User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    3
    Good action game, but bad stealth game and very bad Splinter Cell. In most missions, enemies are hidden in cover waiting for you. It's more a third person tactical shooter.
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    3
    The problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often the developers forgot they were making a stealth game and it devolves into a dull third rate shooter. The White House level is simply appalling. The stealth element which is what has always set the Splinter Cell series apart is completely abandoned in favorThe problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often the developers forgot they were making a stealth game and it devolves into a dull third rate shooter. The White House level is simply appalling. The stealth element which is what has always set the Splinter Cell series apart is completely abandoned in favor of a huge frontal assault and fending off waves of enemies. Honestly I'd rate the game higher if it wasn't a splinter cell game but it suffers so much by comparison to its predecessors that it's hard to see it as anything other than a complete waste of time and money. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    0
    This is by far the most atrocious, disgusting piece of garbage I have ever played. Based on the massive gap between critic reviews and the user scores I am now convenced that Ubisoft buys ratings. In fact this game is so bad I will likely never buy another ubisoft. First off this game was rushed because they had a good final product and then had it all thrown out because they thought itThis is by far the most atrocious, disgusting piece of garbage I have ever played. Based on the massive gap between critic reviews and the user scores I am now convenced that Ubisoft buys ratings. In fact this game is so bad I will likely never buy another ubisoft. First off this game was rushed because they had a good final product and then had it all thrown out because they thought it was too much like Assassins' Creed. So then they started over and rushed this garbage game out. To start, my brother and I both finished this entire game in one few hour sitting, each in the same day on the hardest difficulty. That's right. This game is good for about 4 hours of entertainment on the toughest difficulty. The gameplay has turned fisher from a modern day ninja into a Jason Borne on crack. The normally slow moving and strategic stealth is replaced by movements and animations that are so unbelievably fast that they are comical at times.The engine is dumbed down compared to the previous installments. Despite being labeled a stealth game you cannot move bodies.. bodies still alert the guards regardless. And even though there are less stealth abilities compared to the last game, they've upped the penalty for being spotted on some missions. If you are so much as spotted in some levels the game ends. The only kind of people that this game should appeal to is people that have never touched a controller in their life. The massive ad campaign was the only thing that saved the sales on this monstrous garbage. 30% of the ubisoft forum crowd canceled their preorders after just playing the demo. I could write a six page essay on all the things wrong with this game, but I'd rather not. Hopefully I've saved people some money with this. I would only get this game if it dropped down to about ten dollars. Then I could get it for my friend who is horrible at games so she can feel like she can accomplish something on game nights. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    4
    What can I say about this game? It's just another generic shooter with some idiot in Ubisoft thinking it would have been great idea to hold down button for cover!
    What other shooter does that? None! Why? It's stupid, annoying and hurts your thumb.
    Plot is just generic and characters are between badly written and generic. Also this is supposed to be a stealth game, are you kidding me?!
    What can I say about this game? It's just another generic shooter with some idiot in Ubisoft thinking it would have been great idea to hold down button for cover!
    What other shooter does that? None! Why? It's stupid, annoying and hurts your thumb.
    Plot is just generic and characters are between badly written and generic.
    Also this is supposed to be a stealth game, are you kidding me?! There's only one silent SMG and 3 pistols to choose from and pistols have infinitive ammo, more accurate and enemies are so weak that they can be killed very quickly with them so no point of getting other SMG's and Assault Rifles.
    I'm going to give them credit for trying something new but they failed at execution and they should have done in new game, not in franchise that is suppose to be about stealth! And what's the point of being stealthy if you have to kill everyone you meet?!
