User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2935 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    2
    Cut scene, quick time event, cut scene, quick time event, cut scene, quick time event, I freaking hate developers who ruin games like that. I just want to control the character myself, Is that too much to ask nowadays? If I want good story, I go and watch a movie or read a book. Why do devs have to put this linear cinematic push a button garbage into video games?
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    Tomb Raider (the reboot) is less of a game and more of a movie. First lets get the pro's out of the way: -The game is visually appealing. The atmosphere is set perfectly for each moment of the game. -Lara, the player's character, is well developed throughout the story of the 'game'. -Voice acting is good. Thats it for everything good about this game. Now for the con's: -Even though Lara is a great character, almost every other character is boring and 2-dimensional. You don't feel any connection with any of them.
    -Way too many cut scenes! Especially at the beginning of the game. Also, there are some sections which severely restrict the player's control. This isn't fun.
    -The dreaded quick-time event. There are also too many of them, and they appear when you least think. You never know if it will be a cut scene, or a random quick-time event. They aren't built into the combat system very well either. The only time I ever died was to this atrocity of a gameplay mechanic. Also, did I mention they aren't fun?
    -The so-called "platforming" is ridiculously easy. This is the one area they could have went crazy with, but they decided to play it safe and make it so easy even a toddler could beat it.
    -Hand-holding gameplay. Are you lost? Just use your 'survival instincts' to point you the direction you need to go. You seriously don't even need this because the areas are smaller than they look, and the game is mostly linear. You miss all your shots on the wolf pack thats about to eat you alive? Don't worry, we will toss some QTEs your way so you don't die right away. Regenerating health? Check. Frequent checkpoints? Check. Lackluster AI? Check.
    -Simplistic puzzle elements. Once in while, you get puzzles. Needless to say, most of them require little to no thinking on your part. There usually only a few elements to the puzzle, and even if you get stuck, you can use your 'survival instincts' to help you point out the elements.
    -Music is forgettable. I don't think I need to explain this further.
    -Story is average.
    -Lack of varied weaponry. You got your bow, pistol, and shotgun. Thats it, unless you want to count the axe that you use to pry open doors among other things.
    -Multiplayer mode... I don't even want to get into this. Tomb Raider has always been a single player game.


    tl;dr version:
    Overall, this game is just too generic. It looks pretty, but thats about it. I am disappointed in how it turned out.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games where you get so involved with the character and with the visuals surrounding it. The story line is amazing the sound effect are awesome. The multiplayer is even not that bad I actually enjoyed playing a litle bit of it. I think this is one of my favorite so far this year.
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    As far as a 3rd person action/adventure game goes this is very good, as far as a Tomb raider game goes it's not too bad but it could be a lot better. From the perspective of a reboot from a great series this is certainly a nice breath of fresh air and there is a lot great things that has been put into this game: The environments and visuals are some of the best I've seen in a 3rd person game let a lone an action game for current generation technology. The combat system and mechanics are a joy to play and are free flowing and easy to control, the AI is pretty smart and react accordingly to their surroundings, character development is actually quite good considering a lot of people are saying they're 2 dimensional it's still a good story/plot all in all. These are some of the great things this game ha to offer. However I do feel that this game is missing something, it's missing the Indianna Jones style tomb/booby traps explorations we all grew to love in a Tomb Raider game. Don't get me wrong this game has tombs, it has exploration but it just doesn't quite feel the same and that brings me back to my point as a 3rd person action/adventure game this concept would be fine but as it's Tomb Raider I really crave this and that's why I will give Crystal Dynamics the benefit of the doubt and hope they add these important features for any forthcoming sequels. All in all a decent game and deserves a respectable score, however if you're looking for the true Tomb Raider feel you may be left slightly dissapointed. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    3
    The QTE's outnumber the actual puzzles, the controls and camera are clunky way too often that is, when you do actually have control (the game's ai will modify your trajectory so no precision is needed). The combat is repetitive, headshots basically line themselves up and you can dodge the ai's attacks damn near blindfolded. The gore is over the top and the plot feels shaky. Overall it feels less like a genuine exploration platformer and more like one of the old FMV games on the original Playstation in the mid to late 90's. What we need is a Tomb Raider that goes back to the series roots that is, actual *Tomb Raiding* large expansive tombs, small and confined tombs, traps that try to kill you at every turn and require actual dexterity to evade, and jumps that require forethought, practice and flawless execution in order to progress. This game is not that, it's basically snuff-porn for people who like their victims filthy and drenched in gore. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    I am trying really hard to love this game as there is so much to love. The quicktime events need to go though. They are just so frustrating on PC and drag down the experience. Who on earth thought adding so many was a great idea? The game was strong enough to work without these elements and it seems to just be lazy programming that resulted in them. Leave them as an option if people want it that way but there should have been an option to skip as an instant death over and over again for not pressing a button on a controller or a key on a keyboard within a millisecond is pretty cheap.
    Visually this game is great and sound and exploration in parts is fun too but please no more quicktime events ever
    Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    It could be any other game..besides Tomb Raider. Its very easy and its more of a movie you interact with than a game. Its about 70% Quick Time Events as far as I can see..which are very buggy to say the least. I have to keep restarting the client as they just don't work..and after googling it seems to be a common problem. For anyone who's a fan of the older Tomb Raider games like myself..don't get too excited. Its still enjoyable...just not as a Tomb Raider game. Its not even Lara..they messed with the character too much. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing pc version with stunning directx 11 and good optimization. Ambient and voice actors are amazing. Played this for 3 hours, story and that island are really interesting. Lara is so nice of course. Happy to play such games. Thanks Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix for this.
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Quite surprised how good this game to be turned out to be, easily one of the best action-adventure games in years. Very fluid gameplay, top line graphics and action filled engaging story. This is one of very few games where QTEs aren't too annoying and actually play a good part during action scenes. Gameplay is a good mix of stealth and firefights, the AI isn't too great but that is pretty common these days. Story is a great twist on typical Tomb Raider adventure, people who like the concept of the Lost show will love it. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Pro's -

    Graphically very pretty.
    Nice to see an incarnation of Tomb Raider where Lara Croft's haven't grown by a cup size between releases and not look like silicon implants.
    Better story line (but only just).
    Nixxes have made this a half-decent port from console.

    CONS

    Typical consoletard linear gameplay.
    Short probably less than 15 hours gameplay.
  12. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I don't often write reviews but... wow. I Am absolutely blown away, I didn't expect anything from this game. I enjoyed the old games, (1,2, Angel of darkness, underworld) but this one just blew me away, the intro was great and it kept me going, the adrenaline doesn't stop and the action just keeps coming, I even feel bad for Lara after everything she goes through.

    The graphics are
    sensational (I'm running a gtx680), the hair effects look amazing most of the time, but they have their glitches and screw ups (like the effects disappearing for a second and her hair looking bland during intense cut scenes, it could be a driver thing or something they could patch). As mentioned the story is thrilling and keeps you wanting more, the side quests are worthwhile and brings back old Lara memories. The gameplay is solid, the free running reminds me of assassins creed mixed with old school lara. The bow is great, the guns can feel a bit clunky at times but still suits fine considering she wouldn't be a gun expert. Point blank confrontations with enemies are awkward at first but goes nicely with the story, but once you adapt and learn abilities it works out great and flows greatly.

    Overall a true underdog for me and a very nice recreation of Lara. Good job crystal.
    Expand
  13. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    The game runs well on my HD 7950 and TressFX makes Lara's hair look and behave realistically. Unfortunately the hair comes at a significant performance loss, but it's worth it if you're not too bothered about getting 60fps on a high end system and a massive fps drop during the in-engine cutscenes. I like the overall story and Lara is a great character that changes drastically during the game. Every member of her group and the other characters on the island are dissapointing though and I found it hard to care about any of them.

    As an action/adventure game released after the Uncharted series, this of course takes a lot from those games and actually improves on certain aspects. I haven't encountered any set pieces on the scale of Uncharted yet, but the more personal story and the larger focus on realism make the action a lot more tense, regardless of it not being quite as flash as Nathan Drake's adventures.

    Definitely get this if you're a PC Gamer that hasn't played the Uncharted series and still get it if you have. It takesa lot from other games and isn't the Tomb Raider we are used to playing, the characterization is weak and TressFX kills performance. Yet the game is still worth it for overall story, Lara's character development, tense action sequences and impressive gameplay.

    PS: Multiplayer is garbage, forget that it exists and you'll be happy with this game.
    Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    I've only been playing for a couple hours but I really had to quit. This game isn't awful and if you really like the run of the mill AAA shooter genre then you might find this game worthwhile, but if you aren't a fan of quicktime events or linear set pieces then you won't enjoy yourself that much. Just about everything that Lara does is a quicktime event: fighting wolves, fighting people, climbing things; all of it is just onscreen prompts. Crystal Dynamics has made less a game and more a movie that occasionally checks to see if the audience has fingers. Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    This game about a shooting, oceans of blood and Lara's falling. No adventure and challenging puzzles. This is not a Tomb Raider it's regular shooter with old famous name beyond which there is nothing.
  16. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Three hours in. Fantastic game so far. Great PC port, for those worried over that aspect of the game. Using latest 314 drivers, my nvidia card does the hair tesselation very well, so you definitely do not need a radeon to get that benefit of the PC port. Controls are very fluid and smooth with a keyboard/mouse. Some people hate QTEs, so if you hate 'em, too bad. This game has them. I think they're a perfectly fine gameplay mechanic. I don't mind.

