Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2843 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 621
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Fall in love with TombRaider...

    Usually do not succeed remakes...not the case for Tombraider who is probably one of the best games ever
    created.And for that all respect Square Enix&Crystal Dynamics,really.

    I remember the first game Tombraider played...back in time, in year 2000...for that time i was fascinating about the game and i group every year playing TR.I can say i fall in love with Lara.I remember first steps, was in the evening of 31 december when i play first time Tombraider...about 2 hours alone and another 4 with a best friend.And so i spent the new year then...don't care about the party, just found it a game call it Tombraider.

    Tombraider 2013...what a change, but still, sometimes, i play old tombraider series, for my guilty pleasure.I
    I'm not a fan of new games and throw away old series...no way! Contrary, some new games like RE(another child-start game) are not my style...and maybe for this i think TR is the best remake of a game ever.Undoubtedly.

    This game explain HOW LARA BECOME A TOMB RAIDER! And is very great accomplished.From beginning was only a explorer, a simple and naive-scary girl but when circumstances demanded, became an adventurer and...with apologies, a killer-girl of criminals.But only because it was forced...

    The new TR is just what a game need to be.Amazing graphics,sound,story,puzzles and challenges.The words are little and poor in this case, you need to see, to play TR to feel.This is not a technical review well, dx11 look amazing this is a heart-touching review of TR.
    And about a compared with...another ordinary game, NO! Would be a blasphemy...remember TR was the first game with this gameplay and all the games who next about TR was inspired by the game TR.

    In the final...play new TR...feel all whole evolution-storygame of Lara in a evolution game changed from a good and great game into a ambitious, provocative and sensational game...
    Welcome back Lara Croft!
    Old and new generations of gamers need it!

    Graphics: 10+++
    Sound: 10+++
    Voices: 10+++
    Gameplay: 10+++
    Story: 10+++
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    I've played through all the TR games yet none of them held up to the first two that were released in 1996 and 1998. Every sequel that Core Design put out since then was a steady decline towards irrelevance. There were flashes of brilliance here and there young Lara lost in an island in TR: Chronicles was one such moment. But nothing really felt right. Crystal Dynamics went down the right path when they launched Legends in 2006 and Underworld was another step in the right direction. I'm glad Crystal realized that they needed to sit back and rethink the whole franchise to make Lara and more importantly, that particular brand of gameplay she became famous for, relevant again. Tomb Raider 2013 is delightfully well made and I haven't been able to stop playing it for a couple of days now.

    VISUALS: Out of the box the game looks good. The character models are detailed, the texture work is crisp, and there are nice dx11 effects peppered throughout. Its not the best thing out there (having just played through Crysis 3 recently) but it is more modern than Lara has ever been. Not certain when Nvidia is going to fix the whole TressFX thingamajig, but the sooner the better. The detailed physics-based hair looks awesome, but it will murder your framerate at the moment (even on an Nvidia GTX680). The graphics are helped by a terrific art direction. Things are constantly grim on this troublesome island. The color palettes are darker than what we've typically seen in past Croft games or that other game that many adamantly compare this TR reboot to: Uncharted. The PC version benefits from a host of manually controlled bells and whistles. Thanks to the excellent job done by Nixxes, who I believe also handled Deus Ex on PC. Here's to hoping some crafty modders enhance the game even further.

    STORY: From what I've played so far (about 40% in), the story is great. its not the games strongest suite (that would be the gameplay itself), but its well put together and will make you care for Lara a great deal. What starts out as a terrified yet curious youngling is slowly turning into a more confident and capable adventurer. I'm not even sure when the transition started taking place and I applaud Crystal Dynamics for making it such a subtle experience so far. The game's core is purely Lara. There is a great grand mystery about the island and its inhabitants but that's best left for you to explore and me to ignore in this review. I'm not even sure how the game is going to end, being where I am right now, but it is intriguing in a Lost-ish/Lord of the Flies way.

    GAMEPLAY: I love the gameplay. the controls are excellent and responsive to the action on-screen. Every weapon feels right. Every desperate leap feels tense. Every confident landing feels rewarding. The puzzles are a bit watered down compared to older TR games, but that, I fear is a function of this generation's addiction to instant gratification.
    The open world is well implemented. Obviously, it isn't as wildly open as a Bethesda or Rockstar North production, but it is a well thought-out and frequently rewarding sandbox. There are some light RPG mechanics in that you can unlock new abilities to give Lara an extra edge across three broad traits. The game has a startling bit of violence. I'm not complaining but it is a bit shocking to see Lara get suddenly and brutally impaled. Then there are the optional tombs and the plethora of trophy hunts. Exploring and hunting for trophies makes absolute sense in a Lara Croft game. As much as I loved the Batman Arkham games, the whole trophy hunting was very uncharacteristic of the Caped Crusader. Gotham's burning but "BRB lol, Riddler Trophies!"

    AUDIO: The voice acting is largely good. Kudos to the lead, played by the lovely Camilla Luddington. The other supporting cast members aren't as great, save for maybe 1 or 2. Honestly, I feel the generic bad guys have more exciting and better acted banter. The music, frequently a stand-out component of previous TR games, does its duty. Perhaps not as memorable as some of the older games, but it does a good job in supporting the narrative thread and the action.

    FINAL THOUGHTS: I truly think this is the first great game of 2013. After the string of disappointments that were Dead Space 3 and Crysis 3, I had pretty much resigned myself to X-Com until this game came out. Good or bad I was going to get my hands on Tomb Raider. Fortunately, this easily surpasses every single Tomb Raider game since 1998 and can confidently take a place among the original games that made Lara so endearing.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Good Game,This is one of those games where you get so involved with the character and with the visuals surrounding it. The story line is amazing the sound effect are awesome. The multiplayer is even not that bad I actually enjoyed playing a litle bit of it. I think this is one of my favorite so far this year. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    The game runs well on my HD 7950 and TressFX makes Lara's hair look and behave realistically. Unfortunately the hair comes at a significant performance loss, but it's worth it if you're not too bothered about getting 60fps on a high end system and a massive fps drop during the in-engine cutscenes. I like the overall story and Lara is a great character that changes drastically during the game. Every member of her group and the other characters on the island are dissapointing though and I found it hard to care about any of them.

    As an action/adventure game released after the Uncharted series, this of course takes a lot from those games and actually improves on certain aspects. I haven't encountered any set pieces on the scale of Uncharted yet, but the more personal story and the larger focus on realism make the action a lot more tense, regardless of it not being quite as flash as Nathan Drake's adventures.

    Definitely get this if you're a PC Gamer that hasn't played the Uncharted series and still get it if you have. It takesa lot from other games and isn't the Tomb Raider we are used to playing, the characterization is weak and TressFX kills performance. Yet the game is still worth it for overall story, Lara's character development, tense action sequences and impressive gameplay.

    PS: Multiplayer is garbage, forget that it exists and you'll be happy with this game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Tomb Raider has always been a rather unbelievable series. I thought it was going to change with this one, but apparently Lara is invincible and no amount of falling can kill her. Apart from that this is a brilliant game that made me wince multiple times at just how surprisingly brutal it is. Very good game, but also very short. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    The best tourism simulator ever made, and maybe one of the most giant hallway ever made in human's history.

    But not only: 25 hours of QTE,
    cinematics, collectible items, explosions, fights, fire camp, survival instincts, QTE, explosions, arrows, items to collect, QTE, fire camp, DLC, explosions, fights, QTE and uff.. rolling credits. Expand

See all 621 User Reviews