User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 691 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    3
    Good action game, but bad stealth game and very bad Splinter Cell. In most missions, enemies are hidden in cover waiting for you. It's more a third person tactical shooter.
  2. MikeM
    Apr 28, 2010
    1
    Good game, BUT, why game companies continue to jack over the honest paying customers is beyond me! I am absolutely disgusted by the fact that 'you must' have a constant internet connection to play the game. Furthermore, here is a quote on steam's site " Ubisoft may cancel access to online features upon a 30-day prior notice . . ." BS! $60.00 for this?? unbelievable! Wake up Good game, BUT, why game companies continue to jack over the honest paying customers is beyond me! I am absolutely disgusted by the fact that 'you must' have a constant internet connection to play the game. Furthermore, here is a quote on steam's site " Ubisoft may cancel access to online features upon a 30-day prior notice . . ." BS! $60.00 for this?? unbelievable! Wake up ubisoft, we are paying customers! Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2013
    2
    After finishing this game, I thought I had bought the wrong one, because it felt NOTHING like the original Splinter Cell games. It shouldn't even be TITLED as a Splinter Cell game! It pretty much drives you into starting massive shoot-outs. Only later I found out I could partially stealth through the game, which was kind of fun, but got frustrating every time I found out the goodAfter finishing this game, I thought I had bought the wrong one, because it felt NOTHING like the original Splinter Cell games. It shouldn't even be TITLED as a Splinter Cell game! It pretty much drives you into starting massive shoot-outs. Only later I found out I could partially stealth through the game, which was kind of fun, but got frustrating every time I found out the good quick-saving system was replaced by a debilitated checkpoint system. It eventually drove me into doing both strategies, which I didn't like as the mixed gameplay was not pleasurable at all to me. I tried to figure out why the hell it turned into an action shooter, and I found out. The new director Maxime BĂ©land came in and brought a bag of horse**** with him. I don't know what was wrong with this guy's life beforehand, as it seems he must've been a hopeless drunk or junkie, feeling that the "black-and-white" effect when you're in the dark reminds him of his early artwork or something like that... Well, what he did is fix what wasn't even broken in the first place and ended up making it a disappointment. The story for the game was good, to be honest, it fit with the past games, which I appreciate.
    One thing that I felt is that this game was produced by 12-year old because of the most idiotic and immature dialogue of enemies I've ever heard in my life of playing games. The endless amounts of hearing A-hole and the F-word pretty much make up 90% of the dialogue. It isn't even funny after the first few missions. I can understand the thugs in the game would say something like that, but even the goddamn Third Echelon soldiers say it, making it unrealistic and turning it into an immature joke. Ubisoft really shifted from a nice game company into a an evil group of greedy game developers who care only about getting customers' money and care none for the fans of the older games. The fact that Michael Ironside still voiced the game is why I give it a rating of 2. Well done, Ubisoft, you've really shape-shifted into a despicable little greedy imp.
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    A decent, solid, nice stealth game. Although by no means a Chaos Theory, if you stop thinking of it as a Splinter Cell game and just another stealth game, it's fun to play. Sadly, the PC version is an obvious console port, with amazingly clunky controls and lack of refined graphics. Although the gameplay makes up for it somewhat, it does not by any means remedy this problem. That's why IA decent, solid, nice stealth game. Although by no means a Chaos Theory, if you stop thinking of it as a Splinter Cell game and just another stealth game, it's fun to play. Sadly, the PC version is an obvious console port, with amazingly clunky controls and lack of refined graphics. Although the gameplay makes up for it somewhat, it does not by any means remedy this problem. That's why I gave it a non negative, and yet non positive review. If only it had been optimized better for PC it would have gotten at least an 8. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    A really good game, that you can play with a TPS or a stealth approach, and potentially this is very funny.
    But there is a big problem. The Ubisoft DRM makes this game unplayable! The Uplay Cloud Sync for SC:C is bugged from years, forums are plenty of complaints from users... but the problem remains and Ubisoft doesn't care about it.
    5 is an average between 8 (the game) and 2 (uplay)
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    its good but yes but to short just to short you where finisht so soon.
    not much gadgets and not even good wons.
    the graphics are retarded bad.
    bad strory line.
    and to the multiplayer is short and bad not fun and just boring.
    than you gat some outher mode and that is just 1-2 hours fun and than its over.
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    My only complaint would be: IT'S JUST TOO DAMN DIFFICULT. I lost interest after the first two scenes. I don't like 'walk-in-a-park' type of games, but this one is rather annoying. I love the 'Chaos Theory' and 'Pandora', but this comes across as slightly less innovative right off the bet. One more thing jump key is also a grab key, use key, interact key, take cover key and what not key. IMy only complaint would be: IT'S JUST TOO DAMN DIFFICULT. I lost interest after the first two scenes. I don't like 'walk-in-a-park' type of games, but this one is rather annoying. I love the 'Chaos Theory' and 'Pandora', but this comes across as slightly less innovative right off the bet. One more thing jump key is also a grab key, use key, interact key, take cover key and what not key. I hate the controls. I will most certainly give it another go, but for now neutral rating from me. Sorry my English isn't any better. Expand
  8. Sep 15, 2016
    6
    Don't tell anymore Splinter Cell is a STEALTH GAME... with CONVICTION it becames a normal action/fps... with a minimal stealth action... with a bad PC optimization, it's anyway good for visuals and sounds, but gameplay is drastically changed... 6
  9. Nov 19, 2014
    4
    Hands down the worst Splinter Cell game out there.

    Cons: - The game consists of going from point A to point B mindlessly killing enemies (heck, it's even worse, you can even COMPLETELY SKIP the firefights, just run like mad and wait for a checkpoint to pop up, suddenly enemies are no longer chasing you). - Levels are absolutely linear, no exploration to speak of, no computers to hack,
    Hands down the worst Splinter Cell game out there.

    Cons:
    - The game consists of going from point A to point B mindlessly killing enemies (heck, it's even worse, you can even COMPLETELY SKIP the firefights, just run like mad and wait for a checkpoint to pop up, suddenly enemies are no longer chasing you).
    - Levels are absolutely linear, no exploration to speak of, no computers to hack, no side objectives, nothing.
    - The game is way too short, just 11 levels, about 20-30 minutes long each depending on play style and difficulty. This could arguably be a "pro" due to the repetitive nature of the game.

    Pros:
    - Graphics are nice, although you get some weird slowdowns even with a modern GPU, it looks like the game is quite CPU dependant.
    - Soundtrack and audio effects are decent, although for some reason your weapons sound really weak.
    - No graphic glitches or major bugs on PC (unlike all previous games in the series, except Chaos Theory).

    The game is essentially a third rate cover shooter with the Splinter Cell name and characters/back story stuck in there for no good reason. I give it a 4 because at least it's playable, stable and has nice graphics, but by the end of the game you'll just be wishing for it to end. Luckily it's mercifully short.
    Expand
  10. Jul 20, 2012
    5
    What could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and press the melee key, nothing happens. You just sit there like an idiot. You have to press the crouch key first to stand yourself up and THEN press the melee key. This alone will cause you to fail more missions than anything else, because it will throw offWhat could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and press the melee key, nothing happens. You just sit there like an idiot. You have to press the crouch key first to stand yourself up and THEN press the melee key. This alone will cause you to fail more missions than anything else, because it will throw off your timing. Another great example is the contextual "use" key. If you're standing next to a climbable ledge and there is a weapon on the ground that you want to pick up, you have to sit there for two minutes and rotate the camera just right until the weapon is highlighted instead of the ledge. It is very disappointing how poorly Splinter Cell: Conviction was executed, because it obvious has enormous potential. Expand
  11. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...
    he best part of this game when we needed to play as VIc and find the captured sam fisher that was amazing place and music.The first Beta game when sam would be a homless man, and he could fight hand to hand combat,merge with the big crowed places hide from police and NSA and
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...