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    I don't know for other consoles, but at least for the PC, "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction" sucks balls. The graphics look great and fantastic IF you have a super computer. Otherwise it's going to lag as much as your computer when resuming youtube. The controls are terrible (i don't know what they based it off of...) and it's too repetitive and difficult even in easy mode. But theI don't know for other consoles, but at least for the PC, "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction" sucks balls. The graphics look great and fantastic IF you have a super computer. Otherwise it's going to lag as much as your computer when resuming youtube. The controls are terrible (i don't know what they based it off of...) and it's too repetitive and difficult even in easy mode. But the real problem is, like MikeM said, there is literally NO online support. Seriously? A **** single player campaign for 60 bucks? Is it really worth it? You get to decide. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    Splinter Cell: Modern warfare 2
    Basically took a steaming dump over fans of the series. You know how people always say "don't fix what isn't broken?" well the developers have apparently never heard that phrase before because, well they tried to "fix" it by removing everything good about splinter cell. Yes I mad
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    This game is the product of development hell, so I'm being generous by giving the game merely a four.
    Splinter Cell: Conviction is broken. Guards are damn near deaf and have absolutely no peripheral vision, the level design is linear with hardly any open ended areas, it simplifies the ability to hide in darkness, Sonar Goggles serve as a wall-hack, and Mark & Execute is the most
    This game is the product of development hell, so I'm being generous by giving the game merely a four.
    Splinter Cell: Conviction is broken. Guards are damn near deaf and have absolutely no peripheral vision, the level design is linear with hardly any open ended areas, it simplifies the ability to hide in darkness, Sonar Goggles serve as a wall-hack, and Mark & Execute is the most condescending in-game aid in any video game ever.
    Overall, it's the worst game in the series. Even worse than Double Agent, which was only sub-par.
    Expand
  8. Jul 28, 2011
    0
    My experience is with the PC version, which was terrible for several reasons:
    - Co Op over LAN is broken. I never got this to work. Seems to be an issue on the Ubisoft forums.
    - The DRM on this thing is a nightmare. You cannot play offline. As soon as your internet connection is lost the whole game stops and instantly breaks any sort of immersion that you had. - The game feels poorly
    My experience is with the PC version, which was terrible for several reasons:
    - Co Op over LAN is broken. I never got this to work. Seems to be an issue on the Ubisoft forums.
    - The DRM on this thing is a nightmare. You cannot play offline. As soon as your internet connection is lost the whole game stops and instantly breaks any sort of immersion that you had. - The game feels poorly optimized. On a 2.8 Ghz quadcore with 8GB of RAM and a watercooled Nvidea 9800 GTX this game became very choppy.
    - Controlling Sam was incredibly rigid for me, like Sam was some sort of rusty robot.

    + The music on the otherhand was great, including the sound effects.

    Do not buy this game. If you are a big fan then just get it somewhere else if you know what I mean.
    Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    The requirement of a permanent Internet connection makes it impossible to enjoy this game for those of us living in places without reliable or stable broadband.
  10. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    Zero! Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia. Despite being in his mid to late forties he moves around like the previously mentioned Prince, grabbing a ledge with hisZero! Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia. Despite being in his mid to late forties he moves around like the previously mentioned Prince, grabbing a ledge with his fingertims ans running across walls. STAY AWAY if you liked the previous installments. Expand
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    v.bad game. its like game dev goal was to piss player on every step. you buy game on steam and it launches uplay why not origin and games for windows too? 10 unskippable intros and of course "press any key screen"... coz its important! long animated menu to waste more time. finally, loading checkpoint. select your weapons from stash... fail at stealth... reload checkpoint... wtf$@@ selectv.bad game. its like game dev goal was to piss player on every step. you buy game on steam and it launches uplay why not origin and games for windows too? 10 unskippable intros and of course "press any key screen"... coz its important! long animated menu to waste more time. finally, loading checkpoint. select your weapons from stash... fail at stealth... reload checkpoint... wtf$@@ select your weapons again... and repeat to drive you mad. and again unskippable animations after which you will probably fail and must watch them again. input of pc terrible since game is made with pads in mind. clunky mechanics and terrible level design. interrogations are recruiting tool for Guantanamo Bay. iv only liked executions mechanic. Expand
  12. pok
    Jun 16, 2012
    0
    This game is awful. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise.They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia.
