Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take command of the Ghosts through a series of missions that range from demolitions, to search and rescue, to all-out firefights for survival. Features squad-based tactical combat with next-generation military action in stunning 3D environments and a mission-driven storyline with 15Take command of the Ghosts through a series of missions that range from demolitions, to search and rescue, to all-out firefights for survival. Features squad-based tactical combat with next-generation military action in stunning 3D environments and a mission-driven storyline with 15 different singleplayer maps (as big as 400m x 400m), and 6 dedicated multiplayer maps. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Richly designed and well-balanced gameplay, adding new squad-based and tactical interfaces to an already complex style of play, Ghost Recon is the thinking man’s shooter.
  2. PC Gamer
    93
    Hands down the best tactical shooter this veteran gamer has seen in his entire ass-kicking, name-taking, tango-stalking life. Get it? [Holiday 2001, p.54]
  3. Game Informer
    90
    GR does an incredible job of mimicking the movements and strategies of soldiers in the field, while simultaneously giving the player a feeling of complete tactical control. [Feb 2002, p.99]
  4. It is both stimulating to the eyes and ears and will have you jumping out of your chair when the fit it’s the shan. The character rendering and animation is top notch.
  5. 80
    Ghost Recon’s in-depth gameplay closely resembles that of the previous Tom Clancy games—but it also has its faults, such as some weak A.I. pathfinding.
  6. Ghost Recon has some real strengths, but handholding micromanagement, an awkward interface, bugs, and other problems and weaknesses often sap the fun out of the game just when it starts to get entertaining.
  7. 40
    Same old formula adds nothing new to the genre.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    This game combines realism, action and user-friendliness in a perfect mix. Even 13 years after its release, it has its distinct advantagesThis game combines realism, action and user-friendliness in a perfect mix. Even 13 years after its release, it has its distinct advantages over current tactical shooters. The scale and focus isn't as broad as the OFP/ArmA series, but it makes up for that with intuitive controls and squad command. Unfortunately the sequels didn't follow up on this. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    Its on point. Sli still doesnt work making my 1080 sli mute. Probably a 9.5 but i know a lot of people are brutal with reviews. Played theIts on point. Sli still doesnt work making my 1080 sli mute. Probably a 9.5 but i know a lot of people are brutal with reviews. Played the betas liked them. This is the path everyone thought the division was going down. Pvp content coming. I like my dungeon team work feeling games and this is that in droves. Did some questing on my own feels a lot like the old ghost recons. Basic commands for sqaud. Vehicle combat is great. The first moment I'm speeding down a road and we enter combat and someone was in the boot and it opens firing. I giggled so hard.
    Graphics on 4k ultra are great. One of the prettiest games ive seen in the co op tactical shooter. Textures are good and i like some of the extra options i havent seen before in other games. Did drop the textures down to cery high and fps fain was massive.
    Scale is massive... i have played 5 hours still in the first area out of 20 odd. Im so excited about the scale of the
    map. Its packed full.
    Expand
  3. Tueur
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    Coucou.
  4. May 21, 2012
    10
    THE Tactical Shooter. Takes everything that made the rainbow six & rogue spear series entertaining, and mixes it up with a bit more action,THE Tactical Shooter. Takes everything that made the rainbow six & rogue spear series entertaining, and mixes it up with a bit more action, and blends together the planning and execution phase - bring up the map anytime, switch which soldier you're commanding in the middle of action, etc... __Also has two great expansion packs. Expand
  5. SAMF.
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    Not your average shooter...Here you must think and makes you feel like its real. One shot your dead. Easy To learn hard to master and Not your average shooter...Here you must think and makes you feel like its real. One shot your dead. Easy To learn hard to master and frustating if you are used to run and gun shooters. Very engaging and highly immersive with good graphics and sound. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2018
    9
    Very fun game even to a strategy and FPS-hater like me. It has a good learning curve, neither too easy nor too difficult, but I do think theVery fun game even to a strategy and FPS-hater like me. It has a good learning curve, neither too easy nor too difficult, but I do think the difficulty varies too much between missions. Some missions are so unreasonably hard there's no way you can get through it without casualties for the first time, especially Mission 3: Stone Bell and Mission 10: Fever Claw.

    UI is very user-friendly. I like the futuristic realism setting of the story and how it predicts the war in 2008! I wish the game could be a bit longer, but because it has such great level design, you will not get bored from repeating the game :)
    Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    Without going into detail, the game is good but dated. It came out several months after Operation Flashpoint and is inferior in almost everyWithout going into detail, the game is good but dated. It came out several months after Operation Flashpoint and is inferior in almost every meaningful way. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.