Tomb Raider PC

Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3689 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tomb Raider Scavenger Hunt Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 707
  1. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    The last time I played Tomb Raider, it was years ago back in elementary when I had my first playstation. At that time, I was still new to theThe last time I played Tomb Raider, it was years ago back in elementary when I had my first playstation. At that time, I was still new to the franchise and didn't really care much about the storyline and whatsoever and from the movies, I got my impression that Lara Croft (before exploring) was already an accomplished fighter who is prepared for any danger and that exploring any new tombs are just part of the daily task. But not with this new reboot. It gained my attention as it brought along a new fresh story. Started out with Lara from being just an ordinary girl having to fight her way to become a warrior in order to survive. Not to mention the graphics of the game had already caught my attention in the first place and I was excited when I learned that Square Enix was involved. I know for one thing Square Enix never failed me on graphics aspect and turns out, the games was a masterpiece. I expect a sequel to follow on. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Simply put, the best adventure game in 10+ years. It's breathtaking on the PC. Beautiful, emotional, tense and filled with some of the bestSimply put, the best adventure game in 10+ years. It's breathtaking on the PC. Beautiful, emotional, tense and filled with some of the best set pieces ever put into a game. In all seriousness, any of these reviewers that complain about the QTE's haven't gotten past the first 2 hours of the game. They can blah, blah, blah all they want, however, they have absolutely no idea of what their talking about because THEY HAVEN'T FINISHED THE GAME. If you're going to review it, FINISH IT. Anyway, just to put this out there, Daverid or whatever his name is, is a complete and utter moron on his review. Point blank. This is THE game to get for this generation. After completing the game, I've clocked in over 20 hours. Fantastic and utterly sensational. Love it. Kudos to Crystal D for this game. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, thisThis game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Collapse
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This game is just as gorgeous as it is fun. I definitely recommend it to anyone on the fence about this game. It's a must have if you enjoyThis game is just as gorgeous as it is fun. I definitely recommend it to anyone on the fence about this game. It's a must have if you enjoy 3rd person shooters. I would go in depth about it, but since there are several thousand reviews already I'll just respectfully place my score and go on to the next one. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    This is how your reboot a game series. I started playing Tomb Raider games all the way back with the original through to this most recentThis is how your reboot a game series. I started playing Tomb Raider games all the way back with the original through to this most recent release. I have to say I really lost interest in Lara and her exploits after playing through the first 3 games. The last two were sub par at best. But the big titted Brit is back!!!! If you are a fan of the series then it is worth a buy. If you're a fan of the Uncharted games then this is worth a buy as well. Oh and it is a satisfying length as well. Many games now are just too short. With this one running roughly 13 14 hours I can say I got my money's worth. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Game is decent especially after the first hour is over with but my only big gripe is this game seems to favor AMD rigs. I have a 690 and IGame is decent especially after the first hour is over with but my only big gripe is this game seems to favor AMD rigs. I have a 690 and I have had crashes constantly and really inconsistent frame rate dips. When the game runs it does run wonderfully but it seems to have a lot of bugs as of now. If you do have a NVIDIA gpu don't even bother turning on TressFX no matter what GPU you have it will murder your framerate. I'm about 5 hours in though and I am enjoying it. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2017
    0
    No, it's not even 2/10. Ok, This game contains:
    Very bad optimization.
    Sea of bugs. "Surviving" but without Surviving (I mean Hardcore,
    No, it's not even 2/10. Ok, This game contains:
    Very bad optimization.
    Sea of bugs.
    "Surviving" but without Surviving (I mean Hardcore, Realism, Hunting, Starving, and bla-bla-bla).
    Godlike AI (Nope).
    And Skins. Skins for Lara. And it changes only your skin, not skills. And this skins is costs money. Yes.
    Oh, yes, it feels like Hard mode on start and Very Easy mode when you close to the ending. I don't know, maybe actors want to say us: "You made it!", but after the ending i feel myself like garbage. Like if I played with cheats, and now I have a VAC. But i just want to say: This game must cost maximum 5$ for full pack, that includes game and all the DLCs (Oh, sorry, I want to say SKINS, because DLCs of game is only: "Sample Text" and "New Skin are Available").
    Expand

See all 707 User Reviews