    Combat is, like the controls, fluid and smooth. I'm shocked, considering Crystal Dynamics has largely made...well...games far inferior to this in the past. :/

    Very cinematic gameplay that is a mixture of Uncharted/Assassin's Creed. The optional "Tombs" have, so far, been relatively easy. I was always a fan of the Tomb Raider stories/lore, but never a fan of the puzzle-based gameplay in the previous games, and while there's some small element of puzzles in the main game, it's definitely more of an action/adventure than an environment puzzle. Which I think is great.

    The story, and character evolution of Laura, so far, has also been great. It's audacious to say this only three hours in, but I can already see this being in the conversation for end-of-year awards when November/December rolls around.

    Just fantastic presentation, solidly smooth gameplay, and far more likable Laura now that she isn't wearing hotpants with Double D cups. I'll hold off on a 10 until I actually finish. ;D About the only thing I can think of at this point that would make me lower my score later is if they end it on a cliffhanger.
    Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    Which generation do you belong? Despite all the marketing tricks, TressFX (top notch performance-eater!) and a famous franchise title Tomb Raider, this game is a great example of a dumbed-down experience. Linear levels, scripted events... Every linear element is there to pretend you're an idiot who cannot learn how sand-box works, make your own decisions that could matter, change the outcome, etc. You're thrown into a pile of garbage. Follow your only path and do only what game tells you to. You're too stupid to decide. If you like games which take your hand and lead from point A to B all the time, you'll like this. Otherwise, prepare for a nightmare. And BTW, story is average. I don't play games for SFX. Ignore this game, if you truly love freedom. Ciugi out. Expand
  18. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    This is an awful step away from the basic Tomb Raider concept. If this game was called not "Tomb Raider" it could get away with 5 or 6 as a boring action/"movie". But we are presented with THIS instead of acrobatic puzzle with big open levels what a good Tomb Raider game should be. So it does not deserve even 1 point.
  19. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    Having never played any Tomb Raider games before I went into this with an open mind ready to see what the fuss was about. Sadly it was anything but 8/10 worthy. The start of the game is just about the only reason this game scored a 4 from me, as it really kicked off to great satisfaction. At the start it really feels like Lara is completely down and out and quite literally fighting for her life. Things like having to search for food and shivering until the fire was complete was extremely nice touches. Then it just started to go downhill, and it didn't stop. I came into the game expecting a Action/Adventure/Puzzle/Platformer and what I got was a ACTION focused, semi-adventure with minor Platforming elements and a couple of crappy puzzles. The story was interesting but sadly the writing team completely ruined any intrigue the story had. Poorly timed cutscene interaction combined with strings of conversations which felt like they came straight out of 'Short story writing for dummies', ultimately made for boring character interaction and a few chuckles at strange conversation flow. Characters were extremely cliched but thankfully so few of them get any sort of development that you don't have to cringe to much at watching them become fully evolved walking Cliches. Lara's development is less 'Girl to Hardened Survivor' and more, 'Is this girl stupid, why would she ever want to go on an exploration ever again?' There was extremely few puzzles and they were all ridiculously easy. Tombs where the puzzles were, however, extremely gorgeous and it's probably worth going inside for a look but then not even bothering to do the puzzle. Platforming was there but extremely watered down. There was a moment where I was jumping around little rocky cliffs and I found a way to reach the ground, however upon landing on the ground from a tiny jump I died. I had hit a 'DeadZone', which frankly is a disgusting thing to have in a game and it really made me think twice before bothering to try any interesting platforming for the rest of the game because there was probably not going to be anything there or a deadzone. However I did continue trying and every platform stage is very 'hand-holdy', you never really get a chance to just jump around, you always have to use your tools and because of this just about any place you'd reach by platforming was extremely spelled out and the game practically guided you in bright yellow. The Graphics weren't anything to be overly proud of, if anything a bit below average for a 2013 AAA title (Probably slightly worse then Deus Ex Human Revolution and a little better then Mass Effect 3). Artstyle was probably akin to Mass Effect 3, very sort of standard video game, slightly cartoony realism. The opening Cinematic was fairly meh, not even close to the quality of the Openings to say; Deus Ex: HR, Witcher 2 etc. Cutscenes were well done but the Camera got a little funky from time to time and of course QTE (Quick Time Events) were just rife throughout which really detracted from them. On that matter the QTE's were a massive annoyance, having to use them for something as simple as a 'Stealth Kill' was just absurd, and then having to use them in practically every aspect of the game was just over the top. My final point, and this is where I'll sum up as well, is that simply it's sad when you play a game labeled as a; Action/Adventure/Platformer and the most polished and fun part of the game is the standard boring 'Call of Duty' style shooting elements. Based off how the game started I was expecting Alot of Adventure, Alot of Platforming and a bit of Action and then about 25% of the way through it just started to deteriorate rapidly and turned into a full on Action game with some basic Platforming. The final 50-60% of the game just felt like I was running from one scripted shooting encounter to the next, it didn't even feel like an adventure. It feels like they've tried to do what alot of Video Games lately are doing and attract the Call of Duty/Battlefield market. Which clearly has worked for them considering all the rave reviews from the same people who praise those lame shooters, but for someone like me who hasn't experienced a proper good Action/Adventure/Platformer since Donkey Kong 64, I was once again extremely let down. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Excellent gameplay, solid plot, and wonderful graphics. For a modern day 3rd person shooter it is awesome. Deeper than Uncharted, multiple routes to take through quests, and a level up system similar to Far Cry. It is a combo game that doesn't fail in anyway except for the lack of puzzles. Add some serious Tomb Raider puzzles and this may have been the best in the series. As it is, I'm on a second playthrough already. They did a great job of making you feel that no matter how skilled you play the game, Lara may not actually succeed at her goals. Pros:
    TressFX hair.
    The island is the star.
    Great pacing to the story and to Lara's development as a character.
    Nice job of making the player feel that they may not succeed at their mission until the last second. Cons:
    Massive performance drop with TressFX hair on (don't use this on anything but a top Intel chip processor and AMD 6970+ or NVIDIA GFX 660ti card, it killed every other set up I used).
    No puzzles (well they exist, but are short and very easy).
    Water could be better and Lara can't swim.
    Freedom of movement around the island comes very late in the story at which point you don't care about exploring any more. PC controls are not as smooth as the controller, again making the PC feel like an afterthought. Many people complain of crashes, but I had a smooth experience. Final Judgment:
    It is worth the $50 only if you like replaying games. It is short and a one time play for people only interested in the story. My first playthrough was about 8 hours and I completed 84% of the collectibles and challenges. Maybe a 6 hour game if you plow through the story.
    Expand
  21. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This Tomb Raider is a mature adult-oriented version and better for it. The storyline evolves as you play the game and you really feel for Lara's struggles as she battles through the islands lush locations.

    The gameplay has depth and combat has a visceral feel. The controls are simple and do not get in the way of the action or story. The graphics and sound are state-of-the-art and rival
    anything seen and heard in other games released in the last year. Do yourself a favor and upgrade your computer. The Ultimate graphics setting is absolutely beautiful.

    The UI is excellent and highly polished and most importantly functional. The new collection and achievement systems encourage you to explore the island. They also have the added advantage of giving you experience and items which in turn can be used to add skills and upgrade weapons.

    A definite Game Of The Year contender.
    Expand
  22. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider plays and feels more like an action movie than a game, but that is not a bad thing. The problem is that it turns, for the most part, the player into an expectator with "little" (choice-wise) to do other than follow the predetermined path and manage QT-Es to stay awake (but let's be fair: extremely well implemented QT-Es).

    Trying to gather the collectibles spread around the
    map may distract you from the game's main selling point: it's character development and the interaction with the environment, but those menial exploration tasks can be left to after the endgame the completionist in me wanted to ditch the sense of urgency and collect everything on the first play-through, but that spoils the mood.

    The voice acting is solid, the graphics are stunning and Lara's character is unbelievably well done, but the rest of the crew is unmemorable to say the best, sometimes falling into "I wish friendly-fire could be turned off" territory. The narrative is very common place (again, not a bad thing), but the action feels... unnatural (too much killing, even if "justified").

    The difficult is set very, very low: the (environmental) puzzles are okay, but ammo is pretty much infinite, making fragility the only problem for Lara, but again no complaints here: dying over and over again has always been a selling point for this franchise (really!).

