Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2807 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 611
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Fall in love with TombRaider...

    Usually do not succeed remakes...not the case for Tombraider who is probably one of the best games ever
    created.And for that all respect Square Enix&Crystal Dynamics,really.

    I remember the first game Tombraider played...back in time, in year 2000...for that time i was fascinating about the game and i group every year playing TR.I can say i fall in love with Lara.I remember first steps, was in the evening of 31 december when i play first time Tombraider...about 2 hours alone and another 4 with a best friend.And so i spent the new year then...don't care about the party, just found it a game call it Tombraider.

    Tombraider 2013...what a change, but still, sometimes, i play old tombraider series, for my guilty pleasure.I
    I'm not a fan of new games and throw away old series...no way! Contrary, some new games like RE(another child-start game) are not my style...and maybe for this i think TR is the best remake of a game ever.Undoubtedly.

    This game explain HOW LARA BECOME A TOMB RAIDER! And is very great accomplished.From beginning was only a explorer, a simple and naive-scary girl but when circumstances demanded, became an adventurer and...with apologies, a killer-girl of criminals.But only because it was forced...

    The new TR is just what a game need to be.Amazing graphics,sound,story,puzzles and challenges.The words are little and poor in this case, you need to see, to play TR to feel.This is not a technical review well, dx11 look amazing this is a heart-touching review of TR.
    And about a compared with...another ordinary game, NO! Would be a blasphemy...remember TR was the first game with this gameplay and all the games who next about TR was inspired by the game TR.

    In the final...play new TR...feel all whole evolution-storygame of Lara in a evolution game changed from a good and great game into a ambitious, provocative and sensational game...
    Welcome back Lara Croft!
    Old and new generations of gamers need it!

    Graphics: 10+++
    Sound: 10+++
    Voices: 10+++
    Gameplay: 10+++
    Story: 10+++
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    I love this game. I didn't decide to get it until boredom set in and I bought it on a whim, I'm very glad I did though. If you like action adventure, this will scratch that itch. I constantly find myself just exploring, even though most of the game is linear, there is still room for wandering around and making sure you don't miss anything. The combat is solid and the visuals are amazing. Lara looks and sounds great. The quick time events are annoying as ever, but they are few and far between. If you liked uncharted you will surely like this. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This game is just as gorgeous as it is fun. I definitely recommend it to anyone on the fence about this game. It's a must have if you enjoy 3rd person shooters. I would go in depth about it, but since there are several thousand reviews already I'll just respectfully place my score and go on to the next one. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    The game runs well on my HD 7950 and TressFX makes Lara's hair look and behave realistically. Unfortunately the hair comes at a significant performance loss, but it's worth it if you're not too bothered about getting 60fps on a high end system and a massive fps drop during the in-engine cutscenes. I like the overall story and Lara is a great character that changes drastically during the game. Every member of her group and the other characters on the island are dissapointing though and I found it hard to care about any of them.

    As an action/adventure game released after the Uncharted series, this of course takes a lot from those games and actually improves on certain aspects. I haven't encountered any set pieces on the scale of Uncharted yet, but the more personal story and the larger focus on realism make the action a lot more tense, regardless of it not being quite as flash as Nathan Drake's adventures.

    Definitely get this if you're a PC Gamer that hasn't played the Uncharted series and still get it if you have. It takesa lot from other games and isn't the Tomb Raider we are used to playing, the characterization is weak and TressFX kills performance. Yet the game is still worth it for overall story, Lara's character development, tense action sequences and impressive gameplay.

    PS: Multiplayer is garbage, forget that it exists and you'll be happy with this game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    To be honest I'm surprised at how much I like this game. It probably helps that I went into it knowing that it would be a "Push X to win" type of game. I was expecting more of a movie and less of a game, and that's really what it is. Depending on what you're looking for, this can be a positive or a negative. In my case it was a positive. Thanks to the ridiculously good visuals, sound, and voice acting I was able to immerse myself into the story and enjoy the action-packed ride. The story itself isn't anything special, but it's good enough. Combat is fluid. QTEs aren't my preferred gameplay mechanic, but they're well done. Exploration is satisfying and rewarding, though I could have done with less hand-holding as far as discovering tombs and items is concerned. I don't feel compelled to 100% most games, but I feel like this is one where it would actually be fun to do. In short, if you're in the mood for a relatively short but satisfying game that feels like you're watching/participating in an action movie, Tomb Raider is a great choice. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I admit that in the first place this isn't really my cup of tea, but it had such high ratings on IGN I selected it as one of my free games to come with my XFX video card. You don't play this game, this game plays you. Like most of the other negative reviews, the cut scene / quick time events of this game make far less than enjoyable. I got to a scene where Ms. Tomb Raider is supposed to sneak past a bunch of baddies who are searching for her by keeping to waist level walls as cover, she gets discovered by the head baddie and you have to hit the quick time event just right to survive, I didn't get past this point before giving up on the game, it was the last straw, too many deaths to simple mistakes in QTE are not learning and not fun.

    The plot seems like a direct rip off of Far Cry 3, but with a really crappy game engine. Sure glad this game was free, though I wish I had picked something else.
    Expand

See all 611 User Reviews