User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2657 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    2
    Cut scene, quick time event, cut scene, quick time event, cut scene, quick time event, I freaking hate developers who ruin games like that. I just want to control the character myself, Is that too much to ask nowadays? If I want good story, I go and watch a movie or read a book. Why do devs have to put this linear cinematic push a button garbage into video games?
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    Tomb Raider (the reboot) is less of a game and more of a movie. First lets get the pro's out of the way: -The game is visually appealing. The atmosphere is set perfectly for each moment of the game. -Lara, the player's character, is well developed throughout the story of the 'game'. -Voice acting is good. Thats it for everything good about this game. Now for the con's: -Even though Lara is a great character, almost every other character is boring and 2-dimensional. You don't feel any connection with any of them.
    -Way too many cut scenes! Especially at the beginning of the game. Also, there are some sections which severely restrict the player's control. This isn't fun.
    -The dreaded quick-time event. There are also too many of them, and they appear when you least think. You never know if it will be a cut scene, or a random quick-time event. They aren't built into the combat system very well either. The only time I ever died was to this atrocity of a gameplay mechanic. Also, did I mention they aren't fun?
    -The so-called "platforming" is ridiculously easy. This is the one area they could have went crazy with, but they decided to play it safe and make it so easy even a toddler could beat it.
    -Hand-holding gameplay. Are you lost? Just use your 'survival instincts' to point you the direction you need to go. You seriously don't even need this because the areas are smaller than they look, and the game is mostly linear. You miss all your shots on the wolf pack thats about to eat you alive? Don't worry, we will toss some QTEs your way so you don't die right away. Regenerating health? Check. Frequent checkpoints? Check. Lackluster AI? Check.
    -Simplistic puzzle elements. Once in while, you get puzzles. Needless to say, most of them require little to no thinking on your part. There usually only a few elements to the puzzle, and even if you get stuck, you can use your 'survival instincts' to help you point out the elements.
    -Music is forgettable. I don't think I need to explain this further.
    -Story is average.
    -Lack of varied weaponry. You got your bow, pistol, and shotgun. Thats it, unless you want to count the axe that you use to pry open doors among other things.
    -Multiplayer mode... I don't even want to get into this. Tomb Raider has always been a single player game.