    In this reboot we don't have huge, over-the-top and out-of-this-world Tombs, neither did we get underwater sequences (in fact, on my gameplay Lara drowned at least a dozen times) but yes this is solid environment and survival exploration with the most loved female explorer ever. This game truly turns Lara's character into all that she is know even a dose of sex appeal is there, when she isn't mass murdering entire armies.
    Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    First of all I don't see how you cant accurately review a game within the first hours. And Tomb Raider Linear and scripted? I wonder why that is? Maybe because it is a game where the story is supposed to be linear because it is a prequel to how Lara Croft became a BAMF, This game is meant to have a tighter grip on the beginning of the game because rather than going through stupid slow boring tutorials that we all hate the game actually teaches you while going through Adrenaline filled action. The game is supposed to be a linear game and just because it is linear doesn't mean that's a bad thing. Before you judge this game correctly and accurately with a real review don't rage at it. From what I have played through the game is awesome and fun. Expand
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I find it hard to believe people are seriously complaining about QTE's in this game. There really aren't that many. I'm currently 49% through the game and I'm having a blast. I'd say about 8/10 fights I get into are just pure action shooting/brawling where the remaining two will have QTE's involved (So seriously it's not that much and they add a nice transition to standard beat em up)

    The graphics are very impressive on Lara's character model, so much that it actually makes the environment look not as outstanding. Same goes for the other characters as well, though it's not so crazily different it makes your jaw drop.

    The skills and weapon upgrades actually make an impact which is important to me, it's not one of those games that has a linear skill upgrade design (for instance you only have one skill to upgrade or you pick between two and that's it). The movement is perfect, throughout what I've played thus far, I never had an issue with controlling Lara around the environment, jumping from platforms etc. (Also I play with the Keyboard and Mouse, not a gamepad just for noting)

    The game isn't as "open-world" as I'd hoped it would've been. Like the other Tomb Raider games it still is somewhat linear, though they do have secret tombs you can raid to get unlockables and very nice experience for skills in.

    The combat is very fun and fluid. I say fluid in terms of being smooth (It's a word I've taken to when describing combat in games...) as in it doesn't feel clunky at all. Which was actually quite a relief to me as most games deliver on so many fronts then lack in the combat area where it just feels like a jumbling mess.

    The voice acting is great but there have been a few moments where it was somewhat embarrassing too. Not enough to make me not want to play the game though that's for sure!

    Old style Tomb Raider fans can also rejoice, they do still have puzzles in the side-tombs that you raid. Though using the survival instinct (Q) can really pave the way for you, so for an additional challenge I'd recommend resisting the use of it!

    All in all, I'm finding this game to be very exciting and fun. With the amount of hype and games that have been coming out lately that all turn to crap.. I'm very glad I didn't go wrong in pre-ordering this one! Also for an added note I'm on 7 hours of play time at 49% complete to maybe give you an idea of the length of the game. (I go off exploring every now and then but not extensively) Also for anyone curious about it's port to PC, it really feels like it was meant to be for the PC. Not saying console users got the raw end by any means though! Just stating something that must be said about all games from the console/pc-wide play-ability because the port to the PC can often be a nightmare without a controller!

    Thanks for reading! Hope my review helped in someway ^_^
    Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The BEST tomb raider of the series. Definitely a MUST BUY, the graphics and story are FIRST CLASS. But the multiplayer was a bit disappointing. Nonetheless this game is EPIC. All hail SQUARE ENIX
  26. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    The story takes place in an island, this is a prequel to the other games and shows Lara developing as a strong character. Going through various trials to get to the end goal of getting off this island. At the start you are put in a situation where you are alone in a cave where you have an hour of fun filled… quick time events. Well at least the graphics are good and you get to see her have super human strength by grabbing on to massive ledges and pulling up her bodyweight with minimal training. Archaeologist must be from some sort of different planet. But yes you will find throughout the game that this woman can literally do anything. Except from raid tombs, this barely ever comes up, except for a couple of side missions. There are a couple of rewarding mechanics, shooting a deer or a human with a crossbow is always fun. And the gunplay is rewarding and there are upgrades to keep you engrossed all through the game. The island has a lot to explore and multiple collectables. This is a very gory game so I would say it should be for a 15 year old or higher. Expand
  27. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    In summary... GET THIS GAME.

    I rarely find a game that will want me coming back for more. This game not only made me eager to get back to playing it, but I'm also eager to play through it again! After playing only one tomb raider game I hadn't had a high impression of the tomb raider franchise and the only reason I looked into getting this game is the extreme positive feedback from some
    reviews. The graphics are amazing, some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The detail put into Lara, the characters and the scenery is outstanding (I can't think of a word to praise it enough). The story is very original; I think they did the right thing by starting a reboot with a novice Lara and building up her character and personality through the emotional story. I liked the combat and controls, it is kept simple and fits in with her character (for example, instead of blocking she dodges attacks). The QTE felt simple but were extremely intense as most situation escalated quickly as our poor Lara was thrown around or falling once again. There are only minor things that this game could have improved on; the enemy AI felt like it was just a wave after wave of mindless drones and QTE were sometimes so well implemented I didn't know whether I was to watch an action scene or start moving Lara. Overall this game is brilliant and a very successful reboot. I expect another game to come after this one (I would be very disappointed if they didn't). Expand
  28. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying I am truly and undeniably a fan of the series. I`ve played it since 1986 and I`ve finished every Tomb Raider game so far. Ever since the disastrous Angel Of Darkness the series tried crawling back to it`s throne, and came close with recent instalments but not quite there. They each missed what this game has, a character with real human emotions and weaknesses instead of a superhero, and a fresh gameplay that does a good job making you satisfied till the end without getting repetitive. But more importantly the series now has what it was truly missing, a compelling story that isn`t serving a mere motivation for your character to get from point A to point Z, but more to make you question your surroundings, your allies, instincts and wonder about the outcome of every situation you find yourself into. It`s no longer about simply getting into that tomb and raiding ti dry, beating the boss and walking out with your prize, it`s about understanding the myth behind it, the history, and the dangers behind it`s power falling into the wrong hands. Finally the game has a great combat system too, tied with a crafting system and a skill menu, which was my initial worry. but turned out well as the skills are nothing game breaking and only feature slight boost of her already achieved skill set. Graphics is great, nothing groundbreaking but the effects and animation are stunning and make you really get into the game, along with an amazing soundtrack. Puzzles are innovative, and no longer about just pulling levers and finding keys. You are now required to use the nature and it`s element around you. Deaths in the game are brutal, and unlike the reaction you make in most games when you die: Oh damn, gotta reload and start over``, this time it will be more like: ``Jesus Christ that looked painful!``. Lara now also reacts more human than any of the video game characters I`ve seen so far, she is aware of her actions and consequences, she doesn`t kill just to move on, she kills to save, herself or others, she kills to survive and shows a range of emotions you`d expect from someone in her position. The camera is finally where it should be! It not only covers the action well but also makes it more dramatic and movie-like. The game is also very well optimized. It runs flawlessly on my mid-range pc with all options maxed, except for the hair, which completely ruins my frame rate when if I enable the TressFx. Guess I need a stronger pc for that one.
    To finish it up let me just say the game is Tomb Raider meets Bear Grylls on a trip to a world most dangerous location. Also, those calling the game a female version of Uncharted need to know one thing, Uncharted itself borrowed heavily from Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones to make a game of it`s own quality, and a great quality it is. This Tomb Raider follows the same footsteps, it doesn`t copy, it learns from it. The game reinvented itself, and it would go in this direction with or without Uncharted, as this is what the fans have been asking for since the game started reusing it`s formula, long before Uncharted.
    The only negative side I can point out is way too much grunting and moaning. I get that she is in a lot of pain, but she is sometimes too dramatic over every injury. And I feel like the whole ``element based puzzles`` could have been worked on a little more, cause the idea opens up a lot of opportunities.
    Thanks you Square Enix for not ruining the series and making it finished for good.
    Expand
  29. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    I would have given this a 9 for story, but the quick time events have become so annoying and such an obvious crutch in place of good game play that I cannot ignore it. Perhaps it is because i Just played a scene over 30 times trying to get past yet another damned quick time event... At any rate, let my rating of this game show that NO GAME with UN-passable quick time events should ever be considered acceptable! They essentially break the game, thus what was a 9 is now a 0. Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    I was VERY happy seeing all these grrreat scores and terrrrific reviews around the www and I was starting to believe in TR being reborn, You know. I gave the game like 8 hrs now. it's just fair. m e d i o c r e. yes- this is sad. i'm not freaking out. i am just an idiot, I actually bought this game, because it is sooooo dumb. PROS: .great CGI .Lara is nice .great SOUND .cool weapon feel CONS: .FAR CRY3 resemblance .QUICK TIME EVENTS! .not so cool story .MORE LIKE A SHOOTERslasher then the LARA CROFTish tombRAIDING .QTE QTE QTE! NO SANBOXING Expand
  31. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    My opnion still is same about this amazing game, im still playing, i think more than 50% of the game.
    All cutscenes very good, the game still adventure we know, and the action is better than never, this game have one future bright, i hope the next game of the serie come back again for pc, in this next generation.
  32. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely loved this game and enjoyed every second of it. The story kept me interested throughout, action was pretty intense and didn't feel over the top or overused. I really liked the character development of Lara and her progression towards becoming that bad ass chick from the original games. I noticed some people complained about narrative and story not making sense, noticeably during scenes of Lara being upset and all of a sudden on a so called 'killing spree', i felt that the developers did as a furthering of character development in such a way so that Lara had to always be on her toes so to speak. Those reviews seemed to have a bias or an unwanting/not caring to understand Lara's journey so don't let them put you off. Graphically a beautiful game to witness, i had to slow down at times just to catch some cool shots of the island in its various weather conditions. Cinematic scenes, just wow tbh. The use of weapons was well integrated into game play and non seemed unnecessary the bow is one of the most satisfying weapons I've used in recent games and it almost feels wrong when not using it.