  13. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    Master piece of crap in the series of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell. Infiltrating in a narrow environment fully spawned with enemies, while you need to kill some guys before you can attempt a stealth kill, but at the same time you lack the ability to drag dead bodies, is the best summary for what this crap is. You just end up to clean up everything alive blocking your path. So, can this stillMaster piece of crap in the series of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell. Infiltrating in a narrow environment fully spawned with enemies, while you need to kill some guys before you can attempt a stealth kill, but at the same time you lack the ability to drag dead bodies, is the best summary for what this crap is. You just end up to clean up everything alive blocking your path. So, can this still be regarded as a stealth game, especially the one from the series of Splinter Cell? Expand
  14. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    If they don't move back to the game elements from the first game and Chaos Theory this game series is doomed to dies. I don't like the quality of this console port.
  15. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    A complete betrayal to the very genre that its own series has once shaped. The game is more of encouraging you to kill everyone than do any sort of stealth. A stupid decision by Ubisoft to appeal to the COD masses.
  16. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...
    he best part of this game when we needed to play as VIc and find the captured sam fisher that was amazing place and music.The first Beta game when sam would be a homless man, and he could fight hand to hand combat,merge with the big crowed places hide from police and NSA and
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...

    he best part of this game when we needed to play as VIc and find the captured sam fisher that was amazing place and music.The first Beta game when sam would be a homless man, and he could fight hand to hand combat,merge with the big crowed places hide from police and NSA and took revenge on 3rd echelon revenge sarah fisher dead and etc things... that game concept would be 10 times interesting and better than this f**k s**t final release.
    Expand
  17. Aug 15, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In general a good but generic game if you weren't coming in with any expectations. However Splinter Cell has built a reputation as being an excellent stealth shooter and its hard to even put this one in that category. Some of the core mechanics of the game were updated and improved but others were diminished or left out entirely and the writing was utterly unconvincing.
    On the mechanics side they added one of the better cover systems where you can pinpoint exactly where you want Sam to dart to and in what direction. They also removed the light meter in favor of fading the screen to black and white when you are concealed. Another nice touch which was added is a a circle with a broad arrow which appears on the screen when you catch an enemies attention. The arrow points in the direction of the enemy and narrows as their attention focuses on you. Once they realize it is a hostile the arrow changes from white to red. Finally when you take out an enemy with your hands you enable one use of the execution mechanic. This allows you to mark 2-4 enemies (depending on the weapon you are welding) and hit one button to take them all out in rapid succession. The cover system worked very well for the most part except for the minor annoyance created by the fact that roll and cover are the same button. Sometimes in a tense situation you right click to roll away from someone when too close to a wall and Sam will take cover instead. Both the light and attention system changes are useful and intuitive. The execution system was entertaining but diminished the need for stealth.
    Unfortunately, that is not the only way in which stealth suffered in this game. Ubisoft may have thought the mechanics above were enough to give players the ability to play the game using stealth and guile but for the most part they were mistaken due to the fact other more critical stealth mechanics were removed. The first omission is the lack of a save function, quick or otherwise. It is replaced with checkpoints. I'm an older gamer who remembers a time when this was the norm but it was still a shock to not have it here especially in what should have been a stealth shooter. You get used to it however the checkpoint system strongly favors quick aggressive action so that when you fail to reach the next checkpoint you only wasted 1 or 2 minutes instead of 10 or 20. Next your pistol now has unlimited ammo which means there is no reason not to spray fire with it if you can't get close enough to stealth kill or if someone notices you. This also places a strong bias on aggressive action. Who is going to take 2 minutes sneaking up on or around a guy when you can just go straight at him and empty 5 rounds into his chest in 10 seconds. Next picking up anything is completely removed. That means no bricks or cans for distraction but more importantly it means no moving bodies to cover your tracks. This makes some sense though because a dead body is simply a trap for any enemies who see it. They run straight up and stand there for 10 to 15 seconds begging you to shoot them from cover 5 ft away at which point they are added to the body trap. Removing the body would just be a waste of time once again. Finally they removed all of Sams non-lethal skills. There are no locks to pick and no gun terminals to hack. Not only does this remove stealth options forcing the player into run and gun tactics but it also removes some variety and the potential to enrich the story through reading emails as Splinter Cell normally allows.
    This leads me to the story and the writing. I'm not saying the writing and plot of the other Splinter Cells were literature of the highest order but they were entertaining and coherent. In this one 3rd Echelon somehow becomes a terrorist organization in the 3 year period since the last game ended. The writers try to patch that massive plot hole by saying that a mole in the organization became leader of it upon Lambert's death and that the president was going to shut the program down and they thought that made America too vulnerable. So basically they are saying the highly trained, highly selective organization Fisher was in turned into a cult of personality in 3 yrs after a sudden change of leadership. That or the entire staff somehow felt the US was so threatened by 3rd Echelon potentially closing that they felt the means of EMPing all of DC and killing the president were justified by the end of keeping 3rd Echelon open.....for the safety of America. The writers pretty much just ran the entire Splinter Cell story line off the rails with this one.
    After everything is said and done this game on its own is around average. The mechanics they had were polished and entertaining which balances out the poor writing. However, when you put it into the context of the stealth shooter Splinter Cell series is as a very disappointing turn for the franchise. The neutering of the stealth element is really disappointing.
    Expand
  18. Feb 16, 2012
    1
    This game is pretty awful. It's terribly short and I have no idea why Sam Fisher is in this game or why the Splinter Cell title is on the box. This is nothing like ANY of the splinter cell games and is severely restricting with much fewer features. You can't move bodies, the animations are hilariously bad and overall this game has the feel that it was put together by a bunch of apes thatThis game is pretty awful. It's terribly short and I have no idea why Sam Fisher is in this game or why the Splinter Cell title is on the box. This is nothing like ANY of the splinter cell games and is severely restricting with much fewer features. You can't move bodies, the animations are hilariously bad and overall this game has the feel that it was put together by a bunch of apes that have never heard of video games before. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  19. Sep 22, 2013
    2
    After finishing this game, I thought I had bought the wrong one, because it felt NOTHING like the original Splinter Cell games. It shouldn't even be TITLED as a Splinter Cell game! It pretty much drives you into starting massive shoot-outs. Only later I found out I could partially stealth through the game, which was kind of fun, but got frustrating every time I found out the goodAfter finishing this game, I thought I had bought the wrong one, because it felt NOTHING like the original Splinter Cell games. It shouldn't even be TITLED as a Splinter Cell game! It pretty much drives you into starting massive shoot-outs. Only later I found out I could partially stealth through the game, which was kind of fun, but got frustrating every time I found out the good quick-saving system was replaced by a debilitated checkpoint system. It eventually drove me into doing both strategies, which I didn't like as the mixed gameplay was not pleasurable at all to me. I tried to figure out why the hell it turned into an action shooter, and I found out. The new director Maxime BĂ©land came in and brought a bag of horse**** with him. I don't know what was wrong with this guy's life beforehand, as it seems he must've been a hopeless drunk or junkie, feeling that the "black-and-white" effect when you're in the dark reminds him of his early artwork or something like that... Well, what he did is fix what wasn't even broken in the first place and ended up making it a disappointment. The story for the game was good, to be honest, it fit with the past games, which I appreciate.
    One thing that I felt is that this game was produced by 12-year old because of the most idiotic and immature dialogue of enemies I've ever heard in my life of playing games. The endless amounts of hearing A-hole and the F-word pretty much make up 90% of the dialogue. It isn't even funny after the first few missions. I can understand the thugs in the game would say something like that, but even the goddamn Third Echelon soldiers say it, making it unrealistic and turning it into an immature joke. Ubisoft really shifted from a nice game company into a an evil group of greedy game developers who care only about getting customers' money and care none for the fans of the older games. The fact that Michael Ironside still voiced the game is why I give it a rating of 2. Well done, Ubisoft, you've really shape-shifted into a despicable little greedy imp.
