Tomb Raider PC

Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 691
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    This is what I expect today's AAA titles to be like. Beautiful graphics, nice game-engine cut-scenes, decent story (although quiteThis is what I expect today's AAA titles to be like. Beautiful graphics, nice game-engine cut-scenes, decent story (although quite foreseeable) and a fair distribution of checkpoints. Also, the "new" Lara Croft is much more believable and likable that the "old" one. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic game. Great story, a prequel. Great mix of action and puzzles. Great graphics, Lara has never looked so well. The gameThis is a fantastic game. Great story, a prequel. Great mix of action and puzzles. Great graphics, Lara has never looked so well. The game borrows a lot from Uncharted, but it's not bad, it's very good. Last series had become boring and breathe something new in Lara Croft. The guys who made this game tried their best. I hope that the next part will be worse. The game just pulls his magic and mysticism. Wants to play again by the minute, seek to explore, to plunder the tomb. My rating 10 out of 10, so far the best game in 2013. Play necessarily. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, thisThis game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    This is the best action/adventure game I have ever played. Graphics were really good (10/10) and the story was good as well (9/10), I reallyThis is the best action/adventure game I have ever played. Graphics were really good (10/10) and the story was good as well (9/10), I really hope there's going to be more games like this one in 2014. I came to realize that games that contain a girl as main character is usually more interesting. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    Violence and gore pays off. Crystal Dynamics seem to have learned that because Tomb Raider used to be a game that could be played by everyone,Violence and gore pays off. Crystal Dynamics seem to have learned that because Tomb Raider used to be a game that could be played by everyone, especially children. With the insane amount of blood, point blank execution finishers and explicit depictions of Lara's body parts being pierced and cut off by various environmental hazards this game is the first Tomb Raider that clearly deserves a "Mature" (18+) ESRB rating. Even with the acknowledgment that the game's sole purpose is to explain Lara's transformation from an innocent, young and inexperienced girl to someone who could actually pull a trigger on another human being there is no justification for turning her into a blood-thirsty killing machine. So, what should we expect in the game's sequel? Tactical nuclear strikes and kill streaks?

    That being said Tomb Raider is a rather enjoyable game. The environments are simply amazing especially on higher graphics settings which have a tendency of making the player stop for a moment and simply enjoy the view. Its clearly visible that game designers spent a lot of time polishing small details which add up to the immersion factor. The audio component is sadly a mixed bag. While some of the voice actors did a really god job the extremely forced accent of Lara Croft (played by Camilla Luddington) is simply annoying. Compared to Judith Gibbins and Keeley Hawes, which voice-acted Croft before, Luddington simply sounds forced and unnatural. The soundtrack also leaves much to desire because compared to, lets say, masterpieces from the "Underworld" OST like "Thor's Room" or themes played during Thailand levels the new Tomb Raider soundtrack sounds simply bland and uninspiring clearly trying only to promote the new main theme. Controls feel okay but there are times when they are clearly too vivid and unpredictable resulting in a lot of unintentional deaths. Combined with the fact that Lara now does a lot of things by herself like crouching (there is no dedicated control for crouch) and reducing her speed when traversing stuff like narrow passages and tombs (there is no dedicated control for sprint)... Well it can be pretty annoying to say the least.

    Now we come to the most problematic stuff about the game cinematics and QTE (quick time events). This game is choke full of both! There can hardly pass more than a minute or two in the game without being forced to watch a cinematic or bash the controls like crazy to finish a QTE. At one time I even managed to count FOUR successive cinematics which followed each other! QTEs are a tale for themselves. It really boggles my mind how could anyone ever come to the conclusion that they would be a good way of immersing players into the gameplay. Having a ton of split-second QTEs is probably not a problem on consoles where every button has a specific color so its easier to follow them but when you get less than a second to read stuff like "Press RMOUSE LMOUSE repeatedly" on a PC then that's a real problem.

    There is also something to be said about the very anti-climatic ending but venturing onto that ground would probably mean divulging a lot of spoilers so I'll just leave it be. Tomb Raider is a very good game which could have been a lot better if some of the mainstream gaming elements were left out. I just hope that for the inevitable sequel developers decide to tone down those elements and simply get more in touch with the spirit of the previous games by expanding on adventure and exploring. From me personally Tomb Raider gets an 8/10 with a note of letting a lot of things simply slide.
    Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    What a shame new Tomb Raider breaks with old schemes... but hopefully its new form is equally entertaining. Great graphic (with few glitches),What a shame new Tomb Raider breaks with old schemes... but hopefully its new form is equally entertaining. Great graphic (with few glitches), sound and epic moments makes this title one of the best I've ever played. Unfortunately puzzles are trivial everything you need to do is inside the same room forget moments when you were trying to find another lever. You will not find here this. At least tombs should be greater and challenging but they aren't. Despite this I spent with TR few nice evenings. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Remember the terrible movies? Did you think to yourself: I wish this was more cliche and it stopped every 30 seconds so I could hit a button?Remember the terrible movies? Did you think to yourself: I wish this was more cliche and it stopped every 30 seconds so I could hit a button? Me neither. Terrible dialog, no control of Lara (auto duck, auto balance, auto PLAY), and really boring mechanics. This is as far from a good game as you can get. Its not even a game so it gets a 0. Im really not sure what all the 9's and 10's are about. If TR is your first game, you might enjoy it. If you have gaming experience... move along and dont waste your time. Expand

See all 691 User Reviews