Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory PC

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2008. Information Warfare has evolved into the most dangerous threat to global stability. You are Sam Fisher, Third Echelon's most skilled Splinter Cell operative. You are assigned to execute a hazardous series of operations to investigate and eliminate a new source ofThe year is 2008. Information Warfare has evolved into the most dangerous threat to global stability. You are Sam Fisher, Third Echelon's most skilled Splinter Cell operative. You are assigned to execute a hazardous series of operations to investigate and eliminate a new source of information attacks, originating in North Korea. To succeed, you will employ a host of unconventional counterintelligence activities to gather intel, disrupt enemy operations and neutralize adversary targets. As Information Warfare evolves, so must the Splinter Cell. You must penetrate deeper into hostile territory and operate undetected, closer to the enemy than ever before. At your disposal is a lethal array of tactics ranging from Combat Knife techniques, experimental prototype weapons skills, and more radical hand-to-hand techniques such as the Inverted Chokehold. Experience the thrill of acting as a lone operative fighting tomorrow's threats in the field, and of cooperating online with a partner to accomplish crucial missions. Die in action, and the free world dies with you. Never-before-seen graphics technology offers the best visuals ever to appear on any platform. Advanced physics engine allows rag doll physics, particle effects and perfect interaction with the environment. The most complete arsenal of weapons and gadgets, from the combat knife to experimental prototype combat systems. Totally open level design with multipaths and optional secondary objectives. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. No longer is there just one way to solve a treacherous night mission before the enemy picks up your audio signature: stealth will pay off just as well as good old-fashioned ultraviolence.
  2. More so than any other stealth-action game, Chaos Theory really makes you feel like a spy.
  3. A serious improvement in any way you care to name, from gameplay to its newly, eerily realistic graphics.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    91
    Offers more of the same great stealth action as the two previous instalments. This time it is smoother and even more playable than before, but the story is still virtually non-existent. The co-op mode is a great addition, it just needs more missions. [Apr. 05]
  5. The presentation is also seriously top-drawer. You can see the standard of the graphics with your own eyes, but what you can't see is the triple-A voice-acting and the dirty, groove-laden soundtrack delivered by Amon Tobin. [PC Zone]
  6. A stunning game. It's not original nor it does feature innovative ideas, but it managed to push this type of gameplay to heights we've never imagined before.
  7. games(TM)
    80
    Despite the inclusion of new gadgets and stunning visuals, the series is starting to decompose; playing the same thing over and over is beginning to wear a little thin. It’s a good job the multiplayer experience continues to blossom. [Apr 2005, p.90]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 8 out of 54
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    First, straight off the bat, I'd like to say, GREATEST Splinter Cell game in the entire series. I mean, bravo, 2 thumbs up. Gameplay is veryFirst, straight off the bat, I'd like to say, GREATEST Splinter Cell game in the entire series. I mean, bravo, 2 thumbs up. Gameplay is very organized and not too tweaked around like the later games. Story line was exceptional. Running on a very good computer, this game rarely has any glitches or bugs, so, good job Ubisoft. The co-op portion is possibly the best part about Chaos Theory. If you love taking out bad guys in stealth over lan or online, this is probably the best game to do it in. Very, very fun game. I prefer it highly over Double Agent in my opinion. 10/10 Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    What can I say, I've got a hardon for this particular brand of realistic gameplay. Also why I find Counter-Strike such a disappointing andWhat can I say, I've got a hardon for this particular brand of realistic gameplay. Also why I find Counter-Strike such a disappointing and disgusting phenomenon. Ah well, back to Sam Fisher. Splinter Cell was one of the greats, and Chaos Theory, the third one in the series, just takes everything from Splinter Cell and makes it better. Better weapon mechanics, better graphics, better lighting, better enemy AI, better level design, and holy **** they added a knife for Sam! Truly, the most important addition to any series, ever. Slicing someone's throat open from the side with it is one of the most satisfying moves in gaming. Chaos Theory is also superior in its addition of a fantastic co-op mode online. Instead of sneaking around by yourself, you could actually sneak around and perform stealth knockouts with a teammate. While limited to four levels, it was not a thoughtless addition and provided some genuinely exciting and tense action. While not anywhere near as cinematic or annoyingly labored with its storytelling as the Metal Gear Series, Splinter Cell is the superior stealth genre series in my humble opinion. PS: don't get SC Double Agent, it's a buggy mess on the PC. Expand
  3. KarlD.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! The best of the series yet. Great solo mode and multiplayer is simply awesomeand addictive. This game looks just great Absolutely brilliant! The best of the series yet. Great solo mode and multiplayer is simply awesomeand addictive. This game looks just great and the new gameplay tweaks makes it a lot more fun to play. Full marks! Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece of a game that stands as the peak of the series. Wonderfully atmospheric, beautifully immersive and powered by an engine thatA masterpiece of a game that stands as the peak of the series. Wonderfully atmospheric, beautifully immersive and powered by an engine that not only stands the test of time, but surpasses it in many ways.

    Insanely deep and rich in every aspect, this, next to Thief 2, is the greatest stealth game I have ever played.
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    I missed the boat when this game first came out, but i recently picked it up for the PC and i was absolutely stunned by how great it looked.I missed the boat when this game first came out, but i recently picked it up for the PC and i was absolutely stunned by how great it looked. Game play is solid when the AI isnt being brainless or clairvoyant. Story is what you'd expect from Clancy. Other than that highly recommended! Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    8
    SC Chaos Theory is Great in almost every way! The Graphics/effects are good enough for me, and performance is perfect on a E6600 + 9600GT. ISC Chaos Theory is Great in almost every way! The Graphics/effects are good enough for me, and performance is perfect on a E6600 + 9600GT. I really can't think of any big problems with this one, just that sometimes the Enemy AI can get a little glitchy and the enemies taunts(talking) can get sort of annoying and kinda' foolish... also an enemy's head's turning-angle can turn around too much, sort of like an owls head, LOL... Despite the imperfections, this is my favorite of all of the SC games so far!! I just wish UBI would have designed SC-Conviction more like Chaos Theory, especially the controls and overall gameplay. Expand
  7. NateB.
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    This is ridiculous. How was ubisoft able to release such a broken product? For about 70% of all people who buy this game, the Co-op simply This is ridiculous. How was ubisoft able to release such a broken product? For about 70% of all people who buy this game, the Co-op simply does not work, and for those that it will work for you can expect to get kicked off every 2 minutes (or less). I highly suggest reading the forums on Splinter Cell's homepage (www.splintercell.com). In order to play online, you have to open all these ports, which is something most people do not to do. But that's only if you get past the bug where this game also has a problem with CD-RWs and DVD-Rs. So if you buy this game, there's a possibility you computer cannot read the disks. Also, some of the cd keys for a LEGAL copy do not work either. I could go on and on about the problems. All I'm interested in is the Co Op and multiplayer modes, and they just don't work. I also forgot, if you have problems and report them to Ubisoft, as kind as you are, they WILL NOT respond or help you in any way. Never buy ubi products, ever (especially this game). All you're doing is giving money to people who release unfinished products. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.