Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 668 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to riseUnleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    Splinter Cell is back on the right shadowy track.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    91
    Blacklist sees Sam Fisher and his covert posse returning to the series’ sneaky-happy roots in good form, and it’s easily one of the best stealth offerings I’ve delved into in a long time.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    88
    Fisher’s annoyingly sulky character, questionable controls when it comes to grabbing people next to doors, traditionally daft ending level and the buggy Uplay services – these are pretty much all the sins of Blacklist. They can be easily forgiven because the rest of the game is stealth action goodness.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Still, whether this is your first Splinter Cell or your eighth, you deserve to give it a shot because while it’s not the best Splinter Cell, it is one of them.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Splinter Cell Blacklist is one of the better entries in the long lived spy-saga. It offers great gameplay choices and sneaking is heavily rewarded. On top of that the multiplayer is also confidently crafted. The one thing lacking is the banal story with flat characterization that hinders Splinter Cell Blacklist from reaching any narrative high points.
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Though it lacks the subdued intelligence of Chaos Theory, there's still some cracking good sneaking to be had. [Oct 2013, p.92]
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    Wonky mission design and technical issues drag down a solid stealth game that still has enjoyable multiplayer.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 156
  2. Negative: 52 out of 156
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    If you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cellIf you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cell with the stealth element back! Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This game may be the best game in the year of 2013,and i think it is. I spent two whole night in a row trying to finish all 4E task inThis game may be the best game in the year of 2013,and i think it is. I spent two whole night in a row trying to finish all 4E task in ghost and panther model of perfect .blacklist is really an excited game with too much fun ,not only difficulty. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    This is my first Splinter Cell game and for sure not the last one. I love it. There is so much stuff in this game... Campaign itself is longThis is my first Splinter Cell game and for sure not the last one. I love it. There is so much stuff in this game... Campaign itself is long and big enough, but you have plenty of side missions you can play solo or in coop. Some very easy, some extremely hard even on normal difficulty. Animations, gameplay, locations, music and details level are very, very good. There is high replay value for each mission, cause you can play it in 3 different ways. Mastering your skills and weapons for sure many people will play it again to get better score. Coop missions are awesome, multiplayer is little hard for me due very quick dying, but can be that it will change when i get used to it, didn`t play MP much yet. Didn`t have too much problems with optimizing PC version. Sometimes i have sound issues but restart solves the problem and i had graphics problems, but these were caused by old drivers. After updating it everything works fine. Recommend this game to everyone Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    7
    Splinter cell: Blacklist is a mediocre game in the franchise but by far was the most anticipated because it brings all the stuff that was newSplinter cell: Blacklist is a mediocre game in the franchise but by far was the most anticipated because it brings all the stuff that was new in Conviction, but builds it all into one full fluid gameplay experience. Sadly this made the game too different and it didn't feel like a splinter cell game at all, but just another action game that incorporated stealth in some areas to compete with the SC series. Many problems for the PC version made it annoying to play but I felt like I had to because I needed to continue through the SC franchise even though this one was a bit of a disappointment but not so bad that it was a bad game. It still is great just doesn't feel like a SC game which is why I think this game still deserves a positive score. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    Turns out they not only removed Sam's voice, but his soul as well. If the guy in this game is Sam Fisher, then I am James Bond and I am notTurns out they not only removed Sam's voice, but his soul as well. If the guy in this game is Sam Fisher, then I am James Bond and I am not even British. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    3
    Don't waste your time or your money that's all I have to say..........................................................................................
  7. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    this game is good though i expected it to be better. the game really lets you feel like a spy, and you have a lot of cool gadgets. some levelsthis game is good though i expected it to be better. the game really lets you feel like a spy, and you have a lot of cool gadgets. some levels are big which give you a lot of reason to come back and play them. the story is pretty good, though i preffered convictions story.characters are also pretty good. a really good thing is the talks with sara(his daughter) between missions. the stealth mechanics are solid, and you can hide bodies(which you couldnt with conviction.) the game also lets you choose how to play (most of the times) and gives you a lot of options and tools for every playstyle.
    the game does have some problems. first of all, the graphics arent good. theyre a bit below average. faces also look pretty bad.lip syncing is also an issue. the game also has some technical issues like prompts not appearing. the port for the pc feels clunky and unresponsive. also a problem is that sometimes the game forces you to a style of play, like assault style. this moments are annoying and bad, because the shooting mechanics arent good enough to support these moments. the multiplayer is ok, nothing more than that.
    overall a good game. i expected it to be better. its too bad that it technical shortcomings take it back.
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews