Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 591 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react onImprovise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react on the fly to any changing situations and use the environment and the crowds around you to create diversions and deter your enemies. As a fugitive, quick thinking and adaptation are essential to turn the situation to your advantage. A gameplay experience delivering 100% adrenaline includes close combat and shooting sequences. To survive, build an underground network of allies who will help you obtain high-tech gadgets and stay one step ahead of your pursuers as you struggle to unmask the forces that frame you. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Why Sam has stepped out of the shadows and is on full out attack makes complete sense in context with the story, so if you can accept it for what it is and not dwell on the fact that it isn't what you've come to expect in a Splinter Cell title, you'll no doubt agree that Conviction rivals Chaos Theory as the best title in the franchise's history. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  2. Arguably the best in the series. Better sneaking mechanic, one of the best cover systems ever, and pacing on a level unlike anything you've experienced in a stealth game, all while keeping it accessible to new players.
  3. Conviction is a really good reboot of the series, even so I sometimes miss the feeling of the older titles. Nevertheless the game is really fun, especially the multiplayer-part.
  4. Sam might not be sticking to the shadows as much as he once did, but Splinter Cell's never been this classy. [July 2010, p.78]
  5. New, different and excellent – this is an all new Splinter Cell. Is it good because of changes or despite the changes, that is the question. [Issue#191]
  6. In some respects, Splinter Cell Conviction on the PC is the definitive version of Ubi's reborn franchise. But it's a far more controversial choice for those with flakey broadband connections that just want to experience the single-player, or for anybody that enjoys conversing and strategising with other players in their multiplayer.
  7. In trading substance for style, Conviction winds up hollow and unsatisfying. Co-op is the only saving grace. [July 2010, p.52]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 90
  2. Negative: 29 out of 90
  1. ProphetofDoom
    May 5, 2010
    10
    Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow up to Double Agent. Much better use of the unreal engine than bioware's effort in Mass Effect 2, which is not unexpected... Sam Fisher is one of the truly great characters of gameing, in no small part thanks to Micheal Ironside, whose rasping irony sets the mood right from the first sentence. The people who voted this game so low are probably the same pack of wankers we voted Dragon Age Origins RPG of the year. When it should have been voted biggest "..from the makers of KOTOR...", media hype, let down pile of bullshit of the year. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    I'm not a fan of the earlier splinter cell games for PC. I tried them (after buying them at a deep discount on Steam) but didn't care for theI'm not a fan of the earlier splinter cell games for PC. I tried them (after buying them at a deep discount on Steam) but didn't care for the clunky controls or the tedious gameplay. Conviction on the other hand is really fun to play. As others have mentioned, the single player campaign does go by pretty quickly. There's some replayability if you ratchet up the difficulty and try to work through the levels without being detected. The inability to skip through some of the "story telling" bits on subsequent plays does get annoying.

    The Deniable Ops pack gives the casual action gamer a nice variety of missions that you can play through in 10-30 minutes depending on how you want to play them (run & gun vs. stealth). These are highly replayable as you can experiment with a variety of tactics and approaches to each level. Given that I bought this game years after it's release, I haven't played much multi-player. Seems like it would be fun over a LAN though.

    For the next release, I'd love to see a few improvements. While you can use the "human shield" feature to grab someone, pull them into the shadows, and dump their body somewhere it won't be noticed, it's pretty clear that the feature wasn't designed with that scenario in mind. It would also be nice to have ways of disabling lights without shooting them (cutting wires, unplugging lamps, etc.). It would also be nice to be able to do knife take downs instead of always using your primary weapon. It would also be nice to incorporate some other close quarters combat options. I'd also like to see the "realistic" mode be a little more realistic :). You can discharge a silenced weapon in the same room as an enemy and they won't respond. I do love the interactivity of the environments. There's a level with a grandfather clock you hear ticking as you creep by. Vaulting, cat-like over a desk can disturb objects on top of it. Vaulting over a chain link fence produces the appropriate sounds. And, contrary to some of the other reviewers, I found the controls (with practice) to be extremely fluid - much more so than any other game of this type I've played. I would like to see even more interactivity in the sequel: running through puddles, climbing onto objects, etc. should produce the appropriate sounds.
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    put simply, I love espionage games, while conviction is a lot different to the original splinter cell games but that isn't a bad thing, whatput simply, I love espionage games, while conviction is a lot different to the original splinter cell games but that isn't a bad thing, what is bad is that you need a internet connection even to play single player. **** stupid in my opinion as this leaves some people unable to play the game at all. the game itself had a couple of issues with the controls that I found but overall the gameplay was very fun.

    For those complaining about multiplayer, yes that is where most games are going, but it ruins the storyline in most cases when you get people who play the game to death and know every little detail, or cry when they fail leaving myself and I'm sure many other gamers fairly angry not to mention the lack of stealth compared to others.

    The reason for my 9/10? Ignoring the fact that a lot has been pissed on with this game its still a hell of a lot of fun with a fairly solid platform meaning less focusing on spotting bugs like guns won't reload properly or some b.s. like that and more focusing on immersing yourself into the story
    Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    The graphics is certainly among the PROs for this game (the performance however is not), other than that, it's sort of boring, it's short,The graphics is certainly among the PROs for this game (the performance however is not), other than that, it's sort of boring, it's short, it's story telling tedium (that's right TEDIUM) is just that. Talk about originality... What's with with all the cheesy "interrogation-something-went-wrong-recollection" story telling modes? It's always easy to write and almost always looks good and passes for being realistic but isn't it a bit too badly overused?

    Anyways, it gets a 7 for awesome graphics and well-implemented and varied combat mechanics. Everything else is meh
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2012
    5
    What could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and pressWhat could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and press the melee key, nothing happens. You just sit there like an idiot. You have to press the crouch key first to stand yourself up and THEN press the melee key. This alone will cause you to fail more missions than anything else, because it will throw off your timing. Another great example is the contextual "use" key. If you're standing next to a climbable ledge and there is a weapon on the ground that you want to pick up, you have to sit there for two minutes and rotate the camera just right until the weapon is highlighted instead of the ledge. It is very disappointing how poorly Splinter Cell: Conviction was executed, because it obvious has enormous potential. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...
    he best part of this game
    Pros:Vic
    Cons:everything! lame story, lamest i ever saw in my life...Turned out to be sarah fisher is alive...

    he best part of this game when we needed to play as VIc and find the captured sam fisher that was amazing place and music.The first Beta game when sam would be a homless man, and he could fight hand to hand combat,merge with the big crowed places hide from police and NSA and took revenge on 3rd echelon revenge sarah fisher dead and etc things... that game concept would be 10 times interesting and better than this f**k s**t final release.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me,I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me, BUT all is scre.ed up by the checkpoint system. Why on earth lazy devs or psycho money men are forcing it on us. I leave most games because I don't want to see the same bl..dy 20 secs or 2 mins of footage and starting the whole thing again. It makes me angry and I sooner or later leave the game.
    UPDATE: and it happened. After going throug the same sh.t for 20 times, listening the same stupid conversation that can't be skipped, I uninstalled this piece of crap from my computer and I won't install any other from the series till I know that there is a savegame feature. In this form this is just utter waste of time.
    As a game it is a 0.
    Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.