User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 806 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 806
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseS
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game! The art is crisp, clean and beautifully rendered and will keep you mesmerized as you adventure throughout the levels. The levels are short enough to keep it casual, but the game play is fast paced, and fun enough, that you wont want to stop.
  2. MC
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Excellent hack and slash RPG - Great value for money..once you start playing, you'll want to come back for more...
  3. Macca
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Torchlight is firstly, a great game if you fancy something to pick up and play for an hour or two and feel a sense of doing something worthwile. Sure, it can be somewhat repetitive in its dungeon crawling ways, but it's pace makes up for that. As for having no multiplayer as some reviewers have stated, well, we all know this, but one thing to remember is that the developers are in Torchlight is firstly, a great game if you fancy something to pick up and play for an hour or two and feel a sense of doing something worthwile. Sure, it can be somewhat repetitive in its dungeon crawling ways, but it's pace makes up for that. As for having no multiplayer as some reviewers have stated, well, we all know this, but one thing to remember is that the developers are in the midst of making this title into an MMO, which could end up being a very nice game if it manages to do it before Diablo 3 is released - or after. I feel if they attempt it whilst D3 is out there, they may end up failing to bring the game to the market it deserves. If you are a fan of hack'n'slash, then you have to buy this game, if not, give it a go anyway, it's very user friendly and has a very intuative user interface with an easy learning curve. The only other suggestion I would say is don't play it on anything less than the Hard setting as normal and easy are ridiculously easy with no challenge whatsoever - at any stage of the game. Expand
  4. JeanB.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    If you want a game to spend hours with fun. Play this game. We can feel the Diablo brothers in it.
  5. JohnnyW
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    I think this game is amazing. It is a dungeon crawler at the very finest. I finished the demo and will be buying it soon. There are three distinct classes and a plethora of items and loot to discover. The varying difficulty levels add a nice touch.
  6. AlbanN
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Finally a game simple, addicted, worth the price, fast on any machine. What else do you want??? let's rock with it!!
  7. Adam
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    My friend peak my interest into this game. So I got it and gave it ago. Surprisingly I have really enjoy it so far. Feels like playing an updated Diablo game. If you enjoy a good dungeon crawler/hack and slash game this is something to not pass up. For its price its very much worth it.
  8. DaveL.
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best Action-RPGs I've played in a long-long-long time. It's fun and simple. It's extremely addictive too. I can't remember the last time I felt drawn to a game like this. The graphics are simple while being very vibrant. The only thing this game needs is a multi-player component. With some multi-player thrown in I'd give this a 10.
  9. JaredJ
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Sometimes I wish people like Anon T would do some research before bashing a game unjustly. Torchlight may seem like a "clone" and yet... how can you clone Diablo when you co-created it? That's right. This game was made by the co-creators of Diablo. I loved the music and the new art direction taken by the team. This game is well worth the 20$.
  10. CameronB
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    To all the people hating because it's somewhat simple, that's the whole point. Go into a dungeon, kill lots of mobs, collect new armor and weapons, rinse and repeat. Torchlight does it amazingly, the graphics look like Team Fortress 2 met Diablo 2, and the lack of multiplayer is a small misstep, but considering I hated Diablo 2 single player and love this, you owe it to yourself To all the people hating because it's somewhat simple, that's the whole point. Go into a dungeon, kill lots of mobs, collect new armor and weapons, rinse and repeat. Torchlight does it amazingly, the graphics look like Team Fortress 2 met Diablo 2, and the lack of multiplayer is a small misstep, but considering I hated Diablo 2 single player and love this, you owe it to yourself to buy this game if you are even glancing at this review. Expand
  11. [anonymous]
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    Virtually the same game as Fate, but that is to be expected I guess. I was hoping for more, and was disappointed.
  12. LeahR
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    Slick yet ultimately superficial Diablo clone. While I'm aware of the irony in this statement, Torchlight is not as "deep" as other hack-'n-slash titles like Titan Quest, which offer far more complex maps, quests, classes, and skill trees. With Torchlight's 3 classes and imbalanced skill trees (a mix of overpowered and useless skills), as well as a virtually non-existent Slick yet ultimately superficial Diablo clone. While I'm aware of the irony in this statement, Torchlight is not as "deep" as other hack-'n-slash titles like Titan Quest, which offer far more complex maps, quests, classes, and skill trees. With Torchlight's 3 classes and imbalanced skill trees (a mix of overpowered and useless skills), as well as a virtually non-existent quest system and repetitive maps, the replay value is low compared to TQ and other Diablo clones. Also, no online multiplayer or LAN co-op gameplay is a huge disappointment. Still, not bad for fast-paced, mindless, single-player fun with its obviously Blizzard-inspired, Warcraft-esque graphics and setting. Expand
  13. NotGood
    Jan 17, 2010
    6
    Diablo was fun back in the day.... and this may have been too. This game doesn't tread any new ground. Its all been done before and better. I quit playing after 2 hours because it lacked any depth and gives you no reason to stay. The art style is refreshing and the ability to send your pet to town to sell items in his inventory was a good idea. But in the end there are many better Diablo was fun back in the day.... and this may have been too. This game doesn't tread any new ground. Its all been done before and better. I quit playing after 2 hours because it lacked any depth and gives you no reason to stay. The art style is refreshing and the ability to send your pet to town to sell items in his inventory was a good idea. But in the end there are many better ways to spend my time. Trying to cash in on the success of Diablo is too old by now... Expand
  14. BrianR
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    I'm glad I only paid $10 for it through a steam sale. It's ... Diablo. With features stolen from subsequent clones, better graphics, and without multiplayer. Click, click, click, click .. oh, shiny object ... click, click, click. Rinse, repeat. The novelty has apparently worn off since Diablo was released, at least for this gamer. Torchlight truly offers nothing original, merely I'm glad I only paid $10 for it through a steam sale. It's ... Diablo. With features stolen from subsequent clones, better graphics, and without multiplayer. Click, click, click, click .. oh, shiny object ... click, click, click. Rinse, repeat. The novelty has apparently worn off since Diablo was released, at least for this gamer. Torchlight truly offers nothing original, merely taking the features of the original and adding ones from other clones that have been released since. After a couple hours you will find yourself bored out of your skull. Expand
  15. MenanP
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    People who say this is just a rip off Diablo and Fate, yeah it is a rip but for good reasons, same developers and designers. They reworked the action-RPG genre and for $20 it's a steal, especially when it's on sale. Low requirements is a plus for those looking for the latest RPG but only have the hardware to play Diablo 2. Nice game with very little innovation though.
