Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction PC

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react onImprovise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react on the fly to any changing situations and use the environment and the crowds around you to create diversions and deter your enemies. As a fugitive, quick thinking and adaptation are essential to turn the situation to your advantage. A gameplay experience delivering 100% adrenaline includes close combat and shooting sequences. To survive, build an underground network of allies who will help you obtain high-tech gadgets and stay one step ahead of your pursuers as you struggle to unmask the forces that frame you. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uplay PC - Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GamePro
    100
    Why Sam has stepped out of the shadows and is on full out attack makes complete sense in context with the story, so if you can accept it for what it is and not dwell on the fact that it isn't what you've come to expect in a Splinter Cell title, you'll no doubt agree that Conviction rivals Chaos Theory as the best title in the franchise's history. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  2. Arguably the best in the series. Better sneaking mechanic, one of the best cover systems ever, and pacing on a level unlike anything you've experienced in a stealth game, all while keeping it accessible to new players.
  3. Sam Fisher is back. Conviction is faster, harder and offers more action than the predecessors, but it’s still a Splinter Cell game at heart. And for the first time, Sam Fisher is a real human character.
  4. PC Zone UK
    84
    Sam might not be sticking to the shadows as much as he once did, but Splinter Cell's never been this classy. [July 2010, p.78]
  5. Conviction appeals to a whole new crowd that grew up on creating distractions, using every single gadget in their inventory and dragging bodies into shadows. If Conviction is evidence of where Ubisoft is taking the series, they are about to win over a lot of new fans and potentially upset a portion of those already loyal.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    New, different and excellent – this is an all new Splinter Cell. Is it good because of changes or despite the changes, that is the question. [Issue#191]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    60
    In trading substance for style, Conviction winds up hollow and unsatisfying. Co-op is the only saving grace. [July 2010, p.52]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 92
  2. Negative: 28 out of 92
  1. ProphetofDoom
    May 5, 2010
    10
    Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow up to Double Agent. Much better use of the unreal engine than bioware's effort in Mass Effect 2, which is not unexpected... Sam Fisher is one of the truly great characters of gameing, in no small part thanks to Micheal Ironside, whose rasping irony sets the mood right from the first sentence. The people who voted this game so low are probably the same pack of wankers we voted Dragon Age Origins RPG of the year. When it should have been voted biggest "..from the makers of KOTOR...", media hype, let down pile of bullshit of the year. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    I'm not a fan of the earlier splinter cell games for PC. I tried them (after buying them at a deep discount on Steam) but didn't care for theI'm not a fan of the earlier splinter cell games for PC. I tried them (after buying them at a deep discount on Steam) but didn't care for the clunky controls or the tedious gameplay. Conviction on the other hand is really fun to play. As others have mentioned, the single player campaign does go by pretty quickly. There's some replayability if you ratchet up the difficulty and try to work through the levels without being detected. The inability to skip through some of the "story telling" bits on subsequent plays does get annoying.

    The Deniable Ops pack gives the casual action gamer a nice variety of missions that you can play through in 10-30 minutes depending on how you want to play them (run & gun vs. stealth). These are highly replayable as you can experiment with a variety of tactics and approaches to each level. Given that I bought this game years after it's release, I haven't played much multi-player. Seems like it would be fun over a LAN though.

    For the next release, I'd love to see a few improvements. While you can use the "human shield" feature to grab someone, pull them into the shadows, and dump their body somewhere it won't be noticed, it's pretty clear that the feature wasn't designed with that scenario in mind. It would also be nice to have ways of disabling lights without shooting them (cutting wires, unplugging lamps, etc.). It would also be nice to be able to do knife take downs instead of always using your primary weapon. It would also be nice to incorporate some other close quarters combat options. I'd also like to see the "realistic" mode be a little more realistic :). You can discharge a silenced weapon in the same room as an enemy and they won't respond. I do love the interactivity of the environments. There's a level with a grandfather clock you hear ticking as you creep by. Vaulting, cat-like over a desk can disturb objects on top of it. Vaulting over a chain link fence produces the appropriate sounds. And, contrary to some of the other reviewers, I found the controls (with practice) to be extremely fluid - much more so than any other game of this type I've played. I would like to see even more interactivity in the sequel: running through puddles, climbing onto objects, etc. should produce the appropriate sounds.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I bought this game at a Steam sale... wow... what a blast, worth every dime ! Very satisfying stealth and shooting action, good coverI bought this game at a Steam sale... wow... what a blast, worth every dime ! Very satisfying stealth and shooting action, good cover mechanics, decent graphics, with good AI. There are lots of options to play different modes, including multiplayer, it offers much more than a simple campaign so lots of replay value.