    To sum it up, just buy it. It offers an enjoyable experience regardless of whether you're familiar with the older Tomb Raider titles.
    Expand
  33. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    fantastic game and a really good pc port thanks square enix for this awesome game its worth every cent.
    game looks much better on pc and runs much better.
  34. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    An exceptional game.
    Where developers really had the desire to create something polished and well done, and worried about the PC version of the game.
  35. May 28, 2013
    10
    I like the previous Tomb Raider games also, but this one... this one tops them all. Before, the foundation of Tomb Raider was it's game-play, caring much less about story, characters or even graphics. However, this one has them all. The story is well written and though out, the characters are interesting, the game-play is much more complex and witty, and the graphics are beautiful. Amazing game. By far 10/10. Expand
  36. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    First off, this is an excellent game that is visually stunning and so immersive that you will not want to stop playing! So go get it if you haven't already! However, the extensive use of QTEs (Quick Time Events making the player press specific buttons at specific times in order to progress through what would otherwise be a cut scene) detracts a little from the overall game experience. There are, unfortunately, more of these towards the start of the game (and the end) and that could put people off; the intention, though, is to help train you to recognise when to react to these QTEs in preparation for the rest of the game, so please persevere. If you really can't see past these then you may not enjoy the game as much, but it is so worth it imho. Also, the restart points are perfecting placed and you will not curse too much if you do die, which makes the QTEs more bearable. I would have liked to see more tomb exploring and less all-out action, in the spirit of past games (although they usually had more and harder boss fights that this game) but I still enjoyed this and would highly recommend it despite the minor flaws. Expand
  37. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I am a Tomb Raider fan since TR1 and I must say I think this is probably the best reboot a serie ever had. I am playing it on my pc with ULTIMATE settings, and the game is incredible. The physics, the animations, the acting, the environment... The survival gameplay is PERFECT, the game does everything to make of feel in a survival mode and it's really well done. Some tv shows can't even produce the same effect. I am having a lot of fun, which is something unusual with me for most new games. I just finished Dead Space 3 and Crysis 3 and both weren't even close to how good my first hour in Tomb Raider is. This is a must buy. I think it's a game anybody can like, even the ones who can't stand a TR game. There are some puzzles, but it's not as advanced since we are only playing "young Lara". And I must say, it feels really realistic. Just to give an exemple how good it is, at the beginning Lara is almost covered in blood, but after going outside where it rains, the rain cleaned her. It's one the very subtile things of this game like that, that creates the realistic ambiance. Expand
  38. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    There are only very few games that I can give 10 points. If a game gets 10, it is never 100% perfect but almost. What I lacked in this game was that Lara should have done more attractive and sexy. I rarely play a game more than 1 time but there are a few games I've played through more than one time and this is one of them. I will sleep well tonight
  39. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This game is vast, gorgeous and intense. It might be too early to say, but after a couple of hours in, this feels like GOTY-material. I love how the game expands on the emotional side of the character, who, surprisingly enough, doesn't fall flat on it's face- shame you can't say the same about the other characters, whom have little to nothing memorable. Many people have said 'the game is holding my hands too much, this looks like a movie' but to be fair, what you miss in the hand-driven sequences you have in abundance in finding the artifacts and solving optional puzzles throughout the island. Yes, there is a perk system and yes, there are many quick-time-events but really, don't pass on this game. You'll miss out. Expand
  40. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    I honestly don't care much about the previous games, this is a reboot after all, so I'm reviewing it for what it is, a mediocre Uncharted clone with a touchy feely girly protagonist that goes from frail scared little girl to female Rambo by the end of the game. My main problems with it are the gameplay, which is derivative, very similar to Uncharted but less polished, underdeveloped melee and stealth, grimdark graphics, and story that conflicts with the gameplay and the premise of the game.

    The gameplay is basically third person shooting with regenerative health, with platforming and stealth elements. It's enjoyable but very derivative. The game has some light RPG elements, such as weapon upgrading, which is not that fleshed out and nonsensical (how do you craft a modern day tech bow starting from a caveman style bow using just scrap metal?). You also get experience points, you can upgrade your abilities and gain more moves, and later on, some really over the top, Rambo style takedowns that make the game very easy. There are no survival elements, outside of one tutorial session->cutscene in the beginning, you don't need to get food or anything, so really, this game has zero survival elements, even though the game's tagline is "a survivor is born". The game also has some minor "metroidvania" elements, as you can backtrack and explore areas you already completed in search for upgrades and other hidden stuff, but it's mostly pointless considering how easy the game is. This game also has hidden tombs that you can raid, which are basically one-room puzzles, very easy and not rewarding at all, they only give you exp. There are collectible artifacts and other stuff, but again, no reward other than exp.

    The story is very mediocre and the supporting cast is awfully clichè. There are some heavy supernatural elements that don't make much sense. Also, by the end of the game you kill so many people it's pretty crazy. You will get to single handedly destroy an ancient army of undead samurai by yourself, which is pretty crazy. The game also has many set pieces with QTEs, it doesn't really go overboard but they are pretty uninspired, Uncharted did this much better. Finally, there are some very gory areas just for the sake of being dark and gritty. I'm not a big fan of the setting of the game, which is a really bleak, brown island with skulls and skeletons everywhere.

    Voice acting is good for Lara, decent for everyone else. Music is unremarkable and sound effects are alright.

    The graphics on PC are pretty good, the game sports some advanced graphical effects not present on consoles (on consoles this game looks much worse than Uncharted), such as TressFX hair, which is cool. If only the game wasn't so brown and bleak for no reason, I'd be ok with the graphics. On release though, it had a lot of glitches and crashing issues.

