Tom Clancy's The Division PC

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Mar 7, 2016
    67
    Next to every good thing The Division does, there hangs a big, ugly asterisk. That same open world is barren and unengaging, combat gets bogged down with samey waves of walking bullet sponges, and character progression is awkwardly fractured in inconvenient ways.
  2. Mar 13, 2016
    80
    Grinding through side missions forces you to engage The Division as a multifaceted open world game rather than just a shooter.
  3. Mar 15, 2016
    80
    Ubisoft now has a solid foundation for operating its first persistent open world. If Massive and co. make smart additions to the end-game content and keep a steady stream of new activities for players to enjoy, I could see this game going strong years into the future. But if the Dark Zone and PvE environment don't evolve, I'm not sure many people will be left in New York City come the winter.
  4. Mar 16, 2016
    85
    As it stands now, Tom Clancy's The Division lives up to the hype it's generated over the years. For a game of this nature, it's too early to say whether it is definitively good or bad, but for now, it's off to a very good start.
  5. Games Master UK
    May 18, 2016
    87
    An immensely thrilling action-MMO hybrid, but good for 30 hours rather than the hoped-for 300. [May 2016, p.70]
  6. Mar 15, 2016
    68
    The Division is a challenging co-op cover shooter and a gorgeous open world diminished by bloated and unnecessary RPG tropes.
  7. Mar 12, 2016
    80
    There is something to be said for the sheer amount of collectibles, the lackluster side content and the sheer number of plot holes that can be poked in the core narrative, but all of those flaws feel secondary to what is a dynamic online shooter experience.
  8. Mar 14, 2016
    85
    The Division is a great mix of TPS, Action RPG and MMO features. Intense campaign, full of content and great endgame and Dark Zone. Has some problems with repetitive side-quests and enemy AI, but is a solid experience, better in co-op mode.
  9. Mar 10, 2016
    80
    The Division is a very good game. Mixing singleplayer and multiplayer in a splendid New York setting, the map offers plenty of content and the Dark zone is a really nice PVP/PVE place to play. The gameplay is simple, the AI is far from good, but the entire experience is a must.
  10. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    90
    It took The Division a lot of time to reach our computers and consoles, but it was worth waiting for. We have already spent about 200 hours with it collectively and we’re not planning on abandoning it, because it is, simply put, outstanding and shows amazing potential for the future. [05/2016, p.30]
  11. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 18, 2016
    100
    So what is Tom Clancy's The Division? Addictive action RPG in a beautiful coat that grabs you and doesn´t let go. [Issue#263]
  12. Mar 29, 2016
    80
    If you are in the mood for an elaborate action RPG, and you have few like-minded friends, Tom Clancy´s The Division is game just for you. Flawless co-op lets you forget even the Division’s not-so-variable missions.
  13. Mar 22, 2016
    85
    The Division offers an addictive search for more and better loot. Yes, it has weak spots, but the concept works and deserves a gold award.
  14. Mar 14, 2016
    80
    As a solo game, The Division gets quite boring, and trying to marathon your way through all the side stuff you'll need to do to unlock every upgrade feels more like a chore than a thrilling video game. But enough of the different components work well enough to make for a good start. At times I had my doubts, but I came out of this one wanting to see at least the first couple of planned updates and ready to play more, when it's available.
  15. Mar 21, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. PC PowerPlay
    May 9, 2016
    70
    Fun for a while, but less than the sum of its parts. [Issue#250, p.57]
  17. Apr 3, 2016
    90
    I had the most fun when I was forced to think tactically, manoeuvre for effect, take an enemy down quick, and reposition myself and my team to deal with the next threat.
  18. Mar 21, 2016
    85
    This game that could've gone so wrong, so easily, is already off to a great start with more content both free and paid set to come over the next year.
  19. Mar 15, 2016
    80
    I may wish a plague of locusts on Ubisoft support, but I tip my hat to the masters over at Massive Entertainment.
  20. Mar 16, 2016
    70
    Ubisoft didn't have a great, epic online game and unfortunately still doesn't. The Division is extremely pretty and generates lots of fun. I will keep playing, but I can't shake the feeling that key aspects of the gameplay showcase the developers' lack of experience. The grade you see should be fair for groups cooperating and playing together. Solo players won't have that much fun.
  21. Mar 17, 2016
    86
    The Division provides a solid experience, with its solid, yet not revolutionary, gameplay mechanics. What makes the game special is the depiction of a modern, post-apocalyptic New York, which provides a satisfactory exploration experience. Overall, a job well done by Ubi.
  22. Apr 29, 2016
    75
    The Division is in a weird spot. While the story campaign is fantastic, the end-game content is disappointing, even without factoring in the hackers and the bugs.