    he best part of this game when we needed to play as VIc and find the captured sam fisher that was amazing place and music.The first Beta game when sam would be a homless man, and he could fight hand to hand combat,merge with the big crowed places hide from police and NSA and took revenge on 3rd echelon revenge sarah fisher dead and etc things... that game concept would be 10 times interesting and better than this f**k s**t final release.
    Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    v.bad game. its like game dev goal was to piss player on every step. you buy game on steam and it launches uplay why not origin and games for windows too? 10 unskippable intros and of course "press any key screen"... coz its important! long animated menu to waste more time. finally, loading checkpoint. select your weapons from stash... fail at stealth... reload checkpoint... wtf$@@ selectv.bad game. its like game dev goal was to piss player on every step. you buy game on steam and it launches uplay why not origin and games for windows too? 10 unskippable intros and of course "press any key screen"... coz its important! long animated menu to waste more time. finally, loading checkpoint. select your weapons from stash... fail at stealth... reload checkpoint... wtf$@@ select your weapons again... and repeat to drive you mad. and again unskippable animations after which you will probably fail and must watch them again. input of pc terrible since game is made with pads in mind. clunky mechanics and terrible level design. interrogations are recruiting tool for Guantanamo Bay. iv only liked executions mechanic. Expand
  13. May 12, 2011
    5
    SC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certain graphics, objects and environments, and certain physics, among a few other things too... Not sure why(because I have a good PC system) but the sound cuts in-out and the video pauses frequently during level loading... However, SC-Conviction's overall gameSC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certain graphics, objects and environments, and certain physics, among a few other things too... Not sure why(because I have a good PC system) but the sound cuts in-out and the video pauses frequently during level loading... However, SC-Conviction's overall game play is just 'mindless' and nearly automated for 'dummies', (what happened to the Free-Interaction and Total-user-control? )... and what is up with the fake illuminated projections on the walls that 'help' you to a destination(objective), such as: "Climb" or "Reach Window", or the infinite ammo... (those just aren't appealing features in a game)... Seriously, if you need to be shown exactly where to go and exactly what to do in a game, or if you need infinite ammo, etc., then your real game skills naturally STINK! ... (and it just takes out the fun and realism from the game). UBI seemed to design this game for dummy-gamers who don't have enough patience or real skills to play such a game. It's not a 'Realistic' or 'Stealthy' game, as an example: I opened a door(it made a loud enough noise) and the people were right there looking toward me but still talking to each other, yet they did not react to what I was doing in the doorway(about 7 feet away), WTF!?.. I mean come on, that is NOT realistic stealth-based interaction, and it happens too often... Also the obstruction-programmers didn't do such a good job because even though a door was completely closed the enemy's 'ghost' gun was slightly sticking out, though it was shooting at me, LOL! .... The Controls(movements) are not that steady or precise compared to other games, and it's not as easy to approach(align) to certain objects (user-character movements really stink!!), and not only that, but you're only able to jump in certain pre-programmed hot-spots, seriously WTF happened to Splinter Cell!? The designers/programmers are wrong for making and allowing this game to be this way... Also, the required online registration/log-in is total crap (thanks to all of the poor-bastard rip-off software-pirates for making it a big hassle for all of us!!)... anyway, if you Really Like the game play (surreptitiousness) of SC-Chaos Theory, you'll probably DISLIKE SC-Conviction. Overall, it's an OK game, but it's not great and it could of and should of been much better. Expand
  14. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    A complete betrayal to the very genre that its own series has once shaped. The game is more of encouraging you to kill everyone than do any sort of stealth. A stupid decision by Ubisoft to appeal to the COD masses.
  15. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    This game is the product of development hell, so I'm being generous by giving the game merely a four.