    tl;dr version:
    Overall, this game is just too generic. It looks pretty, but thats about it. I am disappointed in how it turned out.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games where you get so involved with the character and with the visuals surrounding it. The story line is amazing the sound effect are awesome. The multiplayer is even not that bad I actually enjoyed playing a litle bit of it. I think this is one of my favorite so far this year.
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    As far as a 3rd person action/adventure game goes this is very good, as far as a Tomb raider game goes it's not too bad but it could be a lot better. From the perspective of a reboot from a great series this is certainly a nice breath of fresh air and there is a lot great things that has been put into this game: The environments and visuals are some of the best I've seen in a 3rd person game let a lone an action game for current generation technology. The combat system and mechanics are a joy to play and are free flowing and easy to control, the AI is pretty smart and react accordingly to their surroundings, character development is actually quite good considering a lot of people are saying they're 2 dimensional it's still a good story/plot all in all. These are some of the great things this game ha to offer. However I do feel that this game is missing something, it's missing the Indianna Jones style tomb/booby traps explorations we all grew to love in a Tomb Raider game. Don't get me wrong this game has tombs, it has exploration but it just doesn't quite feel the same and that brings me back to my point as a 3rd person action/adventure game this concept would be fine but as it's Tomb Raider I really crave this and that's why I will give Crystal Dynamics the benefit of the doubt and hope they add these important features for any forthcoming sequels. All in all a decent game and deserves a respectable score, however if you're looking for the true Tomb Raider feel you may be left slightly dissapointed. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    I am trying really hard to love this game as there is so much to love. The quicktime events need to go though. They are just so frustrating on PC and drag down the experience. Who on earth thought adding so many was a great idea? The game was strong enough to work without these elements and it seems to just be lazy programming that resulted in them. Leave them as an option if people want it that way but there should have been an option to skip as an instant death over and over again for not pressing a button on a controller or a key on a keyboard within a millisecond is pretty cheap.
    Visually this game is great and sound and exploration in parts is fun too but please no more quicktime events ever
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    It could be any other game..besides Tomb Raider. Its very easy and its more of a movie you interact with than a game. Its about 70% Quick Time Events as far as I can see..which are very buggy to say the least. I have to keep restarting the client as they just don't work..and after googling it seems to be a common problem. For anyone who's a fan of the older Tomb Raider games like myself..don't get too excited. Its still enjoyable...just not as a Tomb Raider game. Its not even Lara..they messed with the character too much. Expand
  8. Mar 10, 2013
    3
    The QTE's outnumber the actual puzzles, the controls and camera are clunky way too often that is, when you do actually have control (the game's ai will modify your trajectory so no precision is needed). The combat is repetitive, headshots basically line themselves up and you can dodge the ai's attacks damn near blindfolded. The gore is over the top and the plot feels shaky. Overall it feels less like a genuine exploration platformer and more like one of the old FMV games on the original Playstation in the mid to late 90's. What we need is a Tomb Raider that goes back to the series roots that is, actual *Tomb Raiding* large expansive tombs, small and confined tombs, traps that try to kill you at every turn and require actual dexterity to evade, and jumps that require forethought, practice and flawless execution in order to progress. This game is not that, it's basically snuff-porn for people who like their victims filthy and drenched in gore. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing pc version with stunning directx 11 and good optimization. Ambient and voice actors are amazing. Played this for 3 hours, story and that island are really interesting. Lara is so nice of course. Happy to play such games. Thanks Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix for this.
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Quite surprised how good this game to be turned out to be, easily one of the best action-adventure games in years. Very fluid gameplay, top line graphics and action filled engaging story. This is one of very few games where QTEs aren't too annoying and actually play a good part during action scenes. Gameplay is a good mix of stealth and firefights, the AI isn't too great but that is pretty common these days. Story is a great twist on typical Tomb Raider adventure, people who like the concept of the Lost show will love it. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Pro's -

    Graphically very pretty.
    Nice to see an incarnation of Tomb Raider where Lara Croft's haven't grown by a cup size between releases and not look like silicon implants.
    Better story line (but only just).
    Nixxes have made this a half-decent port from console.

    CONS

    Typical consoletard linear gameplay.
    Short probably less than 15 hours gameplay.
  12. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I don't often write reviews but... wow. I Am absolutely blown away, I didn't expect anything from this game. I enjoyed the old games, (1,2, Angel of darkness, underworld) but this one just blew me away, the intro was great and it kept me going, the adrenaline doesn't stop and the action just keeps coming, I even feel bad for Lara after everything she goes through.

    The graphics are
    sensational (I'm running a gtx680), the hair effects look amazing most of the time, but they have their glitches and screw ups (like the effects disappearing for a second and her hair looking bland during intense cut scenes, it could be a driver thing or something they could patch). As mentioned the story is thrilling and keeps you wanting more, the side quests are worthwhile and brings back old Lara memories. The gameplay is solid, the free running reminds me of assassins creed mixed with old school lara. The bow is great, the guns can feel a bit clunky at times but still suits fine considering she wouldn't be a gun expert. Point blank confrontations with enemies are awkward at first but goes nicely with the story, but once you adapt and learn abilities it works out great and flows greatly.

    Overall a true underdog for me and a very nice recreation of Lara. Good job crystal.
    Expand
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    This game about a shooting, oceans of blood and Lara's falling. No adventure and challenging puzzles. This is not a Tomb Raider it's regular shooter with old famous name beyond which there is nothing.
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    The game runs well on my HD 7950 and TressFX makes Lara's hair look and behave realistically. Unfortunately the hair comes at a significant performance loss, but it's worth it if you're not too bothered about getting 60fps on a high end system and a massive fps drop during the in-engine cutscenes. I like the overall story and Lara is a great character that changes drastically during the game. Every member of her group and the other characters on the island are dissapointing though and I found it hard to care about any of them.