  23. Mar 15, 2016
    70
    A standard Ubisoft AAA game that may not live as long as intended.
  24. Mar 17, 2016
    79
    A finely tuned third-person shooter experience that’s light on endgame content and highlights.
  25. 90
    Taking the loot-based shooter to a new level, The Division features a gorgeous world to explore, full of interesting items to collect, and tons of players to team up with. The enemies are still bullet sponges, and the missions can get repetitive, but the social elements allow for a lot of fun to be had once you get a good group together. An engaging story and enjoyable characters are just icing on the top of what will likely be one of the best shooters of the year.
  26. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 21, 2016
    82
    The Division’s trump card is setting: it’s an online RPG that doesn’t have elves, dragons, robots, demons or zombies. Sure, these things are popular – but almost every game out there has them; while people who want a modern day setting with no fantasy elements have a much more limited choice. [Issue#208, p.58]
  27. One of the most ambitious games we've ever seen. The Division has done a great job in providing players fluid gameplay mechanics, awesome visuals, softcore RPG elements and one of the most detailed open worlds we've seen in this generation.
  28. Mar 14, 2016
    70
    If you're going into The Division looking for an MMO-styled Call of Duty, you'll leave empty-handed. But, if all you're looking for are tons of loot, great co-op fun with your friends, shooting endless streams of bad guys, all set in the realistic depiction of New York, be sure to grab your copy of the game.
  29. Mar 25, 2016
    80
    Even with its blemishes the Division establishes itself nicely as a new tent pole for Ubisoft and the Massive Entertainment studio and lays the foundation for future expansions to come.
  30. Mar 10, 2016
    80
    The Division’s astonishing complexity makes it appear to be one of Ubisoft’s most ambitious games to date. But that’s actually smoke and mirrors, because the key components are remarkably simple. Underneath it all, this is a classic Ubisoft open-world game, bolstered by fantastic co-op and PvP support, and marred by RPG percentages that are as intrusive as they are ineffective. Approach it with the view to completing the campaign and sightseeing New York with friends and you’ll have a blast. But this isn’t a world you’ll be living in for years to come.
  31. Mar 21, 2016
    60
    Decent third-person shooting mechanics, geared strongly toward co-op; but unless your brain is tickled by colour-tiered items the rote repetition will eventually drive you from Manhattan. The Division’s speculative catastrophe fiction never sits convincingly with its pure, stat-based loot grind.
  32. Mar 8, 2016
    60
    I don’t think it’s very good, especially if you’ve a mind to play by yourself. It’s certainly addictive, and it certainly has plenty of stuff for you to do. That goes doubly for people who plan to roll with a squad of friends. As in Borderlands, the general tedium of loot-grinding is more fun when you’ve got people to chat with. If you’re looking for a mindless way to kill a few days/weeks, The Division exists...But don’t expect to remember much of it when it’s over.
  33. Mar 18, 2016
    85
    Despite a few tedious moments and some strange design choices, The Division excels at delivering a paranoid, distrustful world full of ambivalence and moral dichotomy along with an extremely enjoyable RPG experience. If you’re looking for a solid shooter experience then I’d say maybe this isn’t the game for you. If you enjoyed Destiny or love MMO games but wish they were a bit more action based then The Division will provide you hours upon hours of fantastic gameplay. Just make sure you have your buddies or that you find other players to play with in order to really get the full experience.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 19, 2016
    Given how effortlessly our imaginations float beyond the stern ramparts of Mr. Clancy’s literary world, it’s hard not to wish this finely honed contraption could be granted the lightness of spirit it needs to truly thrive. Given how expertly much of The Division has been assembled, it’s hard not to hope that such a wonder might still come to pass.
  2. I feel like, as much as I’m enjoying it, the side missions and gun farming only has a limited appeal once the story missions are over. And my stomach churns to think of making my way to the level cap just for the sake of ultimate completion. At level 26, I’m enjoying The Division. At level 30, I’m worried it’ll get repetitive.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 10, 2016
    5
    Very Repetitive. The gunplay itself is fun, but the cover system is janky, and cumbersome.. If you have played Watch Dogs, or Ghost Recon youVery Repetitive. The gunplay itself is fun, but the cover system is janky, and cumbersome.. If you have played Watch Dogs, or Ghost Recon you have already tried out the gunplay/cover mechanic.. If like me, you have zero interest in pvp, and you absolutely despised the Dark Zone, and further lack of content, than this game isnt for you (us).. Theres occasional npc's to fight in DZ, always with numerous fellow agents around..

