User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 271
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaneNikoloski
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    It is the best game right now(ever).All the way from gaphics to the way she looks and moves, i mean it is badass.The story is realy good and deep and it is made out perfectly.Of all the games out now and those thet are about to come out"They have no chance with Lara".
  2. SimonS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Superb game, a beautiful story in a beautiful surrounding (and Lara doesn
  3. May 2, 2013
    10
    Underworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing theUnderworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing the game(after saving your progress) and restarting the game. Never had any issues beyond that. For best results make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements because in the end you cannot blame the game if your computer cannot keep up. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    one of my favorite game
    everything is great in the game story,graphics,game play,musics
    especially those puzzle and also the environment
    now a days those things are rare in games
    if compare it with tomb raider 2013,i still think underworld was far better faaaarrrrr...
  5. FrankV
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed this chapter in Lara's long career. The graphics and gameplay were the best yet.
  6. YannC
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Very nice game, good gameplay and good story. Pc version is better than xbox 360 version !! I like this game ;)
  7. PaulS
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    This is the best of the series. The graphics are superb, layouts and scenery very realistic and puzzles more thoughtful. Less emphasis on shooting and more on thinking.
  8. shaunb
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    this game is brilliant its much better than all the other tomb raider games. An well just as you think the would run out of idears for lara they come up with this its great. Also the graphics and control system are better than in anyother tomb raider yet. I dont get how people can rate it only a 6 or sumthin because its the best game in the franchise.
  9. FrancoG.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Excellent game with a few quirks. Still great, best of the modern series so far. (Hey 0 rating Anonymous, rate the GAME, not a publisher's ethics, OK? For cryin outloud.)
  10. KarimZ
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    Tomb Raider Underworld is a great follow-up to Crystal Dynamics' last two TR games; it's the catalyst directly linking the seemingly unrelated adventures in Legend and Anniversary. Visually, it is the best of the Tomb Raider games, boasting lush environments and vast scenery as well as detailed effects and character design. The flaws are most evident in the finicky camera and Tomb Raider Underworld is a great follow-up to Crystal Dynamics' last two TR games; it's the catalyst directly linking the seemingly unrelated adventures in Legend and Anniversary. Visually, it is the best of the Tomb Raider games, boasting lush environments and vast scenery as well as detailed effects and character design. The flaws are most evident in the finicky camera and some awkward control moments. Although some features seem to have regressed since TR Anniversary (namely the camera), overall it's a great effort from Crystal Dynamics. Expand
  11. FrancescoP
    Dec 17, 2008
    8
    Yeah, the camera issue... not that big deal in my opinion: camera gets messy (maybe you just made an awkward jump) Lara falls, breaks her neck and then, in just 3 seconds, you're ready to start again a few steps back from where you were... so, no, you can't say it's totally annoying or that ALL the game is badly coded. I'd even say this one of the best multi-platform Yeah, the camera issue... not that big deal in my opinion: camera gets messy (maybe you just made an awkward jump) Lara falls, breaks her neck and then, in just 3 seconds, you're ready to start again a few steps back from where you were... so, no, you can't say it's totally annoying or that ALL the game is badly coded. I'd even say this one of the best multi-platform port one could ever wish for! The graphic on my pc (a good one but not at all a monster!) is really exciting and runs incredibly smooth (60 fps with AA4x): just as much as TR Anniversary! But everything is so well designed that's just far superior to anything seen before. The game is just plain fun, nothing particularly challenging but sets up good involvement, thanks also to the boomy sound effects, especially under water. I really think that arguments to blame software houses and hail to piracy are weaker than ever in this case. Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    I could give a flying burrito for any opinion that makes no sense to me. It's not why i do reviews. This game is fun thats number one.. number two is story and 3 is graphics and this game hits the mark on all 3. Tomb Raider stays true to its mark of excellence. As an avid Tomb Raider fan of many years since the first to be exact i can truly say i enjoyed this as much as the first if notI could give a flying burrito for any opinion that makes no sense to me. It's not why i do reviews. This game is fun thats number one.. number two is story and 3 is graphics and this game hits the mark on all 3. Tomb Raider stays true to its mark of excellence. As an avid Tomb Raider fan of many years since the first to be exact i can truly say i enjoyed this as much as the first if not more. However i am only giving it a nine because i do believe it could have been a bit better but its still worth the price and well worth the time. Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    just finished it, after 12 hour with a little goofing arround on the motorbike and several death (caused by me, human error and some little bugs).

