User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 278
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaneNikoloski
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    It is the best game right now(ever).All the way from gaphics to the way she looks and moves, i mean it is badass.The story is realy good and deep and it is made out perfectly.Of all the games out now and those thet are about to come out"They have no chance with Lara".
  2. SimonS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Superb game, a beautiful story in a beautiful surrounding (and Lara doesn
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    congratulations. this is one of the worst console ports that ever have been made. the camera is irritating. the movements are chunky. the shooting is a joke. don't waste your money for this abortion.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    En aspecto grafico un 10. Asi como en el modelado de Lara y sus movimientos.
    Sin embargo la historia es para mi una patata. Empieza bastante bien, prometedor pero se va deinflando poco a poco hasta acabar en patata. Los escenarios son excelentes (con alguna excepción). En general es jugable y divertido a ratos (aunque lo terminas en muy pocas horas), sin embargo no es un buen tomb raider
    En aspecto grafico un 10. Asi como en el modelado de Lara y sus movimientos.
    Sin embargo la historia es para mi una patata. Empieza bastante bien, prometedor pero se va deinflando poco a poco hasta acabar en patata. Los escenarios son excelentes (con alguna excepción). En general es jugable y divertido a ratos (aunque lo terminas en muy pocas horas), sin embargo no es un buen tomb raider ni define a la saga.
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    10
    Underworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing theUnderworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing the game(after saving your progress) and restarting the game. Never had any issues beyond that. For best results make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements because in the end you cannot blame the game if your computer cannot keep up. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider: Underworld is very visually appealing… No question! But the dodgy camera angles and obscure bugs in this game are a considerable negative… When Lara finds herself stuck in rocks and doing odd jitter dances it does get slightly tedious… However, the environments are absolutely brilliant and, when Lara is behaving, it’s an amazing adventure game. It also brings back to play someTomb Raider: Underworld is very visually appealing… No question! But the dodgy camera angles and obscure bugs in this game are a considerable negative… When Lara finds herself stuck in rocks and doing odd jitter dances it does get slightly tedious… However, the environments are absolutely brilliant and, when Lara is behaving, it’s an amazing adventure game. It also brings back to play some of the puzzles that we originally loved from the older generation Tomb Raiders… All in all this is a very decent game and feel it was a step in the right direction… And with the story finally complete from the trilogy I look forward to the future instalments. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    7
    There are some good ideas in this Tomb Raider!
    - Big and open level
    - The motocycle is pretty fun
    - The atmosphere is suceeded
    - Graphisms are nice
    - The level design too

    However:
    -The ending is very bad
    - The story is disapointing
    - IA is failed
  8. Oct 14, 2014
    7
    Несомненно, офигенная игра, но (пишу минусы, плюсы и так ясны):

    - ужасная система боя с врагами - точнее её попросту нет. Зажал ПКМ и стреляешь по супостату автоматически и маневрируя в сторону (или отбегая). - Игра вышла 2008 года,а графика - так себе. Игры 2008 имели несколько лучшую графику, нежели TR: Underworld. - Нет русской озвучки - не беда (хоть и неудобно), а вот то, что
    Несомненно, офигенная игра, но (пишу минусы, плюсы и так ясны):

    - ужасная система боя с врагами - точнее её попросту нет. Зажал ПКМ и стреляешь по супостату автоматически и маневрируя в сторону (или отбегая).

    - Игра вышла 2008 года,а графика - так себе. Игры 2008 имели несколько лучшую графику, нежели TR: Underworld.

    - Нет русской озвучки - не беда (хоть и неудобно), а вот то, что половина всех клавиш представляют из себя квадратики - чертовски неудобно. В особенности когда разбираешься как стрелять канатом, кидать гранаты, использовать аптечку и прочие.