    Splinter Cell: Conviction is broken. Guards are damn near deaf and have absolutely no peripheral vision, the level design is linear with hardly any open ended areas, it simplifies the ability to hide in darkness, Sonar Goggles serve as a wall-hack, and Mark & Execute is the most
    This game is the product of development hell, so I'm being generous by giving the game merely a four.
    Splinter Cell: Conviction is broken. Guards are damn near deaf and have absolutely no peripheral vision, the level design is linear with hardly any open ended areas, it simplifies the ability to hide in darkness, Sonar Goggles serve as a wall-hack, and Mark & Execute is the most condescending in-game aid in any video game ever.
    Overall, it's the worst game in the series. Even worse than Double Agent, which was only sub-par.
    Expand
  16. Mar 21, 2011
    4
    What can I say about this game? It's just another generic shooter with some idiot in Ubisoft thinking it would have been great idea to hold down button for cover!
    What other shooter does that? None! Why? It's stupid, annoying and hurts your thumb.
    Plot is just generic and characters are between badly written and generic. Also this is supposed to be a stealth game, are you kidding me?!
    What can I say about this game? It's just another generic shooter with some idiot in Ubisoft thinking it would have been great idea to hold down button for cover!
    What other shooter does that? None! Why? It's stupid, annoying and hurts your thumb.
    Plot is just generic and characters are between badly written and generic.
    Also this is supposed to be a stealth game, are you kidding me?! There's only one silent SMG and 3 pistols to choose from and pistols have infinitive ammo, more accurate and enemies are so weak that they can be killed very quickly with them so no point of getting other SMG's and Assault Rifles.
    I'm going to give them credit for trying something new but they failed at execution and they should have done in new game, not in franchise that is suppose to be about stealth! And what's the point of being stealthy if you have to kill everyone you meet?!
    Expand
  17. Jan 19, 2013
    5
    thankfully the harsh drm was removed (now its a one-time activation through uPlay) but that won't save a game that removes features that made splinter cell great. you cannot hide bodies anymore, sam seems totally against stealth. the cover system is pretty great and the game is pretty. the story is pretty decent too with a creative ending sequence. but the online co-op doesnt work withoutthankfully the harsh drm was removed (now its a one-time activation through uPlay) but that won't save a game that removes features that made splinter cell great. you cannot hide bodies anymore, sam seems totally against stealth. the cover system is pretty great and the game is pretty. the story is pretty decent too with a creative ending sequence. but the online co-op doesnt work without MASSIVE hassle. you have to manually open ports, that means looking at your exact make and model for your router, finding your internal ip address, logging into your router's website (which you usually need to make another account for) and generally scouring forums for hours. it is a pain, and after beating the single player game in 8 hours, there was only about 1 hour of which gave me the feeling of being sam when i got the sonar goggles. if it's on sale for less than 10 dollars and you don't mind a massive shift in gameplay, you may find the story worth checking out, otherwise this was a very bad direction for a very good series to go. here's hoping that blacklist doesn't drop the ball as hard. Expand
  18. Apr 18, 2011
    3
    The problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often the developers forgot they were making a stealth game and it devolves into a dull third rate shooter. The White House level is simply appalling. The stealth element which is what has always set the Splinter Cell series apart is completely abandoned in favorThe problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often the developers forgot they were making a stealth game and it devolves into a dull third rate shooter. The White House level is simply appalling. The stealth element which is what has always set the Splinter Cell series apart is completely abandoned in favor of a huge frontal assault and fending off waves of enemies. Honestly I'd rate the game higher if it wasn't a splinter cell game but it suffers so much by comparison to its predecessors that it's hard to see it as anything other than a complete waste of time and money. Expand
  19. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    Splinter Cell: Modern warfare 2
    Basically took a steaming dump over fans of the series. You know how people always say "don't fix what isn't broken?" well the developers have apparently never heard that phrase before because, well they tried to "fix" it by removing everything good about splinter cell. Yes I mad
  20. ChristopherB
    Apr 30, 2010
    6
    I have to say that this game was really a big disappointment. This game really lacks the stealth feeling the older series hade. You can pick up a machine gun and kill everything in a room without any tactics what so ever. If your a fan off Sam Fishers story I would recommend to wait for a price drop becouse its not worth it now.