  16. SimonL.
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    When I first started this game and I saw the inventory and all the resemblance to the "Diablo" franchise, I said to myself: "Let's play some Dia.. I mean Torchlight". The games are practivally identical. The game is quite long. As in Diablo 1, your walking down stairs. There are 35 floors and it takes around 20 minutes to complete one floor since the random level design. The gameplay When I first started this game and I saw the inventory and all the resemblance to the "Diablo" franchise, I said to myself: "Let's play some Dia.. I mean Torchlight". The games are practivally identical. The game is quite long. As in Diablo 1, your walking down stairs. There are 35 floors and it takes around 20 minutes to complete one floor since the random level design. The gameplay is fantastic. It's practicly the same as in Diablo and Diablo 2 but with some additions like the spellbar and just walking over coins to pick it up.(Note both of these features were announced for Diablo 3) The storyline is not close as good as in Diablo. No wonder though. This game is named Torchlight, but as much resemblance it has with the Diablo franchise, it would have made a great name as "Diablo 2.5". Expand
  17. Bunkai
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    It'd be a 10 if there were a multiplayer option... at least for LAN play. I don't require a battle.net type of multiplayer. I'm much easier to please than that. Great game, Runic! Bring on the MMO version!
  18. TomerH
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Great game,anyone who loved Diablo series-this game is for him! Buy it now!
  19. johnccjohnc
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazingly fun game! It's like someone took Diablo, boiled it down to the best parts, and then added a bunch of wild stuff. When I found out I could be a rifle-toting wizard leading a group of imps, it was cool. When my pet dog started summoning zombies it was REALLY cool. Add a steam punk robot in there, too. And this is all before level 10! Can't wait to see what the developers Amazingly fun game! It's like someone took Diablo, boiled it down to the best parts, and then added a bunch of wild stuff. When I found out I could be a rifle-toting wizard leading a group of imps, it was cool. When my pet dog started summoning zombies it was REALLY cool. Add a steam punk robot in there, too. And this is all before level 10! Can't wait to see what the developers throw at me next. They also did an amazing job with the enemies. They've avoided the "parking lot full of critters to kill" feel of Diablo that was such a grind. Instead there are typically separate large rooms with bosses who send minions out before them. The fighting comes in intense waves, rather than boring, bug-stomping sameness. I think the reviewers aren't quite seeing the creative genius of this game. Yeah, it plays like a Diablo clone. But at the same time they've advanced genre. In fact I hope Blizzard takes a long look at Torchlight and learns a few things for Diablo III. Expand
  20. SeanB
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    Game is refined sugar, perfect for Diablo fixes!
  21. WilliamH
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Great prequel to Diablo III
  22. NickS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    The best dungeon crawler available so far. Very simple but plenty of complexity if you desire it. Difficulty modes definitely challenge a player and can keep the new players to the hardcore players happy. A ton of game for the price. With a good editor and great gameplay, this is a game thats hard to pass up.
  23. Harpy
    Dec 21, 2009
    8
    I never really got into the diabolo-style rpg, finding it a little dull and repetitive, particularly the constant back-tracking once the inventory fills. Thankfully, torchlight almost completely eliminates this problem, giving you instant access to merchants and storage from almost everywhere via inexpensive "town portal scrolls", which provide a two-way portal to town. It takes you to I never really got into the diabolo-style rpg, finding it a little dull and repetitive, particularly the constant back-tracking once the inventory fills. Thankfully, torchlight almost completely eliminates this problem, giving you instant access to merchants and storage from almost everywhere via inexpensive "town portal scrolls", which provide a two-way portal to town. It takes you to the exact point where you were in the dungeon. You can also send your companion pet to town to automatically sell some of your items, which is extremely convenient. But that's not all. The entire package is designed to eliminate the dull or confusing parts of diabolo-style rpgs. The controls are intuitive and the tool-tips are helpful (as are the loading screen tips). The effects of items, which are automatically adjusted to skill levels, are clearly displayed, and are even colour-coded to indicate the source of the effects. Even the characters move quickly, to minimise the boredom of backtracking, in the few cases where it's required. The only problem is that the gameplay is a little shallow and gets a little repetitive, but for $20, this game does a fine job keeping you entertained. Expand
  24. EvanC
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    Date is 20 december 2009. I am a pretty hardcore gamer. This game is brilliant. The love and detail that has gone into is cool. Its hardly a revolution, but by stripping back everything and leaving it unclutter it just feels fun and above all cool. The combat looks incredibly bright and animated and at times you get drawn inot it a bit and can really feel every blow. It is of course only Date is 20 december 2009. I am a pretty hardcore gamer. This game is brilliant. The love and detail that has gone into is cool. Its hardly a revolution, but by stripping back everything and leaving it unclutter it just feels fun and above all cool. The combat looks incredibly bright and animated and at times you get drawn inot it a bit and can really feel every blow. It is of course only a dungeon crawling diablo clone we have become used to but everything in ti feels fresh and fun, i can't beleive i got it for only 7:50. Its somewhat tedious and repetitive, but you hardly notice it when your having so much fun tearing through enemies. So maybe not a gameplay revolution but everything is spot on if not particularly invoative or original. Hard to argue for the price their asking. If you like action-Rpgs, buy it. Expand
  25. Franc
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Torchlight is a stunningly addictive singler player Diablo clone. If you liked the original Diablo or simlilar hack'n'slay games - then you will LOVE Torchlight. Don't get me wrong, the game is far from perfect: no multiplayer, negligible storyline, the dungeons are "genereted" yet look and feel the same, the only real innovation is the updated pet - and yet the game Torchlight is a stunningly addictive singler player Diablo clone. If you liked the original Diablo or simlilar hack'n'slay games - then you will LOVE Torchlight. Don't get me wrong, the game is far from perfect: no multiplayer, negligible storyline, the dungeons are "genereted" yet look and feel the same, the only real innovation is the updated pet - and yet the game shines. It's fast, easy to get into, runs well on slower hardware and looks good on never, is very affordable and the best of it: it's FUN to play. What else do you expect from a game? A great play for casuals, or to feed your gaming needs after a long hard working day - and it deservers credit for doing this so well. Expand
  26. MarkM
    Dec 30, 2009
    7
    The graphics are cartoon-like a 3D Final Fantasy game; but for the fact that it's detailed and colorful. You might label it "popcorn RPG" ( Dungeon Crawler ), played in short bursts. Rather, gaining new armour, trinkets, and weapons can be addictive. You might end up playing over an hour. Especially with shared storage. There is a character retirement feature, where you bestow new The graphics are cartoon-like a 3D Final Fantasy game; but for the fact that it's detailed and colorful. You might label it "popcorn RPG" ( Dungeon Crawler ), played in short bursts. Rather, gaining new armour, trinkets, and weapons can be addictive. You might end up playing over an hour. Especially with shared storage. There is a character retirement feature, where you bestow new benefits and perks. It sounds interesting, but not sure what it means yet. The levels layouts change ( for each character )But, understand the random sections of the level are reused through the game, except for areas that have different textures. So, though the layout might be new, it will still seem familiar. Being the Dungeon Crawler that it is, the action can get wild. Sometimes too wild. I often lost my character in a mess of magic, explosions, and other animations. But at the same time the game offers skills and spells to take on hordes. Lastly, you get a pet that can fight along side, and be morphed into different creatures for new abilities, for a short time. Best of all they can sell your junk back to town as you continue running a dungeon. The music is calming and doesn't drown out other aspects of the game. But there are maybe 2 or 3 tracks I've heard. With all that explained it's not a breakthrough in RPG, But it's FUN. Don't let anyone have you think otherwise. So, for $5.00 sale who could go wrong? I would still buy it for $15.00. At it's original $20.00 it might seem steap, but a lot was put inot this game, and thats a good price. A score of 7 seems fitting for what I just described. Expand
  27. WimH
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    I first tried out the demo, which I played for an hour. I liked it a lot because its a great challenging game. It's been a while since I played my last RPG, but this game got me all interested again. The graphics look superb and the sounds are very realistic (as realistic as killing bad evil monsters could sound I think ;)). The game story is not that deep, but I dont care, I play I first tried out the demo, which I played for an hour. I liked it a lot because its a great challenging game. It's been a while since I played my last RPG, but this game got me all interested again. The graphics look superb and the sounds are very realistic (as realistic as killing bad evil monsters could sound I think ;)). The game story is not that deep, but I dont care, I play these games for the loot and the leveling. The VERY good price made me buy it right after I quit the demo. $20 is really a nice price which should be used more. Expand
  28. GuzM
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Torchwood is an excellent Diablo clone. The graphics are pretty and the gameplay is fun. The pet, which may act as amule, tank and trashloot vendor, is an innovative idea. The game is very affordable and seems to offer a lot of content, This also applies to the free demo, I've played it for a few hours (without getting to its end) before purchasing the game and it allows you get a Torchwood is an excellent Diablo clone. The graphics are pretty and the gameplay is fun. The pet, which may act as amule, tank and trashloot vendor, is an innovative idea. The game is very affordable and seems to offer a lot of content, This also applies to the free demo, I've played it for a few hours (without getting to its end) before purchasing the game and it allows you get a realistic impression about the game with no recognizable restrictions. Well done Runic! Expand
  29. PierricB
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Loved it. Followed Runic from back as flagship seattle working on mythos and I love their single player action rpg Torchlight!
  30. JasonW
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great game; a great addition to the dungeon crawler ARPG ranks.
  31. DonJuan
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Best $20 addiction going! If you at all like Diablo, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. Story is paper thin but the gameplay is solid and just all round fun.
  32. coltharsironfist
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Great game! A refresh into the genre and, great ideas, fun gameplay it´s all a player want from a simple game.
  33. RyanV
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This game is the best dungeon crawler out there right now. From creators of Fate, Diablo, Mythos, Hellgate: London, comes Torchlight. It's only single player right now, But with the Modding Tools being released soon, Its worth the wait on multiplayer.
  34. DorthL
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Best game I bought this year so far. Worth every cent of it twice.
  35. JoaoS
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Given the price point, and the ammount of fun it brings, you'd be hard pressed to have an AAA console game that brings you 3 times the fun this "little" game does.
  36. KevinR
    Jan 17, 2010
    1
    This game is bad beyond belief. In terms of originality it's about as original as the wheel or fire, or a burning wheel at best. Graphics are mediocre at best, the difficulty curve is pretty good, and is sure to challenge you, if you consider using a mouse a challenge. Gameplay is about as interesting as constantly clicking your mouse, and for the portable version of this game, This game is bad beyond belief. In terms of originality it's about as original as the wheel or fire, or a burning wheel at best. Graphics are mediocre at best, the difficulty curve is pretty good, and is sure to challenge you, if you consider using a mouse a challenge. Gameplay is about as interesting as constantly clicking your mouse, and for the portable version of this game, simply disconnect mouse and start playing (screen not needed). All in all, Torchlight can best be described as the repetitive completion of mundane and soul-killing actions that neither require skill nor award the player in any way. So if you already have a job, then you are not missing anything by passing this game, unless you want a job where you pay your employer. The only reason this gam-- occupat-- horrible spawn of what I suspect is the dark side of the software development industry is popular comes from the fact that it is essentially Diablo, a game that for today's standards is horrible but still causes a wave of nostalgia in today's video gamers who have played this shit. Expand
  37. OveM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing! Tons of items to find and use, tons of quests and tons of dungeons to explore! It plays the same as the first Diablo. One town and a dungeon beneath the town to explore. The skill system is also very cool. You choose between three tabs with lots of skills in each. There are also 3 classes. This is a must for hacknslash fans!
  38. Ribblet
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    The game play is excellent. Even the music mimics that of Diablo, but with better graphics. I love dungeon crawling, so this is perfect. Would have scored a 10 if it had multi-player. Great game for the price. I would recommend it to anybody that likes Diablo.
  39. David
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Finally a game that really feels as good as Diablo! The ambiance and soundtrack are also very refreshing! A very good game!
  40. JackG.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    Great fun, wasted many hours playing this game. Graphics are nice and colourfull never without something interesting to look at on this game. Great value for money here! :D
  41. CharlieP
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    It's the WOW version of Diablo. Graphics are great. Gameplay is very entertaining. No video sequence or multiplayer but read the multiplayer may come later. If your a fan of Diablo and rpg games of that sort, it will be the best $20 you have spent for a game. They also offer a very nice demo should you want to try it before buying.
  42. funkymonkey
    Jan 8, 2010
    8
    one of the biggest clones of diablo, nice touch on the endless idea but the quests are so repetitive! its always kill this, find this, clear this. but altogether, its a great game.
  43. WilliamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Very fun. Easy to get into and have a blast.
  44. StevenH
    Nov 10, 2009
    2
    It is identical to Diablo 2 but with fewer classes, the items only take up one square, and it has graphics from 2001 rather than 1994. Its story and setting are about as compelling as Dungeon Siege (or any other Diablo clone). Maybe if it were made by one guy I would be impressed. It was made by over 25 people.
  45. VascoR
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I'm rating this game for what it is. The game makes no pretenses of being more than a Diablo clone, but it's such a great one and a lot of fun. And when it comes to games for me, fun is the most important feature (not multiplayer, not a million different classes, etc, etc). If you even remotely like the genre, you need to get this game.
  46. ShaunChoo
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    This game is a-mazing! Runs on just about any hardware and is extremely good fun for all who love an old school dungeon crawler. Can't go too far wrong when several key players from Diablo are involved in creating Torchlight :)
  47. MichaelH
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this. Price, performance, action and adventure. The game is gorgeous on my Quad Core + GTX260 and on my little Netbook ( amd64 1.2ghz + ATI x1270 ). The editor is going to be available to extend the game. Best 20 bucks I've spent in ages.
  48. JeffH
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Extremely solid ARPG and is great fun in a genre that lacks any decent games. The developers provide excellent support in the forums and are releasing extensive mod tools (all their dev tools) for the game. The only reason I can't give 10/10 is because it lacks multiplayer. BUT DON'T PASS THIS UP; the single player is amazingly well done and well worth it.
  49. JulienF
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    Excellent Diablo 2.5 ! I'm Diablo's fan since the beginning, and all I can say is it's the best diablo-like ever ! I tried Loki, Silverfall, Titan quest, Hellgate london and all were just crap. Untill Torchlight.
  50. MarkoT
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    The best ARPG since the Diablo games. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer but it had to be done in order to ship the game now. MP is being worked on, in two years there will be a full blown MMO version of the game with more classes, more environments, more quests, similar gameplay but with expanded skill trees and so on. If you enjoy games like Diablo - you should love this. The best ARPG since the Diablo games. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer but it had to be done in order to ship the game now. MP is being worked on, in two years there will be a full blown MMO version of the game with more classes, more environments, more quests, similar gameplay but with expanded skill trees and so on. If you enjoy games like Diablo - you should love this. It's adorable and the team behind it certainly knows what to do and how to accomplish it. Expand
  51. JohnnyW
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    I think this game is amazing. It is a dungeon crawler at the very finest. I finished the demo and will be buying it soon. There are three distinct classes and a plethora of items and loot to discover. The varying difficulty levels add a nice touch.
  52. ZootalZoot
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Who cares if it is a Diablo clone? Yes, it is a bit simple and there are a few features that are annoyingly missing - such as being able to move my camera around, or a stupidly small backpack so I can't carry much around (where is that mule, anyhow?) - but the game is just plain fun. Nice eye candy, very nice music, acceptable voice acting. Well worth the money.
  53. KevinW
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Very good game. As a Diablo fan, I was highly skeptical that this game could compare to the time tested series that I love. I waited until Steam had a $10 off special for it. Now that I've played it, I would have gladly payed $20 or even $30 for it. You and your chosen pet, a cat or a dog, are tasked with basically clearing massive dungeons Diablo style to do...something or other. As Very good game. As a Diablo fan, I was highly skeptical that this game could compare to the time tested series that I love. I waited until Steam had a $10 off special for it. Now that I've played it, I would have gladly payed $20 or even $30 for it. You and your chosen pet, a cat or a dog, are tasked with basically clearing massive dungeons Diablo style to do...something or other. As you might have guessed, the story isn't fantastic in the slightest, but that wasn't the reason I was playing. THE PROS: Pleasant, rotating atmosphere for the dungeons. You get a real sense of depth. Lots of loot to sort through. Normally they're items you won't be interested in, but occasionally you'll find something great. In fact, you get a lot of loot, so much that your inventory will fill up fast, which brings up your pets usefulness. Your pet proves a useful ally, especially when buffed with fish. But where your pet really shines is the automatic selling of items, which is way more useful than it sounds as your main inventory will fill up fast. This is a major addition to the Diablo game style. Plenty of options for your character in terms of magic and weapon setup. Epic and satisfying battles. Some quite difficult bosses Levels can get quite large Low price tag! CONS: No Multiplayer! This was almost a deal breaker for me and I couldn't believe they stated there would be none for this version of the game. Its low price tag convinced me to buy it anyways. Lacking story. Using the pet to sell items can take quite a while when you get pretty deep in the dungeon (2 minutes or so). Dungeons can start looking repetitive after a while. Not as many spells or customizations as I would of liked, but it keeps the game simpler. All in all, it's a very enjoyable Diablo style RPG. The lack of multiplayer will be a turn off to many players, but for its price, its a great game to tide you over until Diablo 3. Expand
  54. SteffenF
    Dec 8, 2009
    4
    This is game looks like Diablo and its allmost same gameplay, its easly to controle. Its kind of boring.. after 5 hours its boring like hell. Its a okey game, but it aint the money worth sorry ;/
  55. Simon
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    The good: The combat is very fun and well-done. The art is cool. Sounds are great. There are some great characters, like the robot bard. The bad: It seems way too easy, at least on normal mode - nothing at all gives me a challenge, even big bosses (they die very quickly). A roomful of enemies dies in seconds (I have a level 23 alchemist). It's all one big dungeon: There's no The good: The combat is very fun and well-done. The art is cool. Sounds are great. There are some great characters, like the robot bard. The bad: It seems way too easy, at least on normal mode - nothing at all gives me a challenge, even big bosses (they die very quickly). A roomful of enemies dies in seconds (I have a level 23 alchemist). It's all one big dungeon: There's no sense of traveling through a world, like you get in D2. You just do the levels one after another. The story is quite weak. You go into this dungeon... for some reason... and then you learn that there's an evil power, and you really should do something about that ancient evil shouldn't you! The battles get very chaotic later on and it can be hard sometimes to differentiate friend from foe. It's hard to enjoy the nice artwork from the zoomed-out view and with the enemies dying so fast. Overall, very fun game, but it doesn't try to be anything more than a fun action RPG. I'm excited to try out the editor but haven't yet. Expand
  56. SaintA
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Excellent Diablo-type action RPG. Innovative pet system is entertaining as well as useful - no more running to town to dump/sell stuff every 15 minutes. The graphics are cartoony but that's not a bad thing. The look is very polished but it still runs smoothly on lots of hardware. Excellent music and sound effects will be nostalgic for veterans of the genre. Negative - cannot tell Excellent Diablo-type action RPG. Innovative pet system is entertaining as well as useful - no more running to town to dump/sell stuff every 15 minutes. The graphics are cartoony but that's not a bad thing. The look is very polished but it still runs smoothly on lots of hardware. Excellent music and sound effects will be nostalgic for veterans of the genre. Negative - cannot tell when certain buffs end - the lack of visual clutter is a nice change of pace, but sometimes you need to know when your pet's transform buff is going to end. Loading screens provide no hint as to the load progress - at first I thought the game had frozen. Expand
  57. JoshF
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    I've just spent a good few hours playing the demo on Steam with all 3 classes and it's been a very enjoyable experience, it's a game that's easy to get in to and will appeal to newcomers to this style of game. It instantly comes to mind as being a great spiritual successor to Diablo with it's style of play, the graphics are just charming with plenty of blood mixed I've just spent a good few hours playing the demo on Steam with all 3 classes and it's been a very enjoyable experience, it's a game that's easy to get in to and will appeal to newcomers to this style of game. It instantly comes to mind as being a great spiritual successor to Diablo with it's style of play, the graphics are just charming with plenty of blood mixed in. Although one complaint, this might just be my mouse, I found combat with ranged weapons awkward when an enemy suddenly moved and I clicked on where they were standing and moved there instead of attacking. All in all a great taste of what's to come. Expand
  58. TeodrakA
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    A great ARPG. Take the basic functionallity, simplify the most complicated formulas (hit chance, for example) and put a great cartoon style and a great OST... Boom. Torchlight. Very addictive and simple... I think it's the key for ARPGs... and Runic Games gave it to me for 15 euros. Pros: Simple and fun, addictive. Support for modding. Con: No multiplayer, no great-plot.
  59. Xiru
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    This game, above all, is a Diablo clone. This of course doesn't mean it's bad. On the contrary, it takes the basic formula and greatly improves on it. Although the voice acting is flat in places and the skill trees are slightly repetitive, fans of the genre should be able to enjoy the best Diablo clone since Titan Quest.
  60. JohnB
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    This game is just wonderful. Very simple to pick up and play, and very engrossing, even for experienced ARPG players. The art direction is fantastic, the monsters are unique and character progression is VERY satisfying. Loot is awesome as well, you never feel like you're getting shafted with garbage drop after garbage drop. After only 5 minutes of playing you won't be able to This game is just wonderful. Very simple to pick up and play, and very engrossing, even for experienced ARPG players. The art direction is fantastic, the monsters are unique and character progression is VERY satisfying. Loot is awesome as well, you never feel like you're getting shafted with garbage drop after garbage drop. After only 5 minutes of playing you won't be able to tear yourself away from the computer! Excellent value for $20, I would personally be willing to pay full PC price for this game at $50. Expand
  61. swampt
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Torchlight is an excellent action rpg! The combat is smooth, fulfilling, and addicting. When you're not in combat, you spend most of your time determining the best equipment for your player, which in turn, means to more fun in combat. Did I mention that it's fun killing thousands of creatures in this game? Fun, addicting, beautiful, and can't wait for the MMO.
  62. NathanielJ
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    This has to be the best dungeon crawler I've played in a while! The skill system and character sheet are perfectly customizable as for what kind fighting style you enjoy. When I first started my character I was thinking "Crap, there's only three classes to choose from. This will be way too linear." But I was wrong. Yes, you can choose from only three classes but the classes are This has to be the best dungeon crawler I've played in a while! The skill system and character sheet are perfectly customizable as for what kind fighting style you enjoy. When I first started my character I was thinking "Crap, there's only three classes to choose from. This will be way too linear." But I was wrong. Yes, you can choose from only three classes but the classes are just as general as whether you want to play a melee, range, or caster. The skill tree and character sheet give you full choice of how you want to melee, range, or cast. This game gives you all of the features you would expect from a hack and slash RPG, and it is definitely worth the money! Expand
  63. Claudiog
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Torchlight is a excellent rpg game! is the same feeling-playing diablo, but with updated graphics and effects to the present day. simply sensational and an excellent job of developers, Congratulations!!!
  64. Jamie
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    I love this game. Everything is so well done and so much fun. The only reason it's not getting a 10, is that it's all been done before. Who cares, you say? Kind of an abstract criticism, you say? Well, the problem is, as much fun as it feels now, I think the fun will gradually diminish ... the only reason you're playing is to get better weapons so you can go deeper into the I love this game. Everything is so well done and so much fun. The only reason it's not getting a 10, is that it's all been done before. Who cares, you say? Kind of an abstract criticism, you say? Well, the problem is, as much fun as it feels now, I think the fun will gradually diminish ... the only reason you're playing is to get better weapons so you can go deeper into the dungeons and fight better enemies so you can get better weapons so you can go deeper into the dungeons and...well, kind of self-referential isn't it? Infinite looping is stereotypically bad for cliched computers but not something people are prone to unless they're dysfunctional in some way so after a while it naturally begins to pall... But it's a minor nitpick. As dungeon crawlers go, this is sheer fun, and the most fun I've had since fate 2. If you like that sort of thing, it's a must try. Expand
  65. ehB
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Torchlight captures perfectly the atmosphere and frenetic action of the Diablo series. With great graphics, music and sound this is a must for fans of that series who love to collect endless loot drops. Sadly no multiplayer for those who wish to play with friends.
  66. RT
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Very good game. Gameplay is very good. I'd highly recommend this game to anyone who wants a dungeon crawler game while waiting for D3 to come out.
  67. MattN.
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Great game, would of been better if it had multiplayer of some sort.
  68. JackG.
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Great fun, wasted many hours playing this game. Graphics are nice and colourfull never without something interesting to look at on this game. Great value for money here! :D
  69. AaronE
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    Great fun, and a great loot system. Bunch of good content coming out not that the editor is available, and I lookk forward to the community.
  70. Nick
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Truely awesomeness in a tin. I havn't enjoyed an RPG this much in years and it's full of great ideas and a very easy to use interface/menus
  71. MeatMan
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Torchlight is easily worth twice the $20 price tag. I'm 15 hours in and I can tell there is still plenty of gameplay left just on my first character. I can't wait to see what the community creates with the torchED mod tools while we wait for the Torchlight free-to-play MMO in 18 months or so.
  72. KevinS
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game offers a lot and is fun in general for being a single player only game. I just wish there were plans for a multi-player component in the future, but there is a mod in the works to bring some basic multi-player elements. All hope is not lost for this feature, and I think they could make a killing to work this feature in later on. After all they will need some funding for their This game offers a lot and is fun in general for being a single player only game. I just wish there were plans for a multi-player component in the future, but there is a mod in the works to bring some basic multi-player elements. All hope is not lost for this feature, and I think they could make a killing to work this feature in later on. After all they will need some funding for their future MMO project and this would be a start. Expand
  73. SamsonT.
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    An amazing action RPG, with some cool features thrown in. Awesome graphics, even on my crappy computer. I can't wait for the MMO!
  74. GregO
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    This is a great, fun, and engaging game. The art direction is amazing both visually and sound-wise.
  75. GregM
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    This game brings back memories of the original Diablo while keeping up to the standards of todays games. An overall great game that should not be missed by any fans of the RPG genre. For $20 its a steal!
  76. seanm
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal rps dungeon crawler, ver reminiscent to Diablo, but mor simplified. my only gripe is that ther's no multiplayer, but the only reson i want it is because Diablo had it. Lets see what the modding community can do!
  77. Tony
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    Absolute steal for any RPG fan that loves diablo or WoW. The story line is dull but the overall entertainment is well worth your money. I would recommend this to any RPG fan.
  78. Scott
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    Torchlight is very fun and pleasing to the eye. It's a game where you plan to play for 5 minutes, but then end up playing an hour or two. The graphics are easy to look at, and the music is very soothing. For $20, it's a great deal. 9/10 though because there are many slow parts, such as when you reach a full inventory and have to scavenge through your backpack and delete stuff or Torchlight is very fun and pleasing to the eye. It's a game where you plan to play for 5 minutes, but then end up playing an hour or two. The graphics are easy to look at, and the music is very soothing. For $20, it's a great deal. 9/10 though because there are many slow parts, such as when you reach a full inventory and have to scavenge through your backpack and delete stuff or send it to sell with your pet (you will be doing this a lot, as there is a TON of loot). Expand
  79. AnonT
    Dec 18, 2009
    3
    The game is an extremely uninspired clone of Diablo. The classes are almost identical to those of the first Diablo. There are a small number of innovations that make it a little less tedious than other games of the genre, but you'll wonder why you're spending $20 on the game when you could get Diablo 1 and 2 with their expansions for the same price. This game would have been The game is an extremely uninspired clone of Diablo. The classes are almost identical to those of the first Diablo. There are a small number of innovations that make it a little less tedious than other games of the genre, but you'll wonder why you're spending $20 on the game when you could get Diablo 1 and 2 with their expansions for the same price. This game would have been great 10 years ago, but today it's simply a stale ripoff of a formula that's been done at least a dozen times before. While you may find your first playthrough as enjoyable as any other game in the genre, the lack of multiplayer or any uniqueness to the three basic classes prevents it from having any replay value. You're just killing the same old mobs in the same old way you've been doing for 15 years since the first Diablo was released, with no depth, very little originality, and no replayability. Expand
  80. JesusChrist
    Dec 20, 2009
    6
    I agree that it's well polished, but again, it's just a clone of fate/diablo. If this game had multiplayer (real multiplayer, not mmo), my rating would be much higher.
  81. SteveLatten
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    this game is simply amazing and it runs almost on any computer :D
  82. chrisc
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing!!! but would be better if could play online as well
  83. Matt
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    I found torchlight to be an extremely fun dungeon crawler, as long as that's what you are in the mood for. The designers seemed to think about the frustrating aspects of the genre, and eliminated them for the most part. The end result is a very streamlined and fun to play game.
  84. ChickenLittle
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    I don't think I need to tell you why this game is such a great Hack 'n' Slash genre revival.
  85. GeneW
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Don't listen to the complainers...this game is a huge improvement on the "Diablo-style" and despite it being a modernized clone (and not very original) it is wholly enjoyable. As someone who spent an inordinate amount of time playing Diablo 1 and 2 online and off, I fully appreciate what the Torchlight developers have created here. I bought the game for $4.99 during a Steam special Don't listen to the complainers...this game is a huge improvement on the "Diablo-style" and despite it being a modernized clone (and not very original) it is wholly enjoyable. As someone who spent an inordinate amount of time playing Diablo 1 and 2 online and off, I fully appreciate what the Torchlight developers have created here. I bought the game for $4.99 during a Steam special sale, and it's worth every penny! I'm looking forward to the online/multiplayer upgrade from the developers... Expand
  86. TobiasZ
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Best RPG i´ve played ever since Diablo II
  87. Dont
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    The best Diablo 2 since Diablo 2.
  88. JonS
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Best hack-and-slash game I've played since Diablo II. Only reason I don't give it a 10 is because it lacks multiplayer, but for $20 bucks this game is a steal!
  89. ShaunD
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Game is just straight fun, the interviewer who gave it a 71 from a website, should be shot.... this game is missing nothing, fun graphics, fun style, just great fun. And i do play the "more UI" orientated games, and this one is just way up there if not better than those. So impulse gamer can suck my d****.
  90. BenE
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    Absolute perfection! Exactly what the Action-RPG genre needs to breath life back into it's lungs. Wonderful single-player story w/ endless replay value. I wish there was a (9.9/10) rating to give this game. Please, PLEASE Runic... bless us w/ a multiplayer heaven and you've got a perfect 10!
  91. Alppo
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Metacritic... and the critics... usually get it in the ballpark... but not this time. Torchlight is the must-play dungeon crawler of the year. With the level editor out now and the infinite dungeon built-in, and three interesting talent trees to choose from on each of the three classes, Torchlight has very high replay value. Aesthetically and musically, this is the finest dungeon crawler Metacritic... and the critics... usually get it in the ballpark... but not this time. Torchlight is the must-play dungeon crawler of the year. With the level editor out now and the infinite dungeon built-in, and three interesting talent trees to choose from on each of the three classes, Torchlight has very high replay value. Aesthetically and musically, this is the finest dungeon crawler ever made. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  92. LanceW
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    This is more than a Diablo clone, it's the one, true Diablo successor. People leave companies, sometimes to form their own, and this is true of Runic. The developers who were the pedigree behind Diablo are now Runic, and it shows in their games, it truly does. If you loved the first Diablo, then this is the true sequel and it'd be a real shame to pass it up. Diablo III This is more than a Diablo clone, it's the one, true Diablo successor. People leave companies, sometimes to form their own, and this is true of Runic. The developers who were the pedigree behind Diablo are now Runic, and it shows in their games, it truly does. If you loved the first Diablo, then this is the true sequel and it'd be a real shame to pass it up. Diablo III isn't being developed by the same people who made Diablo so tangibly incredible, keep that in mind if you must choose between the two. Diablo III is Diablo in name alone, Torchlight is Diablo in heart and soul, and made with a degree of passion that today's Blizzard could never muster. This is Diablo, in its truest form, the great graphical roguelike, and a nifty game to boot! Expand
  93. Mordobb
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    Torchlight is not a simple Diablo clone. Its much more, its the game that is probably giving Diablo 3 developers some white hairs. With Torchlight a lot of the Diablo 3 features seems dull, the grafics feel weak (not withstanding a 40$ price anymore). Diablo in 2011? no way, they have too much to rework,(From gameplay to eyecandy) or they ll end up as a Torchlight clone with somewhat Torchlight is not a simple Diablo clone. Its much more, its the game that is probably giving Diablo 3 developers some white hairs. With Torchlight a lot of the Diablo 3 features seems dull, the grafics feel weak (not withstanding a 40$ price anymore). Diablo in 2011? no way, they have too much to rework,(From gameplay to eyecandy) or they ll end up as a Torchlight clone with somewhat better grafics with a WOW gamestyle for single player -skill three). No multiplayer ? Those who doesn t stand run around whinnyer (Let s rush) overpoer kids don t care. If i want multiplayer i go kill some zombies. Mild dificulty? LOL the guy haven t clicked on "hard core" before "Masochist" level You get your ass handed to you on a gold plate the moment you get too confident. Is it perfect ? No some stuff could be better for sure. But hell, it feels good. Expand
  94. FDel
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    This game cut the grass under D3 feets. D3 staff will have to rethink a good part of D3, good for us, if they dont want to look like a Torchlight clone. It could be better ? Yes. They could have innovated a little more and gone a little wilder on the maps. But Afaik, with the kind of crappy games we get today, 20 bucks is underpayd. The free editor is a plus for some people.
  95. Babo
    Dec 25, 2009
    6
    Think the lack of multiplayer is a big disappointment. Although the game has nice look and feel, after a couple of hours of playing it gets kind of boring. Waiting for D3
  96. joeblow
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    i bought this game for $10.00 its worth 4 times that much,nice graphics,an game play.
  97. Timoakat0shS
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    First I tried out the demoversion of TL because i jast wanted to know, how much Runics had stolen from Blizzard's epic hack'n'slay-god Diablo and the answer is: Only the best stuff! :D For this price, it's in my opinion the best action-hack'n'slay-rpg buyable at the moment! And the best is: If you are bored of that big content...go to known homepages and First I tried out the demoversion of TL because i jast wanted to know, how much Runics had stolen from Blizzard's epic hack'n'slay-god Diablo and the answer is: Only the best stuff! :D For this price, it's in my opinion the best action-hack'n'slay-rpg buyable at the moment! And the best is: If you are bored of that big content...go to known homepages and download lots of stuff and fun as Mods. You like World of Warcraft? Then just search and download the Azure-Blades for your Destroyer ;) 10/10 Expand
  98. HughG.R.
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Game is pretty good, player can go around and doesn't afraid of anything.
  99. Sep 30, 2010
    8
    really like this game which I'm sure everyone knows is sort of a Diablo knock off. That's not a drawback and at least 2 of the developers were key members of the original Diablo team. I don't play console and I have a mac so some of my choices are limited. This was a fantastic break from my usual MMO grind. Really nice game.
  100. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    For the price you are getting a great game that will make you wish Blizzard would at least announce when Diablo 3 is coming out, but... at the same time it shows a lot of promise and maybe the people behind this game can come up with a really good sequel.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 90
    With phenomenal music and great art direction, combined with an addictive combat system, it's hard to step away from the keyboard and mouse after the first floor.
  2. Runic hasn't dumbed down the experience, they've removed the fluff and distilled it down to the truly fun parts. Add in a few innovations and what you've got is Torchlight; a game that raises the expectations for dungeon-crawling action RPGs by being not just fine-tuned but affordable as well.
  3. The core of the game is its combat and character progression, and both of those are outstanding. Torchlight might not be breaking any new ground, but the soul of Diablo hasn't been so ably captured in years. You won't find much that approaches Torchlight's worth at its $20 price point.