User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 202

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewK.
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    I decided to try out Anniversary because it was a remake of the original, which I so fondly remember as being a very atmospheric game. Anniversary captures that atmosphere very well with its beautiful graphics, detailed level design and excellent sound-track. The characters' facial expressions during the cut-scenes are also worth mentioning as they are brilliantly done. Sadly, the I decided to try out Anniversary because it was a remake of the original, which I so fondly remember as being a very atmospheric game. Anniversary captures that atmosphere very well with its beautiful graphics, detailed level design and excellent sound-track. The characters' facial expressions during the cut-scenes are also worth mentioning as they are brilliantly done. Sadly, the combat system is very poor. It's hard to learn and particularly frustrating at the best of times. Lara has a bad habit of auto-targeting the wrong enemies at the wrong time (and sometimes she targets shootable buttons on the walls in favour of the vicious beasts that are busy tearing her up). Thankfully, this game is sparsely populated with enemies and, most of the time, you'll find yourself enjoying the exploration and puzzle-solving aspect of the game, which made the original such a winner. Expand
  2. RenanS
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    amazing game, they get elements of the classic tomb raider and a new gameplay where you don't have hatefull delays on jumping a point to another, i love it
  3. Jul 2, 2011
    6
    Fun exploration, good sense of place, nice atmosphere. Even in 2011, the graphics hold up pretty well. The puzzles are usually at a pretty good difficulty. The game really does a good job of making you feel like you're exploring places that have been untouched for years and set up by masterminds.

    However, there are quite a few problems that mar the fun: the camera can be finicky in some
    Fun exploration, good sense of place, nice atmosphere. Even in 2011, the graphics hold up pretty well. The puzzles are usually at a pretty good difficulty. The game really does a good job of making you feel like you're exploring places that have been untouched for years and set up by masterminds.

    However, there are quite a few problems that mar the fun: the camera can be finicky in some sections; Lara doesn't always jump in the direction you tell her to go (especially during wall-run sections or when she's turning around from climbing up a ledge right as you try to jump); it's possible to get stuck on sections of terrain which require you to mash the jump button like mad or reload from your last save; enemy AI is atrocious (although hearing epic music while a gorilla runs head-first away into a wall in the wrong direction while trying to attack you is good for a laugh); movement glitches (like clipping terrain during dodges) and camera often get in the way during combat. A number of the climbing platforming sections can get tedious. Instead of making you tap E to go faster while climbing, why not just make Lara move that fast by default? Checkpoints are often spaced too far apart and you can't save at will, so you'll be redoing tedious sections of platforming just to get back to the point where the camera or awkward controls make a jump difficult and doing the same section over and over again.

    The Prince of Persia series has much more fluid platforming (except for the 2008 Prince of Persia, which felt like auto-pilot) and Uncharted has done a much better job at setting up sense of place and managed to make combat more fun and less of a chore. I haven't played the later TR games except for Guardian of Light (which is EXCELLENT and I highly recommend) so for now I'm not sure how much progress in those areas have been made. I'll be playing TR:Legend and Underworld eventually and reviewing them as well.

    In short: I would have given this game an 8/10, but the numerous issues (i.e. dying because of camera problems and controls flaking out and making you repeat sections of the game over at no fault of your own are both incredibly frustrating) and some tedious platforming sections (once I've proven that I know how to do it and it's not difficult nor fun to execute, don't make me do it 2 or 3 more times) bring it down to a 6.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    7
    I got this as a gift during the Steam sales recently. The only Tomb Raider games I've played before were 2 and 3, over 10 years ago. So for me Tomb Raider: Anniversary still felt like a fresh game. If you've played every Tomb Raider game there is perhaps your opinion would be different.

    I liked playing it a lot. I enjoyed going through the levels, finding my way through the numerous
    I got this as a gift during the Steam sales recently. The only Tomb Raider games I've played before were 2 and 3, over 10 years ago. So for me Tomb Raider: Anniversary still felt like a fresh game. If you've played every Tomb Raider game there is perhaps your opinion would be different.

