Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by the team behind Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter and Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2, the game features cutting-edge technology, prototype high-tech weaponry, and state-of-the-art single-player and multiplayer modes. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier goes beyond the core Ghost Recon franchise and deliver a fresh gameplay experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 86
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is no exception, and the small unaesthetic or functionality mishaps don't change the basic fact that it's a well-done title, with multiplayer modes that will probably be played long after the campaign credits scroll down your screen.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    83
    Ubisoft deliveres a fairly competent shooter with more than decent content. Fans of the series might not like the more action-oriented, streamlined structure of the newest iteration. And the promising online-mode has yet to overcome some quirks!
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    82
    Slightly irritating 3rd person view, cover shooter parts are very average, but ultimately fun as a stealth game seasoned with some tactics. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    79
    This Ghost Recon focuses more on action and less on tactical advancement. Additionally the campaign is rarely a challenge. If you're hoping to get a continuation of the virtues of Advanced Warfighter, you will be disappointed. Technically the PC-version is way ahead of its' console counterparts, but the multiplayer doesn't offer quite as much.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    77
    A noteworthy stealth/action hybrid, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier executes successfully some nifty features, while offering a solid multiplayer mode- but the developers' insistence on including foreign elements, will probably alienate fans of pure and demanding tactical gameplay. [August 2012]
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    At its worst, Future Soldier is an uneven experience with some unchecked boxes as they pertain to PC ports (e.g. no option to invert the controls on a gamepad) and an unrecognizable story, but at its best it's a good shooter with a little more thought required than many other 3rd person shooters available right now.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    49
    Put simply, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier for the PC is an unstable product with numerous gameplay, online connection, and performance issues. Even with the release of multiple patches, there are an array of issues still present within the game. An entertaining single-player campaign and engaging multiplayer are enjoyable if players are able to overcome the blatant porting issues from consoles to the PC.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 106
  2. Negative: 58 out of 106
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Ghost Recon's return after a long time, this time with delivery and proposal totally solid, totally Graphics improved compared to the console version, fully customizable keyboard mappings, a campaign of high quality, fully solid port, a multiplayer with varied and totally addictive modes Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This game is fine, don't know why there is so much hate out there, either you have a crap PC or you don't know how to play. I got to say that the graphics and the cut scene videos are not that great for a 2012 game, but the game play and strategy is A+.
    Also where is that mission that was played at E3 2010? :)
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is an interesting mash of being both the covert-tactics simulator that the series has long enjoyed, along with four player over-the-shoulder shoot'em-up action, similar to games like Lost Planet 2 and Gears of War. A moderate playthrough of the game can be achieved in 8-13 hours in its singleplayer/co-op campaign, which is an acceptable amount not to mention the various multiplayer modes which offer lengthier additional gameplay. The 'Gunsmith' is a neat little feature which offers players the ability to alter their gear towards their play-style, showcasing a variety of potential flavours in the game. Unfortunately, these are the only good things that come to mind as far as what Future Soldier for the PC offers players; as with not only being a very unoptimised port of the Xbox version with severe issues that takes away a lot from the experience, the game itself experiences a number of shortcomings.

    While the gameplay features a good blend of stealth vs action segments, Future Soldier's story comes up looking rather bland, uninspired and unbalanaced in comparison. It's really hard to choose which parts are worse between where either the game throws a bunch of new faces at you as it throws you half way across the world to a new setting, or the unnatural pacing and random moments where the story writers decide to try and get you to like the characters better for only a few short moments of the game. There was also a problem with the immersion, as instead of including you deeply into the story, it instead treats you like a stranger and any backstory or point of interest is generally not present or explained. This in comparison to a game like Battlefield: Bad Company 2, which featured great likeable characters and a story which heavily emphasises on involving you in everything that happens.

    Another issue with Future Soldier is polish, the one feature that stuck out like a sore thumb in relation to this was the behaviour of the AI of your companions and the enemy. You'll find that your character will be incapable of doing most things but this will not render true for your AI companions; who can not only run with cloaking on but will never be detected. There isn't a problem either with charging through the middle of a supply depot while you carefully sneak around. Not to mention the AI is unpredictable and may often go ahead of you. In combat you'll find the friendly AI doing well at keeping behind objects and firing any target you specify, the enemy however will tend to creep up on you and will stare you down for a while instead of punishing you for getting too ahead of yourself.

