User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 196

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    The puzzles are puzzling. Its a love-it-or-hate-it kinda game. Great puzzles or frustrating puzzles its all up to you. For me, the puzzle sets are awesome! Got killed many times before solving them. However, they're frustrating as well as I don't have much time to play games, so the puzzles stops the progression of the story as a whole. So, basically, if you have the time and patience, TR:Underworld offers challenging puzzles for you to solve. Nice animated movements for Lara. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't absorb Lara's personality and empathize with her. The jump system sometimes is annoying, and don't obey you. Even with perfect jumps, and even when you have absolutely sure it won't miss.... the jump fails and you watch Lara die. If you like loneliness exploring game. Solitude, and drool over scenarios, sound, atmosphere. You can't miss this game. It's awesome. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    I could give a flying burrito for any opinion that makes no sense to me. It's not why i do reviews. This game is fun thats number one.. number two is story and 3 is graphics and this game hits the mark on all 3. Tomb Raider stays true to its mark of excellence. As an avid Tomb Raider fan of many years since the first to be exact i can truly say i enjoyed this as much as the first if not more. However i am only giving it a nine because i do believe it could have been a bit better but its still worth the price and well worth the time. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    just finished it, after 12 hour with a little goofing arround on the motorbike and several death (caused by me, human error and some little bugs). i like it, the start is a bit boring, but the varying level design keept me going. the sounds and the music are nice, the riddles sometimes very tricky and time consuming- you get what you pay for, a real tomb raider game. the story is okay for this genre, the graphics sweet for a 2008 production.
    the animations are mostly realistic, exept when you die, then lara becomes a bouncy ball.

    negative is that the steam in game overlay doesnt work for any reason, so you wont be able to take any screenshots, nor can you use the steam friends application. all together its still worth your money.
    Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    I really like this game, but i think that old TR's are better (like TR2, TRTLR etc.) But still this is a good game with some interesting puzzles, great graphics, music, sounds are also great, story - not so much but still good, also Lara looks good but other characters looks bad to me (like Amanda in my opinion). All in all TR: Underworld is a really good game! Especially on PC with maxed out settings ;-) Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    one of my favorite game
    everything is great in the game story,graphics,game play,musics
    especially those puzzle and also the environment
    now a days those things are rare in games
    if compare it with tomb raider 2013,i still think underworld was far better faaaarrrrr...
  7. May 2, 2013
    10
    Underworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing the game(after saving your progress) and restarting the game. Never had any issues beyond that. For best results make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements because in the end you cannot blame the game if your computer cannot keep up. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    On PC its a mind blowing game with graphics and simple and suttle touches that really make this game even greater than all Raiders before it Along with this there are some much needed gameplay fixes that this game fixed The story is fantastic and a great wrap up to the trilogy The only thing that lets this game down are the 2D charcters and the facts you still have to fight the camera more than the enimes Now for the camera the camera is constanly trying to show this beutiful world as you jump from ledge to ledge but the game does not do this correctly as it feels like this Yeah thanks mate pretty graphics but i have already fallen to my death ten times because i looked. Fear not Tomb Raider fans its a great game and it will feel true to the trilogy and series This game is innovative and exiting but still contains the natural Raider bugs Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Based on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something they say its a bad game. Even though the game "starts" you off without a tutorial it actually teaches you tips and such along the way. If you need help with jumping and figuring out puzzles isn't that what walkthroughs are for? If you want to figure it out yourself keep trying until you get it or take a break and try again later. The Tomb Raider games obviously are for people who have to eventually stop and think on how to solve something in particular. I really enjoyed most of this series and I haven't finished the whole thing. The only issue I had with the game is the fact that there was so much water!!! I liked the classic running around, jumping on things, and not having to swim a whole lot. But other then that I seriously enjoyed the game!!! Just as I think I'll enjoy all the others. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A visually stunning, epic adventure that continues Crystal Dynamics' excellent run. We reckon it's the best completely original Tomb Raider (Anniversary was, of course, a remake) we've had in years, and is only let down by the odd control quirk and camera issue.
  2. We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  3. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.