User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 185
  2. Negative: 66 out of 185
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamM.
    Dec 8, 2006
    3
    Very disappointing effort, Ubi. You were doing so well with the ports from the last three Splinter Cell games, what happened here? The safe cracking barely works, the unlocks don't appear in my inventory, no matter what I do, the story seems to have been cut in half so the extra space could be used to make things shinier. And that's not even getting into the "streamlined" Very disappointing effort, Ubi. You were doing so well with the ports from the last three Splinter Cell games, what happened here? The safe cracking barely works, the unlocks don't appear in my inventory, no matter what I do, the story seems to have been cut in half so the extra space could be used to make things shinier. And that's not even getting into the "streamlined" multiplayer. The story mode is good...while it lasts. But if you want a good Splinter Cell game, I'd suggest sticking with Chaos Theory. Expand
  2. May 10, 2011
    0
    Another Example of UBISOFT's inability to update a game they released. I bought every splinter cell game at retail price, and i can't play any of their games anymore with my current computer. But this game in particular was buggy from the start, and to date it's still a nightmare to play. I installed XP on a seperate Drive, installed the game, updated both windows XP and the game, updatedAnother Example of UBISOFT's inability to update a game they released. I bought every splinter cell game at retail price, and i can't play any of their games anymore with my current computer. But this game in particular was buggy from the start, and to date it's still a nightmare to play. I installed XP on a seperate Drive, installed the game, updated both windows XP and the game, updated every driver, and still the game crashes constantly. And even IF it manages to load a level, you have to play it with horrible sound and missing textures/glitches. (Core i5-760, GTX460, tested on Windows XP SP3, 270.61 nvidia drivers).

    When i bought this at release day i had a 7800GT, and it didn't display the graphical glitches i endure now. But the 7800GT was nowhere near capable to run the poorly optimized game, and the games graphical settings kept resetting them after i tuned them down. So the only gameplay i ever saw of it was a slideshow basicly. It seemed like a nice game, with moral choices, and timed sidemissions when you where in New York. But this gets interrupted by random crashes, and when you forgot to save stuff you had to do the same stuff over and over again. I think it's hard to justify the 50 euro pricetag it had at release (Yes i bought it at release, because i loved splinter cell), but even if you payed 10 euro's for it, you'd still be ripped off. It's a buggy port, that never got patched properly, and to date doesn't work. Not even the steam releases. Why isn't there some sort of quality control that needs to be passed first? This is daylight robbery! My suggestion is, buy this on the console, i'm pretty sure that's a fun game. The PC port is just an abomination of a game, that should NEVER have been released.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    Do you know why Sam got his **** face on the cover of the retail package? Yeah, that **** face staring at you. Do you know why? Oh, because he is trying to warn you: "Don't play this game, I didn't want to be in Double Agent, this game sucks." That's what uncle Sam's facial expression is about. But what about the game? Well, to an all time Splinter Cell fans (except for this one), DoubleDo you know why Sam got his **** face on the cover of the retail package? Yeah, that **** face staring at you. Do you know why? Oh, because he is trying to warn you: "Don't play this game, I didn't want to be in Double Agent, this game sucks." That's what uncle Sam's facial expression is about. But what about the game? Well, to an all time Splinter Cell fans (except for this one), Double Agent is a truly insult. Super buggy, eventually become unplayable at the Africa mission. And the graphic is disgustingly weird, I don't even know how to describe it, it just doesn't look right. About the gameplay......I don't know, maybe it should be good, but due to the terribly buggy experience, I can't feel anything. This game ruined and wasted me five hours. Damn you, Ubi. Expand
  4. ColbyA.
    Mar 23, 2007
    5
    I'm coming with the same complaints as everyone else. I personally love the game and the gameplay, even if it gets tedious doing the same trial and error thing over and over again (but it's a nice change from grinding on MMOs), and I personally like the storyline so far. But the only problem is that it is glitchy as all hell. I've had problems with directional keys not I'm coming with the same complaints as everyone else. I personally love the game and the gameplay, even if it gets tedious doing the same trial and error thing over and over again (but it's a nice change from grinding on MMOs), and I personally like the storyline so far. But the only problem is that it is glitchy as all hell. I've had problems with directional keys not working for activities liek safecracking, I've had countless random crashes, and I've had lots of visual errors like the screen going blank after leaving it on the pause menu for 10 minutes or longer. Frankly, I suggest you wait until the game gets some more patches (if Ubi gives a damn about their PC customers). Lucky for me I got it on clearance for 20 bucks. Expand
  5. SeanN.
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Alright, first off I'm going to tell you that i do have the latest patch, and my system is EXTREMELY Powerful. (ATI Radeon 4870X2, 4gb DDR2 ram, Vista 32bit, 750i SLI Gaming motherboard with a case that has 6 fans, and a 9800 quad core PCU) Like everyone else I also had the fun of dealing with the crashes. Mainly on the cruise ship level where it just wont load the level at all, due Alright, first off I'm going to tell you that i do have the latest patch, and my system is EXTREMELY Powerful. (ATI Radeon 4870X2, 4gb DDR2 ram, Vista 32bit, 750i SLI Gaming motherboard with a case that has 6 fans, and a 9800 quad core PCU) Like everyone else I also had the fun of dealing with the crashes. Mainly on the cruise ship level where it just wont load the level at all, due to some insertion of my character into the level error. Not enough dialog from the enemies telling you what they know, getting clues and info... just wasn't there. To this moment I haven't completed the game, not due to difficulty, but due to the crashes. I spent more time with the crashes then i did playing the game. Graphics contained little to no Anti Aliasing, nice bloom effects by the way... i was blinded by them when ever there was a sun in the sky. Lighting in the level DID NOT tell you where the lighting really was, to know where to stay away from so the enemies wouldn't see you. For example, it would look like you were in a dark area, but the light down the hall is apparently illuminating you. Sneaking up on enemies was entirely to easy, i ran up to half the people i killed and they had no clue i was even running around. whistling wasn't as effective as Chaos theory, also whoever came up with the idea to use a green dot for hidden and a yellow dot for not hidden, is a retard, you can't just have black and white you need to have some gray area to know when your approaching a lighter area of the level versus a darker area, ESPECIALLY when the game doesn't show you light from dark that well, as stated above. I bought this game for $9.00, thank god, cause thats as much as its worth. Ubisoft, i dont know what the hell you were doing when you were releasing this to PC, but you had to have been drunk to have even remotely thought this was even 10% ready. Well done on ruining a great series, might i suggest recall and redo... to late at this point though. Also in response to a Anonymous person who gave this game a 10 and said the following "Well, this game is flippin' awesome! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have a console where you can truly enjoy the game. These people are basing their ratings on how the game RUNS, not how it actually PLAYS. I suggest you put the proper rating for the playing, and then write about how it runs." Couple things wrong with this comment, 1. Mr. Anon, if you scroll to the top of this web page and read the header, go on do it. Ok now what did it say? "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent by PC Games". PC games, hmm so this probably means that this isn't a console forum, well how interesting. 2. My computer kicks the crap out of every console to date so when you say "top-of-the-line graphics" this isnt one of thoes games. I run Crysis full spec. Crysis hasn't released to console since consoles don't have the power. Sandbox 3 creates compatibility on a lower graphical standard FOR consoles, so don't go there. 3. Mr. Anon. Since we are talking about the PC version of this game. The playability of the game IS effected by how well it runs. So in short your comment is really not thought out, and is truly a great mark of stupidity. If you don't know what the hell your talking about don't say it. I think everyone can agree that its annoying to see a comment as such. My frustration of this game,and its inability to work, and the actual game play not being worth playing plus that awful comment just lead me into a frenzy of this long wall of text you see before you. I think you already know my oppinion on getting this game, but for those people like anon who are just complete dumbas*es i don't recommend this game. THANKYOU! Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    2
    The is the glitchiest most incomplete console to pc port I have ever played. The interface and menus are very hard to get working properly. Save games vanish often. The inventory system is incomprehensible. Worst of all, the gameplay feels very clumsy and clunky, a telltale sign of a very poor console port. The 3d map is difficult to use as well, making navigating your goals veryThe is the glitchiest most incomplete console to pc port I have ever played. The interface and menus are very hard to get working properly. Save games vanish often. The inventory system is incomprehensible. Worst of all, the gameplay feels very clumsy and clunky, a telltale sign of a very poor console port. The 3d map is difficult to use as well, making navigating your goals very difficult. Wow. they dropped the ball on this one on PC. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the others have said, the game for PC is extremely buggy, because it's a horrible port from Xbox. From my experience of playing it (since I'm a pretty big Splinter Cell fan) I've made a list of the bugs/glitches.

    Some of the ragdolls spaz out so ridiculously that they can actually cause damage to you by slapping you with one of their limbs. The safe-cracking controls are too sensitive and take pure luck to get it right. The Kinsasha missions have their brightness really screwed up (it's too damn bright), as well as giving you two loading screens when trying to quickload, only to be finished off by having the damn game crash. Sometimes the game crashes even by trying to open the radar! By the way, if you don't have the patch you don't get the equipment rewards (which is considering it gets difficult to bypass the later hacks) but even then some of the things don't work like the electronic lockpick. If your system is slow and old, some of the cutscenes will repeat over and over like the bomb on the cruise ship failing to detonate or the game doesn't even load up because the intro cutscenes keep repeating. Then there's having to wait about 15 seconds in an unskippable cutscene when you finish a game or the training course to get back to the main menu. Some of the video settings are screwed up as you can't even tell if they're properly calibrated. Sometimes you won't even see if the shadows are there, because of the otherwise bastardized HDR effects, which ruins the gameplay when you need to hide in the dark. Pressing Escape is considered a dangerous move in the game, for instance: if you suddenly press ESC as you're trying to access a computer, you'll get a view of pretty much the whole map from an indeterminate location and as you try to press ESC again it crashes the game. The SC-20k and the Riot Shotgun both reload in the same way as the SC Pistol well done, developers. Another great glitch is if you decide to blow up the cruise ship and then Enrica decides to let you inside the bomb lab at the end of the game, but that option gets you nowhere as you can't even continue Sam just freezes in place and you can't move him, leaving only the choice of killing Enrica before seeing her as viable. And here's a goodie for the people who play with HD screens if you don't have the game set at 800x600 at the ending where you have to disarm the final bomb you can consider yourself stuck. The ending of the game where the SWAT bust through the windows simply won't play and you'll just be left hanging there like an idiot until you close the process of the game and start it up again. The overall controls just feel like you need some sensitive analogue stick to do it right, because: 1. Sometimes you can't properly get into crawl spaces, 2. You have to use your mouse to navigate on the profiles' "Medical Info", "Activities" and "Personal Info" sections (and the mouse is invisible.) 3. And, the safe-cracking. Then there's dialogue.. Which can sometimes feel VERY awkward. Even Sam delivers some of his lines really strangely.. and so do the NPCs. The sound is quite messed up too as the music is sometimes either really quiet or really loud and the gunshots are really quiet, while Sam's screams and bullet ricochets are louder. Sometimes you can hear the body-picking-up sound repeat twice at the same time. The game seems like an evil little imp that decides when it wants to be more buggy than other times. I once tried to load a game on the Shanghai level and it came up with a box saying "Please insert a storage device." (Obviously from the Xbox port.) There's also an annoying part at the start of the Okhotsk level, when you try to sneak to your fallen equipment, Sam will sometimes not grab the ledge when you fall down the cliff and repeatedly die. And besides that, when he falls an EXCESSIVE amount of blood just splurts out, making it look like he was slaughtered by a giant lawn mower
    .
    Overall, it seems like the game is a completely horrid mess. But that mess only surrounds the awesome remains of the Chaos Theory engine which is the gem of the series, in my opinion. There are some different and cool new moves like being able to grab someone by being right behind the corner. I can't really say I hated the JBA HQ missions, since everytime you have different objectives and to see how many and how fast you can do them is quite a fun challenge. The trust system is OK on the more easier difficulties. Because of these positive things, I'm going to be merciful and give the game a rating of 3.

    I'm pretty sure I'd give it a much higher rating if I played it on the XBox 360 version, but since I didn't know what the Quality Assurance team had on their hands beside that version and a big bottle of Crown Royal... Well... You just put those three together and you get this vomit-covered buggy PC port. Don't bother getting it unless you're prepared to have a headache and getting prescribed on anti-depressants.
    Expand
  8. AntonioMB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    5
    This game would have taken an 8, but unfortunately it is full of bugs. Seriously, I've never seen a game so full of glitches. For example, you can't change video configurations. Multiplayer is good, and the plot is cool.
  9. Sindow
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    I played this on the PC and had absolutely zero technical problems. This is a nicer-looking Chaos Theory only without the content, wit or charm. While there is the addition of swimming in Double Agent it is only used in two levels so it feels more like a gimmick than an addition to Sam Fisher's arsenal. I never bothered using any grenades or other gadgets because of the horrible I played this on the PC and had absolutely zero technical problems. This is a nicer-looking Chaos Theory only without the content, wit or charm. While there is the addition of swimming in Double Agent it is only used in two levels so it feels more like a gimmick than an addition to Sam Fisher's arsenal. I never bothered using any grenades or other gadgets because of the horrible inventory system obviously meant for gimped console systems without a keyboard or mouse. Compared to Chaos Theory there are practically no enemies to interrogate and hardly any dialog. Would have been a nice sequel if there had been more levels, lines and darkness. Also, between each mission you have to sneak around a compound and do a certain amount of objectives in a certain amount of time. If I weren't such a stickler for hearing all conversations and seeing everything extra I would have skipped every compound mission. Expand
  10. KarlL
    Mar 1, 2008
    3
    I love the splinter cell games but this one is so buggy and unfinished its almost not worth playing.
    There's even unfinished artwork in the game, (models missing textures, facial rigging that hasn't been weighted properly)
    And I cant even reconfigure the mouse controls. If they had released a finished version instead of this alpha build I'd be giving it a much higher
    I love the splinter cell games but this one is so buggy and unfinished its almost not worth playing.
    There's even unfinished artwork in the game, (models missing textures, facial rigging that hasn't been weighted properly)
    And I cant even reconfigure the mouse controls.
    If they had released a finished version instead of this alpha build I'd be giving it a much higher rating.

    Also worth a note, Instead of spamming you with advertising for "Airwaves" This time its "Nivea for men"
    Expand
  11. SeanS
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    This game made me want to skin a dolphin with all the bugs, excessively long loading screens, and generally poor performance. The game randomly crashes to the desktop while trying to load or returning to the game after adjusting settings. This is particularly frustrating in the second to last mission (which is actually 3 missions in one). For some reason, every time you load last save, or This game made me want to skin a dolphin with all the bugs, excessively long loading screens, and generally poor performance. The game randomly crashes to the desktop while trying to load or returning to the game after adjusting settings. This is particularly frustrating in the second to last mission (which is actually 3 missions in one). For some reason, every time you load last save, or any save for that matter, it crashes. The only way around it is to exit to the main menu and load your last save again. However, this process takes a full 2 minutes (yes, I timed it) and will be repeated ad nauseum, especially if you're trying to get 100% stealth on hard. In the JBA missions, you can't be on the same staircase as other npc's or else the game will seriously lag. [***SPOILER***] You can't even finish the final JBA mission because after you disarm the bomb, the game hangs as if something is supposed to happen but never does [***END SPOILER***]. It's a shame to see such a well respected series spit out something as putrid and neglected as the PC version. I hope at least the console versions don't have as many hang ups as this one. Hopefully, Ubisoft will spend more time finessing Conviction so the consumers won't be used as beta testers again. Expand
  12. RyanT.
    Jan 27, 2007
    2
    It had a great storyline, and the graphics were really great,but i've played MUCH better games with far less system requirements. It was absolute crap to run. I played the game without shooting my guns once because the muzzle flash would kill my computer. Ubisoft seems to test their games on the best computers out there and tells the average consumer to go to hell. I refuse to It had a great storyline, and the graphics were really great,but i've played MUCH better games with far less system requirements. It was absolute crap to run. I played the game without shooting my guns once because the muzzle flash would kill my computer. Ubisoft seems to test their games on the best computers out there and tells the average consumer to go to hell. I refuse to purchase another of their games. Expand
  13. RichardA.
    Feb 13, 2007
    0
    Not many things cause me to write stuff like this. I bought Splinter Cell today and I will try and take it back tomorrow. My PC matches the spec easy and I thought I would be in for a treat with the graphics, its poor quality, very glitchy and very crashy.
  14. StuJ.
    Jun 25, 2007
    1
    Too buggy, doesn't support high end video cards. Plain does not work and Ubisoft hasn't even been bothered to generate a new patch. It's unlike Ubisoft to send such a poor effort to market. It could be a very good game, but I can't recommend it (or play it) until Ubisoft offers a new patch. I feel abandoned, or should I say Shanghaid, as it's their Too buggy, doesn't support high end video cards. Plain does not work and Ubisoft hasn't even been bothered to generate a new patch. It's unlike Ubisoft to send such a poor effort to market. It could be a very good game, but I can't recommend it (or play it) until Ubisoft offers a new patch. I feel abandoned, or should I say Shanghaid, as it's their (Ubisoft's) PRC development group that created this aberration. Collapse
  15. Chris
    Aug 24, 2007
    3
    It has its moments, but this crap was rushed to market far too soon and has bugs of almost Amazonian proportions. I've gotten to a point where I can no longer *reload* the game without it crashing--I have to restart every time. Needless to say, I've stopped playing. I will say I thought the undercover parts were sometimes tense and exciting, and they should've gone further It has its moments, but this crap was rushed to market far too soon and has bugs of almost Amazonian proportions. I've gotten to a point where I can no longer *reload* the game without it crashing--I have to restart every time. Needless to say, I've stopped playing. I will say I thought the undercover parts were sometimes tense and exciting, and they should've gone further with those. But quality control was clearly out getting drunk when they should've been doing their jobs. That or they released too soon. Expand
  16. SørenF.S.
    Jan 19, 2009
    2
    As many other reviewers have pointed out, is this game buggy and unstable. The game however also feels somewhat unfinished, as what could have seeded the ground for some awesome gameplay mechanics, somehow drowns in show-stopping bugs (falling through the floor as you spawn in the initial Okhost level, consistently through 4-5 mission restarts), unintuitive and unfinished levels (you will As many other reviewers have pointed out, is this game buggy and unstable. The game however also feels somewhat unfinished, as what could have seeded the ground for some awesome gameplay mechanics, somehow drowns in show-stopping bugs (falling through the floor as you spawn in the initial Okhost level, consistently through 4-5 mission restarts), unintuitive and unfinished levels (you will be surprised how often you try to scale an object which looks climb-able, only to see your character slide off on impact, or otherwise just don't know where to go. The in-game 3d map is a farce.), graphical obscurities (the training level was having an extreme, unplayable shade of white, even after the latest drivers. Perhaps some HDR-effects out of control?), broken/unintuitive mechanics (why am I losing trust with the JBA when they're not even remotely aware of my secret expedition to X?) or even just the whole lot of gameplay opportunities which the developers could have explored a bit more (I was, for instance, frantically trying to find a path down to my downed teammate in the first mission, and was quite disappointed with the fact that I was unable to make the choice of saving him or not while the clock was ticking and I was attacked from all sides, as it would have made perfectly sense according with the mood of the game.) All in all is SC: DA a sad, sore attempt at something which could have been a worthy successor of Chaos Theory, an sure GOTY-receiver even. Something is just missing. It feels like they had a complete, high quality product to begin with, but then took away 20% of it, applied high-quality rendering effects (which paradoxically has a broken on/off switch in the menu) and then shipped it off.. The development team could definitely have used another year working out the quirks and; atleast made the PC-version look and act like a native PC-game, instead of having unchangable keyboard-layouts and very, very controller-catered menues. My advice is clear. Avoid this product. I won't call it a game, as that would be an insult to the medium. Expand
  17. Noxiouss
    Jun 26, 2009
    1
    Do not spend the money. This game was not made well for PC at all. Does not play like original title. Invest time and money into one of the many other games out there to enjoy.
  18. HiramS
    Aug 10, 2009
    2
    The main problem I have with the single-player game is that it is tediously slow-going! I do not believe I emptied more than three magazines during the entire game. You spend more than half of the game roaming and spying around the enemy's HQ in NYC, trying to find things. You must open safes, pick locks, rifle through cabinets, and (the best part--NOT) solve a ridiculous 3D suduko The main problem I have with the single-player game is that it is tediously slow-going! I do not believe I emptied more than three magazines during the entire game. You spend more than half of the game roaming and spying around the enemy's HQ in NYC, trying to find things. You must open safes, pick locks, rifle through cabinets, and (the best part--NOT) solve a ridiculous 3D suduko cube, all of which are pointless other than dragging out the story. The rest of the game is sneaking into structures and sniping the occasional adversary. The genre is listed as action/adventure, but it is actually just an exercise in stealth. If you like action, this game will drive you crazy since it has none. Expand
  19. JasonC.
    Feb 25, 2007
    4
    Seems I have the same thing to offer as every one else. Loading only works on most recent save. Crashes at least twice on nearly every level. Game play was incredibly choppy even on my system. (SLI XFX7800GT's, 4 disc RAID 5, 2GB cas2 ram, AMD 4400x2, asus a8n-sli premium). Graphics looked great except the lack of anti aliasing. Jagged edges are not attractive. Installed the most Seems I have the same thing to offer as every one else. Loading only works on most recent save. Crashes at least twice on nearly every level. Game play was incredibly choppy even on my system. (SLI XFX7800GT's, 4 disc RAID 5, 2GB cas2 ram, AMD 4400x2, asus a8n-sli premium). Graphics looked great except the lack of anti aliasing. Jagged edges are not attractive. Installed the most recent patch but could not enable anti-aliasing without video trouble, 25% of the screen sort of working! One bug I actually noticed in the game was on the cruise ship, leaving the bar there is a double door entry to an elevator area. The left door actually has 2 doors 1 90 degrees offset from the intended door. This can trap players and 1 of the AI's. Could have been much better, I am sure it will get there in a few patches. Expand
  20. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Well, the biggest problem of Double Agent are the keyboard / mouse controls that are inoperative to edit: Why on Earth would UBIsoft disallow custom mapping of certain controls such as (some of the most important): Fire, Alt-Fire, Jump, etc.... Seriously though, WTF UBI?! y-U-gotta-B-such-a-hassle!? (keyboard/mouse controls can actually be text-overridden from the SplinterCell4User.ini,Well, the biggest problem of Double Agent are the keyboard / mouse controls that are inoperative to edit: Why on Earth would UBIsoft disallow custom mapping of certain controls such as (some of the most important): Fire, Alt-Fire, Jump, etc.... Seriously though, WTF UBI?! y-U-gotta-B-such-a-hassle!? (keyboard/mouse controls can actually be text-overridden from the SplinterCell4User.ini, but it's just more of a pain in the brain and the changes won't appear in the game's control settings)... Apparently the game designers/programmers at UBI didn't give a damn about all the PC users that are still out there, they only seem to care about the console-end of their games anymore.. All of this mouse/keyboard control crap also goes for SC-Convicted, which sucks just as much... Also the in-game weapon selection menu for Double Agent isn't as nice, Chaos Theory's weapon selection menu was a little better... anyway, on the other hand, the graphics are still nice and perform well on my setup! (E6600 + 9600GT).. Despite the problems, I somewhat still enjoy the overall game play of Double Agent, but not as much as Chaos Theory... To conclude: UBI seems to be ruining the entire essence of the Splinter Cell games, starting with Double Agent and then especially with Conviction (The stealth-play in the most recent SC game is evermore degrading)... UURRRRRR!!! UBI-dumb-a$$-wipes... There goes my share on the next SC series, cuzz I'm done with UBI's poopee compositions!... What's wrong with game makers now-a-days, are they on dope, or are they not on dope anymore? :( Expand
  21. May 12, 2012
    0
    The PC version of this game is unplayable for me. It crashes after loading any mission. Steam forums confirm there is a known issue with very few people actually having success in playing this game. It's better on the XBOX anyway--the PC version lacks controller support.
  22. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    the has a lot of flaws but they never patched it or cared for it.overall this cat be classified asgood port.apart from port the gameplay is also medcore.when i finished chaos theory i was super excited for this one but i uninstalled the game after playing for 20 minutes.if you are looking to buy a splinter cell game buy chaos theory.
  23. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    DO NOT BUY! (atleast not on PC)

    This game is so broken that youre not left with the choice of enjoying or hating a game, this game is ppure torture on PC! First of all just getting this game to run on a higher resolution and with a somewhat semi fix of the games lighting requires you to use a search engine. Once youre past this you might think the hard part is over, well think again
    DO NOT BUY! (atleast not on PC)

    This game is so broken that youre not left with the choice of enjoying or hating a game, this game is ppure torture on PC!

    First of all just getting this game to run on a higher resolution and with a somewhat semi fix of the games lighting requires you to use a search engine. Once youre past this you might think the hard part is over, well think again whoever tested out this pile of trash must have done it on godmode.

    The games after the lighting fix still causes problems at some spots but the biggest annoyance is no matter how you toggle the games brightness settings still cant manage to find a setting that manages to give the player a fair chance to use the games shadows. There is tons of moments where you might think youre about to enter some shadows but then the in game indicator still shows a yellow light which means youre visible, this is how you will get ♥♥♥♥ for the most of the time.

    Some other bugs:

    AI is really bizarre, sometimes they cant see when youre in front of them after getting semi detected while at other times youre spotted from far distances in crouching position about a hallway away semi hidden between 1-2 pillars of cover. other times they will wander around like headless chickens circling a limited area just waiting to be put out of misery.

    Door bugs. There is a couple times where walkign through a door is a problem, the same goes for grabbing ledges to climb and cutting fences.

    The safecracking puzzles doesnt always respond to keyboard directions, i had to pick up the xbox controller 1-2 times during these to finish em.

    The game crashes heavily towards the last few missions, also you cant see the games ending without reverting back to a in game menu resolution if youve have changed the config file to support a higher one than 1280x1024

    In the 14 hours i used on it i had to restart the game about 50-60 times after it crashed to desktop.

    There doesnt seem to be a way to disable Xbox controller vibration when using keyboard/mouse, it will start vibrating at times so its either unplug it or put it at a soft place like i had to do lol.

    Multiplayer did not boot up in any way, didnt have a chance to see which version of the game i had nor if it had the latest patches,atleast for the EU steam version that is i played on.

    Theres more bugs/problems i cant remember.

    The game itself is the worst in the series up to this the 4th game i have played so far. It had some good ideas like missions taking place in the hideout of the bad guys in the game where youre undercover and decisions making a difference on how youre perceived between the good/bad guys youre working for.
    It still feels somewhat of a barren version of the older Trilogy though, theres really no reason to use most of the gadgets in the game except for the the 2nd last mission or when a objective requires you too.

    The menu system is one of the most unintuitive i have ever seen going back and forth the game is a hassle and if that wasnt bad the save system is even worse, theres not indicator besides a image of the map, due to the many game crashes it has you will save very often and finding through these saves requires almost a monocle next to you since you have to look closely at the time stamps. I couldnt use my windows watch and had to look at my phone next to me constantly to find the right save file since minimizing the game is a risk factor due to crashes/lockups.

    If youre gonna get this game get it for some other system, i have only played the PC version even though i had heard alot of complaints about it but i preferred playign the old ones with keyboard/mouse and after finding it on a winter sale how could i go wrong ? it went so bad it turned into pure torture to play through this.

    PC Version: 1/10

    Gameplay: 4/10
    Expand
  24. Blargh
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    This game was teh shiz.Other people who complain just have bad hardware or are to lazy to find a patch (i got one and it fixed all the bugs for me).This game has great graphics and the stealth is really fun, the story is a bit unclear though, it doesnt really tell you what happens.Overall excellent game for five euro.
  25. JordanO.
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Very good game different sway but is missing some CT movement that truly progress this wonderful and riveting series.
  26. ChrisSpargo
    Sep 1, 2009
    9
    As a game, Splinter Cell: Double Agent is a fine continuation of the series, staying faithful to its stealth action roots.

    As a PC port, the game is troubled. Although I did not experience any of the infamous frame rate issues and crashes that plague this game, and in fact got it running at over 60 fps maxed out, the port is still quite poor. Mouse support is down from the already
    As a game, Splinter Cell: Double Agent is a fine continuation of the series, staying faithful to its stealth action roots.

    As a PC port, the game is troubled. Although I did not experience any of the infamous frame rate issues and crashes that plague this game, and in fact got it running at over 60 fps maxed out, the port is still quite poor. Mouse support is down from the already lacking Chaos Theory. Now computer terminals, keypads and hacking systems are navigable only by keyboard, making it a lot more awkward to use. Also missing is the ability to enter keypad codes with the number buttons on your keyboard.

    Additionally I found the default keyboard assignments bizarre. Shift to jump, Space to use. I can only assume that these were decided by a developer unfamiliar with typical PC controls. Changing key assignments is clunky, and on numerous occasions I found my alterations had not saved when, upon trying to knock out a guard, nothing happened and I was instead shot.

    As I've said, the game ran fine on my PC, but I get the feeling it's very picky about what hardware it works with and what hardware it doesn't, as with GTA IV. You should probably only buy it if you find it cheap and/or you're feeling lucky.
    Expand
  27. KDep
    Nov 28, 2006
    0
    Please watch out! This game does not support Shaders 2.0 (which is what about 70% of people have on their graphics cards). This game will NOT run on a 2.0 card. Only a certain number of cards exist that can play this game. Please check or download the demo before you buy!
  28. [Anonymous]
    Feb 17, 2007
    8
    I guess I got astoundingly lucky, but I've really had no problems. I've been lucky enough to be able have a rather powerful system (Athlon X2 3800 and Radeon X1900XTX), and not only does the game run at almost full settings with few noticeable stutters or patches of slowdown (no more than other Ubi ports like Rainbow Six Vegas), but I've had only a few glitches- the most I guess I got astoundingly lucky, but I've really had no problems. I've been lucky enough to be able have a rather powerful system (Athlon X2 3800 and Radeon X1900XTX), and not only does the game run at almost full settings with few noticeable stutters or patches of slowdown (no more than other Ubi ports like Rainbow Six Vegas), but I've had only a few glitches- the most irritating of which is an apparent inability to use some of the extra tools. While I still prefer Rainbow Six Vegas or Hitman Blood Money, this game has proven an enjoyable experience for me. Guess I'm glad to have been so lucky. Expand
  29. AnonymousMC
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Well, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have aWell, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have a console where you can truly enjoy the game. These people are basing their ratings on how the game RUNS, not how it actually PLAYS. I suggest you put the proper rating for the playing, and then write about how it runs. Expand
  30. JoeS
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    I played both the PS2 and the PC version and they are awesome! ppl always complain about the bugs but there are patches for it, just not on steam... just go to http://www.ubi.com/US/Downloads/Info.aspx?dlId=1931 to get the newest patch, ubisoft didn't forget about fixing their games, they just forgot to mention it.
  31. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    first thing this game runs great on my system.the only thin i gave it 8 because it is so silent.i mean no talking guards,no interrogation.and night vision is a bit blurry and i also dnt like thermal vision.overall it is good.
  32. CraigG.
    Dec 22, 2006
    2
    Really buggy. Have had to stop playing as it crashes constantly. This is on a modern computer, no strange hardware, fresh install of xp with all the patches. My computer easily exceeds recommended configuration. Shelved it while I wait for them to fix it. Very disappointed in the commercial reviews. Even when they mention the bugs and crashing, many of them still scored it high.
  33. AnonymousMC
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I'm amazed. I loved Chaos Theory, but this goes even further than that. The gameplay got even better, you have more gadgets and moves, graphics are basically the same with slight improvements (which is fine with me), the levels and missions are still very diverse and first and foremost, your decisions have greater impact than ever before. I love the fact that you're a doubleI'm amazed. I loved Chaos Theory, but this goes even further than that. The gameplay got even better, you have more gadgets and moves, graphics are basically the same with slight improvements (which is fine with me), the levels and missions are still very diverse and first and foremost, your decisions have greater impact than ever before. I love the fact that you're a double agent and have to make your decisions so that you satisfy both agencies, it really makes you think. All in all, it's a great addition to the Splinter Cell series, if not THE greatest. By the way, my PC: 1.9 Ghz CPU, 1.5 GB RAM, Nvidia 6600GT. It doesn't even meet the minimum requirements, but the game still runs quite smoothly on high details. Talk about great optimization... I haven't experienced any of the bugs or errors listed here, so I guess I should consider myself lucky. Expand
  34. MarkH.
    Nov 30, 2006
    1
    Too short poor support release day patch too short bad port from 360 limited gameplay and weak story lines too short poor controls selling a game that the devs knew wouldn't work too short.
  35. Mr.Dude
    Dec 24, 2006
    1
    They ruined the multiplayer completely. I've been a fan of the multiplayer since it first appeared on Pandora Tomorrow and playing it non-stop. Double Agent's versus mode is so bad that the SCCT community has started to clone SCCT as an open source project. 'Nuff said. The single player is the same, boring trail and error fest you've grown accustomed to in the previous They ruined the multiplayer completely. I've been a fan of the multiplayer since it first appeared on Pandora Tomorrow and playing it non-stop. Double Agent's versus mode is so bad that the SCCT community has started to clone SCCT as an open source project. 'Nuff said. The single player is the same, boring trail and error fest you've grown accustomed to in the previous Splinter Cell games. Unfortunately it's filled with bugs and bad design ideas. Both games have a terrible interface which is much more suited for a console title. It's a port and it requires a very high-end system, even though you won't see anything here that you haven't seen before graphically. Expand
  36. GregD.
    Jan 11, 2007
    3
    They broke the game! I loved the first and second splinter cells, never played the third, and I returned with high hopes to the fourth in the series only to be very disappointed. The controls are clumsy and very clearly based on a weak console port. The menu-mouse has a ridiculously high sensitivity that isn't adjustable (the sensitivity setting only affects the mouse in the game They broke the game! I loved the first and second splinter cells, never played the third, and I returned with high hopes to the fourth in the series only to be very disappointed. The controls are clumsy and very clearly based on a weak console port. The menu-mouse has a ridiculously high sensitivity that isn't adjustable (the sensitivity setting only affects the mouse in the game engine.) The game forces you to watch an idiotic 20 second cutscene every time you go to the main menu, loading games doesn't work if you aren't dead, and it doesn't even quit properly! It ignores ALT-F4, doesn't Alt-Tab, and it takes up 10GB of hard drive space to screw all this up. Save your cash, this game'll be worth the price of entry when it hits $20. Expand
  37. PaulY.
    Jan 14, 2007
    1
    All my comments have been posted by other users such as poor interface, buggy conversion, games saves that won't load et cetera et cetera; What I'd like to know is how come so many 'professional' reviews rated it so highly when so many users have such poor experience. You only need to check out the Ubisoft forums to see how many disgruntled PC users there are.
  38. JeffJ
    Jan 19, 2007
    4
    Great graphics! Really puts my evga 7950 gx2 to the test! Running 4 raid 0 sata2 drives, 2gb ram and core2 e6600 oc'd to 3.2 ghz all on a EVGA i680. Not a single skipped frame on max video settings.... however, This game is VERY buggy! It crashes randomly all the time. If I want to get the safe cracking to work, I have to quick save, completely exit the game, and then reload, and Great graphics! Really puts my evga 7950 gx2 to the test! Running 4 raid 0 sata2 drives, 2gb ram and core2 e6600 oc'd to 3.2 ghz all on a EVGA i680. Not a single skipped frame on max video settings.... however, This game is VERY buggy! It crashes randomly all the time. If I want to get the safe cracking to work, I have to quick save, completely exit the game, and then reload, and then MAYBE, it will work. I can't customize the control's like I used to in chaos theory... but I'm sure they will get it fixed sooner or later... like with patch 1.09! COMMON! WE NEED A MAJOR PATCH HERE UBI! This is very aggravating! Fix all the problems, and this game gets a 9+ rating from me! Expand
  39. AnonymousMC
    Oct 6, 2008
    4
    The Anonymous who gave this piece of dump of a game a perfect 10 is a straight up idiot. This is the PC version dim-wit, not consoles so stop wasting my time with your irrelevant and thick ideas. 'EVERYONE knows' you are a knob-jockey twit who should post their comments under the xbox360 page, if at all, not here. This version on the PC just simply did not work, it was almostThe Anonymous who gave this piece of dump of a game a perfect 10 is a straight up idiot. This is the PC version dim-wit, not consoles so stop wasting my time with your irrelevant and thick ideas. 'EVERYONE knows' you are a knob-jockey twit who should post their comments under the xbox360 page, if at all, not here. This version on the PC just simply did not work, it was almost unplayable and a huge embarrassment to ubisoft and the splinter cell series. As it should be. This game was so almost genius but they completely ballsed it up. I hate you. Expand
  40. ScottL.
    Nov 10, 2006
    2
    I have bought every other splinter cell out and loved them. This one is no exception it is awesome WHEN IT WORKS! 1. I loose control when I am trying to crack safes. The arrow keys just don
  41. AnthonyJ.
    Dec 1, 2006
    5
    Huge problems with the save features: cant name saves, the "continue" doesn't work, and it won't load missions. The only thing that wil load is progress saves and they are not kept in order!What a shame! The game itself looks amazing and plays well, but it doesn't seem worth the hassle.
  42. SeamusM.
    Dec 1, 2006
    1
    buggy as hell and doesn't work out of the box - really bad port with no thought given to differing controls and optimization for the PC - at the end of the day the developers at ubi shanghai put graphics over content yet again.
  43. GregH.
    Dec 19, 2006
    8
    Lets make this clear. The specifications required to run this game are astronomical. I personally did have a PC which absolutely slaughtered any other game I put in front of it. But when this came along from my "insert generic .com game sales company here" preorder, it was unplayable. And upon checking the specs required to run the game, I see my processor was 600MHz too slow and Gfx was Lets make this clear. The specifications required to run this game are astronomical. I personally did have a PC which absolutely slaughtered any other game I put in front of it. But when this came along from my "insert generic .com game sales company here" preorder, it was unplayable. And upon checking the specs required to run the game, I see my processor was 600MHz too slow and Gfx was out of date. However, after upgrading my PC, this game is found to be one of the most entertaining titles I have ever played. The multiplayer mode is finally what it should have been to begin with. The spies are now forced to use shadows and play like spies should have to play. The mercs are better tooled up than ever and all the levels have been made to look fantastic. The single player, although short, is entertaining enough for a few hours. Not that ive been playing an awful lot of that, the multiplayer is just astounding. What I would suggest is that before you buy this game, you FIND OUT if your PC can cope with it. If your PC can not meet the recommended requirements (forget the minnimum requirements) then do not buy this game. Otherwise, there is no reason whatsoever why I cant justify every penny I spent on this quality release. Expand
  44. JBoakes
    Jan 24, 2007
    0
    Impossible to run, even on brand new machine which exceeds req. sys. specs. Tried on several other machines, with differing hardware and gfx cards, and it's the same deal. The game looks like a triumph for the consoles, but a shameful effort for the PC. Avoid.
  45. AnonymousMC
    Mar 24, 2009
    1
    Astonishingly poor game. I have never felt so betrayed by a game developer. Almost constant bugs that made the game almost unplayable and to date go unresolved by Ubisoft, who clearly have no interest if the game is enjoyable or even playable. The game is an obvious and poorly executed port of a console game and should never be purchased. I spent $10, yet it remains the worst enoyment perAstonishingly poor game. I have never felt so betrayed by a game developer. Almost constant bugs that made the game almost unplayable and to date go unresolved by Ubisoft, who clearly have no interest if the game is enjoyable or even playable. The game is an obvious and poorly executed port of a console game and should never be purchased. I spent $10, yet it remains the worst enoyment per $ expenditure of any game I have every bought. Expand
  46. May 27, 2016
    6
    Splinter Cell: Double Agent. What an awesome game this could be. Ubisoft could’ve achieved perfection. Instead, they failed miserably. I’ll never forgive you for this capital sin… it’s not like you care anyway.

