Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life asVeteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life as a double agent. As you infiltrate a terrorist organization in its American headquarters, you must carefully weigh the consequences of your actions. Kill too many criminals and you'll blow your cover. Hesitate too long and millions will die. Do whatever it takes to complete your mission, but get out alive. Dual objectives to fulfill: NSA government agents and terrorists will each want you to accomplish opposing tasks at the same time. Discover the tension of being a double agent: Use actual tactics employed by today’s real-life double agents to sabotage the terrorists' plans. Explore a branching storyline with multiple endings: Your choices have an impact on how the story and game play unfolds. Missions from all over the world, from Asia to Africa to the heart of the US. Experience extreme situations: underwater or in a sandstorm, hiding behind the dust or smoke – and even skydiving. Master the latest weapons and gadgets used by NSA government agents in addition to black-market terrorist weapons. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. PC Format
    91
    The stealth adventure genre doesn't get any better than this. [Christmas 2006, p.95]
  2. 90
    A major leap forward for the series and, at least in my opinion, gets better and better the more I play it.
  3. Double Agent comes close to earning a Classic award, let down only by the fact that we wanted to see them run a bit further with the trust system idea.
  4. Newcomers to the series can feel comfortable starting with Double Agent, knowing that they're playing a game that's every bit as good as the first three, in spite of a few bugs along the way.
  5. Agent Sam Fisher's latest assignment turns out to be a fairly routine stealth action operation, but changes to Splinter Cell's innovative multiplayer mode help make up for this.
  6. Splinter Cell: Double Agent offers more of the third-person stealth action we've come to expect from the Splinter Cell franchise, and it adds a unique, fast-paced multiplayer format unlike any online game I have played before.
  7. 50
    I've been reviewing PC games since 1999 and playing them since the late 1980s, and this is the first time I've had to jump through this many hoops to get a single game going.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 52
  2. Negative: 34 out of 52
  1. AnonymousMC
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Well, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knowsWell, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have a console where you can truly enjoy the game. These people are basing their ratings on how the game RUNS, not how it actually PLAYS. I suggest you put the proper rating for the playing, and then write about how it runs. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    first thing this game runs great on my system.the only thin i gave it 8 because it is so silent.i mean no talking guards,no interrogation.andfirst thing this game runs great on my system.the only thin i gave it 8 because it is so silent.i mean no talking guards,no interrogation.and night vision is a bit blurry and i also dnt like thermal vision.overall it is good. Expand
  3. May 27, 2016
    6
    Splinter Cell: Double Agent. What an awesome game this could be. Ubisoft could’ve achieved perfection. Instead, they failed miserably. I’llSplinter Cell: Double Agent. What an awesome game this could be. Ubisoft could’ve achieved perfection. Instead, they failed miserably. I’ll never forgive you for this capital sin… it’s not like you care anyway.

    I have the original retail 2 DVD version, and played the game back in ’06 when it came out. I remember having lots and lots of crashes, disappearing saves, lighting issues… I also remember going through a very rough time during the Congolese mission, where all the issues combined to give you a perfectly anti-epic experience. But I persisted, I was enjoying the story and the gameplay at those parts that it wasn’t bugged, and eventually finished the game. It took probably more than twice the time it should theoretically take, but whatever.

    This last month, I became sick with nostalgia, heaven knows why, and decided to get the Splinter Cell collection from Steam. I honestly thought the game had been polished after so many years. I couldn’t be more wrong. All the problems persisted, even with the latest patch. The Congolese mission is still incredibly buggy, making you CTD lots of times during loading screens, and making you pray that at least your last 1 or 2 saves didn’t become corrupted; there’s still a door in one of the JBA missions that doesn’t open, with the “interact” button appearing and disappearing almost instantly. You know IT IS supposed to open, since you have an optional objective hidden in the room behind that door. Oh, and this was new for me, the ending cutscene was stuck in place, with the music playing, and the keyboard not responding to my commands. Seriously, what the hell? Last night, after googling around, I discovered that by setting the screen resolution to one of the native 4:3 ratios would probably solve the problem. And it did. But why allow widescreen resolutions, if the engine can’t take care of them properly?

    I was able to find a workaround to all of the problems I went through, but finding them made me waste valuable time; I was able to find a custom-made 1.02a patch, that reduced the CTDs during loading screens and kept the save corruption to a minimum – I was actually able to play and complete the Congolese mission in about 1 hour, while without the patch, 1 hour was the time needed just to pass the palace part, due to constant crashes and saving corruption; regarding the door in JBA HQ mission, editing the splintercelluser and splintercelluser1.ini files by assigning to keys the cheat codes “ghost” and “walk” did the trick; and finally, the ending cutscene played when I decided to force windowed mode and 800x600 resolution. But gaming should be about having fun playing with no worries, not searching for solutions to problems that should never exist in the first place, and worrying if the game is going to crash during your next save or loading screen.

    With the knowledge of these workarounds, as well as the installation of the custom patch, I give this game a 6.0; but there’s so much wasted potential here… this game could get so much more. I hate you Ubi.
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    This is a shoddy game. Gone is any sense of humor. Gone is the decent PC control scheme I usually have no issues with most ports providedThis is a shoddy game. Gone is any sense of humor. Gone is the decent PC control scheme I usually have no issues with most ports provided you can rebind the keys and the rebinding on this is so bad and so limited that its pointless to have. The story is luke warm at best and having to do the SAME MAP for FOUR mssions? You must be kidding me. The gun play is awful and hit detection is not good.

    Chaos Theory and the original Splinter Cell are two of my favorite stealth games. The change to the "stealth rating system" and poorly placed save points along with the technical issues when you do save (it will not find your saved files on a regular basis) made me uninstall this game without finishing it.

    Some may enjoy this game but I find it a giant leap backward for the series.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    2
    This game...is utter crap. Seriously. Way too many glitches/bugs. Ridiculous puzzles. Too much roaming around in JBA HQ into RestrictedThis game...is utter crap. Seriously. Way too many glitches/bugs. Ridiculous puzzles. Too much roaming around in JBA HQ into Restricted Territory. Absolute NO. 1 reason why I hated this game was because of those missions. In game characters can see you from like 10 feet away especially in snow maps and you're in snow camo! You have to agree with me with this one. Can't even finish the game because of horrendous glitch wads. Balancing mission objectives between the JBA and NSA in my opinion is too far-fetched, tedious, and complicated. It cannot get anymore non-simpler than the other games in the series. Don't waste your money on this folks. If you want to play a better Splinter Cell game, Chaos Theory is much more worth the buy and fun, especially with co-op play. Expand
  6. StuJ.
    Jun 25, 2007
    1
    Too buggy, doesn't support high end video cards. Plain does not work and Ubisoft hasn't even been bothered to generate a new patch. Too buggy, doesn't support high end video cards. Plain does not work and Ubisoft hasn't even been bothered to generate a new patch. It's unlike Ubisoft to send such a poor effort to market. It could be a very good game, but I can't recommend it (or play it) until Ubisoft offers a new patch. I feel abandoned, or should I say Shanghaid, as it's their (Ubisoft's) PRC development group that created this aberration. Expand
  7. KDep
    Nov 28, 2006
    0
    Please watch out! This game does not support Shaders 2.0 (which is what about 70% of people have on their graphics cards). This game willPlease watch out! This game does not support Shaders 2.0 (which is what about 70% of people have on their graphics cards). This game will NOT run on a 2.0 card. Only a certain number of cards exist that can play this game. Please check or download the demo before you buy! Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.