    As an action/adventure game released after the Uncharted series, this of course takes a lot from those games and actually improves on certain aspects. I haven't encountered any set pieces on the scale of Uncharted yet, but the more personal story and the larger focus on realism make the action a lot more tense, regardless of it not being quite as flash as Nathan Drake's adventures.

    Definitely get this if you're a PC Gamer that hasn't played the Uncharted series and still get it if you have. It takesa lot from other games and isn't the Tomb Raider we are used to playing, the characterization is weak and TressFX kills performance. Yet the game is still worth it for overall story, Lara's character development, tense action sequences and impressive gameplay.

    PS: Multiplayer is garbage, forget that it exists and you'll be happy with this game.
    Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Three hours in. Fantastic game so far. Great PC port, for those worried over that aspect of the game. Using latest 314 drivers, my nvidia card does the hair tesselation very well, so you definitely do not need a radeon to get that benefit of the PC port. Controls are very fluid and smooth with a keyboard/mouse. Some people hate QTEs, so if you hate 'em, too bad. This game has them. I think they're a perfectly fine gameplay mechanic. I don't mind.

    Combat is, like the controls, fluid and smooth. I'm shocked, considering Crystal Dynamics has largely made...well...games far inferior to this in the past. :/

    Very cinematic gameplay that is a mixture of Uncharted/Assassin's Creed. The optional "Tombs" have, so far, been relatively easy. I was always a fan of the Tomb Raider stories/lore, but never a fan of the puzzle-based gameplay in the previous games, and while there's some small element of puzzles in the main game, it's definitely more of an action/adventure than an environment puzzle. Which I think is great.

    The story, and character evolution of Laura, so far, has also been great. It's audacious to say this only three hours in, but I can already see this being in the conversation for end-of-year awards when November/December rolls around.

    Just fantastic presentation, solidly smooth gameplay, and far more likable Laura now that she isn't wearing hotpants with Double D cups. I'll hold off on a 10 until I actually finish. ;D About the only thing I can think of at this point that would make me lower my score later is if they end it on a cliffhanger.
    Expand
  16. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    I've only been playing for a couple hours but I really had to quit. This game isn't awful and if you really like the run of the mill AAA shooter genre then you might find this game worthwhile, but if you aren't a fan of quicktime events or linear set pieces then you won't enjoy yourself that much. Just about everything that Lara does is a quicktime event: fighting wolves, fighting people, climbing things; all of it is just onscreen prompts. Crystal Dynamics has made less a game and more a movie that occasionally checks to see if the audience has fingers. Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    Which generation do you belong? Despite all the marketing tricks, TressFX (top notch performance-eater!) and a famous franchise title Tomb Raider, this game is a great example of a dumbed-down experience. Linear levels, scripted events... Every linear element is there to pretend you're an idiot who cannot learn how sand-box works, make your own decisions that could matter, change the outcome, etc. You're thrown into a pile of garbage. Follow your only path and do only what game tells you to. You're too stupid to decide. If you like games which take your hand and lead from point A to B all the time, you'll like this. Otherwise, prepare for a nightmare. And BTW, story is average. I don't play games for SFX. Ignore this game, if you truly love freedom. Ciugi out. Expand
  18. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    This is an awful step away from the basic Tomb Raider concept. If this game was called not "Tomb Raider" it could get away with 5 or 6 as a boring action/"movie". But we are presented with THIS instead of acrobatic puzzle with big open levels what a good Tomb Raider game should be. So it does not deserve even 1 point.
  19. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    Having never played any Tomb Raider games before I went into this with an open mind ready to see what the fuss was about. Sadly it was anything but 8/10 worthy. The start of the game is just about the only reason this game scored a 4 from me, as it really kicked off to great satisfaction. At the start it really feels like Lara is completely down and out and quite literally fighting for her life. Things like having to search for food and shivering until the fire was complete was extremely nice touches. Then it just started to go downhill, and it didn't stop. I came into the game expecting a Action/Adventure/Puzzle/Platformer and what I got was a ACTION focused, semi-adventure with minor Platforming elements and a couple of crappy puzzles. The story was interesting but sadly the writing team completely ruined any intrigue the story had. Poorly timed cutscene interaction combined with strings of conversations which felt like they came straight out of 'Short story writing for dummies', ultimately made for boring character interaction and a few chuckles at strange conversation flow. Characters were extremely cliched but thankfully so few of them get any sort of development that you don't have to cringe to much at watching them become fully evolved walking Cliches. Lara's development is less 'Girl to Hardened Survivor' and more, 'Is this girl stupid, why would she ever want to go on an exploration ever again?' There was extremely few puzzles and they were all ridiculously easy. Tombs where the puzzles were, however, extremely gorgeous and it's probably worth going inside for a look but then not even bothering to do the puzzle. Platforming was there but extremely watered down. There was a moment where I was jumping around little rocky cliffs and I found a way to reach the ground, however upon landing on the ground from a tiny jump I died. I had hit a 'DeadZone', which frankly is a disgusting thing to have in a game and it really made me think twice before bothering to try any interesting platforming for the rest of the game because there was probably not going to be anything there or a deadzone. However I did continue trying and every platform stage is very 'hand-holdy', you never really get a chance to just jump around, you always have to use your tools and because of this just about any place you'd reach by platforming was extremely spelled out and the game practically guided you in bright yellow. The Graphics weren't anything to be overly proud of, if anything a bit below average for a 2013 AAA title (Probably slightly worse then Deus Ex Human Revolution and a little better then Mass Effect 3). Artstyle was probably akin to Mass Effect 3, very sort of standard video game, slightly cartoony realism. The opening Cinematic was fairly meh, not even close to the quality of the Openings to say; Deus Ex: HR, Witcher 2 etc. Cutscenes were well done but the Camera got a little funky from time to time and of course QTE (Quick Time Events) were just rife throughout which really detracted from them. On that matter the QTE's were a massive annoyance, having to use them for something as simple as a 'Stealth Kill' was just absurd, and then having to use them in practically every aspect of the game was just over the top. My final point, and this is where I'll sum up as well, is that simply it's sad when you play a game labeled as a; Action/Adventure/Platformer and the most polished and fun part of the game is the standard boring 'Call of Duty' style shooting elements. Based off how the game started I was expecting Alot of Adventure, Alot of Platforming and a bit of Action and then about 25% of the way through it just started to deteriorate rapidly and turned into a full on Action game with some basic Platforming. The final 50-60% of the game just felt like I was running from one scripted shooting encounter to the next, it didn't even feel like an adventure. It feels like they've tried to do what alot of Video Games lately are doing and attract the Call of Duty/Battlefield market. Which clearly has worked for them considering all the rave reviews from the same people who praise those lame shooters, but for someone like me who hasn't experienced a proper good Action/Adventure/Platformer since Donkey Kong 64, I was once again extremely let down. Expand
  20. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Excellent gameplay, solid plot, and wonderful graphics. For a modern day 3rd person shooter it is awesome. Deeper than Uncharted, multiple routes to take through quests, and a level up system similar to Far Cry. It is a combo game that doesn't fail in anyway except for the lack of puzzles. Add some serious Tomb Raider puzzles and this may have been the best in the series. As it is, I'm on a second playthrough already. They did a great job of making you feel that no matter how skilled you play the game, Lara may not actually succeed at her goals. Pros:
    TressFX hair.
    The island is the star.
    Great pacing to the story and to Lara's development as a character.
    Nice job of making the player feel that they may not succeed at their mission until the last second. Cons:
    Massive performance drop with TressFX hair on (don't use this on anything but a top Intel chip processor and AMD 6970+ or NVIDIA GFX 660ti card, it killed every other set up I used).
    No puzzles (well they exist, but are short and very easy).
    Water could be better and Lara can't swim.
    Freedom of movement around the island comes very late in the story at which point you don't care about exploring any more. PC controls are not as smooth as the controller, again making the PC feel like an afterthought. Many people complain of crashes, but I had a smooth experience. Final Judgment:
    It is worth the $50 only if you like replaying games. It is short and a one time play for people only interested in the story. My first playthrough was about 8 hours and I completed 84% of the collectibles and challenges. Maybe a 6 hour game if you plow through the story.
    Expand
  21. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This Tomb Raider is a mature adult-oriented version and better for it. The storyline evolves as you play the game and you really feel for Lara's struggles as she battles through the islands lush locations.

    The gameplay has depth and combat has a visceral feel. The controls are simple and do not get in the way of the action or story. The graphics and sound are state-of-the-art and rival
    anything seen and heard in other games released in the last year. Do yourself a favor and upgrade your computer. The Ultimate graphics setting is absolutely beautiful.

    The UI is excellent and highly polished and most importantly functional. The new collection and achievement systems encourage you to explore the island. They also have the added advantage of giving you experience and items which in turn can be used to add skills and upgrade weapons.

    A definite Game Of The Year contender.
    Expand
  22. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider plays and feels more like an action movie than a game, but that is not a bad thing. The problem is that it turns, for the most part, the player into an expectator with "little" (choice-wise) to do other than follow the predetermined path and manage QT-Es to stay awake (but let's be fair: extremely well implemented QT-Es).

    Trying to gather the collectibles spread around the
    map may distract you from the game's main selling point: it's character development and the interaction with the environment, but those menial exploration tasks can be left to after the endgame the completionist in me wanted to ditch the sense of urgency and collect everything on the first play-through, but that spoils the mood.

    The voice acting is solid, the graphics are stunning and Lara's character is unbelievably well done, but the rest of the crew is unmemorable to say the best, sometimes falling into "I wish friendly-fire could be turned off" territory. The narrative is very common place (again, not a bad thing), but the action feels... unnatural (too much killing, even if "justified").

    The difficult is set very, very low: the (environmental) puzzles are okay, but ammo is pretty much infinite, making fragility the only problem for Lara, but again no complaints here: dying over and over again has always been a selling point for this franchise (really!).

    In this reboot we don't have huge, over-the-top and out-of-this-world Tombs, neither did we get underwater sequences (in fact, on my gameplay Lara drowned at least a dozen times) but yes this is solid environment and survival exploration with the most loved female explorer ever. This game truly turns Lara's character into all that she is know even a dose of sex appeal is there, when she isn't mass murdering entire armies.
    Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    First of all I don't see how you cant accurately review a game within the first hours. And Tomb Raider Linear and scripted? I wonder why that is? Maybe because it is a game where the story is supposed to be linear because it is a prequel to how Lara Croft became a BAMF, This game is meant to have a tighter grip on the beginning of the game because rather than going through stupid slow boring tutorials that we all hate the game actually teaches you while going through Adrenaline filled action. The game is supposed to be a linear game and just because it is linear doesn't mean that's a bad thing. Before you judge this game correctly and accurately with a real review don't rage at it. From what I have played through the game is awesome and fun. Expand
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I find it hard to believe people are seriously complaining about QTE's in this game. There really aren't that many. I'm currently 49% through the game and I'm having a blast. I'd say about 8/10 fights I get into are just pure action shooting/brawling where the remaining two will have QTE's involved (So seriously it's not that much and they add a nice transition to standard beat em up)

    The graphics are very impressive on Lara's character model, so much that it actually makes the environment look not as outstanding. Same goes for the other characters as well, though it's not so crazily different it makes your jaw drop.

    The skills and weapon upgrades actually make an impact which is important to me, it's not one of those games that has a linear skill upgrade design (for instance you only have one skill to upgrade or you pick between two and that's it). The movement is perfect, throughout what I've played thus far, I never had an issue with controlling Lara around the environment, jumping from platforms etc. (Also I play with the Keyboard and Mouse, not a gamepad just for noting)

    The game isn't as "open-world" as I'd hoped it would've been. Like the other Tomb Raider games it still is somewhat linear, though they do have secret tombs you can raid to get unlockables and very nice experience for skills in.

    The combat is very fun and fluid. I say fluid in terms of being smooth (It's a word I've taken to when describing combat in games...) as in it doesn't feel clunky at all. Which was actually quite a relief to me as most games deliver on so many fronts then lack in the combat area where it just feels like a jumbling mess.

    The voice acting is great but there have been a few moments where it was somewhat embarrassing too. Not enough to make me not want to play the game though that's for sure!

    Old style Tomb Raider fans can also rejoice, they do still have puzzles in the side-tombs that you raid. Though using the survival instinct (Q) can really pave the way for you, so for an additional challenge I'd recommend resisting the use of it!

    All in all, I'm finding this game to be very exciting and fun. With the amount of hype and games that have been coming out lately that all turn to crap.. I'm very glad I didn't go wrong in pre-ordering this one! Also for an added note I'm on 7 hours of play time at 49% complete to maybe give you an idea of the length of the game. (I go off exploring every now and then but not extensively) Also for anyone curious about it's port to PC, it really feels like it was meant to be for the PC. Not saying console users got the raw end by any means though! Just stating something that must be said about all games from the console/pc-wide play-ability because the port to the PC can often be a nightmare without a controller!

    Thanks for reading! Hope my review helped in someway ^_^
    Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The BEST tomb raider of the series. Definitely a MUST BUY, the graphics and story are FIRST CLASS. But the multiplayer was a bit disappointing. Nonetheless this game is EPIC. All hail SQUARE ENIX
  26. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    The story takes place in an island, this is a prequel to the other games and shows Lara developing as a strong character. Going through various trials to get to the end goal of getting off this island. At the start you are put in a situation where you are alone in a cave where you have an hour of fun filled… quick time events. Well at least the graphics are good and you get to see her have super human strength by grabbing on to massive ledges and pulling up her bodyweight with minimal training. Archaeologist must be from some sort of different planet. But yes you will find throughout the game that this woman can literally do anything. Except from raid tombs, this barely ever comes up, except for a couple of side missions. There are a couple of rewarding mechanics, shooting a deer or a human with a crossbow is always fun. And the gunplay is rewarding and there are upgrades to keep you engrossed all through the game. The island has a lot to explore and multiple collectables. This is a very gory game so I would say it should be for a 15 year old or higher. Expand
  27. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    In summary... GET THIS GAME.

    I rarely find a game that will want me coming back for more. This game not only made me eager to get back to playing it, but I'm also eager to play through it again! After playing only one tomb raider game I hadn't had a high impression of the tomb raider franchise and the only reason I looked into getting this game is the extreme positive feedback from some
    reviews. The graphics are amazing, some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The detail put into Lara, the characters and the scenery is outstanding (I can't think of a word to praise it enough). The story is very original; I think they did the right thing by starting a reboot with a novice Lara and building up her character and personality through the emotional story. I liked the combat and controls, it is kept simple and fits in with her character (for example, instead of blocking she dodges attacks). The QTE felt simple but were extremely intense as most situation escalated quickly as our poor Lara was thrown around or falling once again. There are only minor things that this game could have improved on; the enemy AI felt like it was just a wave after wave of mindless drones and QTE were sometimes so well implemented I didn't know whether I was to watch an action scene or start moving Lara. Overall this game is brilliant and a very successful reboot. I expect another game to come after this one (I would be very disappointed if they didn't). Expand
  28. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Let me start by saying I am truly and undeniably a fan of the series. I`ve played it since 1986 and I`ve finished every Tomb Raider game so far. Ever since the disastrous Angel Of Darkness the series tried crawling back to it`s throne, and came close with recent instalments but not quite there. They each missed what this game has, a character with real human emotions and weaknesses instead of a superhero, and a fresh gameplay that does a good job making you satisfied till the end without getting repetitive. But more importantly the series now has what it was truly missing, a compelling story that isn`t serving a mere motivation for your character to get from point A to point Z, but more to make you question your surroundings, your allies, instincts and wonder about the outcome of every situation you find yourself into. It`s no longer about simply getting into that tomb and raiding ti dry, beating the boss and walking out with your prize, it`s about understanding the myth behind it, the history, and the dangers behind it`s power falling into the wrong hands. Finally the game has a great combat system too, tied with a crafting system and a skill menu, which was my initial worry. but turned out well as the skills are nothing game breaking and only feature slight boost of her already achieved skill set. Graphics is great, nothing groundbreaking but the effects and animation are stunning and make you really get into the game, along with an amazing soundtrack. Puzzles are innovative, and no longer about just pulling levers and finding keys. You are now required to use the nature and it`s element around you. Deaths in the game are brutal, and unlike the reaction you make in most games when you die: Oh damn, gotta reload and start over``, this time it will be more like: ``Jesus Christ that looked painful!``. Lara now also reacts more human than any of the video game characters I`ve seen so far, she is aware of her actions and consequences, she doesn`t kill just to move on, she kills to save, herself or others, she kills to survive and shows a range of emotions you`d expect from someone in her position. The camera is finally where it should be! It not only covers the action well but also makes it more dramatic and movie-like. The game is also very well optimized. It runs flawlessly on my mid-range pc with all options maxed, except for the hair, which completely ruins my frame rate when if I enable the TressFx. Guess I need a stronger pc for that one.
    To finish it up let me just say the game is Tomb Raider meets Bear Grylls on a trip to a world most dangerous location. Also, those calling the game a female version of Uncharted need to know one thing, Uncharted itself borrowed heavily from Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones to make a game of it`s own quality, and a great quality it is. This Tomb Raider follows the same footsteps, it doesn`t copy, it learns from it. The game reinvented itself, and it would go in this direction with or without Uncharted, as this is what the fans have been asking for since the game started reusing it`s formula, long before Uncharted.
    The only negative side I can point out is way too much grunting and moaning. I get that she is in a lot of pain, but she is sometimes too dramatic over every injury. And I feel like the whole ``element based puzzles`` could have been worked on a little more, cause the idea opens up a lot of opportunities.
    Thanks you Square Enix for not ruining the series and making it finished for good.
    Expand
  29. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    I would have given this a 9 for story, but the quick time events have become so annoying and such an obvious crutch in place of good game play that I cannot ignore it. Perhaps it is because i Just played a scene over 30 times trying to get past yet another damned quick time event... At any rate, let my rating of this game show that NO GAME with UN-passable quick time events should ever be considered acceptable! They essentially break the game, thus what was a 9 is now a 0. Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    I was VERY happy seeing all these grrreat scores and terrrrific reviews around the www and I was starting to believe in TR being reborn, You know. I gave the game like 8 hrs now. it's just fair. m e d i o c r e. yes- this is sad. i'm not freaking out. i am just an idiot, I actually bought this game, because it is sooooo dumb. PROS: .great CGI .Lara is nice .great SOUND .cool weapon feel CONS: .FAR CRY3 resemblance .QUICK TIME EVENTS! .not so cool story .MORE LIKE A SHOOTERslasher then the LARA CROFTish tombRAIDING .QTE QTE QTE! NO SANBOXING Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    Everything you could want from an archeological adventure, except having to press six keys to mantle. [Apr 2013, p.80]
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.