User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 684 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 684

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2010
    8
    really like this game which I'm sure everyone knows is sort of a Diablo knock off. That's not a drawback and at least 2 of the developers were key members of the original Diablo team. I don't play console and I have a mac so some of my choices are limited. This was a fantastic break from my usual MMO grind. Really nice game.
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    For the price you are getting a great game that will make you wish Blizzard would at least announce when Diablo 3 is coming out, but... at the same time it shows a lot of promise and maybe the people behind this game can come up with a really good sequel.
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    A perfect game for a low price, and loads of hours of gameplay. Torchlight 2 is going to amazing also. Love these games. I really could care less about Diablo 3 after playing the Torchlight series
  4. May 18, 2011
    8
    Yes, it's a dungeon crawler "diablo" clone - but the thing is, Diablo is quite old by now, and there hasn't been many decent updates to the genre. Torchlight doesn't really do anything new, but that doesn't make it any less fun for a play through or two.
  5. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    I see a mix of reviews but the trend is either you love the game or you hate it. I find those who rate the game a 1 or 2 either pissed off because they died too much or perhaps sodomizing themselves with a retractable baton because they blew their life savings on another dungeon crawler. Again, I've personally played almost every dungeon crawler out there and here's a secret ( they're all button mashing, mouse clicking adventures ). Although the concepts behind the game are not original (primarily absorbed from DII and Fate) there was still a lot of work and creativity that went into designing this game at a movie ticket price. So for those trolls out there who are score raping this game, you should reconsider based on the definition of a dungeon crawler. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I got this game for five dollars and for that amount you can't lose. Torchlight has pleasant cartoon graphics that give the game a magical fun atmosphere and has excellent sound and music to match. The music is extremely similar to the music found in Diablo 1 and 2 but no complains there. There are many other elements that are extremely similar to the Diablo series, the gem crafting system works almost exactly the same but I think they went a little overboard with it as there are I believe seven levels of gem qualities and it can take ages finding the one gem you are missing in order to finish "transmuting" them altogether to get the final product. The prices in the game are a little wonky and gold can be hard to come by. A weapon that you paid 5000 gold for will normally sell back to the vendor for 50-100 gold. This can lead to one broke ass hero through the early stages of the game. I liked the fact that the game has unique animations for many of the weapons (with enchantment glows) and armor in the game, and they did a good job with the animations too. I find it highly amusing that a $5 little indie-esque game like this has better armor animations than the hugely grossing World of Warcraft. My ultimate gripe with the game is that sometimes dungeons will repeat. You'll be in a dungeon with a sense of deja-vu about the layout and once you figure out a stairway, door, exit is in the exact same place you will know that your assumption was well founded. It takes about 10-12 hours to get a character to level 35-40 and beat the main storyline of the game, but again for $5 I highly recommend this game. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Such a simple game yet so charming, addicting, and entertaining. This is what all games should be: easy to pick up and enjoyable for a 10 minute session or a 4 hour marathon. And at its price, it's one of the best values around. It easily beats every other Diablo clone, and only Torthlight II or Diablo III will be able to trump it. So for what it is I give it a 10, despite it being fairly short on content. Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    This game is severely mediocre. Have you played Diablo II? It is a better game than this is. The gameplay is repetitive even by the standards of the genre, and it all feels rather pointless. The quests are lame and the gear grinding is undisguised.
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    3
    TL:DR? - Torchlight feels like a cheap Diablo II knockoff with unoriginal spells, boring monsters and a shocking storyline, if it even deserves that. The game is also easy enough to beat by anyone capable of clicking a mouse, and could be likened to surfing the internet in difficulty. The graphics can be pretty, but those alone do not make up for this lackluster attempt at a Diablo clone. Would have expected a game of much higher calibre from the co-creators of Diablo and Diablo II. For more reasons why, read on:

    I'm not sure where to start, and not in a good way. I bought this game in response to a fairly fantastic reviews all round, but was greatly disappointed.

    If you've ever played an rpg before, particularly Diablo or one of its many clones, (or if you can roll your face on your keyboard) Torchlight is trivially easy, even on the hardest difficulty. Roll an alchemist and it becomes a mind-numbingly boring process of spamming 2 spells (which are more or less copy and pasted from every rpg ever made, ever) on unimagined monsters for what seems like an eternity. Furthermore, the storyline is slow, clichéd and more or less non-existent, so the game feels less like an rpg and more like an arbitrary grind-fest for an unknown purpose.

    The inventory system is also somewhat haphazard and feels a little unpolished, as do the items. Don't expect to pick up an item without picking up everything near it, which adds to a second minor problem: lack of inventory space. While your pet does have a pack, you'll constantly find yourself stepping out of the action in order to slowly give everything to your dog or cat and sending it back to town. Alternatively, you can pick up everything above the item you desire, then drop all the things you didn't want.
    The items themselves are very much like what you'd see in a typical rpg, although with less variation. The gem does have a gem system, but the actual gems drop so rarely (and bonuses of which weren't even good enough to merit being rare) that I only used 2 gems throughout one playthrough. Going back to your pet, its ai seems quite fond of being completely useless. It often gets stuck when you run up stairs, or behind walls. The fishing system, while innovative, provides benefits for your pet which, while making your pet actually combat capable, are next to useless due to how easy most fights actually are. This is a particular irk of mine: your pet is either useless, or more or less makes your playable character unnecessary. Most fish transform your pet into a monster capable of destroying everything nearby (including bosses), which, while fun to watch, your pets beastly-ness means you don't really have to do much for 5 minutes. The hitboxes (where you have to click to attack a unit) are also misleadingly small, and many a time I'd find my character running around the place instead of actually performing any useful action, even when trying to open a chest.