    I play this on PC with a joystick, and I haven't had so much fun since Goldeneye on the N64 and Crysis 1.
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Splinter Cell Conviction is definately not a stealth game but it's no doubt a fun action game with a stealth mechanic. Here's hoping it'sSplinter Cell Conviction is definately not a stealth game but it's no doubt a fun action game with a stealth mechanic. Here's hoping it's sequel will be more like Chaos Theory Expand
  5. May 12, 2011
    5
    SC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certainSC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certain graphics, objects and environments, and certain physics, among a few other things too... Not sure why(because I have a good PC system) but the sound cuts in-out and the video pauses frequently during level loading... However, SC-Conviction's overall game play is just 'mindless' and nearly automated for 'dummies', (what happened to the Free-Interaction and Total-user-control? )... and what is up with the fake illuminated projections on the walls that 'help' you to a destination(objective), such as: "Climb" or "Reach Window", or the infinite ammo... (those just aren't appealing features in a game)... Seriously, if you need to be shown exactly where to go and exactly what to do in a game, or if you need infinite ammo, etc., then your real game skills naturally STINK! ... (and it just takes out the fun and realism from the game). UBI seemed to design this game for dummy-gamers who don't have enough patience or real skills to play such a game. It's not a 'Realistic' or 'Stealthy' game, as an example: I opened a door(it made a loud enough noise) and the people were right there looking toward me but still talking to each other, yet they did not react to what I was doing in the doorway(about 7 feet away), WTF!?.. I mean come on, that is NOT realistic stealth-based interaction, and it happens too often... Also the obstruction-programmers didn't do such a good job because even though a door was completely closed the enemy's 'ghost' gun was slightly sticking out, though it was shooting at me, LOL! .... The Controls(movements) are not that steady or precise compared to other games, and it's not as easy to approach(align) to certain objects (user-character movements really stink!!), and not only that, but you're only able to jump in certain pre-programmed hot-spots, seriously WTF happened to Splinter Cell!? The designers/programmers are wrong for making and allowing this game to be this way... Also, the required online registration/log-in is total crap (thanks to all of the poor-bastard rip-off software-pirates for making it a big hassle for all of us!!)... anyway, if you Really Like the game play (surreptitiousness) of SC-Chaos Theory, you'll probably DISLIKE SC-Conviction. Overall, it's an OK game, but it's not great and it could of and should of been much better. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    3
    The problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often theThe problem is that Conviction has no idea of what kind of game it wants to be. The stealth elements are really fun but every so often the developers forgot they were making a stealth game and it devolves into a dull third rate shooter. The White House level is simply appalling. The stealth element which is what has always set the Splinter Cell series apart is completely abandoned in favor of a huge frontal assault and fending off waves of enemies. Honestly I'd rate the game higher if it wasn't a splinter cell game but it suffers so much by comparison to its predecessors that it's hard to see it as anything other than a complete waste of time and money. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me,I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me, BUT all is scre.ed up by the checkpoint system. Why on earth lazy devs or psycho money men are forcing it on us. I leave most games because I don't want to see the same bl..dy 20 secs or 2 mins of footage and starting the whole thing again. It makes me angry and I sooner or later leave the game.
    UPDATE: and it happened. After going throug the same sh.t for 20 times, listening the same stupid conversation that can't be skipped, I uninstalled this piece of crap from my computer and I won't install any other from the series till I know that there is a savegame feature. In this form this is just utter waste of time.
    As a game it is a 0.
    Expand

See all 92 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.