    I liked playing it a lot. I enjoyed going through the levels, finding my way through the numerous platforming puzzles, and I didn't even feel sad the many times I died because the ragdoll physics in this game are kindof hilarious, where Lara will sometimes bounce off the ground, several feet into the air. I'm not big on physics but I don't think that's how it works.

    The game offers very little outside of that though, there's just jumping, climbing and shooting things on occassion which is enough for me but that, along with sometimes unresponsive controls prevents me from rating it higher. Still, this game is very much worth playing and is a lot of fun, a nice change of pace from the pew pew pew FPS games I usually play.
    Expand
  5. ShinyT.
    Jun 26, 2007
    0
    The brought back all the bad things about old games which were about punishing the player and made it worse. The lame combat system, pole jumps and rope walk are all new things which make the game worse. I liked all the old Tomb Raider games (except Angel of Darkness which I never played) and love Legend but I hate this one more than any other game I can remember.
  6. Shootsythebargains
    Jun 7, 2007
    1
    Extremely irritating rehash of an already frustrating 10 year old game.
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    I think this game has such a high User Score because too many players are overly loyal to the series and unwilling to admit that this is a bad game. After playing the game for several hours it feels more like a chore than a delight. Unresponsive controls, terrible camera angles, worthless auto-aim, and awful boss fights. That pretty much sums it up. You will spend more time in loadingI think this game has such a high User Score because too many players are overly loyal to the series and unwilling to admit that this is a bad game. After playing the game for several hours it feels more like a chore than a delight. Unresponsive controls, terrible camera angles, worthless auto-aim, and awful boss fights. That pretty much sums it up. You will spend more time in loading screens then actually playing the game because you will fall to your death so often due to poor camera angles or extreme camera zoom. Often the hitting a button will result in an action delay just long enough to make you mistime your jump or grab and you will end up back at the beginning of whatever climbing puzzle you were on. The enemies often move so fast that you cannot get away and once they are on top of you the auto-aim system refuses to target them. Boss fights are overly complicated and generally one mistake will cause you to become trapped against a wall or in a corner where you will be killed. Overall this game is just frustrating. If there were no enemies and falling from a great height didn't kill you then this would be a wonderful adventure/puzzle solver, but it isn't. The game tries to do too much without giving the player any room for mistakes. Unless you enjoy frustration, save your money. Expand
  8. Nulla
    Sep 24, 2008
    5
    Deeply disappointing. A classic game experience has been turned into a console wanabe with crap sound. Looks OK. Handles OK. Is repetitive kak.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    I've played this game for a few hours and it's pretty good. However, this game has quite a few minor problems, most notably the camera. It tends to get stuck behind me when I try to look behind my character when about to jump off a ledge. It would be nice to see behind me, but most of the time there's a conveniently placed ledge there. Also, if you want to do well early on, you better payI've played this game for a few hours and it's pretty good. However, this game has quite a few minor problems, most notably the camera. It tends to get stuck behind me when I try to look behind my character when about to jump off a ledge. It would be nice to see behind me, but most of the time there's a conveniently placed ledge there. Also, if you want to do well early on, you better pay close attention to the tutorials that flash by the screen as some commands such as dodging are critical later. Although maybe it's just that this is my first Tomb Raider game. Overall, this is a great game. The graphics are still quite nice and the gameplay is fun and challenging. I just wished some of the bugs were fixed. And there isn't much story here so don't buy this game just for that. Expand
  10. GlenT.
    Jan 6, 2008
    3
    If you were hoping for a PC remake of the PS Tomb Raider 1 as I was, you will be severely disappointed, it isn't half the game that Tomb Raider 1 is (one of my all time favorites that I still replay). From frustrating gameplay to many parts of the original left out, it got to the point near the end of not being worth trying the same section over and over and over and just wishing to If you were hoping for a PC remake of the PS Tomb Raider 1 as I was, you will be severely disappointed, it isn't half the game that Tomb Raider 1 is (one of my all time favorites that I still replay). From frustrating gameplay to many parts of the original left out, it got to the point near the end of not being worth trying the same section over and over and over and just wishing to get past that part. They should have just remade TR1 in its entirety, then they would have had a major hit like the original was. Expand
  11. NalleK.
    Nov 5, 2007
    2
    + Graphics. + Atmosphere. - Frustrating time-trials. - Success or die -jumps. - Camera controls. - Later levels make no sense (who would ever live in a place like these, going from a room to another is stopidly hard). - No free game saving (forces to repeat 'till nerves breakdown).
  12. RobertO.
    Jun 2, 2007
    2
    I downloaded this game from Steam. But the stupid thing will not run because I use Process Explorer from Microsoft. SECUROM is such a load of rubbish. I will never support a game company that uses SECUROM.
  13. ChrisC.
    Jan 29, 2010
    1
    Coming from a 5 year hiatus playing and immensely enjoying TR2 and 3 (I'll pass 4), after reading a lot of glowing reviews in this game, it has been a tremendous disappointment. I'm sure glad I did not buy it and only wasted some of my monthly bandwidth (about 250MB) to download the demo. Now, I was really looking forward to it after seeing the beautiful graphics and indeed they Coming from a 5 year hiatus playing and immensely enjoying TR2 and 3 (I'll pass 4), after reading a lot of glowing reviews in this game, it has been a tremendous disappointment. I'm sure glad I did not buy it and only wasted some of my monthly bandwidth (about 250MB) to download the demo. Now, I was really looking forward to it after seeing the beautiful graphics and indeed they are, but the new player controls are simply too unintuitive and frustrating, and there is no way to make Lara behave like she did in the classics. I mean, instead of being in the character's skin (or right behind her) so to speak, you are so remote and disconnected that it is actually impossible to feel the character, much less to know how to make her move. Just like a play of mirrors, you are led to fall when you should climb, go left when you should go right, etc. And you call that 'intuitive'? What were the designers thinking? Did they somehow come to the conclusion that it's more 'challenging' to be disconnected rather to be immersed in the game? Ever heard of the 'New Coke' fiasco, Mr. fancy pants game designer? Well, that's what's waiting for this game you, as you managed to turn a great idea into a disaster. Sorry, but this game doesn't cut it, and the new graphics are not worth the frustration being demoted from 'driving the car' to using a remote, constantly struggling to figure out where left, right, to and bottom is for the character when the actor is in a totally different location. No thanks! I'm glad I can still play my originals on my machine... Expand
