Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas PC

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The stakes are high when the world's most elite counter-terrorism unit enters Las Vegas, where over 36.7 million men, women and children visit each year. "Sin City," the home of the famous Las Vegas Strip, flashy hotels, high-rolling casinos and world-famous celebrities, becomes the settingThe stakes are high when the world's most elite counter-terrorism unit enters Las Vegas, where over 36.7 million men, women and children visit each year. "Sin City," the home of the famous Las Vegas Strip, flashy hotels, high-rolling casinos and world-famous celebrities, becomes the setting for a terrorist threat of global proportions. What happens when one of the world's most famous cities is held hostage by terrorists? [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Computer Games Magazine
    100
    This is as good as gunplay has gotten in a videogame. [Mar 2007, p.60]
  2. The gameplay mechanics are refined to the point of perfection and the presentation is stellar.
  3. Even if you don't have a top-of-the-line gaming rig, this is a superb title that is so good (even on medium detail settings) that you just might postpone that eBay sale so that you can play it through a second time.
  4. PC Gamer
    86
    While Rainbow Six veterans will surely miss the familiar pre-planning elements of the hallowed franchise, most of the changes made for Vegas successfully ramp up its intensity, and more importantly, its fun. [Mar 2007, p.60]
  5. Rainbow Six Vegas isn’t the best tactical shooter ever made, losing a few points in the system requirements and the save system department, but it’s a very good game.
  6. The real problem is that it simply isn't as good as it could have been. Erratic AI, overly impervious sidekicks, some suspect voice-acting, patchily impressive and hugely power-hungry visuals. It's a list that adds up to a missed opportunity if ever I've seen one, but while Vegas may not quite have hit the jackpot, it does still manage to walk away a winner.
  7. I for one think console gamers can handle a real tactical sim, but I suppose that in this increasingly competitive industry, taking even the slightest risk has become passe.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. TeroU.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Brilliant tactical shooter with enough realism and enough action. It's stupid to whine about lack of realism when the game doesn't Brilliant tactical shooter with enough realism and enough action. It's stupid to whine about lack of realism when the game doesn't even try to be some counter-terrorist -simulator but just one great action game. Expand
  2. LiboW.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Reason for giving this game a 10 is not because it's better than half life, quake or any other revolutionary fps... but because there Reason for giving this game a 10 is not because it's better than half life, quake or any other revolutionary fps... but because there HASN'T BEEN A SINGLE GOOD FPS for about a year. (prey was a disappointment, and so was quake 4) And when's the last time there was a real fps with a storyline on the pc with cooperative mode..... uh quake 2, sven-coop halflife? Also the coop eliminate the terrorist mode brings good times with a buddy on a lan and some replayability. Expand
  3. DONOVANR.
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    I like it because in most games you could only go a certain distance, in this game you can go where ever you want!
  4. MicasaE.
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    This really is a very good game, but don't expect to fun it properly with an older system. I have to run it in 800x600 mode, although I This really is a very good game, but don't expect to fun it properly with an older system. I have to run it in 800x600 mode, although I have a GTX go and 512 MB of video ram, 2 Gz of normal ram and a core 2 duo. The graphics are a bit gratuitous when looked at from this angle, but the result is really amazing. The blood splatters nicely as you plan out the perfect headshot, even leaving nicely textured wounds in your victims. The Vegas levels really portray the glitz and false glamour of the city. I have only played a couple minutes online in coop mode, and have been surprised at the quality of the maps and gameplay. Think Gears of War on this one, if you have experienced that. The only problems with this is the lack of good servers, but this won't be a problem with VS. mode. Overall, this is a wildly good game, picking up the rotting corpse of the RainbowSix franchise, injecting it with magical reanimation juice, creating a strange and morbid freak of nature more like a mixture of Full Spectrum Warrior, Gears of War, and a little bit of Soldier of Fortune. Oh, and they fixed the AI since Lockdown. It actually works now. I was getting sick of shooting my AI teamates before each mission in that last game. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    7/10 because they could have tried a lot harder when porting this game. But I played the hell out of it when I had a 360. And I will play it7/10 because they could have tried a lot harder when porting this game. But I played the hell out of it when I had a 360. And I will play it again now. It took effort to get it running under windows 7. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2015
    6
    Recently out is the Tom Clancy Bundle which, with 4 other titles, includes Rainbow 6 Vegas. I never got round to this when it first came out.Recently out is the Tom Clancy Bundle which, with 4 other titles, includes Rainbow 6 Vegas. I never got round to this when it first came out. Cant remember why.

    As it is 6 years old no point in talking much about graphics, but they do hold up very well.

    This is a 1 hit can kill sort of game.

    Many of the general game play is very good. Hiding and being able to peek and shoot or just hold your weapon round the corner and blind fire, abseiling (rappelling). Carry loads are reasonable but a very limited choice of weapons. The one glaring thing every reasonable PC gamer hates, checkpoint saves, there are no player saves. so loose 7 points automatically for this.

    The enemies are trigger spawned and often simply appear from nowhere so it is impossible to "hunt" as in a true RPG. When they do appear they are not completely stupid and do not just blindly rush. which is a bad side when there is no player save as it restricts initiative. Trial and error, which lets face it is the basis of most shooter/RPG gamer strategies, means doing the whole Bstrd sub-level from scratch if your plan is even slightly off skew.

    Solo play means that unless you want to just sit back and send in your AI team mates, who on the whole are quite well scripted, you are going to spend an entire weekend to complete one section of one level because you will get randomly shot over and over and over and over and well I think you get the drift.

    So Solo game gets a 1. (See no save game would have been an 8, think about that game designers)

    I never play coop or multi but will add 5 as I cant say if it is a good or bad aspect. Although other reviewers do say these aspects are excellent.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2015
    3
    Not sure why this game has so many positive reviews. The game itself is false advertisement - it claims to be an extremely realistic-tacticalNot sure why this game has so many positive reviews. The game itself is false advertisement - it claims to be an extremely realistic-tactical fps game, however, it is a simple run and gun. The graphics are meh, the game mechanics are off, and it just feels like a poorly designed game. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.