Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon PC

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take command of the Ghosts through a series of missions that range from demolitions, to search and rescue, to all-out firefights for survival. Features squad-based tactical combat with next-generation military action in stunning 3D environments and a mission-driven storyline with 15Take command of the Ghosts through a series of missions that range from demolitions, to search and rescue, to all-out firefights for survival. Features squad-based tactical combat with next-generation military action in stunning 3D environments and a mission-driven storyline with 15 different singleplayer maps (as big as 400m x 400m), and 6 dedicated multiplayer maps. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Richly designed and well-balanced gameplay, adding new squad-based and tactical interfaces to an already complex style of play, Ghost Recon is the thinking man’s shooter.
  2. PC Gamer
    93
    Hands down the best tactical shooter this veteran gamer has seen in his entire ass-kicking, name-taking, tango-stalking life. Get it? [Holiday 2001, p.54]
  3. Game Informer
    90
    GR does an incredible job of mimicking the movements and strategies of soldiers in the field, while simultaneously giving the player a feeling of complete tactical control. [Feb 2002, p.99]
  4. It is both stimulating to the eyes and ears and will have you jumping out of your chair when the fit it’s the shan. The character rendering and animation is top notch.
  5. 80
    Ghost Recon’s in-depth gameplay closely resembles that of the previous Tom Clancy games—but it also has its faults, such as some weak A.I. pathfinding.
  6. Ghost Recon has some real strengths, but handholding micromanagement, an awkward interface, bugs, and other problems and weaknesses often sap the fun out of the game just when it starts to get entertaining.
  7. 40
    Same old formula adds nothing new to the genre.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Tueur
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    Coucou.
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    Its on point. Sli still doesnt work making my 1080 sli mute. Probably a 9.5 but i know a lot of people are brutal with reviews. Played theIts on point. Sli still doesnt work making my 1080 sli mute. Probably a 9.5 but i know a lot of people are brutal with reviews. Played the betas liked them. This is the path everyone thought the division was going down. Pvp content coming. I like my dungeon team work feeling games and this is that in droves. Did some questing on my own feels a lot like the old ghost recons. Basic commands for sqaud. Vehicle combat is great. The first moment I'm speeding down a road and we enter combat and someone was in the boot and it opens firing. I giggled so hard.
    Graphics on 4k ultra are great. One of the prettiest games ive seen in the co op tactical shooter. Textures are good and i like some of the extra options i havent seen before in other games. Did drop the textures down to cery high and fps fain was massive.
    Scale is massive... i have played 5 hours still in the first area out of 20 odd. Im so excited about the scale of the
    map. Its packed full.
    Expand
  3. ScottM.
    Mar 11, 2002
    10
    Liked it better than Half-life, but too short.
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    This game brings back so many of my childhood memories, and this game was awesome.
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    This game combines realism, action and user-friendliness in a perfect mix. Even 13 years after its release, it has its distinct advantagesThis game combines realism, action and user-friendliness in a perfect mix. Even 13 years after its release, it has its distinct advantages over current tactical shooters. The scale and focus isn't as broad as the OFP/ArmA series, but it makes up for that with intuitive controls and squad command. Unfortunately the sequels didn't follow up on this. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Ok, so I go to the store to get a new PS2 game (yes, I STILL play the PS2) with my brother, and he says "hey look, a Tom Clancy game, didn'tOk, so I go to the store to get a new PS2 game (yes, I STILL play the PS2) with my brother, and he says "hey look, a Tom Clancy game, didn't you just read a book by him?" (Just to let you guys know I'm not a big gamer.) Sure enough I pick it up and it's Tom Clancy's Ghost recon for about $3. I decide to buy it, at first, I was a little bit discouraged by the fact that it is over a decade old, but lets just say, decade old or not, I definetly got my $3 value out of it. Ok, now If you play a lot of Call of Duty games, you may not like it, for multiple reasons.
    1. Its not just a mindless shooter, it has STRATEGY
    2. Unlike in COD, if you die you continue on as one of your squad mates, an idea that I found ingenious, fun, and it added a whole other degree of realism to the game.
    3. Picking your weapons before you go out for battle, YEAH, YOU WISH YOU COULD DO THAT IN COD!
    4. The game has almost an open world aspect, the fact that you can choose your route to advance and you aren't just restricted to a single street or alley (like you are in COD)
    5. Directing your men where you want them to go. Do you ever get the feeling when playing COD, that you just want to throw the controller at the screen when your fellow squad mate isn't doing what you want him to do or going where you want him to be?
    Now, I could go on and on about the differences, but I figure I'll stop there. Honestly, the only con I can think of is that sometimes the missions might be short, and overall the game is just dated, but don't let this stop you from buying the game, because if the PC port is just as good as the PS2's, you'll get hours of replay time and overall have lots of fun, as this is a great game.
    Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    Without going into detail, the game is good but dated. It came out several months after Operation Flashpoint and is inferior in almost everyWithout going into detail, the game is good but dated. It came out several months after Operation Flashpoint and is inferior in almost every meaningful way. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.