    The poor performing, buggy, unoptimised release of Future Soldier is disappointing for Ubisoft, especially after the success of their last PC game; Anno 2070. Future Soldier should have been launched in a much better condition and the results of which can only mean more bad publicity for Ubisoft for the next few weeks regarding their support of the PC platform. We can only hope in the next Ubisoft multi-platform release, Ubisoft has the PC as the lead release so the problems that Future Soldier faced that were shared by iD's Rage aren't faced again. Overall, if you are looking for a third person coop/multiplayer military title that offers a lot of action and you aren't too hot on stories, this game could be the thing you're looking for. Do allow Ubisoft a few weeks to sort the kinks out though.
    Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    3rd person sure does make it hard to not camp as well as all of the snipers
    I sure wish I could text in game
    Nade spammers on objectives

    its like call of duty only without the fun
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    3
    With enjoyable gameplay, decent graphics, and strong co-operative potential to draw from, Ghost Recon Future Soldier should have been a fantastic game. And the console version are. Unfortunately, Ubisoft has proven once more to care very little for their PC fan base by releasing a game so riddled with bugs, that a huge portion of the player base cannot even play the game. At it's current state, GRFS should be in the late Alpha testing phases. Even now, several weeks after the games PC release, many players are unable to play the games multiplayer without being disconnected partway through their first match. The game still suffers from an issue that causes many people's games to crash on startup. And so many other issues beyond just those. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2012
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I will try not to be the hater of the game - I'll just try to objectively say what can you expect.

    I gave it score 1
    because it does not deserve more - that one point goes for gameplay...and nothing more here is worth the trouble. Please let me explain. The game itself was released TOTALLY broken, and was patched four times and it is still not working correctly. Even if they do fix major issues - the game WILL NEVER BE what they promoted to us or what you can read in official release. So - the Good. Gameplay is actually great, kinda innovative...nice gimmicks...great cover system...game story and stuff ok...nice camera...overall - this is what you would probably look in a good game and you'd call nice gaming experience. And there the good ends. The bad and the ugly. While gameplay is great, the implementation of it is not that good - from day one the keyboard and mouse were not working!?!? The HUD is all flashy...and there is no options to customize it. There are too many stuff veteran players do not need but you are condemned to play with it. The game will surprise you with many crashes it holds up the sleeve - video driver, yeti, audio, CTD, BSOD...you name it, you'll get it. Few of the issues have been addressed however in my case, if I don't underclock the video card - I get crash within 2 minutes. Multiplayer is not working at all or you may sometimes play but with many difficulties - so in one hour online you'll probably get only 15 minutes of gameplay. That might end up laggy or something. Audio - no way to customize options for speaker setup, headphones or anything!? No support for 16:10 screens. Menus are totally console oriented and there is a bug that resolution always resets so you have to manually set it before EVERY run of the game. I think I could go here for much, much more...but I will sum it up now and tell the MOST IMPORTANT THING!!!! There is NO SUPPORT WHATSOEVER - if you try to go to forums you'll only get almost automated response from forum managers "please contact support, the link is in my signature" - and support will delay your ticket until you get "please wait until we find a way to fix your issue" only to get "this ticked is closed since you did not respond within 48 hours" after you try to wait...hilarious!! No refunds are allowed. I don't know - I have never seen such a bad release and have never came up to worse support in my life. In my eyes - Ubisoft is dead. They don't even bother to admit their mistakes, they only say they are "aware" of them and are working hard to correct them. They also said they are working hard to improve PC experience after the release got delayed compared to consoles - did they lie? If you see the result, it's obvious. Someone here pushed this out only to grab few bucks - sad move. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    I have always loved the Ghost Recon Series.
    but...

    My first dissapointment was that it was a third person gameplay.
    Had I known this
    before I had the chance to buy it I would have refrained from doing so.
    I simply hate third person gameplay (it makes it all so much more arcade-ish)

    When I then tried to play it, my mouse was simply not accepted by the game.
    Simply put, I could not move my aim... (this was a real bug in the game)
    Then there was the problem with graphics (screen went black. resolution was all strange)
    And if that was not enough.... The whole gui (being ported from the consoles) is just terrible.
    A PC-Game should be a PC-Game, specially one that belongs to the Ghost recon series.
    Ghost Recon is not suited for arcade style gameplay!

    My advice is stay as far away as you can from this game, buying it will maje you regret it.
    Configuration possibilities are less than poor and the game is ful of bugs, many of which you will experience even before actually getting to the first gameplay.

    The game feels stale and monotome.

    Anyway. I contacted the support about it all and they could not help me or anyone else with the same problem I was shuffled between the steam support and the game developers support)

    After a few rounds and several hours of troubleshooting I decided that I had not recieved a working product and that there was no solution available so I wanted my funds returned and the game deleted from my list.

    4 times I asked but I was refused.

    So...
    After being so dissapointed with this malware of a game I asked steam to delete it from my games list without returning my money...
    I simply do not wish to see this game in my list to remind me of my wasted money.

    I hope the developers of this game take this review to their hearts and understands that games should have warranty with refunds or quality assurances made along with the games.
    Expand

See all 106 User Reviews