    Overall, a mediocre action third person shooter, which is very derivative and uninteresting, with poorly executed mechanics, you play it once and forget about it.
    Expand
  41. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    I didn't think I would get this game but my friend convinced me it was awesome. He was right, this game is fantastic. Crystal Dynamics really poured blood and sweat into this game. The PC port is very well done almost to the point of reminding you of The Golden Age of PC gaming. The graphics on High and Ultra settings vary from solid to mind blowing (Geothermal Caves looked amazing). The sound design is exceptional. There is so much detail in this game that you really get immersed in the world. The pacing of the game is tight and the combat is good. If you buy this expecting the old school arcade style Tomb Raider combat you will be let down. The combat requires using cover and moving tactically but also offers melee takedown options. The world design and leveling/upgrade system is like Batman Arkham Asylum. Old fans of Tomb Raider might be let down by this but if you like a quality game you might get over it because this game has it all. There are a few reasons I didn't give Tomb Raider a 10/10. The game on Hard is just a bit too easy and there is not NG+ or any mode to make the game more difficult. One time the AI bugged and just sat there while I killed three guys. Even though the audio and graphics are a 10/10 the combat is really only and 8 or 9, it's good but not perfect to the point where it's the primary reason you're playing the game. Another problem I had with the game is Lara's voice acting and the lines they gave her, it's just the same tone over and over even though the character evolves throughout the story. Despite these problems this game is still a great achievement and I hope Square Enix allows Crystal Dynamics to produce an even better sequel because they obviously have the talent to produce a nearly perfect game. Expand
  42. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This Is definitely game of the year of BOTH 2012 and 2013. The freshest breath of air Ive taken in a long time, looks like all the hard work and countless hours the makers put into this game really paid off. I have met a few of the design team members and they are great and passionate guys and you can tell they care more about providing a product that really changes and improves gaming and making the gamers really happy. This is the first time in a long time where i actually believe the company was making the game for us and not only for the money. Now about the game; this is a great game filled with a suspenseful, mind-churning, and immersive game play that has some of the most beautiful graphics and voice acting that i have ever seen. The upgrade and free travel system in this game really adds the replay value and game length. Unlike the previous tomb raider titles, you really become the character and begin to feel and experience what the character experiences in the game, and can even grow attached to some of the other characters. The fighting and surviving has been done very well in this game and is very simple to use making fun to encounter and complete unlike some of the past titles where the fighting and shooting was really awful for example like in tomb raider 2 and 3 and some others. One of the best console ports that I have seen and adds a very large amount of graphic changing options and requires a pretty hefty pc setup to run the game fully. I run gtx 480x2, i7950 4.0OC 12gb ram and only keep around a 28 fps average with everything on ultra and SSAx4. Lara Croft is WAY hot in this game and i definitely prefer this "alive" and younger version to the old whore Lara. There are a lot of quicktime events but honestly they fit with the gameplay very well and can be done quickly so the gameplay is not hindered at all. Besides a few bugs (which will be quickly fixed) i found nothing wrong with the game and I think everyone should pick up a copy, genre fan or not you will most likely love this game for any playing system. Expand
  43. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Yes for the whole new Tomb Raider reboot. Why am I saying that? Because this new Tomb Raider has improved a lot from what is missing and being boring in the old series. With the almost open world style, amazing climbing, very nice Puzzles, some QTEs, some Epic scenes, very fun shooting system and wonderful journey in Single Player plus some enjoyable from Multiplayer make the new reboot into the new fanstatic game, some what different but still closer to the old. You shouldn't see some troll or haters, all what you need is taking the game and ready to enjoy one of the most anticipated game of the year. Expand
  44. Mar 9, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like this game and for a while I also really tried. The graphics are very nice and the story is ok, but the gameplay is so far from "Tomb Raider" it's appalling. There are some puzzles but none requres too much brainwork and even so the hardest ones seems to be entirely optional as well. Half of the game plays like a semi-interactive movie where you sometimes have to press a button or waggle the stick in order to not see Lara impaled for the nth time, and the other half, the combat sequences, she turns into Rambo's more violent little sister. There are some emotional cutscenes as well that tries to make us see her as the frightened little girl that she wasn't even close to being the moment before and make us feel sorry for her. Sadly though I mostly feel sorry that she's in the hands of Crystal Dynamics. Expand
  45. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    EVERYONE SHOULD BUY THIS GAME!! Ok, maybe not everyone but just people who want to play a generic Uncharted clone starring whiny emotional sissy Lara Croft. But, despite many many flaws this game has, I am giving this game a PERFECT 10 because I want my voice to be actually heard out there. I had my original 4/10 review deleted because Square Enix apparently paid just about everybody off. Don't give it to all the hype if you are a true Tomb Raider fan and appreciate games for their gameplay, rather than just TressFX graphics of Lara's hair. Who the %$ck cares about the hair in video games?!! Peace out. Expand
  46. Mar 12, 2013
    6
    A nice game, but they really pushed it too far with the quick time events. They take you out of immersion every time, and we could have lived so fine without them. What`s the thought behind them, is beyond my comprehension.
  47. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. I am a long time Tomb Raider fan and I thought this game was a well needed breath of fresh air. I think Lara has earned back her treasure hunting crown from Nathan Drake (not bashing uncharted, love those games too) as there is plenty to see and explore in Tomb Raider, even after the story ends. Looks amazing on PC, excellent port by nixxes.
  48. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The game is fantastic. I feel really sorry for Lara! I love TR Legend, Anniversary and Underworld and i Love this Lara! It shows her fragile part! I give it a perfect 10!
  49. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Brilliant reboot! All the nostalgia is coming back in a good way. But in with a more refined and compact package that leans on what Batman Arkham Asylum showed you could do with a story and RPG-style skill weapon unlock system. Lara ends up getting into the thick of things and slowly unlocks gadgets and new skills that make traversing over the visually stunning and very atmospheric areas with ease. There is a little bit more gun-play than you may be expecting, but nothing that gets overly distracting. You are still very much at ease most of the time to go hunting for collectibles (and there are a LOT of collectibles), as well as hunting down the "hidden" tombs. The entire game took me ~12 hrs to complete on normal at ~80% completion, with 1 skill point and 2 weapon mods away from 100% the upgrade zone, and the rest were missing collectibles. (diaries, relics, gps locations, treasure maps etc.). The game ran very smoothly on my q9450, 560ti, Windows 7, SSD, 4gb ddr2 at 1080p everything set to ultra, except: shadows on medium, tressFX off, reflections on normal pumping out 40fps.My favourite part of the game has to be the melee fighting, where you can dodge enemies and then get finishing moves if you time it correctly to kill them off in brutal fashion. Arrow to the face, bullet through their heads etc. in super slow-mo eye candy brain popping glory! (Yes I was just playing Dead Space 2... so slightly into it!). All I can say is the story is well worth your time, the characters are interesting, and this rebooted Lara will definitely be worth continuing on with for a few more outings hopefully. The PC port is well done and has numerous graphical settings, runs really well (just like most Squenix ports of recent times, DX:HR, JC2, etc.) and works perfectly with a mouse and keyboard. The QTEs are slightly annoying at first, but once you pick up the 3 buttons required, they are no longer annoying and really just immerse you into the world. One of the best parts of the entire experience beyond the visuals, story, atmosphere and gameplay would have to be that they've managed to pretty much do away with any level loading screens as you transition in these little tunnels and ledges and what not between areas and it is done so professionally that it really ramps up the immersion as you can play the game for 5 hrs straight and never see a loading screen if you don't die. TLDR: Get it, love it, thank me later! Expand
  50. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Simply put, this game is a cinematic marvel. Regardless of the occasional crashes (assumed to be fixed in future updates) and various game play criticisms I've seen, Tomb Raider Reborn surpassed my meager expectations within the first 30 minutes of playing. You won't be disappointed.
  51. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game has me amazed. It is beautiful in every step of its design, hectic, fast paced, clever and all around gorgeous. Gory when it has to be, dark and mysterious and action packed from minute one. I hadn't been addicted to a single player game like this since Mass Effect 'nuff said.
  52. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Summary: a worth buy due to good combat/upgrade system which makes the control good for adventure combat.

    First of all, I am new to this series. So, I will comment more on the game system and plot.

    Combat/upgrade system: This incorporate many elements from several famous games, like dodging system (Alan Wake), cover taking/stealth kill/instinct (Hitman Absolution), character skill
    upgrade (many action games have this nowadays), resource/weapon part collection (Dead Space 3). Its implementation is so good that the combat can be carried out smoothly with the help of above elements. Lara also interacts with the environment flawlessly, she knows to take cover when needed to, and crouch for stealth encounter when needed to. Very smart indeed. The character skill upgrade are generally helpful as well, but balancing. The use of visual icons to prompt for QTE is generally user friendly to players as well. Excellent.

    Plot/Adventure: As a reboot from series, Lara starts as a newbie, and she gets more skill/tactics as she advances through the story, which also allows some back-tracking to previous places for treasure hunting. A good setting! And the developers have guts as well, if it needs to have gore and violence in order to present the cult atmosphere, so it will be. Good try.

    Optional quests Action: The game also does not deviate from its main purpose. Yes, tomb raider! So, visiting optional tomb, finding treasures via solving puzzles or climbing jumping, with some cool and exciting jump drop in between. By doing so, players can have some understanding about items, and gain more XP for skill upgrade, a good incentive and fun way to enhance the game play, rather than simply killing enemies.

    Overall, a good combat and adventure system and character development throughout the game, with the nice elements implemented, it is really fun to explore the island and complete the side quests.
    Expand
  53. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    I ve never seen tomb raider this beautiful and the game is so addicting and enjoyable amazing work on graphics and gameplay also the story makes sense ....well you have to try to beleive
  54. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Please don't expect a "professional review", this is an OMG I gotta tell ppl about this game review.
    Ok, first off, if you liked Far Cry 3, then you need to get this game. It is like Far Cry 3 X 1000. No you don't get the freedom, and so far (About 30 mins in) I haven't driven any cars, but the Graphics are BEAUTIFUL, Frigging amazing. The controls are tight, the story is Amazing, don't
    want to 'spoil' anything, but the first time you kill someone, your heart will be pounding, just like Lara Croft's was in the game. I have never seen such amazing storytelling as this before. Nothing else to say, get this game. if you like your action with a pulse that is. Expand
  55. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    grand comeback of Lara Croft!! i love this game please more The new Lara is awesome finally a game that's uncharted equal!!