    7/10
    Expand
  9. MikeH
    Jan 15, 2009
    6
    Pretty visuals, a problematic camera and gameplay that has been dumbed down (though not as much as PoP). Give me a few ways to solve problems, don't magnetically correct badly timed jumps, give me a challenge! TR: Legend and TR: Anniversary are both better games which are more deserving of your time. Legend had better combat, Anniversary had better level design - funny that, Pretty visuals, a problematic camera and gameplay that has been dumbed down (though not as much as PoP). Give me a few ways to solve problems, don't magnetically correct badly timed jumps, give me a challenge! TR: Legend and TR: Anniversary are both better games which are more deserving of your time. Legend had better combat, Anniversary had better level design - funny that, considering it was a remake of the original... St Francis' Folly is a perfect example of the kind of level design totally lacking in Underworld. Oh, and the plot? Whatever. New plot, please, that doesn't make me travel to Cambodia to go through Incan ruins to find Norse mythology or whatever that was all about... Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    one of my favorite game
    everything is great in the game story,graphics,game play,musics
    especially those puzzle and also the environment
    now a days those things are rare in games
    if compare it with tomb raider 2013,i still think underworld was far better faaaarrrrr...
  11. FrankV
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed this chapter in Lara's long career. The graphics and gameplay were the best yet.
  12. AndrewP
    Jan 19, 2009
    5
    A game with huge potential marred by bugs and inconsistencies. Leaps of faith and random deaths are the order of the day as one tries to discover which paths are allowed and which are decorative. Clumsy and over long character animations don't help matters and neither does occasionally getting stuck in the scenery. Disappointing (and short).
  13. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    It's an ok game, for an older one. If you like puzzles and the challenge of running/grabbing/jumping, then this game is for you. About halfway I got a bit bored because every level was a puzzle...no action other than killing a few skeletons and spiders along the way. So I agree with the general rating of about 7.5. The newest Tomb Raider is of course way better.
  14. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    This game is fun and the graphics are awesome. Anyone looking for better should hold their tongue.. You know this is as good as it gets till the 2013 release..
  15. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Based on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something theyBased on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something they say its a bad game. Even though the game "starts" you off without a tutorial it actually teaches you tips and such along the way. If you need help with jumping and figuring out puzzles isn't that what walkthroughs are for? If you want to figure it out yourself keep trying until you get it or take a break and try again later. The Tomb Raider games obviously are for people who have to eventually stop and think on how to solve something in particular. I really enjoyed most of this series and I haven't finished the whole thing. The only issue I had with the game is the fact that there was so much water!!! I liked the classic running around, jumping on things, and not having to swim a whole lot. But other then that I seriously enjoyed the game!!! Just as I think I'll enjoy all the others. Expand
  16. Pixelated
    Nov 24, 2008
    4
    We all know Eidos is not the greatest at making games. But after a dozen or so Tomb Raiders you would think they could fix the persistent problems the series has had. What's with the awful camera controls again? I mean this is an issue that goes all the way back to.. well, it goes back years! Just another publisher pushing a game out the door in time for the holidays. They say piracy We all know Eidos is not the greatest at making games. But after a dozen or so Tomb Raiders you would think they could fix the persistent problems the series has had. What's with the awful camera controls again? I mean this is an issue that goes all the way back to.. well, it goes back years! Just another publisher pushing a game out the door in time for the holidays. They say piracy is killing the industry but I think it's just forcing these studios to make good games. If they want to make money they need to release games worth $50, not buggy ports. EA is learning the hard way and a relatively small publisher like Eidos should take notice and polish their games a lot more or risk releasing another flop. Then blaming piracy for their money problems. The bottom line is that good games sell and sorry games get pirated instead. Expand
  17. YannC
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Very nice game, good gameplay and good story. Pc version is better than xbox 360 version !! I like this game ;)
  18. WarwickA
    Dec 2, 2008
    5
    Mindless pot-kicking repetitiveness. The demo contains all you'll experience in the game. Rated 5 just because the graphics are so good.
  19. ElBarto
    Dec 25, 2009
    5
