Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life asVeteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life as a double agent. As you infiltrate a terrorist organization in its American headquarters, you must carefully weigh the consequences of your actions. Kill too many criminals and you'll blow your cover. Hesitate too long and millions will die. Do whatever it takes to complete your mission, but get out alive. Dual objectives to fulfill: NSA government agents and terrorists will each want you to accomplish opposing tasks at the same time. Discover the tension of being a double agent: Use actual tactics employed by today’s real-life double agents to sabotage the terrorists' plans. Explore a branching storyline with multiple endings: Your choices have an impact on how the story and game play unfolds. Missions from all over the world, from Asia to Africa to the heart of the US. Experience extreme situations: underwater or in a sandstorm, hiding behind the dust or smoke – and even skydiving. Master the latest weapons and gadgets used by NSA government agents in addition to black-market terrorist weapons. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. PC Format
    91
    The stealth adventure genre doesn't get any better than this. [Christmas 2006, p.95]
  2. 90
    A major leap forward for the series and, at least in my opinion, gets better and better the more I play it.
  3. Double Agent comes close to earning a Classic award, let down only by the fact that we wanted to see them run a bit further with the trust system idea.
  4. Newcomers to the series can feel comfortable starting with Double Agent, knowing that they're playing a game that's every bit as good as the first three, in spite of a few bugs along the way.
  5. Agent Sam Fisher's latest assignment turns out to be a fairly routine stealth action operation, but changes to Splinter Cell's innovative multiplayer mode help make up for this.
  6. Splinter Cell: Double Agent offers more of the third-person stealth action we've come to expect from the Splinter Cell franchise, and it adds a unique, fast-paced multiplayer format unlike any online game I have played before.
  7. 50
    I've been reviewing PC games since 1999 and playing them since the late 1980s, and this is the first time I've had to jump through this many hoops to get a single game going.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 52
  2. Negative: 35 out of 52
  1. AnonymousMC
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Well, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knowsWell, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have a console where you can truly enjoy the game. These people are basing their ratings on how the game RUNS, not how it actually PLAYS. I suggest you put the proper rating for the playing, and then write about how it runs. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    first thing this game runs great on my system.the only thin i gave it 8 because it is so silent.i mean no talking guards,no interrogation.andfirst thing this game runs great on my system.the only thin i gave it 8 because it is so silent.i mean no talking guards,no interrogation.and night vision is a bit blurry and i also dnt like thermal vision.overall it is good. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2016
    6
    Some games do not age well. And Splinter Cell: Double agent is a great example of that. There is a lot of things wrong with the game and notSome games do not age well. And Splinter Cell: Double agent is a great example of that. There is a lot of things wrong with the game and not many that were done right. I finished the game but there were times I thought about not trying to.

    Lets start with bad then shall we.

    The game crashes. And it crashes a lot. And there is no pattern just when will it crash. Sometimes in the middle of the mission, sometimes on mission load, sometimes on intro or outro of the mission. And sometimes it works just fine for an hour or longer. But on other times crashes after ten or fifteen minutes. Quite annoying. And once you decide to exit game, it can freeze itself forcing you to restart the windows in order to regain control.

    The graphics are aged and it shows. Fact that highest resolution is 1600x900 does not help either. To top that the first mission is really ugly which makes matters even worse at first. You get used to it later on and it's not that bad as the first impression.

    Audio seems fine most of times. Though lack of subtitles is extremely annoying. This was almost a reason not to play the game.

    The game does not introduce itself very well. It lacks that modern tutorial/guide style so present everywhere. This is somewhat refreshing but leaves a lot for player to figure out. Some things I've learned on almost ending missions. But the lack of waypoints saying exactly where to go was a bit of back to the roots trip. When you actually had to figure stuff out instead of going after the flashing blip.

    The story is rather bland. The start of it a disaster I would say. It gets a bit better later on but it is not to original or interesting at that.

    Mechanically it's not too good as well. The three vision mode, night, head and electronics are pretty much useless. I don't think I used them even once in a meaningful way. Shooting and combat are bad. Most annoying thing being - why the hell is a pistol more accurate than a rifle? I mean really. Grenades are useless as well.

    As a stealth game it fares much better. Sneaking is satisfying as much as stabbing the guys in the back. Most of the missions can be completed by remaining stealthy which is nice. Safe cracking is a nightmare though. The controls for it are terrible.

    That should be about time to tell something good about the game. So what it does going for it are pretty well designed levels and missions. They're interesting and challenging. Some of them are approachable by different ways I guess though it's not the same amount of freedom as Hitman games for example.

    Also the JMB headquarter levels are very nice - especially with the trust mechanic. This is the only part that makes the game worth playing. Time you are given to complete some additional objectives really adds to the double agent atmosphere.

    Overall I'd say 6/10 if you disregard the crashes. Not really something I can wholeheartedly recommend though I've played worse games.
    Expand
  4. GregD.
    Jan 11, 2007
    3
    They broke the game! I loved the first and second splinter cells, never played the third, and I returned with high hopes to the fourth in the They broke the game! I loved the first and second splinter cells, never played the third, and I returned with high hopes to the fourth in the series only to be very disappointed. The controls are clumsy and very clearly based on a weak console port. The menu-mouse has a ridiculously high sensitivity that isn't adjustable (the sensitivity setting only affects the mouse in the game engine.) The game forces you to watch an idiotic 20 second cutscene every time you go to the main menu, loading games doesn't work if you aren't dead, and it doesn't even quit properly! It ignores ALT-F4, doesn't Alt-Tab, and it takes up 10GB of hard drive space to screw all this up. Save your cash, this game'll be worth the price of entry when it hits $20. Expand
  5. CraigG.
    Dec 22, 2006
    2
    Really buggy. Have had to stop playing as it crashes constantly. This is on a modern computer, no strange hardware, fresh install of xp with Really buggy. Have had to stop playing as it crashes constantly. This is on a modern computer, no strange hardware, fresh install of xp with all the patches. My computer easily exceeds recommended configuration. Shelved it while I wait for them to fix it. Very disappointed in the commercial reviews. Even when they mention the bugs and crashing, many of them still scored it high. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    1
    Worst Splinter Cell ever. Waste of money.. i'm sad, because i loved all of the other SC games. Hundreds of glitches, thousands of bugs,Worst Splinter Cell ever. Waste of money.. i'm sad, because i loved all of the other SC games. Hundreds of glitches, thousands of bugs, level errors, crashes, long load screens... Wasted time. And i dont have time for fun. Expand
  7. KDep
    Nov 28, 2006
    0
    Please watch out! This game does not support Shaders 2.0 (which is what about 70% of people have on their graphics cards). This game willPlease watch out! This game does not support Shaders 2.0 (which is what about 70% of people have on their graphics cards). This game will NOT run on a 2.0 card. Only a certain number of cards exist that can play this game. Please check or download the demo before you buy! Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.