  21. pok
    Jun 16, 2012
    0
    This game is awful. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise.They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia.
  22. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    It isn't another Chaos Theory -- but that's a good thing. SC:C goes in completely different direction. Sam is darker and more violent. His weapons and equipment have been upgraded. The cover system has been updated and works as good as any I've seen. The stealth system has been updated as well. Instead of watching a stealth meter, the game turns black and white when Sam is invisible.It isn't another Chaos Theory -- but that's a good thing. SC:C goes in completely different direction. Sam is darker and more violent. His weapons and equipment have been upgraded. The cover system has been updated and works as good as any I've seen. The stealth system has been updated as well. Instead of watching a stealth meter, the game turns black and white when Sam is invisible. It works surprisingly well. There are usually multiple paths through each mission/level. The main story is challenging and will provide hours of gameplay. The cream of SC:Conviction is Denied Ops. It has three game modes -- Hunter, Infiltration, and Last Stand -- playable on five unique and challenging maps. Hunter requires you to move through the maps killing bad guys. If you are seen, the bad guys call in reinforcements. Infiltration requires you to move through the maps killing bad guys. If you are seen, the alarm sounds and the game ends. I haven't played Last Stand so cannot speak about it.

    Infiltration and Hunter when played on "Realistic" turn into multi-hour experiences as you try to isolate and kill bad guys one by one. Enemy AI is tough, will flank you, and is fast on the trigger. Also, there are motion-sensitive cameras and infrared lasers to deal with.

    There is a co-op mode that I have yet to try. Supposedly, you and your partner play as two agents (one from Third Echelon and one from a Russian agency). You two work your way through five or six maps with your own co-op storyline. It sounds good and there are plenty of youtube videos of co-op gameplay.

    This game is a steal at $20. Denied Ops alone is worth the $20. Make sure you get the "Insurgency DLC" too. It comes with four more maps for Denied Ops -- San Francisco, Salt Lake City, New Orleans, and Portland, OR. San Fran is a shipyard/cargoyard, Salt Lake City is a mysterious industrial office. New Orleans is a graveyard - -where you fight above ground and in tunnels underground! Portland is an old prison. I've logged easily 200-250hrs in SC:Conviction playing the main storyline and Denied Ops. It's a boatload of fun that will challenge most PC gamers. Highly recommend.

    PS: Note that SC:Conviction talks to some Ubisoft servers during startup and possibly during gameplay. It was a hassle sorting things out but once it was working, it did not interfere with gameplay.
    Expand
  23. kantoN
    Apr 28, 2010
    2
    Well... This is a big disappointment for $60. Uni focused too much on the technical portion of the design to a point that the plot becomes scattered with influence of MW2 etc... The content for xtra cash is BS and the gameplay is not all new nor surprising, all well within expectation, non beyond. This is probably the worst situation a sequal could be in... NOTHING new... plot, tech, Well... This is a big disappointment for $60. Uni focused too much on the technical portion of the design to a point that the plot becomes scattered with influence of MW2 etc... The content for xtra cash is BS and the gameplay is not all new nor surprising, all well within expectation, non beyond. This is probably the worst situation a sequal could be in... NOTHING new... plot, tech, style... Thumbs down from me... But for those PC craves out there, this could still jog ur hardware for some fun... maybe. Expand
  24. Jul 28, 2011
    0
    My experience is with the PC version, which was terrible for several reasons:
    - Co Op over LAN is broken. I never got this to work. Seems to be an issue on the Ubisoft forums.
