Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2663 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An intense and gritty story of the origins of the infamous Lara Croft and her ascent from frightened young woman to hardened survivor in Tomb Raider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    96
    Tomb Raider is a mature experience featuring a young, strong woman who - armed with grit, determination, and intelligence - rescues not only her friends but herself as well. Surely there’s a lesson in that for the rest of us.
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    95
    Rebooting Tomb Raider is the best thing that could have happened to the series. The game is full of story-wise emotions and superbly directed action scenes, and it still has a very strong human factor. I'm rarely this positive about a game. Crystal Dynamics took a risk that won't appeal to some orthodox fans, but all in all the developers have succeeded. The most important thing to know is this: the new Tomb Raider is one of the best action-adventure games I have ever played.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    92
    The new incarnation of the iconic Lara Craft might very well be one of the best games out there right now. [April 2013]
  4. 85
    Lara’s origin story is a terrific, action-packed experience with stunning visuals that sadly has not much to do with her previous adventures. Yet the puzzle physics are cool, the exploration of the island is rewarding and the much-improved combat is easily one of the biggest steps forward for the series – too bad there is sometimes too much of it.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    85
    But with its excellent controls, engaging heroine, thrilling combat, and fascinating setting, it doesn't need to. Lara may be covering some previously charted territory here, but Tomb Raider is so well-crafted, you won't mind at all.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    While not every promising idea Tomb Raider has is pulled off successfully, it nevertheless turns in a tense and memorable ride that combines modern game design with its forebears’ adventurous spirit in some exciting ways. Some of its missteps may well come at the cost of your enjoyment, but most can’t hope to hurt the adventure in the long run. Although it never fully finds its identity, this is a game and a story worth seeing through.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    73
    A bottomless chasm separating the story and the gameplay is the biggest problem of this Tomb Raider. Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series with an origin story. The developers wanted to show us how Lara learns to kill – first animals, then humans – in order to survive, how the hardships of the Yamatai island will make her into the tomb raider well know and love. But in reality, you can’t suspend your disbelief even for a minute. Though Lara sighs and whines a lot, her superhuman vitality would make Wolverine green with envy.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 581
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This game is just insanely good. I was thinking it was just a hype, like Far Cry 3, Skyrim (that I thought a little tedious), but no, this game is just the top 5 best games in this generations (PS3, Xbox360, PC), that soon the generation is over. Awesome graphics, awesome dinamic, and I think the best was the sound, that was marvelous. People that are giving yellow scores is the "Uncharted" fans. Altought I have to say I love Uncharted series, there's no match to Lara Croft and this games just raised the bars that Uncharted brought. They're just jealous. At some points I got goosebumps playing the game. Well, if you have any doubt, don't waste your time, play this game now. There's no way you can regret. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Fall in love with TombRaider...

    Usually do not succeed remakes...not the case for Tombraider who is probably one of the best games ever
    created.And for that all respect Square Enix&Crystal Dynamics,really.

    I remember the first game Tombraider played...back in time, in year 2000...for that time i was fascinating about the game and i group every year playing TR.I can say i fall in love with Lara.I remember first steps, was in the evening of 31 december when i play first time Tombraider...about 2 hours alone and another 4 with a best friend.And so i spent the new year then...don't care about the party, just found it a game call it Tombraider.

    Tombraider 2013...what a change, but still, sometimes, i play old tombraider series, for my guilty pleasure.I
    I'm not a fan of new games and throw away old series...no way! Contrary, some new games like RE(another child-start game) are not my style...and maybe for this i think TR is the best remake of a game ever.Undoubtedly.

    This game explain HOW LARA BECOME A TOMB RAIDER! And is very great accomplished.From beginning was only a explorer, a simple and naive-scary girl but when circumstances demanded, became an adventurer and...with apologies, a killer-girl of criminals.But only because it was forced...

    The new TR is just what a game need to be.Amazing graphics,sound,story,puzzles and challenges.The words are little and poor in this case, you need to see, to play TR to feel.This is not a technical review well, dx11 look amazing this is a heart-touching review of TR.
    And about a compared with...another ordinary game, NO! Would be a blasphemy...remember TR was the first game with this gameplay and all the games who next about TR was inspired by the game TR.

    In the final...play new TR...feel all whole evolution-storygame of Lara in a evolution game changed from a good and great game into a ambitious, provocative and sensational game...
    Welcome back Lara Croft!
    Old and new generations of gamers need it!

    Graphics: 10+++
    Sound: 10+++
    Voices: 10+++
    Gameplay: 10+++
    Story: 10+++
    Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I will give this a 10 simply because I was amazed. When I played this game random thoughts sounded like: "How much work has been put in this game to make it so amazing"... I was impressed, the story is acceptable (I wouldn't call the story mind-blowing, what is mind-blowing is the overall feel) Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    In the times Tomb Raider series started I was glad to jump around climb and solve puzzles with Lara Croft. After many years the video games developed to be much more that that. To tell the truth the first Tomb Raider was very good. After that the whole series was not too good at all until Tomb Raider: Legend. Than came my favourite Anniversary. I just mention Underworld, but not so good too.
    The this new Tomb Raider with a completely new Lara Croft character is amazing.
    Lara has personality now. She is not just an attractive but blue blooded and cold supermodel than before. People complained here in the their critics that this game more like a cinema than a game. Partially I agree with them. But this impact disappeared for me as I played the game after 1-2 hours. But this interactive cinema thing gets you much closer to the character of Lara and as you found the diaries of the crew you can find out their stories and feelings too. (There is no courage without fear.)
    This game has a strong emotional impact. It grabs you in the story if you let it. The new voice actress of Lara (she makes the movements too) did a very great job. I really was worried about her. I always looked twice my steps to "help her". The atmosphere and the graphics (with the partially fixed bugs and glitches) of the game is excellent too.
    (I am writing this during my second play-trough, and I think there will be more too, so it is not just a first impact.) I highly recommend this game, but first forget the previous Lara Crofts and Tomb Raiders.
    I "only" gave a 9/10 score because I also tried the multiplayer part. That one is not that good. It is playable, but you have to die way too much to improve your character. A cooperative like multiplayer game would be much better. (Just like in Mass Effect 3 or in Left for dead.)
    Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    [TombRaider on SteamPC Score 9 ] Truly a great Reboot and a must for Fans of the TombRaider series. This is the perfect update to the TombRaider franchise with all the run and gun, the platforming and the puzzle solving you loved in the previous editions but with Gorgeous 3D modelling, atmospherics, physics, water and more. A perfectly balanced and highly enjoyable 36 hours of fun just waiting for you….. add to cart : )) My only regret is that there is no advantage to Solo Replay; finishing unfound collectibles is fun but very short. Multiplayer is available but you will need to look up a review elsewhere.

    [Released] by Square Enix and ported to PC by Nixxies: yeah Nixxies did good work and you should enjoy it. Nixxies did however screw one thing up: Remapping primary key bindings is possible but the alternative secondary key bindings just screw up and then screwed up the on screen instructions. Tolerable but just plain poor programming on somebodies part… NB: This is not a game breaker and should not affect your decision to buy this game because this game really is Fantastic, I just wanted Square Enix and Nixxies to know that this looks bad for them. I enjoyed every second of this game otherwise.

    [DRM] Steam only, thank goodness there is no GamesForWindowsLive / Origin / Uplay on this title, I did not have to create an alternative account. [Story] is a prequel to all the Lara Croft adventures…young Lara Croft, a little more helpless, a little more emotional, and sometimes a little too whiny. Character dialogue is immature especially with NPCs, who wrote this balloney? [Saves] Automatic saves as they should be. Perfect. Manual saves as usual.

    [Bugs] None that I am aware of….except the key binding fudge. Digital fudge.

    [Graphics] Default settings were to heavy on the post processing…. Even though my PC was flipping 60 FPS the depth of field effects and other sh*t was too much. I cut back a lot of the effects and it looked great; sometimes Less is More, and this was it.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8G RAM / Radeon 6870 / W7 PRO SP1 / Samsung 275T @1920x1200 / Logitech G15 / Kensington ExpertMouse / Sennheiser HD600

    [MyFavorites] [NowPlaying] BrokenAge [Win7] TombRaider Dishonored TheKnifeOfDunwall TheBrigmoreWitches TheDreamMachine Ep1-4 30FlightsOfLoving Fez BioshockInfinite Antichamber Stacking Metro2033 Rochard Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] Papo&Yo DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries

    [Born] 1964 [PS: I do not know anybody who works in the game industry ~ I just enjoy games : - ]
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    In a time where it's popular to make terrible reboots that miss the point of the original series, Tomb Raider is one of the few that actually improves a series. I would of liked to see more puzzle and jumping elements like the original games (though they are still core to the game), but nearly every other aspect of the game has been improved. I really liked exploring the environments and finding all the hidden items and improving your equipment and skills, however I would of liked the skill tree to have more meaningful choices (the amount of unlocks required to unlock the next tier of skills means you will get pretty much be getting everything anyway). The story has it's ups and it's downs. Discovering what happened on the island is quite interesting, and is told through the environment, enemies, and diaries, however your cadre of multicultural stereotypes that represent Lara's companions is probably the weakest link as it doesn't ever give you a reason to care for them, and luckily they are a very small portion of the narrative. Overall the game is quite good, and I feel it was worth my money. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    Dissapointing very dissapointing its story is so crappy and I know the reason why peole like this garbage because of her she is hot and beutiful but story hate it and because of this game I will never buy another tomb raider game! Expand

See all 581 User Reviews