    Thanks to Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix for the amazing experience ever
  56. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This game has expanded in almost every aspect. Everything from the graphics to the gameplay and the storyline are top notch. It feels good to see one of your favorite game franchises do well.
  57. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    (After five hours of playing, I'm currently at 12% complete.) As an old fart of a gamer, I remember when Lara Croft first burst onto the scene and how she changed the gaming landscape. Since then, many others have duplicated the success of the Tomb Raider series (see: Uncharted) while Tomb Raider, itself, was left to languish as an aging property. The new Tomb Raider doesn't really change the genre like the original did but, instead, is content to merely copy off of successful IPs that had originally copied Tomb Raider itself. In case that line sounds confusing, think of it this way: Get rid of Sully and turn Nathan Drake into a woman, and you have the new Tomb Raider. Both games play the same, are loaded with quick time events, and are graphically appealing. The critical difference between the two is that the story of Lara is more gritty and realistic than the over the top stories of Nathan and his quests. Graphically the game is quite a treat. With DX11 support and TressFX, the game looks beautiful. Even something as mundane as rain can make you stop and just look around at the rich graphical detail. Of course, this all comes at a cost. DX11's SSAO and Tesselation are, as always, some of the biggest perfomance consumers and TressFX, while nice, costs a considerable amount of performance just to have more realistic character hair. To elaborate, running on a i7-3770 with a GeForce GTX 550 Ti, I have no problems running "High" level graphics and maintaining a consistent frame rate. Turn on TressFX, however, and the frame rate plummets into the 40s. Not worth it for "hair effects", in my opinion. Despite the graphical polish and more realistic Lara, the game thus far is higher than mediocre but falls just short of greatness. The major complaint I have is that it is TOO linear with a LOT of hand holding. Stand in one place long enough and Lara, no matter how injured, will tell you EXACTLY what to do next. Even if you ignore her constant dialog, tap one key and the world will light up all the critical elements like the Grizwold family Christmas Tree. I know people hate the term "linear" but, much like Uncharted 3, there's little reason to explore beyond the predetermined paths. Actual tombs to raid are few and far between (I've seen 3, one of which was only thanks to having the Survival Edition) while the puzzles within the tombs themselves have not been very challenging. Lara's story starts out engaging but starts to unravel after only a few hours of gameplay when the entire story line becomes muddled. Part of this is due to the way Lara turns from shrinking violet into action heroine. The transition is too rapid and incredulous which causes the game to drop focus on the other characters including the main antagonist. All in all, it's a good reboot that brings Tomb Raider on par with the Uncharted series but what does that really say when Uncharted owes its existence to Tomb Raider itself? Crystal Dynamics did an amazing job graphically and have made a story better than a lot of AAA titles so I do recommend playing the game. However, I can't see it having any real longevity beyond the first playthrough since the only reason to go back is to obtain missed collectables, as the scriped story never changes and the tomb raiding is such an afterthought that any tomb-adding DLC will likely fall flat. At $49.99 (current Steam PC price) or $59.99 (console price), I'm not so sure the price/entertainment ratio is quite worth it for a title that will collect dust after one playthrough. Your mileage may vary of course but, based on the gameplay experience thus far, it is my opinion that anyone interested in the new Tomb Raider should wait for a Steam sale or rent the console variety from Gamefly. Expand
  58. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Looks like GOTY just got sown up.. this is art.. this is movie and game become one. This is what we wanted and NEEDED after a lackluster and disappointing start to 2013. I love it. and cannot get enough. Awesome.
  59. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I am playing on gtx460 with the tressfx on. Graphics setting to ultimate. Frame rate stays around 30-40FPS in 720p. Game looks amazing! played for about 2 hours so far game is smooth, and no freezes, or reboots. The game does plays more like Uncharted then the old Tomb Raiders. Game feels polished. You can see/feel the level of detail the devs put into this game. A great step forward IMO. I haven't played the console versions, but the PC on ultimate is some of the best graphics I've played. Its not all about the graphics though. The controls are also tight and responsive, and the game play up there with the best. I will be restarting the game on hard because the game does feel a little easy on normal. Expand
  60. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Truly a great game. I haven't played the story yet but the Multiplayer kept me busy for the last 5 hours.
    The MP alone makes this a great package. I played like 1 hour of the story and it reminded me of a better looking uncharted. I am no Tomb Raider veteran, but this game look and fells very polished. Great effects plus good sound and music. After plat this game I might get into the
    older more open games. I don't mind if this game takes me by the hand and shows me the way, it looks like it going to be one hell of a ride! After the gigantic failure of Aliens I have a little faith again.
    Thanks Square Enix!
    Expand
  61. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is wonderful its like uncharted meets lost with the good old fashioned tomb raider spirit and exploration and solid platforming, also runs fantastic maxed out on my 4yr oldpc and has some of the best environments in modern gaming.
  62. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I’ll quickly make the obligatory comparison to the Uncharted series right now. Yes, it does feel a bit like uncharted, but that’s not a bad thing. Uncharted is a great series that has pioneered many adventure standards. Tomb Raider simply barrows the best parts of it, adds it’s own spice, while keeping in mind that Uncharted was inspired from Tomb Raider. It’s funny how things go full circle.

    The game controls excellent, even more responsive than the Uncharted series, some thing Crystal Dynamics seem to nail in all their games. The puzzles are good, doesn’t stump you, but keeps you thinking, and the combat very enjoyable and feels well refined. One of my favorite parts of the game, as superficial as it might be, is the graphics. It’s one of the best looking games I own on my PC, and probably one of the best looking games I’ve seen in quite a while. I won’t comment on the story yet, as I haven’t finished the game, but I can say the common complains that the action aspect of the game play mismatches with Lara’s innocents lost story is exaggerated, and most of the complaint’s references are taken out of context. If you play the game, it does it’s best to explain why Lara is all of a sudden master assassin, even if it’s just through a quick statement or two.

    Overall the game is very enjoyable, very polished, and just beautiful to view.
    Expand
  63. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic reboot, and very few people are acknowledging the real bright spots. They've transformed Lara Croft from a bimbo sex object to a real person you care about. I found myself not wanting to die in the game because I didn't want the character to suffer. When's the last time you felt that in a game? Half-Life 2 with Alyx, if you're like me. The much hated quick time events are in the first hour of the game. Many of these haters did not play past them! Later on the quick time events become thrilling as they're incorporated into huge cinematic set pieces, and they're very intuitive instead of frustrating. This game has fantastic suspenseful combat. I just finished Crysis 3 and Far Cry 3; neither game produced the frantic feeling Tomb Raider does regularly. This game has perfect controls. When you miss a jump or something it's always your fault not the game screwing you. This game has great exploration. I couldn't wait to see what's around the next corner. The only negatives I have are those early quick time events and the stupid dialog coming from the henchman. They really should've come up with some better lines for those guys. But really it's the transformation of Lara Croft that should be widely praised. Expand
  64. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is a really good game, every aspect of the game is very polished. From the graphics to the voice acting. It is as good if not better than the Uncharted games on the PS3 in every way (except multiplayer but who plays uncharted multiplayer anyway)
  65. Mar 7, 2013
    6
    looks visually pleasing, decently story-driven, with movement mechanics that did give me that old TR feel, but it's sadly just the umpteenth QET fest.
  66. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The game is great, I even can not express in words the pleasure I get from this game, I'm the first minutes of the game, I realized that my game. loved the multiplayer.
    I still recommend you to buy and play this game
  67. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Really nice game. Tressfx looks amazing. It is one of the best episode of tomb raider series imo.The controls are kinda hard on a keyboard but works on a 360 controller. Good job square enix!
  68. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A+ 100% in Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, Voice Acting Fun Factor. Great Atmosphere and detail that will draw you in. A new favorite in my PC game library along with Farcry 3, Skyrim, Battlefield 3, Black Ops 2 and Borderlands 2. Works your system, had to drop settings down to "Ultra" from "Ultimate". (According to their built in benchmark) (GTX-580, i7, 12GB RAM)
  69. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to register an account to give this game 10/10 for the first time. The graphic, sound, environment, story, and every elements in this game are all well done. For the second time, I feel like I am not playing a video game anymore, I am actually watching a top rated Hollywood action movie The first one was Darksiders 2). I like Roth. He is calm, wise, and brave. The last thing he did for Lara was sad but also beautiful. I like Jonah as well. The tombs puzzles are well done and constructed even though the reward is kinda lame). The story is beyond good. I love watching Lara Croft grows from a weak young lady in the beginning to a strong soul Lara Croft just like in the previous series. The game has few disappointments for me: some QTEs don't show hotkeys and the game doesn't have real boss fight. But, it's too minor compared to how beautiful the game is. Lastly, I want to say "Thank you" to Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics for making such a GREAT game. This game is, without a doubt, one of the best game in 2013. Expand
  70. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Perfect perfect, perfect! Woooow please Tomb Raider 2 in PS4 and XBOX 720! PLEASE! I love you Lara, Congratulations Suare Enix, and Crystal Dynamics.
  71. Jun 8, 2013
    4
    You are looking for a skill-based pc game? Don't stop here. There is very little game to be found. Pressing forward, tapping repeatedly on the keys flashing on the screen and participating in a string of quick-time events are the extend of the Tomb Raider reboot.
    Looking for a nice story, good graphics and excellent presentation? Not bothered by lowest-common denominator console-style
    mechanics? You might be satisfied by this production. Expand
  72. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    To everyone complaining about the cut scenes, start playing the game and stop complaining.
    This game is an artwork and a masterpiece.
    I have bought and played over 1000 games easily and I can compare to all the ones played before.
    No other game has this kind of story line and game play. The graphics are stunning and the cut scenes bring depth to the story and makes you feel like you
    are playing a movie and at the same time make you feel like you are part of the story yourself. (you do not like the cut scenes you can skip them for the whiners here below)

    Also I could play many hours without getting frustrated about parts which you had to try over and over again like so many other games which are out there. Well balanced and well polished.

    Whilst you play you earn different kind weapons which you can upgrade depending the time you spend finding the necessary pieces.