    I have the original retail 2 DVD version, and played the game back in ’06 when it came out. I remember having lots and lots of crashes, disappearing saves, lighting issues… I
    Splinter Cell: Double Agent. What an awesome game this could be. Ubisoft could’ve achieved perfection. Instead, they failed miserably. I’ll never forgive you for this capital sin… it’s not like you care anyway.

    I have the original retail 2 DVD version, and played the game back in ’06 when it came out. I remember having lots and lots of crashes, disappearing saves, lighting issues… I also remember going through a very rough time during the Congolese mission, where all the issues combined to give you a perfectly anti-epic experience. But I persisted, I was enjoying the story and the gameplay at those parts that it wasn’t bugged, and eventually finished the game. It took probably more than twice the time it should theoretically take, but whatever.

    This last month, I became sick with nostalgia, heaven knows why, and decided to get the Splinter Cell collection from Steam. I honestly thought the game had been polished after so many years. I couldn’t be more wrong. All the problems persisted, even with the latest patch. The Congolese mission is still incredibly buggy, making you CTD lots of times during loading screens, and making you pray that at least your last 1 or 2 saves didn’t become corrupted; there’s still a door in one of the JBA missions that doesn’t open, with the “interact” button appearing and disappearing almost instantly. You know IT IS supposed to open, since you have an optional objective hidden in the room behind that door. Oh, and this was new for me, the ending cutscene was stuck in place, with the music playing, and the keyboard not responding to my commands. Seriously, what the hell? Last night, after googling around, I discovered that by setting the screen resolution to one of the native 4:3 ratios would probably solve the problem. And it did. But why allow widescreen resolutions, if the engine can’t take care of them properly?

    I was able to find a workaround to all of the problems I went through, but finding them made me waste valuable time; I was able to find a custom-made 1.02a patch, that reduced the CTDs during loading screens and kept the save corruption to a minimum – I was actually able to play and complete the Congolese mission in about 1 hour, while without the patch, 1 hour was the time needed just to pass the palace part, due to constant crashes and saving corruption; regarding the door in JBA HQ mission, editing the splintercelluser and splintercelluser1.ini files by assigning to keys the cheat codes “ghost” and “walk” did the trick; and finally, the ending cutscene played when I decided to force windowed mode and 800x600 resolution. But gaming should be about having fun playing with no worries, not searching for solutions to problems that should never exist in the first place, and worrying if the game is going to crash during your next save or loading screen.

    With the knowledge of these workarounds, as well as the installation of the custom patch, I give this game a 6.0; but there’s so much wasted potential here… this game could get so much more. I hate you Ubi.
    Expand
  47. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    This is a shoddy game. Gone is any sense of humor. Gone is the decent PC control scheme I usually have no issues with most ports provided you can rebind the keys and the rebinding on this is so bad and so limited that its pointless to have. The story is luke warm at best and having to do the SAME MAP for FOUR mssions? You must be kidding me. The gun play is awful and hit detection isThis is a shoddy game. Gone is any sense of humor. Gone is the decent PC control scheme I usually have no issues with most ports provided you can rebind the keys and the rebinding on this is so bad and so limited that its pointless to have. The story is luke warm at best and having to do the SAME MAP for FOUR mssions? You must be kidding me. The gun play is awful and hit detection is not good.

    Chaos Theory and the original Splinter Cell are two of my favorite stealth games. The change to the "stealth rating system" and poorly placed save points along with the technical issues when you do save (it will not find your saved files on a regular basis) made me uninstall this game without finishing it.

    Some may enjoy this game but I find it a giant leap backward for the series.
    Expand
  48. Sep 20, 2012
    2
    This game...is utter crap. Seriously. Way too many glitches/bugs. Ridiculous puzzles. Too much roaming around in JBA HQ into Restricted Territory. Absolute NO. 1 reason why I hated this game was because of those missions. In game characters can see you from like 10 feet away especially in snow maps and you're in snow camo! You have to agree with me with this one. Can't even finishThis game...is utter crap. Seriously. Way too many glitches/bugs. Ridiculous puzzles. Too much roaming around in JBA HQ into Restricted Territory. Absolute NO. 1 reason why I hated this game was because of those missions. In game characters can see you from like 10 feet away especially in snow maps and you're in snow camo! You have to agree with me with this one. Can't even finish the game because of horrendous glitch wads. Balancing mission objectives between the JBA and NSA in my opinion is too far-fetched, tedious, and complicated. It cannot get anymore non-simpler than the other games in the series. Don't waste your money on this folks. If you want to play a better Splinter Cell game, Chaos Theory is much more worth the buy and fun, especially with co-op play. Expand
  49. Oct 9, 2013
    1
    Worst Splinter Cell ever. Waste of money.. i'm sad, because i loved all of the other SC games. Hundreds of glitches, thousands of bugs, level errors, crashes, long load screens... Wasted time. And i dont have time for fun.
  50. Jul 6, 2016
    7
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 7
    Story : 8
    Sound : 7
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 7
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. I found the story more fleshed out since certain story elements that are glossed over in the X360 version are given more gravity and importance.
  2. Double Agent comes close to earning a Classic award, let down only by the fact that we wanted to see them run a bit further with the trust system idea.
  3. A good game. It will likely be a very good game after a couple of patches (it is damn buggy on the PC and slow as hell), so I'd advise you to wait a while before you actually buy it.