Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 359 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 359
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NateB.
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    This is ridiculous. How was ubisoft able to release such a broken product? For about 70% of all people who buy this game, the Co-op simply does not work, and for those that it will work for you can expect to get kicked off every 2 minutes (or less). I highly suggest reading the forums on Splinter Cell's homepage (www.splintercell.com). In order to play online, you have to open all This is ridiculous. How was ubisoft able to release such a broken product? For about 70% of all people who buy this game, the Co-op simply does not work, and for those that it will work for you can expect to get kicked off every 2 minutes (or less). I highly suggest reading the forums on Splinter Cell's homepage (www.splintercell.com). In order to play online, you have to open all these ports, which is something most people do not to do. But that's only if you get past the bug where this game also has a problem with CD-RWs and DVD-Rs. So if you buy this game, there's a possibility you computer cannot read the disks. Also, some of the cd keys for a LEGAL copy do not work either. I could go on and on about the problems. All I'm interested in is the Co Op and multiplayer modes, and they just don't work. I also forgot, if you have problems and report them to Ubisoft, as kind as you are, they WILL NOT respond or help you in any way. Never buy ubi products, ever (especially this game). All you're doing is giving money to people who release unfinished products. Expand
  2. SeanN
    Aug 29, 2009
    0
    Yet another broken Ubisoft game converted to PC. I bought both Chaos Theory and Double Agent for pc through Steam. Both games have MAJORE problems. Chaos Theory wont load multiplayer or coop at all. I already tried running it in compatibility mode with another OS. Im running Windows 7. I have a 4870x2 Graphics card. The single player runs perfect no problems but i didnt buy the game for Yet another broken Ubisoft game converted to PC. I bought both Chaos Theory and Double Agent for pc through Steam. Both games have MAJORE problems. Chaos Theory wont load multiplayer or coop at all. I already tried running it in compatibility mode with another OS. Im running Windows 7. I have a 4870x2 Graphics card. The single player runs perfect no problems but i didnt buy the game for single player i bought it for multiplayer... Double agent crashes randomly, freezes randomly, wont load levels 9/10 times, and is obviously incomplete... Such a waist on Ubisofts part. Such a waist. If it meant me spending another 20 dollars for them to do this right i really would have... Expand
  3. RyanJ
    Apr 12, 2005
    0
    This is ridiculous. To get the multiplayer to work I found out from UbiSoft that you must open up a whole bunch of ports (something the average gamer does not know how to do) and also UNINSTALL your anti-virus software. Unbelieveable. This game should not have been released, it is absurdly false advertising. The co-op and the versus simply do not work. I have played at least 10 PCThis is ridiculous. To get the multiplayer to work I found out from UbiSoft that you must open up a whole bunch of ports (something the average gamer does not know how to do) and also UNINSTALL your anti-virus software. Unbelieveable. This game should not have been released, it is absurdly false advertising. The co-op and the versus simply do not work. I have played at least 10 PC games online in both co-op and versus modes, and none of them have ever had issues like this, including Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow. Do not buy this game, teach UbiSoft a lesson. Expand
  4. RyanJ.
    May 15, 2005
    0
    Die! This is crap. My initial post got deleted because you thought I was someone else who didn't enjoy this "game". Loser. Whats to stop Matthieu R. (worst spelling of the name Matthew ever by the way) and Jacob H. from being the same person? They both gave it tens, they could just as easily be the same person as myself and Nate B. (who is not me). Oh, editor? Just because somebody Die! This is crap. My initial post got deleted because you thought I was someone else who didn't enjoy this "game". Loser. Whats to stop Matthieu R. (worst spelling of the name Matthew ever by the way) and Jacob H. from being the same person? They both gave it tens, they could just as easily be the same person as myself and Nate B. (who is not me). Oh, editor? Just because somebody says we're the same person, doesn't make it true. If you knew anything about technology you would have IP logging which would show you that we are, in fact, not the same person. Rot. Oh, just to make this something about the game, it was horrible. Expand
  5. RyanJ
    May 12, 2005
    0
    This game is terrible, it doesn't work at all on multiplayer. Why was my comment taken down? Is it that far fetched that two different people have the same problem with this crappy game? Anyone who gave this a decent score deserves to be shot because they're just saying it's okay for game companies to release half completed projects and charge $50 for them. [Ed: Sorry aboutThis game is terrible, it doesn't work at all on multiplayer. Why was my comment taken down? Is it that far fetched that two different people have the same problem with this crappy game? Anyone who gave this a decent score deserves to be shot because they're just saying it's okay for game companies to release half completed projects and charge $50 for them. [Ed: Sorry about deleting your original post.] Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    3
    Was completely unplayable for me due to the TERRIBLE CAMERA ANGLES. When making a third person game, it is of the paramount importance to adjust the camera. Didn't look like a good job in this case: when the game starts, i can't see where i am going inside the cave, most of the time i cannot even see myself so, how can i move anywhere? When aiming using a piston half of the screen isWas completely unplayable for me due to the TERRIBLE CAMERA ANGLES. When making a third person game, it is of the paramount importance to adjust the camera. Didn't look like a good job in this case: when the game starts, i can't see where i am going inside the cave, most of the time i cannot even see myself so, how can i move anywhere? When aiming using a piston half of the screen is blocked by my own arm! What?! Seeing all the good reviews, knowing Tom Clancy's titles, i hope the aforementioned problems are local to my PC only. Can't give more than a three, since i was not able to play the game, due to its disastrous flying camera. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2014
    2
    Maybe for 2005 this game was acceptable, but frankly the PC controls are horrible. The objectives and action are so basic it's way too slow and boring. I made the mistake of playing Splinter Cell Blacklist first and I liked it much more than I thought, so what the heck, figured I would try Chaos. I should have known there would be a major difference in playability and graphics. Not worthMaybe for 2005 this game was acceptable, but frankly the PC controls are horrible. The objectives and action are so basic it's way too slow and boring. I made the mistake of playing Splinter Cell Blacklist first and I liked it much more than I thought, so what the heck, figured I would try Chaos. I should have known there would be a major difference in playability and graphics. Not worth it in my opinion, even for just $9 Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Game Informer
    98
    Writing in video games is a subject that doesn't get a lot of attention, but Chaos Theory features a simply great script. Not only is it complex and deep, it's also surprisingly funny. [Apr 2005, p.112]
  2. 96
    When combined with the excellent animations, the game feels incredibly cinematic, and on a high-end graphics card the game is stunning. Each level is a grand set piece in which players stylishly accomplish their goals.
  3. A serious improvement in any way you care to name, from gameplay to its newly, eerily realistic graphics.