    This is finally a game which uses save points as should, you die you do not have to play another 15 min before getting back at the point where you died.

    Yes this is a total different kind of Tombraider (which the developers already mentioned so do not complain about this), almost no puzzles to solve like in the previous Tombraiders, but much more story, action and shooting.
    Expand
  73. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    If you're not playing this game you're missing out. The game is an epic reboot of the franchise. The cuts scenes are rendered in real time. No quicktime as some of the less inspired reviews complain about. I have a fancy gaming rig with an AMD card. LC's hair is rendered much better than in the trailer. I highly recommend a play through on Ulitmate graphics setting if most of your WE scores are 7.9.

    The plot of the game makes you want to finish it. The island is like survior. Many of the original Endurance passangers meet gruseome ends throught the gameplay. The combat system and skill tree is very good. Throw sand in an enemies face and take the headshot, The game has very few bugs. I am about halfway through. Only one crash in 10 hours of play.
    Expand
  74. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Great storyline game. For all that was expecting a sandbox type game, wrong type of game. The original Tomb Raider was very linear, with environmental puzzles to try and get you to the next step. This prequel is more of the same type of a game, with a little bit of a shooter (dumbed down) mixed in. 2 hours into it, the story is fantastic. I want to know the story and be a part of it, sort-of like an interactive choose-your-own-adventure book, with the QTE's and all, that I actually do enjoy. I see where SqueeNix wanted to try and appeal to the masses by adding a level of dumb-downed gun-play, but to TR story fans, I cannot say how this went wrong? Do not expect CoD, Battlefield or even Grand Theft Auto type gameplay. Expect a great interactive story experience with amazing graphics (I don't see how some users say the graphics are horrendous. The environmental detail and physics engine is pretty stout.) and you will not be let-down. Expand
  75. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This is a good game that is going to be overshadowed by a few other releases coming later this month. First, the good: Everything associated with this game is done well. From the gameplay to the story to the atmosphere, Crystal Dynamics has made a wonderful game that works very and, especially for a PC port, this game runs very smoothly and the flow it has makes it a great addition to anyone's collection. The small things are what gets in its way. For a game called 'Tomb Raider', there's very little tombs to raid and, the ones that are in there, feel half assed and added at the very last second. With no other reason to do them beyond getting the achievement, there's really no incentive to doing them. I was hoping there would be some big item to get at the end of the tomb thing but there was not. But this is a little thing that doesn't affect the outcome of the game and that outcome is a very good one. The biggest issue this game will face is from the competition it faces this month. Between GoW: Ascension and Bioshock Infinite and others, this game will get left in the dust by other games that will probably just be more memorable than this one. It's kinda sad that a game with some great potential is going to be forgotten here in less than a month. Any sequels to this are now and forever on my radar. Give this game a chance and you won't be disappointed. Expand
  76. Mar 27, 2013
    2
    After playing this game I wanted to kill myself. Maybe all of the voice acting, X-treme graphics, and awesome quicktime events got me so freaking IMMERSED I couldn't ever face reality again...or maybe this was just a reaallly game. Before the "modern" game itself...lets talk about the obvious to anyone who is or knows a woman...the character is grotesquely sexist. They made her a "REAL" girl this time. You can tell by the way they shrunk her boobs and made her cry/complain at every point in the game! The whole time I found myself saying "Wait, we just established that shes a serious straight A anthropology student whose been on expeditions and has been through plenty of survival training, (something a dumb with big could never do LOLOL) why is she crying when she has to kill a deer? Why does she need a man to OBI WAN her every time she has to do the simplest task (like use a bow and arrow)" The writers couldn't figure out if she was a strong independent woman, or a girl who will grow into one...so they half assed it and made her both, a conflicted poorly written character. At least the old Lara was what she was. To simplify it, if Lara was to break the fourth wall and see me rolling my eyes at her tears, the new Lara would call me an insensitive jerk (and probably run off crying, only to get super serious when she discovers an artifact...cause no man will tell her she cant be a scientist). The old Lara would just put a bullet through my head. Now to clarify my tit beef, its simple, backtracking on a popular established character design is patronizing. You are telling the audience that you fed them and they are for liking it. Ultimately, its the New Coke. They should have spent time making her sex appeal the least interesting part of her character development, but instead they just hacked off her breasts and made a big deal about "realism" which is cruel to real girls with big breasts who wish to be taken seriously. In a nutshell, I wouldn't throw D cups on Alyx Vance and call her sexy, nor would I make Lara into slender Angelina Jolie ideal, and call it "realistic". A mans doing.

    How about that gameplay? The whole game is running through a hallway. But dont worry, the explosions and quick time events will remind you just how plot filled and immersive those hallways are. Just make sure you pay attention, sometimes you have to press e! Remember the old tomb raider? Each room was a platforming puzzle filled with traps and baddies? Here each room is a straight line filled with motion blur and ledges painted white (how else will you know that you should climb them!?!?!). Combat? I hope you like gears of war. Close zoom over the shoulder slow walking with cover. Everything else is a quicktime event...god you better love them quicktime fights...

    This game is everything I hate about the industry in one package. Remember how in HL2 you did everything yourself, left your keyboard with white knuckles and sweaty palms, and you felt like you knew Gordon Freeman better than your best friend, even though he never said a word the entire game? Yea, that was sweet...but that was Citizen Kane, this is Avatar.

    2/10 nice graphics and sound
    Expand
  77. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is honestly one of the best games I have played a long time. People say that it is to linear, but I think it had to be to set the perfect mood for every situation you come across.

    I did increase the difficulty a notch when I started, I have played a lot of games. I think this helped the game seem more fun. I also see a lot of people say that it was to easy, so I think this
    might be user error.

    I have read people say that it is to short, for me that is not really a bad thing. I get board after about 20 hours of game play, so this one felt just right. They really did hit everything perfectly. A great game you should be playing, and its cheaper than most triple A title games.
    Expand
  78. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    WOW!!! PC version looks and feels amazing! It also plays EXTREMELY well with very fluid controls and motion. I could not be more pleased with this release. Even the experience points system and weapon unlocks/upgrades are exciting when they happen. I can tell they put a lot of thought into this title. I really, really hope Crystal Dynamics keeps making these games. I had a feeling it was going to be a good game but it turned out to be my favorite game this year. Granted it is only March but there has been a lot of big games out already this year and I have played them ALL. This is better than Dead Space 3 and Crysis 3 and a lot of other titles. Haven't had the chance to play Bioshock: Infinite yet since it isn't out but I feel it may be Tomb Raiders only competition in the first quarter of 2013. I cannot comment on the multiplayer. I have not had a chance to play any. I'm not finished with the campaign yet and I don't want to break away from it for something else. I really am having a lot of fun. You will not regret purchasing this game! Dear Crystal Dynamics, Thank you very much for not ruining one of my childhood memories. I was fortunate enough to have played the original when it was days old on my PS1. I feel the series went downhill and I quit playing them but always came back to the first. Here I am, the better part of two decades older, and I am enjoying this game as if I were 15 again. You are the first game company I have written to and believe me, I owe a lot of thank you's to a lot of developers out there over the decades. Anyway, I'm going to get back to Tomb Raider. Lara has never looked so good nor been so tough and determined. If no one from your company reads this, that's cool. I figured I would take the chance. Again, thank you!! Expand
  79. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I wish give 10 but I dont play enougth, even to see the bad think that others talked about.
    My experience is going great with this game and for those want play old lara croft game, well just play the first and second game.
    This game give Lara Croft a human side never seem before and its fabolus.

    Icgoing to finish the game soon then back to talk more about.

    Easy goty and best buy 2013
  80. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Judging Tomb Raider (PC version) on what it is a "you are there embedded in the movie" game it' is outstanding, and I think it deserves to be weighed on those merits. I'm not a big RPG/FPS/puzzle player, yet I found this game compelling enough to play to the very end (~20 hours). Plus, I love sniping with fire arrows. My biggest complaint was a two-part action sequence roughly 1/3rd of the way into the game, where getting through depending upon making a series of correct move-left/move-right decisions in real time. Took me nearly 90 minutes to get through it, and I was ready to quit. Nothing else was that difficult/irritating. Highly recommended; your mileage may vary. ..fritz.. Expand
  81. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Ok for everyone reading the other reviews that say 'Its all QTEs', its not true, the first hour has 2-3 QTEs, and since then I have come across maybe 2 more in the next 5 hours or so of the game.... In fact even though I dont like QTEs this probably is the first game in which I do not mind them.

    Now moving on to the rest of the gameplay, having played ALL of the previous Tomb Raider
    games, I love this one, even though I miss some things from the previous games; most of all the huge tombs, exotic locales and intricate puzzles that were iconic of the tomb raider franchise are missing, they are replaced by a large interactive open world that ALMOST makes up for it.