    The AI is so dumb, that they will literally walk at you, stand out in the open, and pop out of cover like clock work.. To cover for this, enemies were made bullet sponges.. A dozen rounds to the head, is an easy kill.. Theres also very little variation in enemy archetypes.. Even when donning a different asthetic, they act exactly the same as others.. It makes for very bland gameplay, when the main function is too easy..

    While beautiful (though severely downgraded from what was shown, also becoming the norm with AAA companies) walking the city,its barren! You will encounter occasional npcs fighting over a scrap, or ask you for water, or running in fear for their life of you for seemingly no reason.. Its like walking through "The Last of Us", only this is a shooter, and we want to shoot ****

    The weapons and armor itself servers its purpose, but is very unappealing.. "Upgrades" are only so, in incremental amounts.. 2% less recoils, etc.. Since the game pretends to ground itself in realism (except when in need of excuse) that the guns, and armor arent very "oh cool, new weapon"! It will shoot exactly like the last one you had, probably look almost identical, etc.. Kneepads wont make muh difference, but you may get a puffy coat to change the look vs a hoodie?!

    So-called "rpg".. this is where had issue.. Because there are 8 faces to choose from in the character creator, and theres a talent tree, it apparently classifies itself as rpg..Well.. Not in my book! Theres got to be a compelling narrative, characters, progression, customization, etc.. Theres very little of it here, with a grand total of 26 main story missions.. All replayable, but the side missions are not.. Wheres the longevity here? While playing, its hard to shake the feeling that very large chunks of the game are being with held, to be sold separately, at a later date.. Its painfully dull, and boring to play.. You are allowed 2 active abilities at any given time, which you can also augment, and switch in and out at will.. But the majority of them are, like the rest of the game, uninspired, and dull.. Deploy a Turret, is kinda neat, but another grenade? Group Heal, Riot Shield? Its like there was a QA, and the favored pcs of other games were thrown into a hodgepodge of what works over there, and show horned into a tactical shooter, so it could be labelled a rpg! If this is rpg, its shallow, at best! Theres also little to no meaningful plot decisions, character interaction (That isnt cinematic), theres no real player choice here.. As far as story, its very on rails.. I fail to see where this whole "rpg" element comes from?! I can choose 1 of 8 faces, and theres a skill tree.. Ok.. So not only will 1 in 8 people LOOK the same, everyone will also have exactly the same skills as well? Ok, so just everyone pick 2 different abilities each before this mission.. Fun! Not that youll 'need' them, since its rather straight forward combat.. Some people claim enemies attempt to flank.. What i see is more that they just move toward your general direction.. On a wide street, they may happen to flank.. Mostly though, they stick out stupidly in the open, for no real reason!

    Its no wonder they wouldnt allow pre release reviews.. And i havent even gotten to all the bugs, terrible server issues, lag, texture pop ins and tearing, etc.. Even on consoles this is being reported..

    Which leads me to my next point.. Uplay, is widely known to be bottom barrel software.. Having this game be online only, with this system is terrible.. There is no offline mode, for you to enjoy solo, if your internet fails, you havent paid your bills or, more likely, Uplay goes down.. Why? Hackers? The game is already riddled with them!!! Another wonderful aspect of Dark zone.. And, theres no anti cheat system to boot.. Just "file a report, take a screen shot of the offense".. WTF?!?

    It was over hyped, deliberately with held until release day, bare bones, dull half implemented features.. Yet another Ubisoft let down.. I used to be the biggest AC fan i knew,and even that i can no longer support.. If i had actually paid cash for this game, i would have refunded it it! Thank goodness i went with my gut here, and kept my promise to myself never to purchase another Ubisoft product.. Or EA, Activision, Bethesda for that matter..

    I too want an to scratch that itch i have, for the TPS genre, but this aint it.. Guess its back o another round of Mass Effect.. I no longer support Bioware, but i already own that trilogy atleast..

    PASS
    Lol @9-10 Scores!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2016
    6
    I don't know what's worse, the shills giving this Watch Dogs/DayZ/Stalker/Freedom Fighters hybrid a 10, or the damage control fanboys who actI don't know what's worse, the shills giving this Watch Dogs/DayZ/Stalker/Freedom Fighters hybrid a 10, or the damage control fanboys who act like brats when someone points out obvious flaws and lazy designs in this game.
    Down to its core, the game is underwhelming, very little mission variety, go from A to B and shoot clones of hooded figures, and scavenge for loot until you feel like a conveyor belt worker.

    The solo play is ok, but no challenge, it's always more of the same, unless you pump it up to hard difficulty to feel like it's worth clenching your buttcheeks, but that also gets old fast. The story is..interesting, but still nothing too memorable. You're just cleaning the streets and relive the same patterns like you're the main star in Groundhog Day.

    The map looks bland and quite sterile compared to the trailers in the past, i'm afraid we'll have another case of Destiny with this one.

    The Dark Zone was of little interest to me, but i guess it could be a nice relief from solo grind and boring A to B incursions.

    The loot system is nice and boring at the same time. It all depends on your burnout meter, if you can handle the brief grinding sessions, then more power to you!

    Currently, the 60$ price does not justify the shallow content. If they add more stuff in the future, i hope it's free or at least somewhere in the range of 5 dollars, but something tells me that will not be the case.

    My suggestion: wait several months or maybe an entire year, for the complete edition with all dlcs to come out, maye wait for a sale, because right now this game feels like it's bone dry.

    It's another bland Ubisoft product that still has chance to prove itself. It all depends on the future content.
    Not holding my breath with this one.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2016
    4
    Empty shell of a game. Very repetitive. Graphics in the initial trailer are totally not representative of what you will find in the finalEmpty shell of a game. Very repetitive. Graphics in the initial trailer are totally not representative of what you will find in the final build. So I don't recommend this game. Full Review »