  14. DavidP.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Great game. My Favorite of the series. The Midas stage is real fun!!
  15. MarkV.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome!! Most fun I've had playing a TR in ages.
  16. SeanB.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    I've been playing this on Gametap and its a blast. Sometimes its fun to just pick up a controller and lean back at the desk. I love the new look, along the new moves.
  17. BryanK.
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    I've been playing it for a few hours now and I'm having a blast. The puzzles are fun, the levels seem beautiful and it truly captures what was so fun about the original. If I had to pick something to complain about however it would have to be the enemies. The AI appears to be a little lackluster but the game isn't about gunning down bad guys, it's about exploring the I've been playing it for a few hours now and I'm having a blast. The puzzles are fun, the levels seem beautiful and it truly captures what was so fun about the original. If I had to pick something to complain about however it would have to be the enemies. The AI appears to be a little lackluster but the game isn't about gunning down bad guys, it's about exploring the intriguing environment around you. So all and all it's a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  18. JenA.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Tomb Raider Anniversary successfully captures the look and feel of the original while improving upon the controls, camera, and overall design. Anniversary is definitely more about isolation and exploration which is a welcome change from the later games in the series. While not perfect in every aspect, its flaws can be easily overlooked since the game is really fun. At the lower price Tomb Raider Anniversary successfully captures the look and feel of the original while improving upon the controls, camera, and overall design. Anniversary is definitely more about isolation and exploration which is a welcome change from the later games in the series. While not perfect in every aspect, its flaws can be easily overlooked since the game is really fun. At the lower price point, I was expecting a smaller, less polished game but I am glad to say I was mistaken. The developers have really made something special. Expand
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    As a first time tomb raider all I can say is that the the graphics are good and I suppose the platforming works well and maybe the shooting mechanic. However, the AI are pretty stupid and present no challenge on any difficulty. The puzzles are interesting but are sometimes tedious and I end up thinking 'I'll come back tomorrow' a lot. It is not a bad game and It's probably just down toAs a first time tomb raider all I can say is that the the graphics are good and I suppose the platforming works well and maybe the shooting mechanic. However, the AI are pretty stupid and present no challenge on any difficulty. The puzzles are interesting but are sometimes tedious and I end up thinking 'I'll come back tomorrow' a lot. It is not a bad game and It's probably just down to opinion and taste that I didn't find this one very enjoyable. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Muy buen juego. Un muy buen remake del original de 1996. El aspecto visual muy bueno, ambientacion excelente, enemigos y dificultad perfectos... etc.... Lo unico algunos errores típicos como enemigos atascados con el entorno, o movimientos que la física no daría por validos en el mundo real, pero pese a esto por todo lo demás se le perdona.
    Como ya he mencionado esta dpm este juego,
    Muy buen juego. Un muy buen remake del original de 1996. El aspecto visual muy bueno, ambientacion excelente, enemigos y dificultad perfectos... etc.... Lo unico algunos errores típicos como enemigos atascados con el entorno, o movimientos que la física no daría por validos en el mundo real, pero pese a esto por todo lo demás se le perdona.
    Como ya he mencionado esta dpm este juego, merece la pena.
    Expand
  21. Jan 3, 2013
    6
    Nice game, but there are all the bad notes from the previous game, which I'm not going to say here, too. Anyway, the graphics have been improved (although without next gen contents), as well as the performance. The textures are superb. There are some fixes on the gameplay. Graphics and performance: 4+ (4.25. The missing of the Next-Gen contents is inconceivable, in 2007); Longevity: 5Nice game, but there are all the bad notes from the previous game, which I'm not going to say here, too. Anyway, the graphics have been improved (although without next gen contents), as well as the performance. The textures are superb. There are some fixes on the gameplay. Graphics and performance: 4+ (4.25. The missing of the Next-Gen contents is inconceivable, in 2007); Longevity: 5 (much better than Legend); Gameplay: 6+ (6.25); Plot: 7- (6.75). OVERALL SCORE: 5 + ½ [5.56] (5.5 out of 10 [Good]). Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a classic Tomb Raider game. While at first the game is really enjoyable, and it fills you with excitement and exploration; you soon realize that you do the same thing level after level. The puzzles are rather easy, and the action in the game is extremely lacking. Some of the levels are really dull, but they offer some cool features (Greece in particular).Tomb Raider: Anniversary is a classic Tomb Raider game. While at first the game is really enjoyable, and it fills you with excitement and exploration; you soon realize that you do the same thing level after level. The puzzles are rather easy, and the action in the game is extremely lacking. Some of the levels are really dull, but they offer some cool features (Greece in particular). Overall I gave Tomb Raider: anniversary a 6/10 because it did feel like the classic, and the graphic update was nice. Some of the puzzles were enjoyable, and some of the zones kept me entertained.