    i like it, the start is a bit boring, but the varying level design keept me going. the sounds and the music are nice, the riddles sometimes very tricky and time consuming- you get what you pay for, a real tomb raider game. the story is okay
    just finished it, after 12 hour with a little goofing arround on the motorbike and several death (caused by me, human error and some little bugs).

    i like it, the start is a bit boring, but the varying level design keept me going.

    the sounds and the music are nice, the riddles sometimes very tricky and time consuming-
    you get what you pay for, a real tomb raider game.

    the story is okay for this genre, the graphics sweet for a 2008 production.
    the animations are mostly realistic, exept when you die, then lara becomes a bouncy ball.

    negative is that the steam in game overlay doesnt work for any reason, so you wont be able to take any screenshots, nor can you use the steam friends application. all together its still worth your money.
    Expand
  14. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    On PC its a mind blowing game with graphics and simple and suttle touches that really make this game even greater than all Raiders before it Along with this there are some much needed gameplay fixes that this game fixed The story is fantastic and a great wrap up to the trilogy The only thing that lets this game down are the 2D charcters and the facts you still have to fight the cameraOn PC its a mind blowing game with graphics and simple and suttle touches that really make this game even greater than all Raiders before it Along with this there are some much needed gameplay fixes that this game fixed The story is fantastic and a great wrap up to the trilogy The only thing that lets this game down are the 2D charcters and the facts you still have to fight the camera more than the enimes Now for the camera the camera is constanly trying to show this beutiful world as you jump from ledge to ledge but the game does not do this correctly as it feels like this Yeah thanks mate pretty graphics but i have already fallen to my death ten times because i looked. Fear not Tomb Raider fans its a great game and it will feel true to the trilogy and series This game is innovative and exiting but still contains the natural Raider bugs Expand
  15. May 22, 2015
    9
    Full of monsters, Full of adventure and secrets, levels are wide and great, graphics colors environments are great as well,
    no doubt it is tom raider game so don't hesitate to get this
  16. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Based on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something theyBased on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something they say its a bad game. Even though the game "starts" you off without a tutorial it actually teaches you tips and such along the way. If you need help with jumping and figuring out puzzles isn't that what walkthroughs are for? If you want to figure it out yourself keep trying until you get it or take a break and try again later. The Tomb Raider games obviously are for people who have to eventually stop and think on how to solve something in particular. I really enjoyed most of this series and I haven't finished the whole thing. The only issue I had with the game is the fact that there was so much water!!! I liked the classic running around, jumping on things, and not having to swim a whole lot. But other then that I seriously enjoyed the game!!! Just as I think I'll enjoy all the others. Expand
  17. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Tomb raider Underworld is a fantastic game. Even though they ended the series and took a new approach with Lara this game is well worth the money its still one of my favorite games to date. 10/10
  18. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    I really enjoy this game, the graphics are amazing, the story have a sad end but you enjoy all the pursuit of Thor´s hammer. Great game with a lot of adventures. If you love TB you will love this one too.
  19. matthewe
    May 2, 2009
    10
    Probably the best in the series. Slightly underrated and probably not looked at by most people. The games keep getting better and better and it is unfortunate that this one didn't get a better look.
  20. robertdb
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    The detail in game is much more advanced, and we found the great beauty of tomb raider again in this game! if the angle can moved more freely, it will be perfect!
  21. IanK
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game! Probably the best Tomb Raider Ever. I like the direction Crystal Dynamics is heading with the series and hope they continue to push the envelope further graphics and gameplay wise. The best game I've played all year.
  22. FragTheL-T