    On the other hand the game-play is much more fluent and refined, the cover system is flawless and it never feels as if Lara is getting 'easy' kills. Exploring and finding salvage and artifacts is rewarding since they are not mere numbers (e.g. 12/42 bleh), they all give you insight into the history of the island and of the people involved in the plot. The upgrade and skill system is great and feels rewarding without it becoming a grind. The story (until now) is excellent and builds up a sense of mystery, you WANT to know that is the secret of the place, the voice acting is great and all of laras actions seem very realistic.

    All in all this is a great adventure game that stays loyal to the fan base and successfully tells the origin story of one of the most iconic characters in video game history, if this is the direction that Crystal Dynamix are gonna take Tomb Raider, then I am definitely looking forward to the future games in this series! (With a small prayer to have my huge Egyptian tombs back!)
    Expand
  82. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Wow. I've been waiting for this game for 2 years and I have to say, Crystal Dynamics has left me very impressed. The graphics are amazing, the game-play is very innovative, even the quick-time events make the player feel like more of a part of the character. Even the main menu blew me away. Overall, this game deserves a 10, no matter who you are or what games you play. If you think it deserves less than an 8, well, you might want to reevaluate your perspective. Expand
  83. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Game is just beautiful and brilliantly designed.Everything does its job very well.The only thing i get upset is the optional tombs you raid are so small and the reward is just some xp and some drawings of game.I was expecting some epic puzzles and epic treasures that we can also see.I guess they didn't have much time to complete the whole game.I finished the game with 83% with 10 hours.It was 83 cause i figured out the game after some playing, there is no tutorial to show how to use the interface, what can you find on your map etc. so i founded that i could actually see some trophies on the map and mark them to find them easier.I wish game was a little more longer, like a Uncharted game but hey, it is the best Tomb Raider i played and bounded emotionally. Collapse
  84. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    this game, kind of the most beautiful PC game i have played in life. don't be turned off by the random people who are drowning in hate over some button sequences this game is amazing, its brutal, and its definitely a natural maturation of the Tomb Raider series. No game in recent years actually had me verbalizing my reactions the way this game does. Although i usually tend to hate when it comes to gaming, this one is spot on. Expand
  85. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Epic game!!! Please next year, new Tomb Raider!!! Never play so 1 good game!!! TOP!!! TOP STORY AND TOP GRAFIK!!! Buy all this game!! Is realy very epic game!!!!
  86. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    Finished the game in a little over 10 perfectly paced hours. While being very linear the stellar story and solid action carried this game through to a very satisfying end. I played on release day with no patches and only encountered 1 minor visual bug which for a brand new game is phenomenal.
  87. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    A perfect PC port. Flawless support for Eyefinity (a first from what I can tell). The game play is fun and intuitive. Dying can be just as entertaining as finishing an objective. I feel like I'm playing a movie but not in a rehash of Dragon's Lair sort of way. The camera controls were also very excellent. If I had to complain about something it would be the lack of ability to go back to previous saves as some of the scenes are just amazing (looking at you radio tower!) Expand
  88. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This game is intense!!! GOTY 2013! Played this for 6 hours, story and that island are really interesting. Thanks Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix for this.
  89. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This game is by far my favorite game of the year, crystal dynamics did a very good job with this game, its very cinematic, very emotional, and very intense, this is a must own game (not including the multiplayer of course).
  90. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    It's great to see how Lara grow from a rookie to an export in exploring the mysteries. Some may criticise there's too less exploring and too many combat, but I think it's a good combination of puzzle solving and surviving, a balance between story telling and gaming. Although not perfect, the TressFX effect is really great. From every aspect, this is definitely among the best games I've ever played. Since there's no 9.5, I'll give it 10. Expand
  91. Jun 8, 2013
    3
    I just don't get WHY the hell TR 2013 keeps getting 9/10, 10/10 and 5 star ratings. You only ever do 3 things in the game: 1) shoot at human enemies with low AI all the time, 2) watch QTEs, 3) watch how the devs injure Lara more and more. The funniest thing is people call this 'the best TR to date'. Oh please.

    Old legends say Tomb Raider franchise once had actual tombs in it (I know, I
    know, sounds unbelievable, doesn't it? Blows your mind away, yeah?). You won't find them here. I swear even Angel of Darkness had more of those. Hell, you won't find any traps at all, no rolling boulders, no spikes, no Shiva statues suddenly waking up... This game is literally try-hard Uncharted on the island from Lost. The only good points are graphics and sound, but then again, there's no code optimisation whatsoever. Who needs it, right?

    Whatever happened to good taste?
    Expand
  92. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    This game is by far the best Tomb Raider in the series. It is very well polished, the graphics are excellent, the story is great so far and the gameplay is really excellent. The game has a few too many quick-time and cut scene sequences for my liking, but they do add to the story and the excitement I guess. Its clear the developers put a lot of effort into the game and I'd say its well worth buying, even at full price. Expand
  93. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Easily the best Tomb Raider game. There are a mountain of positives and a mole hill of negatives. I've been a long term fan of this series and one of those people that bought the original of PS1. At the time, that was a benchmark game in every aspect. Fast forward to this, the 2013 edition, I honestly feel this surpases the original in every area. The graphics have to be highlighted as a point of reference. Seriously, the level of detail is simply stunning and I don't own a better looking game. Set this to Ultra and you'd think you were watching a movie. The soundtrack, gun noises, attention to detail as Lara moves, the story telling, the cast, the dirt on her face, the wind in her hair, etc this list could go on and on. I'm tempted to give this a 10 because it really is that good. As I often say in my reviews, I do not understand other peoples take on games. How can this game (at its absolute worst) be anything less than a 7??? Seriously, those who hate on this game (or games in general) need a mirror. Sadly, the internet is making 'The World' a place for unnecessary venting. My opinion may not be right, but marking Tomb Raider a ZERO is utter BS. Such a shame that there is so much hate in modern day society. Expand
  94. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    Game is decent especially after the first hour is over with but my only big gripe is this game seems to favor AMD rigs. I have a 690 and I have had crashes constantly and really inconsistent frame rate dips. When the game runs it does run wonderfully but it seems to have a lot of bugs as of now. If you do have a NVIDIA gpu don't even bother turning on TressFX no matter what GPU you have it will murder your framerate. I'm about 5 hours in though and I am enjoying it. Expand
  95. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    they have turned this franchise into a shooter game. Tomb raider have never been about shooting it was about sulving puzzles. yes there was some shooting sequences, but its not the main game. there are no puzzles in this game the only puzzle you find are the one that you have to shoot things. if the title of the game was´nt Tomb raider i would give it an 8 10.
  96. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This game is easily a masterpiece. They very carefully created every single detail in it. You can see the love the developers handled the genre. The graphics are beautiful, the artworks you unlock are simply gorgeous, the animation is realistic and fluent. The theme is very dark and I guess it was a nice way to go though it maybe just my personal preference. I really can't think of anything negative literally. The gameplay is simple and fun. The story is enjoyable. Some people mentioned the characters are quite one dimensional and I quite agree, but then again the focus characters are well done (the transition of Lara is really well put together imo). I wanted to wait a little until it's price drops a little (because it isn't cheap), but I didn't regret buying it at all. The gaming scene could use more detailed and mature games like this. Expand
  97. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    In this game you just get so involved with the gameplay, Lara, the entire story. Once you get hooked, you can't let go. The game has beautifully amazing cutscenes graphics to add to that. And the multiplayer, I was wondering how they would be able to put this in the game pull it off, now I know I tend to like it quite a bit actually. The only problem I find with multiplayer is not many people play it, either that or I just had a lot of trouble finding games other than team deathmatch the entire time. And another thing to know, I encountered a few bugs that really didn't bother me, but they were there once I got passed them I never didn't tend to think much of them afterwards. Anyways, bottom line is, you're missing out if you don't pick up this game. Expand
  98. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I had high hopes for the game and Crystal Dynamics didn't let me down. This is a fantastic game, the perfect reboot of the franchise. There is nothing that I would change. OK, maybe there are some minor things, but nothing important.

    After playing this game I have the feeling to know and understand Lara. I feel invigorated and cannot wait to see the next adventures of Lara Croft.

    The
    characters have real depth, the atmosphere is pulling you in and the settings are beautiful.
    Perfect voice acting and bombastic music complete the game.

    From a quality perspective this game is one of the best releases in the last year.It is running really stable, I only had one crash and some minor glitches in the user interface. I cannot wait to see more from this Lara.
    Expand
  99. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    Game is just beautiful and brilliantly designed.Everything does its job very well.The only thing i get upset is the optional tombs you raid are so small and the reward is just some xp and some drawings of game.I was expecting some epic puzzles and epic treasures that we can also see.I guess they didn't have much time to complete the whole game.I finished the game with 83% with 10 hours.It was 83 cause i figured out the game after some playing, there is no tutorial to show how to use the interface, what can you find on your map etc. so i founded that i could actually see some trophies on the map and mark them to find them easier.I wish game was a little more longer, like a Uncharted game but hey, it is the best Tomb Raider i played and bounded emotionally. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    Everything you could want from an archeological adventure, except having to press six keys to mantle. [Apr 2013, p.80]
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.