    - The DRM on this thing is a nightmare. You cannot play offline. As soon as your internet connection is lost the whole game stops and instantly breaks any sort of immersion that you had. - The game feels poorly
    My experience is with the PC version, which was terrible for several reasons:
    - Co Op over LAN is broken. I never got this to work. Seems to be an issue on the Ubisoft forums.
    - The DRM on this thing is a nightmare. You cannot play offline. As soon as your internet connection is lost the whole game stops and instantly breaks any sort of immersion that you had. - The game feels poorly optimized. On a 2.8 Ghz quadcore with 8GB of RAM and a watercooled Nvidea 9800 GTX this game became very choppy.
    - Controlling Sam was incredibly rigid for me, like Sam was some sort of rusty robot.

    + The music on the otherhand was great, including the sound effects.

    Do not buy this game. If you are a big fan then just get it somewhere else if you know what I mean.
    Expand
  25. Aug 15, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In general a good but generic game if you weren't coming in with any expectations. However Splinter Cell has built a reputation as being an excellent stealth shooter and its hard to even put this one in that category. Some of the core mechanics of the game were updated and improved but others were diminished or left out entirely and the writing was utterly unconvincing.
    On the mechanics side they added one of the better cover systems where you can pinpoint exactly where you want Sam to dart to and in what direction. They also removed the light meter in favor of fading the screen to black and white when you are concealed. Another nice touch which was added is a a circle with a broad arrow which appears on the screen when you catch an enemies attention. The arrow points in the direction of the enemy and narrows as their attention focuses on you. Once they realize it is a hostile the arrow changes from white to red. Finally when you take out an enemy with your hands you enable one use of the execution mechanic. This allows you to mark 2-4 enemies (depending on the weapon you are welding) and hit one button to take them all out in rapid succession. The cover system worked very well for the most part except for the minor annoyance created by the fact that roll and cover are the same button. Sometimes in a tense situation you right click to roll away from someone when too close to a wall and Sam will take cover instead. Both the light and attention system changes are useful and intuitive. The execution system was entertaining but diminished the need for stealth.
    Unfortunately, that is not the only way in which stealth suffered in this game. Ubisoft may have thought the mechanics above were enough to give players the ability to play the game using stealth and guile but for the most part they were mistaken due to the fact other more critical stealth mechanics were removed. The first omission is the lack of a save function, quick or otherwise. It is replaced with checkpoints. I'm an older gamer who remembers a time when this was the norm but it was still a shock to not have it here especially in what should have been a stealth shooter. You get used to it however the checkpoint system strongly favors quick aggressive action so that when you fail to reach the next checkpoint you only wasted 1 or 2 minutes instead of 10 or 20. Next your pistol now has unlimited ammo which means there is no reason not to spray fire with it if you can't get close enough to stealth kill or if someone notices you. This also places a strong bias on aggressive action. Who is going to take 2 minutes sneaking up on or around a guy when you can just go straight at him and empty 5 rounds into his chest in 10 seconds. Next picking up anything is completely removed. That means no bricks or cans for distraction but more importantly it means no moving bodies to cover your tracks. This makes some sense though because a dead body is simply a trap for any enemies who see it. They run straight up and stand there for 10 to 15 seconds begging you to shoot them from cover 5 ft away at which point they are added to the body trap. Removing the body would just be a waste of time once again. Finally they removed all of Sams non-lethal skills. There are no locks to pick and no gun terminals to hack. Not only does this remove stealth options forcing the player into run and gun tactics but it also removes some variety and the potential to enrich the story through reading emails as Splinter Cell normally allows.
