Tomb Raider PC

Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3507 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 700
  1. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I loved this game, and that in itself is a rarity. The graphics are gorgeous, I like the interaction and also like how involved you are withI loved this game, and that in itself is a rarity. The graphics are gorgeous, I like the interaction and also like how involved you are with Lara and her emotions. I thought the balance between cut scenes and actual game play was perfect. For once the hype was right on spot. Something else that really appealed to me was how it challenged you mentally. I got so involved in it that every time I made Lara jump and grapple I actually leaned forward from the suspense of whether or not I was going to make the jump or not (silly I know but it was subconscious). The controls, menus, and even the object interaction was good as well. The only negative thing for me was the bodies everywhere in some places, it seemed a bit too much and almost gimmicky and I understand what effect they were going for I feel they could of done something else to achieve it. I will state it again, I loved this game, even when I felt frustrated. I recommend it to every one! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The creators of Tomb Raider has received some criticism based on gender prejudice. This is a vital problem in todays gaming industry, and IThe creators of Tomb Raider has received some criticism based on gender prejudice. This is a vital problem in todays gaming industry, and I was afraid of it afflicting this game with its disease as well. Thankfully, that was not the case. In fact, I think this might be one of the first truly believable characters ever created, and she is not stereotypically female (nor is she stereotypically male, as certain ass-kicking heroines tend to be).
    Her character development does seem kind of rushed outside of cut-scenes due to the high numbers of enemies she encounters early on, but this is such a minor problem that as soon as you get to grips with the genre they have chosen to portray her in you will see it as nothing but a minor inconvenience.

    The biggest flaws with this game are the enemy AI. They will often take time to start firing, and there is quite often you see a body part sticking out from behind their cover, making them way too easy too snipe off. Due to Lara's low health and the games plentiful enemies, this does not alter the difficulty too much, but it does cut away from the immersion. Furthermore, there are some few things that will be bothersome from time to time; for example, the fact that you can't roll through holes in the wall (you will in fact bounce back from an invisible wall).

    The story is well thought out and is interesting throughout the game. The relics and journals are all building immersion, and keeps you playing this otherwise fairly short game for a lot longer than it would have if it would have been, for example, artwork (as is the case in a lot of other game in this and similar genres). I would not say there are an abundance of clever plot twists (mosts are in fact quite obvious from the beginning), but nevertheless I could not see that it would have made the game any better.
    The platforming and puzzle-solving, while still easier than average, gives a sense of satisfaction. You won't be stuck for half an hour figuring out how to open the door to the temple (which will then require you to cross the world to obtain the necessary item), but instead you will probably solve it in a few minutes, using only objects directly available. This is a great way to use these techniques without alienating a major part of their target audience.

    The graphics are amazing. Certain games, like BF3 and Crysis, keeps on getting good graphics review simply from the fact that they add pixels. In Tomb Raider, this is not the case. Well, not only, at least. The softness of the light, the amazing views and the great choice of colours makes Tomb Raider truly stand out. It is hard not to be caught up in this world, where every step you take could be part of a cut scene (and the cut-scenes are even better!).

    Even though it has its flaws, Tomb Raider earns a well deserved 10. The last time I was this much in love with a game was when the original American McGee's Alice was released. And that was almost 13 years ago.
    Tomb Raider is a completely different genre than earlier Tomb Raiders game. They have given up the hardcore platforming and puzzling, and exchanged it for a deep personality and an interesting story. I for one could not be happier.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, thisThis game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this game bought it day one full price.
    Pros - Graphics are impressive
    - Sound design is excellent -sound and graphics
    I really enjoyed this game bought it day one full price.
    Pros - Graphics are impressive
    - Sound design is excellent
    -sound and graphics create atmosphere as strong as modern day version of original TR should feel
    -Well written story and characters
    - Great set pieces
    Cons -like uncharted the character kills without remorse
    -level design feels unrealistic at times
    -no definitive edition patch for pc gamers
    Very impressive title have great expectations for a sequel now!
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Tomb Raider has always been a rather unbelievable series. I thought it was going to change with this one, but apparently Lara is invincibleTomb Raider has always been a rather unbelievable series. I thought it was going to change with this one, but apparently Lara is invincible and no amount of falling can kill her. Apart from that this is a brilliant game that made me wince multiple times at just how surprisingly brutal it is. Very good game, but also very short. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    The story takes place in an island, this is a prequel to the other games and shows Lara developing as a strong character. Going throughThe story takes place in an island, this is a prequel to the other games and shows Lara developing as a strong character. Going through various trials to get to the end goal of getting off this island. At the start you are put in a situation where you are alone in a cave where you have an hour of fun filled… quick time events. Well at least the graphics are good and you get to see her have super human strength by grabbing on to massive ledges and pulling up her bodyweight with minimal training. Archaeologist must be from some sort of different planet. But yes you will find throughout the game that this woman can literally do anything. Except from raid tombs, this barely ever comes up, except for a couple of side missions. There are a couple of rewarding mechanics, shooting a deer or a human with a crossbow is always fun. And the gunplay is rewarding and there are upgrades to keep you engrossed all through the game. The island has a lot to explore and multiple collectables. This is a very gory game so I would say it should be for a 15 year old or higher. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Remember the terrible movies? Did you think to yourself: I wish this was more cliche and it stopped every 30 seconds so I could hit a button?Remember the terrible movies? Did you think to yourself: I wish this was more cliche and it stopped every 30 seconds so I could hit a button? Me neither. Terrible dialog, no control of Lara (auto duck, auto balance, auto PLAY), and really boring mechanics. This is as far from a good game as you can get. Its not even a game so it gets a 0. Im really not sure what all the 9's and 10's are about. If TR is your first game, you might enjoy it. If you have gaming experience... move along and dont waste your time. Expand

See all 700 User Reviews