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    Overall, a very nice game with beautiful and varied locations. Tomb Raider got back to exploration in exotic locations which was lacking in some recent lackluster releases. The troubling issues are the same old ones though. Camera angles can be worse than frustrating, but that is thankfully a fairly rare occurrence. Controls are not always as sharp as they should be either. All things Overall, a very nice game with beautiful and varied locations. Tomb Raider got back to exploration in exotic locations which was lacking in some recent lackluster releases. The troubling issues are the same old ones though. Camera angles can be worse than frustrating, but that is thankfully a fairly rare occurrence. Controls are not always as sharp as they should be either. All things considered, I still would highly recommend this title to any gamer who has enjoyed Tomb Raider in the past. Crystal Dynamics has done an incredible job with the eye candy. Now if they can just tighten the nuts and bolts, they'll have a surefire winner. Expand
  23. MarkM
    Dec 18, 2008
    8
    One thing Eidos hasn't mastered in Tomb Raider is the Human Vs Lara Combat. The combat usually feels clunky & unrealistic. basically stupid AI. But, before you look away and agree. The main thing is that this game prefers that you do a bunch of fancy moves, tumble around, and take them out quick. Do that fancy new kick in the groin then headshot in slow motion LOL. The better you are One thing Eidos hasn't mastered in Tomb Raider is the Human Vs Lara Combat. The combat usually feels clunky & unrealistic. basically stupid AI. But, before you look away and agree. The main thing is that this game prefers that you do a bunch of fancy moves, tumble around, and take them out quick. Do that fancy new kick in the groin then headshot in slow motion LOL. The better you are at this the more fun the experience. As for Animal AI it is better, but you will notice its flaws as well. There is also clipping problems for NPC & Lara alike. The story is interesting though, and the environments too amazing to pass up. Unfortunatly you do run into invisible walls, especially in the ocean, but most of them are hard to reach and find out about anyway. If you like to adventure more than you like combat, which is at the core of Tomb Raider series, you love exploring this world. new controls can be painful at times. I suggest a PC gamepad, if you can find a good one. I still like Anniversary the most, as far as story & gameplay Collapse
  24. BobWigless
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    It's not perfect, but I really don't see the big problem with the camera. It's not perfect, neither are the graphics. At worst, hold off purchasing until after a few patches.
  25. MichaelE
    Dec 8, 2008
    8
    Although the camera can be tricky at times, the gameplay and stunning graphics in this game make up for any gripes I had about it.
  26. lennyR
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    nice graphics. nice story good gameplay exept the camera controls. the controls for the camera are sometimes anoying. 1 of the best tomb raiders ever
  27. IntelliMoo
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    You do get used to the quirky camera control, it's just the nature of the TR series. Combat is, well, kind of an afterthought for good measure, but good puzzle-break fun nonetheless. Underworld truly is epic and beautful -- the adventuring continues! I just hope it's longer than Legend.
  28. TonyB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Best Tomb Raider visuals and detail ever! Truly next-gen has arrived. Very well designed and challenging levels that are just pure joy for any Tomb Raider series fan. And luckily it isn't over in only 6 hours! Combat complaints are a bit overstated, it's no big deal, I just wish there was a sniper rifle to make it go faster sometimes.
  29. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    Yet again theres another tomb raider title... great graphics. Dying a million times is possible if u didnt make the game. Nicely laid out controls. More monsters here instead of humans so its kinda more exciting.
  30. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    The puzzles are puzzling. Its a love-it-or-hate-it kinda game. Great puzzles or frustrating puzzles its all up to you. For me, the puzzle sets are awesome! Got killed many times before solving them. However, they're frustrating as well as I don't have much time to play games, so the puzzles stops the progression of the story as a whole. So, basically, if you have the time and patience,The puzzles are puzzling. Its a love-it-or-hate-it kinda game. Great puzzles or frustrating puzzles its all up to you. For me, the puzzle sets are awesome! Got killed many times before solving them. However, they're frustrating as well as I don't have much time to play games, so the puzzles stops the progression of the story as a whole. So, basically, if you have the time and patience, TR:Underworld offers challenging puzzles for you to solve. Nice animated movements for Lara. Expand
  31. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't absorb Lara's personalityThis Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't absorb Lara's personality and empathize with her. The jump system sometimes is annoying, and don't obey you. Even with perfect jumps, and even when you have absolutely sure it won't miss.... the jump fails and you watch Lara die. If you like loneliness exploring game. Solitude, and drool over scenarios, sound, atmosphere. You can't miss this game. It's awesome. Expand
