Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3002 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 642
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, thisThis game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I think it still remains the best part of Tomb Raider. The game Tomb Raider are emotions, stories, suspense, heroism and cruel. There is oneI think it still remains the best part of Tomb Raider. The game Tomb Raider are emotions, stories, suspense, heroism and cruel. There is one most successful restart for Tomb Raider. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    If you enjoy playing through an awesome story-line with great characters, beautiful surroundings/graphics, and lots of kick ass action thatIf you enjoy playing through an awesome story-line with great characters, beautiful surroundings/graphics, and lots of kick ass action that gets your heart pumping, then this is the game for you. With the option bonus of puzzle tombs and for the collectors plenty to find and explore. I thoroughly enjoyed the game, so far best of 2013. Tons of fun, and hope they make another! Don't miss this one! Expand
  4. oso
    Mar 24, 2013
    9
    Excellent game, had about 13 hours of gameplay to finish it. What i especially like is the gamedesign. It looks way more mature compared toExcellent game, had about 13 hours of gameplay to finish it. What i especially like is the gamedesign. It looks way more mature compared to previous TR titles. It is also a perfect example of how to do a console portation the right way. Graphics are really good, gameplay perfectly adopted to mouse&keyboard and i have encountered absolutely no bugs at all.
    What i would like to see in near future is some free downloadable content. Atm there is just nothing to do after finishing the game. Didnt try the multiplayer so far.
    Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    This was easily my favorite game of last year. For anyone who grew up with Tomb Raider on the original PlayStation - this is a must-playThis was easily my favorite game of last year. For anyone who grew up with Tomb Raider on the original PlayStation - this is a must-play game. It is a grittier take on the franchise, and felt a lot like Daniel Craig's "Casino Royale" James Bond origin story reboot in a lot of ways. The graphics and scenes are incredible and kept me in constant suspense / amazement. The only complaint I have is that the competitive multiplayer really felt tacked onto the end and felt out of place in a Tomb Raider game - I would've preferred even more story or some compelling co-op mode option. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    FinallyAnime! "Too Long; Didn't Review: Tomb Raider vs. Uncharted"

    I’m not completely through Tomb Raider yet, but I’ll let you know right
    FinallyAnime! "Too Long; Didn't Review: Tomb Raider vs. Uncharted"

    I’m not completely through Tomb Raider yet, but I’ll let you know right now: anytime I play it, I don’t want to stop. For the idiots who haven’t played it comparing it to Uncharted...stop it. It’s not “Uncharted or Far Cry with Pause for a minute and lets go over a terrible analogy. Uncharted is a visceral game primarily focused on action, charm, and puzzle-solving with a variety of environments. More or less, the new Indiana Jones. If Uncharted had a color assigned to it, it’d be a cool blue: something majority will like and goes good with pretty much anything. Tomb Raider is also action-based, but far more spread out. In place of hilarious quips and lovable supporting cast, self-development and realization are key focuses, with a lot of brown and green healthily sprinkled in. The assigned color to this game is more like an earthy orange: something that might not initially catch your eye, but when you take a closer look, realize it’s a wonderful addition to any palette.

    Whereas Uncharted is more polished and fun, like a fresh comic book, Tomb Raider’s akin to a worn graphic novel because while you might have seen the story somewhere else, it’s still a wonderful sit-down read. For those who enjoyed TR of the past for awful controls and infuriating puzzles, you might be sad to know the new puzzles aren’t particularly challenging at all. You might get stuck like I did for 5 or 10 minutes on something you oddly miss, but otherwise, nothing to be desired. Tomb Raider’s more story focused this time around with optional tombs to desecrate. Uncharted is better suited for puzzling. Now even though TR might not have as much concentrated combat compared to its chronological elder, combat while incredibly simple (and almost too criminally easy at times) is PROFOUNDLY satisfying. The sense of impact is nailed with perfect sound design. The weapons (shotgun, AK/GL, pistol, bow) though a bit vanilla are still a blast to shoot. Oh, and the cover system/camera in TR is perfect. It’s kind of like your car seat ..it always gotchu.

    Story-wise, Uncharted is much more “fantastic” with numerous flights of fancy and well-timed humor. Tomb Raider, however, is focused on one thing: escape. It just so happens the mystery to investigate is the main avenue through which to escape. Of course, I’m not finished yet, but so far, the story seems done before & very lackluster, BUT you still want to find out what happens to Lara Croft. This isn’t to say the theme or atmosphere aren’t amazing, but only that the source material evokes no real emotional arousal from me. If you’re concerned about graphics, both are similar, but it doesn’t take a genius to know TR wins in this department. Get it on PC if you can. I’m only able to play at around barely 30fps on high/ultra settings and I’m still having a blast despite feeling crippled by an aging computer.

    I don’t have any glamorous quotes to assuage any remaining disbelief if it hasn’t already been stomped out, but what I can say is whether you’ve played Uncharted or not, Tomb Raider is worth your money. Don’t listen to people who say otherwise. The games are indeed similar, hitting some of the same notes, but veering off to craft a unique song. In closing, I can confidentially say if you like truly good games, Tomb Raider should be music to your ears. I give Tomb Raider thus far, an 87/100 with deductions primarily for a boring story & replayability lacking a new game+. I would have marked it lower, but the game really is excellent and super fun...but only by itself unfortunately.

    P.S. Oh and multiplayer apparently sucks monkey balls…apparently.

    P.P.S. It DOES suck btw.
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2014
    0
    Terrible game, nothing really fun about it. Horrible physics, and basic, boring gun fights. Nothing very explorative about this game. ThisTerrible game, nothing really fun about it. Horrible physics, and basic, boring gun fights. Nothing very explorative about this game. This Lora isn't even attractive. Waste of money Expand

See all 642 User Reviews