    As said before, the camere controls are all over the place I bought the PC version Also the way how Lara moves, often she does not what you want her to do and have to put the camera position in the right place before to make a jump because the controls are worthless No option either to configure the buttons of a controller if you connect one, worthless configuration and a shame in these As said before, the camere controls are all over the place I bought the PC version Also the way how Lara moves, often she does not what you want her to do and have to put the camera position in the right place before to make a jump because the controls are worthless No option either to configure the buttons of a controller if you connect one, worthless configuration and a shame in these times. Allthough average 50% of my system resources are being used there is a significant drop in framerates sometimes, this is very typical for a game developed for the Xbox and poorly ported to the pc Without any doubt one of the better games of Tombraider but with some serious flaws which could have been solved if some more time was spend in the controls and movements of Lara Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    The graphics and sound are pretty good in the game. The puzzles and combat were on the easy side but were good enough to get me to finish the game. Story is bad and uninteresting. The controls and camera are TERRIBLE. They often feel like they are fighting against you when playing. It is especially frustrating when you are trying to make a jump. If they worked better game might be a 7, as is 5.
  21. PaulS
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    This is the best of the series. The graphics are superb, layouts and scenery very realistic and puzzles more thoughtful. Less emphasis on shooting and more on thinking.
  22. shaunb
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    this game is brilliant its much better than all the other tomb raider games. An well just as you think the would run out of idears for lara they come up with this its great. Also the graphics and control system are better than in anyother tomb raider yet. I dont get how people can rate it only a 6 or sumthin because its the best game in the franchise.
  23. DavidP
    Nov 28, 2008
    4
    Whan I saw the trailer I thought TR:U could be worth a test. The demo changed my mind. Lara and the graphics looks better than ever before. Who cares? While trying to adjust the camera you jump through an unreal world, do unreal moves (which means you press a button and Lara does the moves herself) and destroy everything you see, from tigers to sharks, from spiders to vases. No, you dont Whan I saw the trailer I thought TR:U could be worth a test. The demo changed my mind. Lara and the graphics looks better than ever before. Who cares? While trying to adjust the camera you jump through an unreal world, do unreal moves (which means you press a button and Lara does the moves herself) and destroy everything you see, from tigers to sharks, from spiders to vases. No, you dont have to aim yourself, the game does this automatically. Reloading? Nope. Give attention that you dont miss a treasure? No, the game shows you. Smooth movement? No, that would be boring wouldn't it? Nonlinear gameplay? No. Anything else that you dont know from all the other TR? No. So if you like to watch Laras curves while hanging from a cliff with one hand and automatically shooting bats (!) with the other hand you could play this game, but dont expect more. Expand
  24. DrDecree
    Dec 5, 2009
    3
    For seasoned gamers who are new to the franchise, it's an unbearably old-school, slow snorefest with gameplay, simplicity, and issues that should have been grown out of 10 years ago.
  25. Nov 6, 2012
    1
    As game Designer this is what I seen in 1 hour of playing that already had me un install this terrible piece of garbage. Graphic and effects anyone with half a brain can do. The game play was beyond horrible, constant button issues that failed to deliver ease of play. Half the time I would press jump and do something else. I would get stuck nearly every ten minutes on geometry. ControlsAs game Designer this is what I seen in 1 hour of playing that already had me un install this terrible piece of garbage. Graphic and effects anyone with half a brain can do. The game play was beyond horrible, constant button issues that failed to deliver ease of play. Half the time I would press jump and do something else. I would get stuck nearly every ten minutes on geometry. Controls and person in charge of allowing this should be murdered in cold blood. Worst waste of money on a game I have played in ten year. WTF happened to this series!! Expand
  26. May 22, 2015
    9
    Full of monsters, Full of adventure and secrets, levels are wide and great, graphics colors environments are great as well,
    no doubt it is tom raider game so don't hesitate to get this
  27. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Gamespot UK journalist Guy Cocker revealed the tactic in a Twitter post on Wednesday that said:
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    I don't think the Tomb Raider games have ever been good. Like, ever. They've never looked like the sort of quality game that I could embrace and point to as something appealing. Which is funny, because Naughty Dog basically took the Tomb Raider theme, made a gender change, and put out 2 really great games. That's kinda sad when you think about, that it had to take some pretenders to theI don't think the Tomb Raider games have ever been good. Like, ever. They've never looked like the sort of quality game that I could embrace and point to as something appealing. Which is funny, because Naughty Dog basically took the Tomb Raider theme, made a gender change, and put out 2 really great games. That's kinda sad when you think about, that it had to take some pretenders to the throne to actually make good games.

