Tomb Raider: Underworld Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Master your surroundings: Reach new heights with the broadest range of acrobatic abilities and utilize objects within the environment to uncover new paths to explore. Explore epic and unknown worlds: Discover ancient mysteries of the underworld hidden within the coast of Thailand, frozen islands of the Arctic Sea, the jungles of Mexico, and more. Each level is an elaborate multi-stage puzzle masked within an interactive environmental playground offering more flexibility over how the area is solved. New range of combat options: Choose to pacify or kill, target multiple enemies at once with the new dual-target system, and shoot with one hand while suspended with the other. New state-of-the-art gear: Utilize the latest technology in Lara's upgraded inventory to navigate the world including: Active Sonar map: A revolutionary new tool that emits an active sonar ping to create a 3D image of Lara's surroundings, perfect for uncovering hidden items and locations; Multi-purpose grapple: A claw-like device with a high-tension cable designed for climbing, rappelling, performing wall runs and manipulating objects within the environment; All-terrain hybrid motorbike: A unique vehicle design built to drive on everything from mud to snow and ice. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. But it's the puzzles that elevate Underworld to new heights. [Jan 2009, p.54]
  2. Lush, satisfying and thoughtful. [Jan 2009, p.92]
  3. Tomb Raider: Underworld is a source of joy as long as everything works as intended and Lara follows the controls, leading the player to beautiful panoramas, seamlessly moving from gameplay to cut-scene. But at the same time, the game can be quite depressing if Lara doesn't reach moving platforms, the camera plays up and it's hard to solve a problem. It's an emotional roller coaster and great entertainment.
  4. Tomb Raider: Underword manages to impress on so many levels.
  5. We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  6. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.
  7. Chalk this one up as another PC adaptation hemmed-in by the need to make it all work on the PlayStation 3 If Lara's got a saving grace, it's that she's the archetypal 'pub game' girl. To the sozzled, life isn't an intricate cornucopia of detail and possibility, it's a pinball machine one gets hurled through, head first; linear and idiot-proof. [January 2009, p.53]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 51
  2. Negative: 12 out of 51
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Based on what other people have said about how "bad" this game is, I have to seriously disagree with that. I don't understand how this game is considered bad whatsoever! Graphics don't make a game, its the game's story-line and characters that makes the game what it is! Yet every now and then I see dorks who think graphics is what makes a game or just because they can't pass something they say its a bad game. Even though the game "starts" you off without a tutorial it actually teaches you tips and such along the way. If you need help with jumping and figuring out puzzles isn't that what walkthroughs are for? If you want to figure it out yourself keep trying until you get it or take a break and try again later. The Tomb Raider games obviously are for people who have to eventually stop and think on how to solve something in particular. I really enjoyed most of this series and I haven't finished the whole thing. The only issue I had with the game is the fact that there was so much water!!! I liked the classic running around, jumping on things, and not having to swim a whole lot. But other then that I seriously enjoyed the game!!! Just as I think I'll enjoy all the others. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    I could give a flying burrito for any opinion that makes no sense to me. It's not why i do reviews. This game is fun thats number one.. number two is story and 3 is graphics and this game hits the mark on all 3. Tomb Raider stays true to its mark of excellence. As an avid Tomb Raider fan of many years since the first to be exact i can truly say i enjoyed this as much as the first if not more. However i am only giving it a nine because i do believe it could have been a bit better but its still worth the price and well worth the time. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    one of my favorite game
    everything is great in the game story,graphics,game play,musics
    especially those puzzle and also the environment

    now a days those things are rare in games
    if compare it with tomb raider 2013,i still think underworld was far better faaaarrrrr...
    Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    Yet again theres another tomb raider title... great graphics. Dying a million times is possible if u didnt make the game. Nicely laid out controls. More monsters here instead of humans so its kinda more exciting. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider: Underworld is very visually appealing… No question! But the dodgy camera angles and obscure bugs in this game are a considerable negative… When Lara finds herself stuck in rocks and doing odd jitter dances it does get slightly tedious… However, the environments are absolutely brilliant and, when Lara is behaving, it’s an amazing adventure game. It also brings back to play some of the puzzles that we originally loved from the older generation Tomb Raiders… All in all this is a very decent game and feel it was a step in the right direction… And with the story finally complete from the trilogy I look forward to the future instalments. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2012
    6
    they improved the graphics and i like how u dont need medical bags for ur health after a moment it just heal herself . i have been playing the Tomb Raider when i am like 4. (16 now) well cuz my dad force me to play he said its a brain exercises to solve the action problems in tomb raider and it used to scared the **** outta me whenever a enemy pop out from no where. are they gonna make another tomb raider after underworld? cuz i dont like the ending in Underworld, i played the game 5 hours straight without resting just to see the ending. so plz make another game after Underworld!!!!!!
    i think the tomb raider series was so-so. my one thing i dont really like it is because i think i have to think too much in this game for wat to do next instead telling u wat to do like Uncharted.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    1
    As game Designer this is what I seen in 1 hour of playing that already had me un install this terrible piece of garbage. Graphic and effects anyone with half a brain can do. The game play was beyond horrible, constant button issues that failed to deliver ease of play. Half the time I would press jump and do something else. I would get stuck nearly every ten minutes on geometry. Controls and person in charge of allowing this should be murdered in cold blood. Worst waste of money on a game I have played in ten year. WTF happened to this series!! Expand

See all 51 User Reviews