Tomb Raider: Legend Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tomb Raider: Legend revives the athletic, intelligent and entertaining adventurer who won the hearts and minds of gamers worldwide. Lara comes alive with intricately animated expressions, moves and abilities. An arsenal of modern equipment, such as a magnetic grappling device, binoculars,Tomb Raider: Legend revives the athletic, intelligent and entertaining adventurer who won the hearts and minds of gamers worldwide. Lara comes alive with intricately animated expressions, moves and abilities. An arsenal of modern equipment, such as a magnetic grappling device, binoculars, frag grenades, personal lighting device and communications equipment, allows gamers to experience tomb raiding as never before. Eidos and Crystal Dynamics shaped Lara's look and movements to be an inherent extension of her skills, motivation and personality. Lara's character model features natural structure, realistic textures, detailed facial features, reactive eyes and fluid motion, all of which make her part of a living environment. New character animations and controls allow her to move through stunning environments with grace and precision, while an understanding of the game's original appeal reinvigorates the fundamental explore-and-solve adventure experience. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. There are people that say a good game must have good graphics and some that say its gameplay is the most important. TRL has both. Great graphics and a superb gameplay make this game a true jewel.
  2. A solid title from the ground up. It has a nicely written story, with lively characters and a charismatic and sexy protagonist in Lara Croft. It has great voice acting and music, and the artists have done a marvelous job of creating beautiful and diverse locations for the game's backdrop.
  3. Tomb Raider: Legend is not only the best Tomb Raider game in years, but as far ahead as one can possibly get from the disaster that was Angel of Darkness.
  4. In this regard, Crystal Dynamics deserve all the praise, but if they will continue to ignore certain aspects in the next Tomb Raider game and will choose to go down the simplification road, there are very good chances that the next Tomb Raider will end up like "Angel of Darkness."
  5. The best new addition is a magnetic grappling device that allows Lara to move faraway items and swing across chasms. Puzzles are beautifully integrated into the environment and frustration rare.
  6. Every second of this game screams skillful design and the result is a liberating game world that feels open and responsive.
  7. All that appeal is present in Legend, but it's attached to only half of a brilliant game. And in the end, half of a new Lara Croft game adventure turns out to be better than none at all. [July 2006, p.55]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
  1. JohnLocke
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    A very high quality game all around; graphics are no longer the best available, but for the time of release, they are as good as one can ask A very high quality game all around; graphics are no longer the best available, but for the time of release, they are as good as one can ask for. The gameplay is fantastic; not the typical see-bad-guy-shoot-bad-guy stuff. The entire game is a puzzle, both the levels, and the storyline. It was very original and believable in its own setting. To top things off, the Croft Manor added several extra hours of leisure gameplay. Two thumbs up! Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    All in all, the game was excellent. I especially loved the improved feel of the controls (the most infuriating problem with all previous TR All in all, the game was excellent. I especially loved the improved feel of the controls (the most infuriating problem with all previous TR games), no more slow-turning Lara, or having her unexpectedly change direction when you make a jump, JUST because you didn't approach the edge at a perpendicular angle... The whole "cubic" feeling of the game has been removed, and now the levels are starting to feel a lot more real. The graphics are incredible, and the levels are well-designed. The addition of Zip and Alister was a great idea, as the dialogue between them and Lara, lets them know exactly what's going on in the lead character's minds, as well as profiding a few laughs. The developing storyline (also done much better in this game than in any predecessor, except perhaps the original), is what I feel truly makes this game a "must buy". If you want a shoot-em-up, buy Battlefield 2, but when you want to be pulled into an exciting and intruiging world, you're thankful that there are games like this out there... My only problem with this game is the up-in-the-air ending. Crystal Dynamics, PLEEEEASE give us an ending to this game, don't just leave us hanging! It's inhuman torture! Don't make me sic amnesty international on your arses! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    When a stale franchise got reinvigorated. Tomb Raider Legend for me is one of my favourite video games. I am a major fan of the “Tomb Raider”When a stale franchise got reinvigorated. Tomb Raider Legend for me is one of my favourite video games. I am a major fan of the “Tomb Raider” series and I'm always anticipating the next release and this was the freshest and best structured sequel to be released prior to 2013's origins adventure! With the new control and combat systems, Lara is now performing highly unrealistic manoeuvre’s that only Lara Croft could pull off… And although a little short, this entry has been by far the most engaging release since Tomb Raider 2. Expand
  4. weevilk.
    May 2, 2007
    7
    Graphics great - controls great- cinematics great, controls like a dream - but it is just too easy. too many hints. fighting is easy. bosses Graphics great - controls great- cinematics great, controls like a dream - but it is just too easy. too many hints. fighting is easy. bosses are easy. puzzles are very linear and lots of hints everywhere - things glinting, stupid guys on the headset - HEY LARA WHATS THAT BIG LEVER FOR.....HEY LARA TRY TO CHARGE UP THE CORE WITH THE TESLA DEVICE....I started off thinking - wow, this is awesome, but ended up feeling slightly cheated at how easy it is. even the binoculars have a built in ability to tell you what you do with objects on screen - AI binoculars? please..... little cut scenes which sort of guide you through a set piece - YOUI HAVE TO GO HERE......THEN HERE>>>>>THEN HERE......or big neon icons flashing up telling you where the grapple has to go, or whn to press down, up etc.....idiots guide, id say. They make a play on the fluid motion, but what that means is you can be very sloppy and still make the jumps etc - i suppose on balance, having to be too exact could get enraging, but its almost impossible to get it wrong with this one. 100000000 times better than the last effort mind. i guess nothing compares to the wonder of the very first TR 1 and 2 - they were so excellent in their day that they will not be beaten no matter how life like her outrageous ...ahem...boobies....become. Expand
  5. ChrisS.
    May 17, 2006
    6
    The control issues have been fixed and with "next gen" deactivated frame rates are fast even at the highest resolutions. With "next gen" The control issues have been fixed and with "next gen" deactivated frame rates are fast even at the highest resolutions. With "next gen" turned on, forget about it. Combat plays too large a role in this game and is poorly implemented and hard to handle. The animal attacks are truly annoying and should be ditched alltogether. The puzzles are too few and too easy. What we have here is a good foundation upon which can be built a much better game. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    I am a newcomer to the Tomb Raider franchise, having started with the 2013 reboot, I began going back and playing the old ones since I enjoyedI am a newcomer to the Tomb Raider franchise, having started with the 2013 reboot, I began going back and playing the old ones since I enjoyed the new one so much.