    If you don't enjoy doing the same thing over and over I would not recommend this game to you. Otherwise, if you want an Indiana Jones like adventure (with way less action) you might want to give it a try.
    Expand
  23. May 22, 2015
    9
    it is really the anniversary game, It is great enjoyable game, interesting, reminds you with the previous versions of TRs, with improved smooth silky graphics
  24. MartinL.
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    Fun return of Lara Croft, enough new and old things to keep you interested. It's more open ended than Legends, although sometimes this can lead to getting a little too stuck. It's mostly well polished although perhaps they could have fixed some of the AI beasts to add a bit more challenge
  25. DanielC.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    Best remake ever. A lot of people liked Legend because it gave you a feeling of not being on your own. Well in the remake you don't have any brain-dead chattering in your ear, giving you the feeling you are total isolated. The same feeling you had, when you played Tomb Raider I. Built on the Legend engine many levels have been revived and spiced up. There is a more indepth plot and Best remake ever. A lot of people liked Legend because it gave you a feeling of not being on your own. Well in the remake you don't have any brain-dead chattering in your ear, giving you the feeling you are total isolated. The same feeling you had, when you played Tomb Raider I. Built on the Legend engine many levels have been revived and spiced up. There is a more indepth plot and lara's mansion is better than ever. Crystal Dynamics have done a very good job of combining the old with the new, creating the same atmosphere we felt when playing the original with new graphics and puzzles in TR:A. I can see many people picking bones with this because it's "too hard" and "not as easy as legend", but for me, as an original Tomb Raider fan, it's brilliant! Expand
  26. Tom
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Great game. The puzzles are challenging, the graphics lovely. Only the combat could use some work.
  27. AbedS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    This is a very beautiful game and its very exciting .
  28. Bobd.B.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    It's a really good remake of the game it plays like old times and the looks have improved it doesn't matter if the graphics are really outstanding, it's the gameplay that needs to be the same or better.
  29. MichaelM.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    I loved the original and Legend this is an excellent blend of both! Also works with my 360 controller!
  30. RazvyT.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    It's a very nice and playable game especially if your a TR fan. It's not as complex (cut-scenes and storyline) as TR:Legend but the puzzles and the gameplay are much more intresting. It's a game that should definitely be played by everyone who like TPS's.
  31. ShadhZ.
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    The most perfect Tomb Raider so far. I can picture myself,drooling in front of the monitor when I was playing the dos version of Tomb Raider I. Even in the mid 90's they successfully created the most stunning action heroine ever...and now for all hardcore Lara fans, we're getting to see to see the things again...and it runs on the famous Legend engine that is very much system The most perfect Tomb Raider so far. I can picture myself,drooling in front of the monitor when I was playing the dos version of Tomb Raider I. Even in the mid 90's they successfully created the most stunning action heroine ever...and now for all hardcore Lara fans, we're getting to see to see the things again...and it runs on the famous Legend engine that is very much system friendly...the action is hard to find...but this is what gave birth to Lara & the puzzles...movements work superbly. Expand
  32. NavinC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This is a brilliant game! I enjoyed it the most out of all the Tomb Raider games, second only to Legend. This game definitely builds on the immense success of Legend and solidifies faith back in the Tomb Raider franchise, after some disappoinments (read: Tomb Raider 3 to Angel of Darkness). I love it, and I highly recommend it to everyone!
  33. BurkL.
    May 22, 2007
    8
    Lara had to go back to her first adventure to find herself. Now she is definitely back. The feel of isolation and survival is there, and i can play tomb raider again. Strong 8 not nine bcs. of camera issues.
  34. MattD.
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    Was blown away until the last chapter. The first three environments are utterlery amazing, two particular boards in Greece and Egypt that are enormous in height and depth. The graphics for these locals are fantastic and there really is a great sense of isolation, exploration and sheerorical cont awe. Combat is mediocre but who cares, it's Tomb Raider. It does everything the game Was blown away until the last chapter. The first three environments are utterlery amazing, two particular boards in Greece and Egypt that are enormous in height and depth. The graphics for these locals are fantastic and there really is a great sense of isolation, exploration and sheerorical cont awe. Combat is mediocre but who cares, it's Tomb Raider. It does everything the game needs to do by way of puzzle solving and platforming, which is why you play the game. The last level was just so lame in comparison to the historical context and nostalgia attached to the first three. Expand
  35. WilT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    I tried this out because I really enjoyed the first Tomb Raider a decade ago. This one has a lot of graphic polish and it's neat to see some of the old levels. However, the gameplay isn't always smooth with little bugs popping up here and there. The last two levels are horribly irritating and leave the player with a bad last impression.
  36. robertdb
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    taking us back to the early years, when we first time fall in love with this game, this girl. And thank god we still had a lots of new pleasure to found.
  37. Tony
    Jul 22, 2008
    8
    This game is breath-taking and delightful, but at the same time annoying as alll hell in several areas. OK, there's not much to really displease TR fans, it is TR afterall! Doesn't take too long to get used to the controls and movement, but the camera can drive you crazy at times. The music soundtrack is absolutely stunning to go along with the great visuals in the game. There This game is breath-taking and delightful, but at the same time annoying as alll hell in several areas. OK, there's not much to really displease TR fans, it is TR afterall! Doesn't take too long to get used to the controls and movement, but the camera can drive you crazy at times. The music soundtrack is absolutely stunning to go along with the great visuals in the game. There are 2 major headaches areas in the game, one of which is just about impossible for normal folk (but luckily can download a savegame to get past it). LOL Anyway, a great game worth the money and time. Expand
  38. FrazerC
    May 28, 2009
    9
    I found Anniversary to be a very fun expirience, much like Legend. The graphics are nice and the controls are easy to get the hang of. The camera can be a bit of a pain but other than that I enjoyed playing the game. And to Glen T. - Tomb Raider 1 is on the PC, just not natively supported for Windows XP onwards.
  39. DarrenV.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I had so much fun playing this game! I've heard some people complain about the difficulty but that's what I love. Combat isn't spectacular but then that isn't the focus of tomb raider. Great puzzles, great traversal through ancient places. Wonderful sense of nostalgia that brought me back to the first time I played TR:1. Love it!
  40. JohnS.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Although the controls are very very similar to TRL's, TRA is still worth the time to play through. True, it didn't revolutionize the gaming industry as TR1 did, but it is a completely enjoyable game that one will want to play again and again. One factor of the game that should have been worked on more would be the music. I thought the music was rather dull and boring. Sure, Although the controls are very very similar to TRL's, TRA is still worth the time to play through. True, it didn't revolutionize the gaming industry as TR1 did, but it is a completely enjoyable game that one will want to play again and again. One factor of the game that should have been worked on more would be the music. I thought the music was rather dull and boring. Sure, there were instants where the music intensified the cut-scene, but overall, it was just all right. Moving on, one the aspects that boosted my rating was the "Rewards" section, which I thought were very thoughtful, especially the commentaries. Overall a great game and definitely worth the money. Expand
  41. RT
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    This is a definite improvement over Tomb Raider Legend, but not that much. The major pluses are: improved graphics and level design. Also, the game is much longer (12-15 hours), depending on how much you'll be dying. The boss fights are actually quite challenging and fun. The major minuses are: the flow of the game still feels very linear; often times levels seem to be repetitive; This is a definite improvement over Tomb Raider Legend, but not that much. The major pluses are: improved graphics and level design. Also, the game is much longer (12-15 hours), depending on how much you'll be dying. The boss fights are actually quite challenging and fun. The major minuses are: the flow of the game still feels very linear; often times levels seem to be repetitive; the wall grappling mechanic is absolutely unnecessary and often frustrating; the adrenaline dodge mechanic is also unnecessary since it's not used that often; enemy AI definitely could be better; even though this is a remake of original - having some vehicle's would be nice; the game feels a bit buggy. Overall still, I would have to say this is pretty good game and I would highly recommend trying it. Expand
