say the gun selections and loadThis game is very tactical based and it will take you a good hour to complete one mission effectively. I will say the gun selections and load out customization is great. However, this game is heavily reliant on micromanaging your squad and needless to say you squad members AI is completely useless other that being meat shield distractions. Silencers are a must since 1 non-silenced shot will alert everyone including a Snorlax. Also the controls are clunky and simple movements, prone, stand, crouch and item selection is overly spaced out and are a bit hampering in heated gunfight. Also keep your head down 2-3 hits and your dead. No difficulty selection either because the AI acts the same anyway. So have fun getting fragged by 100% accuracy enemy AI with superhuman eyesight. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2011
    0
    Bad! The single player missions are boring and the multiplayer is extremely challenging and stupidly realistic (wtf's the point of a game)?Bad! The single player missions are boring and the multiplayer is extremely challenging and stupidly realistic (wtf's the point of a game)? Read the other reviews if you want more info on how terribad this game is. I have nothing more to say. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.