    Legend was a fun game, but it was nearly ruined by some of the gameplay mechanics that I found just terrible. This was on PC, and I'm sure the porting process is at fault for much of that.

    The storyline wasn't bad, but at the end I couldn't have helped thinking that wouldn't the main antagonist have at some point said something to Lora to explain what was going on, rather than just fight her the whole time?

    The puzzles were fun but simple, everything was very linear, which isn't always terrible but it started to feel too structured and gets a bit stale.

    It really consisted mostly of some combination of platform>combat>puzzle>boss battle, where combat was usually easy, puzzles were quite simple, and boss battles were tedious and painful. A couple boss battles were actually fairly simple and quick once you found the trick, a couple others were miserable. Combine that with two human bosses having three lines that they repeated every few seconds, it was no fun at all, just an obstacle to enjoying the game.

    One boss battle (in England) was exceptionally difficult, clumsy and poorly designed. Between having been started with a reduced amount of rifle ammo, having very little time to switch from shooting to grappling to pulling, having to dodge every second, and having actions sometimes not occur on the first press of the key, I just couldn't do everything fast enough to survive. After an hour of miserable frustration, I discovered that I couldn't even complete it due to a glitch that made one of the four items that I had to utilize not even work, imagine my frustration at finally surviving that long only to get stuck there anyway! I had to download a savegame to continue at the next mission. Apparently some others have suffered this glitch, while most who managed to struggle through that battle did not.

    Shooting was one of the worst problems in my opinion. The auto aim had no idea what was going on and randomly aimed at different things. An enemy would be shooting me and Lora would be pointing at some interactive item or another enemy. At one point I'm surrounded and auto aim has me shooting up at the ceiling! Manual aim with a first person view was mostly useless because you could not move. Being unable to manually aim and move at the same time was extremely frustrating, and pretty much ruined the game for me. Auto aim is nice when driving or handling a couple enemies, but trying to fight a large group was nearly impossible, there was no way of strategically engaging targets and utilizing cover. When you tried to shoot from behind cover, your gunfire struck whatever was next to you even though your view showed a clear shot, you had to be pretty much out from behind cover to shoot. Grenades were also thrown a few steps in front of you without the ability to aim, so throwing grenades out from behind cover was impossible.

    The actual platforming, exploring, puzzle solving, and trap avoiding parts were fun, easily played, and quite enjoyable. If the game had totally eliminated combat and had just continuous exploration, I would have enjoyed it more, even though it would have made the game a little less interesting. If they had replaced combat with more and better puzzles, or made combat good instead of terrible, it would have been a much better game.

    The graphics were fair for 2006, they looked a little better with next gen graphics enabled, but there were so many glitches and game crashes with next gen graphics, that about 3/4 through I had to switch them off. The music was ok, in some parts it helped make the atmosphere very well, in others it was entirely forgettable. Lora looked good and her movements were pretty fluid and intuitive, but the camera often game me very useless views and moved around very quickly and jerky, if you were in a confined space the camera was a problem.

    Overall, I enjoyed the game, but I definitely wouldn't play it again. It wasn't interesting enough, and the miserable combat is a chore rather than an enjoyable challenge. It is interesting to see how Crystal Dynamics progressed from something so rough, to something that is much more refined in the 2013 game.
    Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    0
    PC controls suck. For me that's a game wrecker. Good God. Combat mechanics are awful. Camera movement is horrendous. Can't tell you ifPC controls suck. For me that's a game wrecker. Good God. Combat mechanics are awful. Camera movement is horrendous. Can't tell you if the plot is any good. I got sick of fighting the damned game controls and bashed the uninstall button, which is the only thing that worked good. Lara's got a nice rack, great legs and a fine ass, though. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews