Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Master your surroundings: Reach new heights with the broadest range of acrobatic abilities and utilize objects within the environment to uncover new paths to explore. Explore epic and unknown worlds: Discover ancient mysteries of the underworld hidden within the coast of Thailand, frozen islands of the Arctic Sea, the jungles of Mexico, and more. Each level is an elaborate multi-stage puzzle masked within an interactive environmental playground offering more flexibility over how the area is solved. New range of combat options: Choose to pacify or kill, target multiple enemies at once with the new dual-target system, and shoot with one hand while suspended with the other. New state-of-the-art gear: Utilize the latest technology in Lara's upgraded inventory to navigate the world including: Active Sonar map: A revolutionary new tool that emits an active sonar ping to create a 3D image of Lara's surroundings, perfect for uncovering hidden items and locations; Multi-purpose grapple: A claw-like device with a high-tension cable designed for climbing, rappelling, performing wall runs and manipulating objects within the environment; All-terrain hybrid motorbike: A unique vehicle design built to drive on everything from mud to snow and ice. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. But it's the puzzles that elevate Underworld to new heights. [Jan 2009, p.54]
  2. Lush, satisfying and thoughtful. [Jan 2009, p.92]
  3. Tomb Raider: Underworld is a source of joy as long as everything works as intended and Lara follows the controls, leading the player to beautiful panoramas, seamlessly moving from gameplay to cut-scene. But at the same time, the game can be quite depressing if Lara doesn't reach moving platforms, the camera plays up and it's hard to solve a problem. It's an emotional roller coaster and great entertainment.
  4. Tomb Raider: Underword manages to impress on so many levels.
  5. We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  6. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.
  7. Chalk this one up as another PC adaptation hemmed-in by the need to make it all work on the PlayStation 3 If Lara's got a saving grace, it's that she's the archetypal 'pub game' girl. To the sozzled, life isn't an intricate cornucopia of detail and possibility, it's a pinball machine one gets hurled through, head first; linear and idiot-proof. [January 2009, p.53]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 12 out of 53
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Tomb raider Underworld is a fantastic game. Even though they ended the series and took a new approach with Lara this game is well worth the money its still one of my favorite games to date. 10/10 Expand
  2. May 2, 2013
    10
    Underworld is arguably the best in the Tomb Raider series(haven't played the newly released Tomb Raider yet). Not only were there improvements from Anniversary, but you get what you expect from any Tomb Raider game: 1) Great story, 2) Great exotic locations, 3) "Puzzles" that make you think. Controls may "stick" due to extended hours of gameplay, but this is easily fixed by closing the game(after saving your progress) and restarting the game. Never had any issues beyond that. For best results make sure your computer meets the minimum requirements because in the end you cannot blame the game if your computer cannot keep up. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    On PC its a mind blowing game with graphics and simple and suttle touches that really make this game even greater than all Raiders before it Along with this there are some much needed gameplay fixes that this game fixed The story is fantastic and a great wrap up to the trilogy The only thing that lets this game down are the 2D charcters and the facts you still have to fight the camera more than the enimes Now for the camera the camera is constanly trying to show this beutiful world as you jump from ledge to ledge but the game does not do this correctly as it feels like this Yeah thanks mate pretty graphics but i have already fallen to my death ten times because i looked. Fear not Tomb Raider fans its a great game and it will feel true to the trilogy and series This game is innovative and exiting but still contains the natural Raider bugs Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    Yet again theres another tomb raider title... great graphics. Dying a million times is possible if u didnt make the game. Nicely laid out controls. More monsters here instead of humans so its kinda more exciting. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    It's an ok game, for an older one. If you like puzzles and the challenge of running/grabbing/jumping, then this game is for you. About halfway I got a bit bored because every level was a puzzle...no action other than killing a few skeletons and spiders along the way. So I agree with the general rating of about 7.5. The newest Tomb Raider is of course way better. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    This game is arguably one of the worst in the franchise, alongside Angel of Darkness of course. Or maybe even more problematic, is the fact that Tomb Raider was never a very strong series to begin with. The simple fact that they haven't seemed to do anything to the core gameplay aside from re-touching-up her breasts or facial features and physical appearance, you might say they've hardly looked at any real problems with the series seriously. Both Legend and Anniversary are really not "bad" by any means and they both made great strides in a good many ways to improving the mechanics in places where they were not very strong at all. In fact, both of those titles are fairly competent, look good and play well too. Underworld is very generic. It feels like an older game in the series, with bugs all over the place, weird dilemmas that can only be attributed to poorly thought out concepts and a terrible camera. Paired with the unintuitive nature of the game, plopping you straight into the Ocean to start solving a rather tedious puzzle, its rather dull and on the pandering side with all the sexuality of the wet suit you find Lara in from the start. In fact, it would seem the only things here that have changed are in fact Lara's breast size and minor facial details. Coincidentally she looks rather cartoon-like and her animations are somewhat bizarre. The simple fact that we may actually see a reboot of the series that may actually make her look like a human being anatomically is more promising than some of the well established game play mechanics already set in motion. Did I mention how terrible the game looks? My goodness it runs fine on PC hardware, but its hard to imagine this on a console. The environment is fairly depressing, what with the zero amount of time you will see Lara interacting with it and perhaps that it what was really missing here. Their is no sense of "adventure." You move around the environment, these tiny little boxes of linear progression. Rather it should be that the environment moves around you and perhaps you even feel a little mystified by it all. Tomb Raider has always needed wide-open areas and its disheartening to see Lara always tossed inside a tiny cave somewhere to "explore" and do menial puzzle related tasks. Maybe its why it feels so limited to me. It'd be like if they made a God of War game with all the combat taken out and only the lever-pulling feature left in. Speaking of which, the combat is still terrible, and I really hope the next game or reboot of the series will finally feature some gritty close-combat that doesn't feel like Saturday morning cartoon show. I want to see grit, not boobs, or a wet suit and I want to see character development that isn't based on the two movies starring Angelina Jolie, since apparently this one is some sort of strange spin-off of that material. I want to know that she isn't the only character in the entire world that does this sort of thing. Like Indiana Jones, we need a sense of adventure to really like the Tomb Raider series and not this weird robot ego driven sexy universe of impracticality. I'm guessing if the next major game doesn't do well, it'll probably be the last we see of Lara Croft for awhile and maybe that won't be such a big deal. The games have mostly all been quite mediocre and don't seem to stand up well to the test of time. Perhaps Lara is indeed this mysterious and wonderful character that we've just never quite been shown yet. Or maybe we just want to see her more nude in each game than the last one. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    1
    As game Designer this is what I seen in 1 hour of playing that already had me un install this terrible piece of garbage. Graphic and effects anyone with half a brain can do. The game play was beyond horrible, constant button issues that failed to deliver ease of play. Half the time I would press jump and do something else. I would get stuck nearly every ten minutes on geometry. Controls and person in charge of allowing this should be murdered in cold blood. Worst waste of money on a game I have played in ten year. WTF happened to this series!! Expand

See all 53 User Reviews