    Expand
  20. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    Just awful. The game is solely focused on action and gun play and not on stealth. This would be okay if the guns felt good and the action was exciting but it just isn't. On my computer the game looks awful (even with the settings all the way up) and the game frequently freezes for a few seconds which makes combat damn near impossible. If you are after a stealth game, go play the firstJust awful. The game is solely focused on action and gun play and not on stealth. This would be okay if the guns felt good and the action was exciting but it just isn't. On my computer the game looks awful (even with the settings all the way up) and the game frequently freezes for a few seconds which makes combat damn near impossible. If you are after a stealth game, go play the first Splinter Cell cause this one doesn't do the series justice. Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2014
    4
    Hands down the worst Splinter Cell game out there.

    Cons: - The game consists of going from point A to point B mindlessly killing enemies (heck, it's even worse, you can even COMPLETELY SKIP the firefights, just run like mad and wait for a checkpoint to pop up, suddenly enemies are no longer chasing you). - Levels are absolutely linear, no exploration to speak of, no computers to hack,
    Hands down the worst Splinter Cell game out there.

    Cons:
    - The game consists of going from point A to point B mindlessly killing enemies (heck, it's even worse, you can even COMPLETELY SKIP the firefights, just run like mad and wait for a checkpoint to pop up, suddenly enemies are no longer chasing you).
    - Levels are absolutely linear, no exploration to speak of, no computers to hack, no side objectives, nothing.
    - The game is way too short, just 11 levels, about 20-30 minutes long each depending on play style and difficulty. This could arguably be a "pro" due to the repetitive nature of the game.

    Pros:
    - Graphics are nice, although you get some weird slowdowns even with a modern GPU, it looks like the game is quite CPU dependant.
    - Soundtrack and audio effects are decent, although for some reason your weapons sound really weak.
    - No graphic glitches or major bugs on PC (unlike all previous games in the series, except Chaos Theory).

    The game is essentially a third rate cover shooter with the Splinter Cell name and characters/back story stuck in there for no good reason. I give it a 4 because at least it's playable, stable and has nice graphics, but by the end of the game you'll just be wishing for it to end. Luckily it's mercifully short.
    Expand
  22. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me, BUT all is scre.ed up by the checkpoint system. Why on earth lazy devs or psycho money men are forcing it on us. I leave most games because I don't want to see the same bl..dy 20 secs or 2 mins of footage and starting the whole thing again. It makesI'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me, BUT all is scre.ed up by the checkpoint system. Why on earth lazy devs or psycho money men are forcing it on us. I leave most games because I don't want to see the same bl..dy 20 secs or 2 mins of footage and starting the whole thing again. It makes me angry and I sooner or later leave the game.
    UPDATE: and it happened. After going throug the same sh.t for 20 times, listening the same stupid conversation that can't be skipped, I uninstalled this piece of crap from my computer and I won't install any other from the series till I know that there is a savegame feature. In this form this is just utter waste of time.
    As a game it is a 0.
    Expand
  23. Aug 3, 2014
    3
    i only played the demo version so far but just from that i would say its too restrictive and make the action go very slow esecialy for the aiming and with the overcontrol of the actions where ya gota do a hand to hand take down before takeing out the others and the over control on the actions like jumping over a block or peering around corners and a place yu should be able to drop buti only played the demo version so far but just from that i would say its too restrictive and make the action go very slow esecialy for the aiming and with the overcontrol of the actions where ya gota do a hand to hand take down before takeing out the others and the over control on the actions like jumping over a block or peering around corners and a place yu should be able to drop but couldnt get any action makes it kinda irratating even if the story was good i would understand why he would be more scruffy and hard pressed rugged for all the oddities Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Conviction appeals to a whole new crowd that grew up on creating distractions, using every single gadget in their inventory and dragging bodies into shadows. If Conviction is evidence of where Ubisoft is taking the series, they are about to win over a lot of new fans and potentially upset a portion of those already loyal.
  2. The single-player story is short, but it's filled with a lot of great moments. The co-op multiplayer helps to give the package a lot more bite.
  3. I have no problem recommending Conviction to anyone who enjoys the Splinter Cell series or third person action/stealth games in general. I would have loved a much longer and more involved campaign, but the additional modes (including a separate co-op campaign) go a long way in making up for that.