    Lara's a sex symbol in gaming, that's quite obvious. But that fact alone has never ever been able to get me to care about the games. Like, I'm as much of a red-blooded heterosexual male as the next gamer, but uh... if I want porn, I can find porn. It's all over the internet. Very easy to find. Even some super kinky stuff. I don't need it in my video games. And that whole idea of trying to sell the games based on Lara's massive boobs, that always turned me off, ironically. It just seemed very shallow and insulting and kinda desperate.

    Now, I've actually only played one Tomb Raider game, and it was the last one, Underworld. Is it fair to judge an entire franchise on one game? If you think about it, the latest game in a series is supposed to have all the improvements and refinements and perfected elements of each previous game, right? So if Underworld wasn't gonna do it, I doubt my opinion would have improved by playing the older ones.

    And uh, I hated Underworld. It really stunk to high heaven. I am really really glad I didn't play any TR games in the days of yore, judging by what I got in Underworld. First of all, the platforming is not that great. It felt pretty damn stiff and clunky. On its face, it's probably the strongest element of Underworld, but compared to contemporaries like Prince of Persia or Assassin's Creed, and it really fails. It's just not good enough anymore. Of course, there are people out there who actually dislike the sort of platforming in PoP/AC, so it's all personal preference. But I myself couldn't get onboard with it.

    Now, the combat. That's a really strong factor for me in games. The combat in Underworld is complete **** and far far worse qualitatively then the platforming. First off, manual aim seems almost nonexistent. The level of fidelity isn't there, you absolutely aren't capable of aiming at longer distances at anyone. Either it's too inaccurate or your bullets just seem to phase out of existence past 15 feet. 15 feet! How the hell can a developer only provide gunplay within 15 feet?

    So manual aiming is terrible. I guess they want you to use their lock-on aiming. But again, this only seems to lock-on within 15 feet. You can't fire at enemies at medium ranges. I have no idea why. And the whole idea of lock-on aiming is repugnant to me. I don't need to have the game aim for me. I didn't need it in Wolfenstein 3D, Doom, Quake, Unreal, Rainbow Six, Battlefield, Medal of Honor, Call of Duty, Crysis, Gears of War, Mass Effect, Uncharted, etc... I basically haven't needed or wanted it in about 17 years. Yet that seems to be how they want you to aim in Underworld. I hated that, it felt lazy and out of touch with reality.

    And the dual pistols contain infinite ammo. Why would pistols have infinite ammo? How does that make any sense? Where would Lara fit infinite ammo into her clothes? I hated it when Ubisoft gave infinite pistol ammo in Rainbow Six Vegas and SC Conviction and apparently they learned it from the Tomb Raider games. Also, the levels had a lot of peculiarities that really felt unpolished. Near the beginning of the game, Lara is onboard her fancy expensive yacht and is about to go diving for some treasure. Well, you can't actually explore this yacht, because there are invisible walls everywhere. There's some stairs leading up to the controls of the yacht, but you run into an invisible wall right at the stairs. Why would you do that? What the hell is the point of having all these boundaries on this boat? I dunno, but it was lame.

    So yea, all in all, Underworld seemed like a terrible game. I did not finish it. The combat felt awful and the platforming was merely clumsy. Not a good experience, or even a mediocre experience.
    Expand
  29. AngryConsumer
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    I was all primed to buy this game... prior to eidos having a company artificially alter the metacritic score by lobbying reviewers to delay their scores. Seriously, what possible justification is there for a site like metacritic if publishers just game the system. Thanks, but this one will be a torrent, and I may send eidos a check for 20 bucks if it pass MY personal review. Otherwise,I was all primed to buy this game... prior to eidos having a company artificially alter the metacritic score by lobbying reviewers to delay their scores. Seriously, what possible justification is there for a site like metacritic if publishers just game the system. Thanks, but this one will be a torrent, and I may send eidos a check for 20 bucks if it pass MY personal review. Otherwise, they can suck a lemon. Way to lose a sale, brainiacs. Expand
  30. RogerVernon
    Dec 22, 2008
    4
    This game sucks so hard not even photons can escape. Seriously. BAD. F'ing BAD. You get to a certain point and your saved games up and F'ing disappear. The code QA was s***canned in India. It crashed on a regular basis. Move along, do not give Eidos any money. They LOOSE.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A visually stunning, epic adventure that continues Crystal Dynamics' excellent run. We reckon it's the best completely original Tomb Raider (Anniversary was, of course, a remake) we've had in years, and is only let down by the odd control quirk and camera issue.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  3. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.