  32. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    I really like what was said about EA games and taking a lesson from them, as well as other companies whom seem to be "short changing" their consumers. The cameras still need work after all these years. The major thing I enjoyed about this game is the storyline. Perhaps it is because I have studied cultural anthropology and the correlations drawn are indeed interesting for mythology buffs.I really like what was said about EA games and taking a lesson from them, as well as other companies whom seem to be "short changing" their consumers. The cameras still need work after all these years. The major thing I enjoyed about this game is the storyline. Perhaps it is because I have studied cultural anthropology and the correlations drawn are indeed interesting for mythology buffs. In continuing the story of the Tomb Raider series, it serves this end well though, I haven't quite finished it. The graphics are pretty good and the fact that your not just jumping around ledges is nice also. It does fall short in terms of difficulty with climbing and sometimes you will die even though you don't fall far. The puzzles are not terribly challenging on the Tomb Raider mode, though I'm not sure about the other difficulty setting. It's worth a play through at least once or twice and easily fits well with the series. As for a comparison with Anniversary or Legend, in some ways (graphically, more combat, story progression) it excels but it's plagued with the same problems we have seen in other titles in the series. I really hope that the new Tomb Raider in 2012 will solve the problems with the camera and prove to be a better game overall. It's a move in the right direction, it just needs a little push. Hopefully when the new game is released in 2012, they will not have ignored the players. I think that could be a fatal mistake for the whole series, given it's age. Expand
  33. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    I really like this game, but i think that old TR's are better (like TR2, TRTLR etc.) But still this is a good game with some interesting puzzles, great graphics, music, sounds are also great, story - not so much but still good, also Lara looks good but other characters looks bad to me (like Amanda in my opinion). All in all TR: Underworld is a really good game! Especially on PC with maxedI really like this game, but i think that old TR's are better (like TR2, TRTLR etc.) But still this is a good game with some interesting puzzles, great graphics, music, sounds are also great, story - not so much but still good, also Lara looks good but other characters looks bad to me (like Amanda in my opinion). All in all TR: Underworld is a really good game! Especially on PC with maxed out settings ;-) Expand
  34. Oct 21, 2014
    8
    Underworld is the last chapter of Crystal Dynamics' trilogy that began with Legend and continued through Anniversary. As a whole, I thought they did an excellent job of capturing the spirit of the original Tomb Raider while significantly improving the graphics, gameplay mechanics, interface, and player control of Lara. Underworld improves on Anniversary visually with more naturalUnderworld is the last chapter of Crystal Dynamics' trilogy that began with Legend and continued through Anniversary. As a whole, I thought they did an excellent job of capturing the spirit of the original Tomb Raider while significantly improving the graphics, gameplay mechanics, interface, and player control of Lara. Underworld improves on Anniversary visually with more natural textures, reflections, and light/shadow effects. The Thailand segment of the game in particular is gorgeous. It also adds some terrific new gameplay mechanics like chimney climbing, walking on and vaulting from the top of poles, and rock climbing. It also made good use of the motorcycle in a couple of the later missions.

    Where Underworld falls short of Anniversary a little bit is that the puzzles on the whole aren't as intricate or elaborate. Anniversary really set the bar high with some of the most ambitiously designed puzzles I have ever seen in a game. But Underworld is still a fun challenge nevertheless. I also, as amazed as I am to say this, miss a real boss battle in Underworld. Boss fights in Tomb Raider have never been that impressive and success is always based on your figuring out the pattern to beat it. Still, having those occasional showdowns do provide a sense of closure to the bigger chapters of the game.

    The ending itself felt rushed, and I was surprised after completing the final puzzle (which was a fun and visually impressive scene), it went straight into cut scenes and then the game was over. Underworld would have benefited greatly from one final showdown between Lara and Natla to bring the trilogy to an epic conclusion. (she is there during the last puzzle, but merely as a distraction while you focus on completing it) The ending does wrap up the story about what happened to Lara's mother, but it doesn't feel satisfying the way it could have.

    Underworld is still a must-play for any Tomb Raider fan, it is entertaining throughout.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A visually stunning, epic adventure that continues Crystal Dynamics' excellent run. We reckon it's the best completely original Tomb Raider (Anniversary was, of course, a remake) we've had in years, and is only let down by the odd control quirk and camera issue.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  3. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.