Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 665
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    I’m truly blown away by how good this game actually is! Astonishing visuals, smooth movement, no bugs, great combat and great realism! ManyI’m truly blown away by how good this game actually is! Astonishing visuals, smooth movement, no bugs, great combat and great realism! Many seem to have given up on the Tomb Raider franchise, but for me this has been my best gaming experience in quite some time! Personally, I've always loved Tomb Raider games (and always will) but this was such a fresh experience I couldn't comprehend someone not enjoying this title; unless you whole heartedly dislike action adventure games! For fans of the original series (despite peoples pessimism) all of what you loved from prior games is back and no this is not an “Uncharted” rip-off it’s Tomb Raider doing what Tomb Raider has always done; just in a fresh new way! Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    The Best Tomb Raider i ever played. The game is very enjoyable, graphics, sounds, level design is superb. The Multiplayer is is simple.The Best Tomb Raider i ever played. The game is very enjoyable, graphics, sounds, level design is superb. The Multiplayer is is simple. Controls are very easy. There are plenty of action and the QTE is very addictive. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, thisThis game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    I played the original TR back on the PS1 and have touched a couple of the other ones and was never really that sucked in. This one however isI played the original TR back on the PS1 and have touched a couple of the other ones and was never really that sucked in. This one however is amazing. There is a mix of stealth, gun play, puzzles and story that kept me entertained the whole time. Such a huge improvement that I can't wait for a sequel now. Expand
  5. May 10, 2013
    8
    TLDR; The best Tomb Raider I've played, I see some great potential for the series going forward but still some issues. THE GOOD: There are aTLDR; The best Tomb Raider I've played, I see some great potential for the series going forward but still some issues. THE GOOD: There are a lot of things going right for this game: the combat is great (especially with upgraded items), the graphics and sound are well done, the story while still semi Tomb Raider ridiculous is pretty good, and the controls are good (compared to horrible controls of previous games). Also really enjoyed concept art as a reward.
    THE BAD: The start of the game is horribly slow. Too many cutscenes, too many quick time events (where you have to memorize the button presses...), the weapons are too limited at first, and I wasn't a fan of the ending. Survival instinct can make things a bit too straight forward (puzzles are pretty simple as well.) The extra challenges (essentially collect/do this or that) don't show on the map when you find them, making them tedious at times to complete.
    Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    To be honest I'm surprised at how much I like this game. It probably helps that I went into it knowing that it would be a "Push X to win" typeTo be honest I'm surprised at how much I like this game. It probably helps that I went into it knowing that it would be a "Push X to win" type of game. I was expecting more of a movie and less of a game, and that's really what it is. Depending on what you're looking for, this can be a positive or a negative. In my case it was a positive. Thanks to the ridiculously good visuals, sound, and voice acting I was able to immerse myself into the story and enjoy the action-packed ride. The story itself isn't anything special, but it's good enough. Combat is fluid. QTEs aren't my preferred gameplay mechanic, but they're well done. Exploration is satisfying and rewarding, though I could have done with less hand-holding as far as discovering tombs and items is concerned. I don't feel compelled to 100% most games, but I feel like this is one where it would actually be fun to do. In short, if you're in the mood for a relatively short but satisfying game that feels like you're watching/participating in an action movie, Tomb Raider is a great choice. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    I hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, noI hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, no puzzles, no adventure...just a generic/boring TPS, just "ouch, ouch i take a stick in my womb and fall every 10 seconds but can still walk, run etc." and "bam bam tatata bang" worse than a COD. I don't get all the hype for this game. Expand

See all 665 User Reviews