  42. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Truly amazing game. If you ever played the first tomb raider this is worth a look just to see how they improved upon it without dramatically changing any element of the game like you commonly see in other reboots. Graphics are majorly improved, platforming is much easier, combat feels the same. For under $10 on steam its definitely worth a look and perhaps if this game does well squareTruly amazing game. If you ever played the first tomb raider this is worth a look just to see how they improved upon it without dramatically changing any element of the game like you commonly see in other reboots. Graphics are majorly improved, platforming is much easier, combat feels the same. For under $10 on steam its definitely worth a look and perhaps if this game does well square will start rebooting other classics that it now holds the rights to. I would love to see a Deus Ex or Thief reboot Expand
  43. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Could be a better game. Combat is kinda silly, and the controls aren't that good. It has nice puzzles and secrets stuff for exploration. Overall it is worth playing. Its fun, cause of its challenge. Still better than the latest ones in my opinion.
  44. Feb 6, 2014
    3
    Well, Tomb Raider Anniversary is extremely frustrating! I love these type of games, but this is one of the worst.
    The puzzle's are awesome. Its a challenge, but in a good way! The artwork is amazing, and the fights are pretty mediocore, and boring. BUT! There are no fights along the way, just a little bit.
    Then...the Camera angles, and the control.. oh my god! Its so bad, i cant even
    Well, Tomb Raider Anniversary is extremely frustrating! I love these type of games, but this is one of the worst.
    The puzzle's are awesome. Its a challenge, but in a good way! The artwork is amazing, and the fights are pretty mediocore, and boring. BUT! There are no fights along the way, just a little bit.
    Then...the Camera angles, and the control.. oh my god! Its so bad, i cant even control Lara in some situations. There is too much problem with the controls, and with the camera angles. FATAL PROBLEMS.
    After 13 hours of gaming, i gived up. I was on the last stage, but all of my brain cells are dead.
    Expand
  45. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    If I'm completely honest, I didn't enjoy Tomb Raider Anniversary as much as I thought I would. When you remake an original game, you’re standing on thin grounds and can have a lot of hype to match… Especially with a classic, genre defining game like Tomb Raider! Virtually it’s the same type textures and graphics as Legend and very few other changes except the length, this game isIf I'm completely honest, I didn't enjoy Tomb Raider Anniversary as much as I thought I would. When you remake an original game, you’re standing on thin grounds and can have a lot of hype to match… Especially with a classic, genre defining game like Tomb Raider! Virtually it’s the same type textures and graphics as Legend and very few other changes except the length, this game is considerably longer. I do think the biggest let down was the original challenge type scenarios have disappeared “Tomb Raider” was built on the principle of “Well, I found this, what’s it for?” or “Where the hell am I going?” but as this was a remake original players already knew what everything was for... It is a decent installation for the series, but for Lara to compete properly in today's standards, the series needs a retool. Expand
  46. Oct 21, 2014
    9
    Anniversary is the middle chapter of Crystal Dynamics' trilogy that began with Legend and concluded with Underworld. It's a faithful re-imagining of the original Tomb Raider from 1996, while deftly tying it into the story of the other two games that take place in the present (it's still 1996 in this remake). Anniversary is visually beautifiul and the puzzles are incredibly elaborate andAnniversary is the middle chapter of Crystal Dynamics' trilogy that began with Legend and concluded with Underworld. It's a faithful re-imagining of the original Tomb Raider from 1996, while deftly tying it into the story of the other two games that take place in the present (it's still 1996 in this remake). Anniversary is visually beautifiul and the puzzles are incredibly elaborate and complex. Lara travels the globe to places like Peru, Greece, and Egypt, while you solve the mysteries of some of the most enormous and intricately designed tombs ever in a Tomb Raider game.