    This leads me to the story and the writing. I'm not saying the writing and plot of the other Splinter Cells were literature of the highest order but they were entertaining and coherent. In this one 3rd Echelon somehow becomes a terrorist organization in the 3 year period since the last game ended. The writers try to patch that massive plot hole by saying that a mole in the organization became leader of it upon Lambert's death and that the president was going to shut the program down and they thought that made America too vulnerable. So basically they are saying the highly trained, highly selective organization Fisher was in turned into a cult of personality in 3 yrs after a sudden change of leadership. That or the entire staff somehow felt the US was so threatened by 3rd Echelon potentially closing that they felt the means of EMPing all of DC and killing the president were justified by the end of keeping 3rd Echelon open.....for the safety of America. The writers pretty much just ran the entire Splinter Cell story line off the rails with this one.
    After everything is said and done this game on its own is around average. The mechanics they had were polished and entertaining which balances out the poor writing. However, when you put it into the context of the stealth shooter Splinter Cell series is as a very disappointing turn for the franchise. The neutering of the stealth element is really disappointing.
    Expand
  26. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    If they don't move back to the game elements from the first game and Chaos Theory this game series is doomed to dies. I don't like the quality of this console port.
  27. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    The requirement of a permanent Internet connection makes it impossible to enjoy this game for those of us living in places without reliable or stable broadband.
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    I don't know for other consoles, but at least for the PC, "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction" sucks balls. The graphics look great and fantastic IF you have a super computer. Otherwise it's going to lag as much as your computer when resuming youtube. The controls are terrible (i don't know what they based it off of...) and it's too repetitive and difficult even in easy mode. But theI don't know for other consoles, but at least for the PC, "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction" sucks balls. The graphics look great and fantastic IF you have a super computer. Otherwise it's going to lag as much as your computer when resuming youtube. The controls are terrible (i don't know what they based it off of...) and it's too repetitive and difficult even in easy mode. But the real problem is, like MikeM said, there is literally NO online support. Seriously? A **** single player campaign for 60 bucks? Is it really worth it? You get to decide. Expand
  29. Oct 18, 2011
    0
    Zero! Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia. Despite being in his mid to late forties he moves around like the previously mentioned Prince, grabbing a ledge with hisZero! Complete and utter destruction of a great franchise. I absolutely loved the first three games, but this piece of crap is just painful to play. They turned this awesome stealth action game into a third person shooter. Sam Fisher is now the new Prince of Persia. Despite being in his mid to late forties he moves around like the previously mentioned Prince, grabbing a ledge with his fingertims ans running across walls. STAY AWAY if you liked the previous installments. Expand
  30. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 12, 2007
    7
    I'm all for the Splinter Cell series, but in seeing this new titles gameplay makes me pray that Ubisoft doesn't ruin the great name of Splinter Cell. I respect them for going out on an edge and trying to veer from the repeated stealthy gameplay, but that's what it's all about. They already stepped close enough to the edge on double agent and I'm afraid Conviction I'm all for the Splinter Cell series, but in seeing this new titles gameplay makes me pray that Ubisoft doesn't ruin the great name of Splinter Cell. I respect them for going out on an edge and trying to veer from the repeated stealthy gameplay, but that's what it's all about. They already stepped close enough to the edge on double agent and I'm afraid Conviction will jump off the cliff. The only three good ways in which this can end are as follows. 1. This is the last game of the series. 2. Somehow they manage to make this new outfit work without the stealth and gadgets. 3. Just stick to what they know, get Sam Fisher back into the agency. I already know what my vote will be, no matter the outcome. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Conviction appeals to a whole new crowd that grew up on creating distractions, using every single gadget in their inventory and dragging bodies into shadows. If Conviction is evidence of where Ubisoft is taking the series, they are about to win over a lot of new fans and potentially upset a portion of those already loyal.
  2. The single-player story is short, but it's filled with a lot of great moments. The co-op multiplayer helps to give the package a lot more bite.
  3. I have no problem recommending Conviction to anyone who enjoys the Splinter Cell series or third person action/stealth games in general. I would have loved a much longer and more involved campaign, but the additional modes (including a separate co-op campaign) go a long way in making up for that.