Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by the team behind Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter and Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2, the game features cutting-edge technology, prototype high-tech weaponry, and state-of-the-art single-player and multiplayer modes. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier goes beyond the core Ghost Recon franchise and deliver a fresh gameplay experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 86
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is no exception, and the small unaesthetic or functionality mishaps don't change the basic fact that it's a well-done title, with multiplayer modes that will probably be played long after the campaign credits scroll down your screen.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    83
    Ubisoft deliveres a fairly competent shooter with more than decent content. Fans of the series might not like the more action-oriented, streamlined structure of the newest iteration. And the promising online-mode has yet to overcome some quirks!
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    82
    Slightly irritating 3rd person view, cover shooter parts are very average, but ultimately fun as a stealth game seasoned with some tactics. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    79
    This Ghost Recon focuses more on action and less on tactical advancement. Additionally the campaign is rarely a challenge. If you're hoping to get a continuation of the virtues of Advanced Warfighter, you will be disappointed. Technically the PC-version is way ahead of its' console counterparts, but the multiplayer doesn't offer quite as much.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    77
    A noteworthy stealth/action hybrid, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier executes successfully some nifty features, while offering a solid multiplayer mode- but the developers' insistence on including foreign elements, will probably alienate fans of pure and demanding tactical gameplay. [August 2012]
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    At its worst, Future Soldier is an uneven experience with some unchecked boxes as they pertain to PC ports (e.g. no option to invert the controls on a gamepad) and an unrecognizable story, but at its best it's a good shooter with a little more thought required than many other 3rd person shooters available right now.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    49
    Put simply, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier for the PC is an unstable product with numerous gameplay, online connection, and performance issues. Even with the release of multiple patches, there are an array of issues still present within the game. An entertaining single-player campaign and engaging multiplayer are enjoyable if players are able to overcome the blatant porting issues from consoles to the PC.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 108
  2. Negative: 59 out of 108
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Ghost Recon's return after a long time, this time with delivery and proposal totally solid, totally Graphics improved compared to the console version, fully customizable keyboard mappings, a campaign of high quality, fully solid port, a multiplayer with varied and totally addictive modes Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    Well, I'm giving this game a positive, because so far I was able to complete SP campaign and it was fun and interesting. Long enough even, that's rare in modern games that tends to end when you still want more to play. Gameplay is cool, shooting is satisfying, stealth is satisfying, controls are satisfying (I'm playing on PC), maps are a bit bleak and empty sometimes, but satisfying. Giving game a bad score because it has some technical issues (even though issues are devastating: I wasn't able to play MP as of yet, and it's been a month since release) is really childish. So, I've been having fun with SP, it's a solid game. But Ubisoft should be blamed for not only delaying PC release, but also for releasing untested buggy game in the end. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    7
    I think this game has a unfair low user score, I have played through the campain in singleplayer with two of my friends an got a solid action experiance. However the game does not stay true to it's the forerunners, that much is true. The story isn't the greatest ever writen, but not that bad. The graphics are pretty solid atleast it pleases me. The gunrange part of the game is awesome with loads of potential to modify your loadout and weapons. I think you should embrace games that makes coop a part if the general experiance, Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    3rd person sure does make it hard to not camp as well as all of the snipers
    I sure wish I could text in game
    Nade spammers on objectives

    its like call of duty only without the fun
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    3
    With enjoyable gameplay, decent graphics, and strong co-operative potential to draw from, Ghost Recon Future Soldier should have been a fantastic game. And the console version are. Unfortunately, Ubisoft has proven once more to care very little for their PC fan base by releasing a game so riddled with bugs, that a huge portion of the player base cannot even play the game. At it's current state, GRFS should be in the late Alpha testing phases. Even now, several weeks after the games PC release, many players are unable to play the games multiplayer without being disconnected partway through their first match. The game still suffers from an issue that causes many people's games to crash on startup. And so many other issues beyond just those. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2012
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I will try not to be the hater of the game - I'll just try to objectively say what can you expect.

    I gave it score 1
    because it does not deserve more - that one point goes for gameplay...and nothing more here is worth the trouble. Please let me explain. The game itself was released TOTALLY broken, and was patched four times and it is still not working correctly. Even if they do fix major issues - the game WILL NEVER BE what they promoted to us or what you can read in official release. So - the Good. Gameplay is actually great, kinda innovative...nice gimmicks...great cover system...game story and stuff ok...nice camera...overall - this is what you would probably look in a good game and you'd call nice gaming experience. And there the good ends. The bad and the ugly. While gameplay is great, the implementation of it is not that good - from day one the keyboard and mouse were not working!?!? The HUD is all flashy...and there is no options to customize it. There are too many stuff veteran players do not need but you are condemned to play with it. The game will surprise you with many crashes it holds up the sleeve - video driver, yeti, audio, CTD, BSOD...you name it, you'll get it. Few of the issues have been addressed however in my case, if I don't underclock the video card - I get crash within 2 minutes. Multiplayer is not working at all or you may sometimes play but with many difficulties - so in one hour online you'll probably get only 15 minutes of gameplay. That might end up laggy or something. Audio - no way to customize options for speaker setup, headphones or anything!? No support for 16:10 screens. Menus are totally console oriented and there is a bug that resolution always resets so you have to manually set it before EVERY run of the game. I think I could go here for much, much more...but I will sum it up now and tell the MOST IMPORTANT THING!!!! There is NO SUPPORT WHATSOEVER - if you try to go to forums you'll only get almost automated response from forum managers "please contact support, the link is in my signature" - and support will delay your ticket until you get "please wait until we find a way to fix your issue" only to get "this ticked is closed since you did not respond within 48 hours" after you try to wait...hilarious!! No refunds are allowed. I don't know - I have never seen such a bad release and have never came up to worse support in my life. In my eyes - Ubisoft is dead. They don't even bother to admit their mistakes, they only say they are "aware" of them and are working hard to correct them. They also said they are working hard to improve PC experience after the release got delayed compared to consoles - did they lie? If you see the result, it's obvious. Someone here pushed this out only to grab few bucks - sad move. Expand
  7. VRH
    Mar 4, 2014
    0
    Horrible P2W...awesome game but P2W kills all the fun. Fanboys can talk about learning curve as much as they want but the fact is you don't need much skill when 2-3 headshots with sniper don't kill you...too bad Expand

See all 108 User Reviews