Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2657 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 580
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I really enjoy this game. The exploration and battle are attractive. Some guys say the QTEs are annoying but that's not true. They are not that many and are easy to pass since you have plenty of time to react. I only find the battle could be more challenging. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I will give this a 10 simply because I was amazed. When I played this game random thoughts sounded like: "How much work has been put in this game to make it so amazing"... I was impressed, the story is acceptable (I wouldn't call the story mind-blowing, what is mind-blowing is the overall feel) Expand
  4. oso
    Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, had about 13 hours of gameplay to finish it. What i especially like is the gamedesign. It looks way more mature compared to previous TR titles. It is also a perfect example of how to do a console portation the right way. Graphics are really good, gameplay perfectly adopted to mouse&keyboard and i have encountered absolutely no bugs at all.
    What i would like to see in near future is some free downloadable content. Atm there is just nothing to do after finishing the game. Didnt try the multiplayer so far.
    Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I really love this game. The graphics and the environments are marvellous (especially if you can max them out), gameplay and combat are very enjoyable, so are exploring the island, the tombs, or finding relics...I really like Lara's character, she's more of an average girl forced into a hostile world instead of the somewhat unrealistic and "bloated" character of the past.
    Just a couple of cons: the campaign is too short, too many quick time events, and also didn't like the supernatural element in the story, it seems out of place.

    However, it is definitely a must have.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Tomb Raider has always been a rather unbelievable series. I thought it was going to change with this one, but apparently Lara is invincible and no amount of falling can kill her. Apart from that this is a brilliant game that made me wince multiple times at just how surprisingly brutal it is. Very good game, but also very short. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    Dissapointing very dissapointing its story is so crappy and I know the reason why peole like this garbage because of her she is hot and beutiful but story hate it and because of this game I will never buy another tomb raider game! Expand

See all 580 User Reviews