    The story is a rehash of the original, with Lara hired by the mysterious Natla Corporation to find an artifact. What's good about it is the way they tied this into the back story about Lara's mother.

    The only knock I can give is that on the pc there is a well-known bug in one of the Egypt levels that prevents you from making a simple jump to a ledge so you can exit the level. I had to download a cheat to let me move Lara past that point. Then there is the infamous "pyramid tower of terror" segment near the end which had me smashing my mouse and keyboard in frustration. Even watching You Tube videos and knowing exactly what to do, it still took dumb luck on one of the jump sequences to make it after about a hundred tries. The problem is that they made grapple wall running/jumping to the next handhold very unforgiving, and you are constantly fighting the camera angles and the controls to get Lara to do what you want her to do. It's hard enough to get enough momentum, jump from the right height and the exact right moment so you can barely reach the ledge, but then to have Lara jump back instead of to the side, or to the side instead of back, because according to the camera angle that's what the game thinks you want her to do...that can be maddening.

    Despite late game bugs/control issues, Anniversary is still a great game and very satisfying to finish.
    Expand
  47. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    In my opinion this is a wonderful remake. The graphics are superb and I love the way they stayed faithful to the levels. I do think a little of the first game's atmosphere was lost here but that's made up for by the much improved controls. A wonderful adventure faithfully brought up to date.
  48. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    I played TR2 back when I was a kid, it was ok; I picked TR:A up to see where action-adventure games had gotten to these days and I must say I was blown away by how exceptional it was. It is easily in my top ten games list, rubbing shoulders with Starcraft and Rome: Total War (I'm a hardcore PC fan).

    Why is it so good? Several reasons. Firstly and most importantly the gameplay is top
    I played TR2 back when I was a kid, it was ok; I picked TR:A up to see where action-adventure games had gotten to these days and I must say I was blown away by how exceptional it was. It is easily in my top ten games list, rubbing shoulders with Starcraft and Rome: Total War (I'm a hardcore PC fan).

    Why is it so good? Several reasons. Firstly and most importantly the gameplay is top notch, with obvious polish on all gameplay elements. The platforming is smooth and intuitive; graspable handholds have specific identifiable textures, preventing you from leaping to your death, but it’s subtle enough to make it blend in. The controls to move Lara are also very good and responsive, making it easy to manoeuvre yourself around a room. Camera look is also a god send, I tried TR2 again after finishing TR:A and the biggest difficulty I found was not having a manually moveable camera, it is essential on some of the more difficult jumping puzzles. The physics rules stay constant throughout the game, meaning you won’t scratch your head in puzzlement as to why that jump failed when another one succeeded perfectly. The adrenaline dodge, a skill central to efficient gameplay is challenging to master, but used enough that you will get the practice you need. The enemies you will use it on are sparing and perhaps that’s why the combat system isn’t quite as fantastic as the platforming system, but it’s still damn good.

    Then comes the puzzles, something that Tomb Raider is famous for, and I must say that each puzzle is unique and inventive while also being at exactly the right difficulty to make the solution obvious after a few minutes of observing to those who are patient and keep their wits about them. The solution is there, and in plain site oftentimes, but only those with a bit of patience and will to use their brains to work out how to exploit it will enjoy them. This is especially true of the bosses, who are some of the best bosses I’ve ever met in gaming (admittedly, not being a console gamer, that’s not many). The game gives you time to work out how to defeat each boss, they are not on top of you all the time, but if you don’t get the trick they will slowly whittle you down and finish you off. The adrenaline you get when you use your last health pack and still have a few shots left to finish off this boss makes it scary and tense, but very rewarding when you counterattack for the final time and cut to the death cinematic.

    The game uses quick time events. I think the game uses them quite well, though I know they get a lot of stick in the gaming community. They are used sparingly, and lead to some very entertaining death scenes if you get them wrong (sorry Lara, I might have pressed the wrong button once or twice deliberately).

    The sound track is fantastic, and beautifully complements the game’s setting and theme. The main theme is one of my favourite tracks ever, and I listen to it all the time. It makes you feel like a real explorer. I really love it. The graphics too are absolutely beautiful, every landscape looks stunning, even on my piece of s**t PC (a standard Vista laptop). The game also runs really well, so as far as I’m concerned, optimisation is excellent.

    The tone of the game is my favourite among all the tomb raider games. The earlier games make Lara feel to me rather bland and uninteresting (apart from her upper torso), and Tomb Raider: Legend and Underworld both turn Lara into a comic book action hero rather than what she really is, a tomb raider. She’s a highly trained but otherwise normal human female, so she shouldn’t be gunning down legions of bad guys like she does in other instalments of the series. Also there’s only half a dozen characters in the whole game, ensuring a sense of deserted quietness and beautiful solitude in your tombs, adding to the overall tomb raiding ambience.

    Overall it’s a fantastic game and I highly recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It's a good game, a solid remake, but having said that, 11 years on, it was never going to garner the awe-struck plaudits of a gobsmacked world. [July 2007, p.60]
  2. It takes the inspirational level design of the original, improves upon the atmosphere, and makes the whole thing so much more fun thanks to the hugely refined control and camera system. Far from being a tired, cynical cash-in exercise of a brand past its prime, Tomb Raider Anniversary goes back to its roots and shows how remakes should be done.
  3. Everything a remake should be. It makes the most of modern technology to bring a classic game world up to date, throws in simple but intuitive controls and doesn't rely on constant fire-fights to bring excitement.