    Characters themselves seem like interesting twists on popular rpg classes, but are in fact as generic as they get. Essentially, you have a mage, a ranger and a warrior, with unnecessarily renamed skills, and a mixture of useless and overpowered spells and abilities. The only class I found remotely fun to play was the alchemist, and that was ruined by how easy the game becomes after lvl 5 or so. There is so much that could have been done to add a little flair to these classes, but Torchlight seemingly neglected any character creativity in preference for a quick and easy clone.

    The game has a little saving grace from its lovely graphics. The design team really hit the spot with fleshed out environments and spell effects. Additionally, while it lacks originality, it did a reasonable job of stealing many of the things that made Diablo great, and using them again. It does make Torchlight seem a little redundant.

    All in all, if you're a fan of mindless click-spamming and killing everything that moves with not much effort, you'll like this game. If you want any depth, challenges or something new, save your money.
    Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    If Blizzard didn't have to break a pc sales record every game they make, this would pretty much be Diablo 3. Don't get me wrong, this is actually Fate with some extra Diablo thrown in (music made by the same composer as Diablo 2 and such). But that doesn't mean its bad. The gameplay works fine if you're not trying to have a bunch of minions on the screen, as pathfinding took a hit somewhere in development. Otherwise its just a new Diablo 2, and you know the drill for that - click monsters dead, get loot, repeat. However, if you've played video games before, start on "Hard" since "Normal" is actually the "Very Easy" setting. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very well rounded up monsterbashing and dungeon delving game. It is quick and nonstop action for one, but the foundation and focus is on character improvement. Which is dominated by loot and gear and pure collecting galore for the perfectionists, where each item is potentially better than the last. This is driven by a random system, looting and enchanting and everything to make the best out of your stuff. Retire your character and pass any one item to a descendant, it acts as a legendary and better version endlessly. The game may be tiny ,but this makes even repeating rewarding. Very nicely shaped game overall. Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    I have completely fallen in love with this game. It is brilliant, very cute with outstanding gameplay. Good interfaces and easy to just pick up and play. There has been some criticism that the game does not feature co-op or multiplayer, however in this day and age where EVERYTHING has co-op and multiplayer I found it a refreshing change to have a game I can just sit and play all on my own in peace. The treasure hunting and fishing aspects of the game keep it fresh as do the maps that lead to hidden bonus dungeons. I am still hunting for some very specific items to get full sets of the epic type suits with awesome bonuses. All in all this game has mass appeal, yes it is not original but damn it is fun, very pretty to look at and superb to play. Highly recommended and I am looking forward to the forthcoming release of Torchlight 2. Expand
  13. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    Torchlight is a watered down Diablo 2. If you have played Diablo 2 you will have no problem playing Torchlight. Since it is from the original Diablo 2 creators many of the names, abilities and skills are even called the same. I really liked the look of it, and it played great. It was good enough that I played through the game three times, once with each character class.
  14. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a blast that fills a serious void. If you love Diablo 2 you owe it to yourself to play this. My only complaint would be the lack of co-op. I've seen they are putting co-op in 2 so I'm extremely excited for that. Just hope they get it out before D3!
  15. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    Fantastic indie Diablo clone. The graphics are vibrant and reminiscent of Warcraft (not a bad thing). There are only 3 classes but they've done a good job of making each unique. Lots of opportunity for customizing your character's abilities. Loads of cool armor and weapons. Good variety of weapons. For just a few dollars you get hours of fun. Highly recommended for PC gamers.
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    A great hack and slash RPG. IT's simple, easy to play, and has a good amount of fun. It does lack class customization and of course any Multiplayer, but if you loved games like Diablo than you'll definitely want to play this. It's at least good for one run, original, and worth your money.
  17. May 18, 2012
    0
    looks and plays like a kid's game..awful. only good thing is the music, which is reminiscent of diablo. but not worth it at any price. get D3 or wait for Grim dawn, much better games
  18. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Shallow gameplay. Poor class selection. Overly cartoony. No private servers means hacked characters galore. No multiplayer code. Very unambitious title from some of the developers of Diablo 2. Fun for about 20 hours or so. There are simply far better alternatives out there.
  19. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Totally consuming and fun. $15 on STEAM! Unbelievable value for so great of a game. Anxiously awaiting Torchlight 2 very soon with Co-op play!
  20. Feb 17, 2012
    7
    I have always been a fan of action/loot/rpgs, and this satisfied all my urges. A beautiful interface, smooth gameplay, rewarding loot, and a great modding community make this a must have. The visuals are rounded, attractive, and run on very old pc's, however the music is probably the best aesthetic thing about the entire game - it is truly exceptional. And while the package and content is fantastic, the game has some faults as well. It's very repetitive, focusing purely on a single descending dungeon (with a few side portals). In a game like this, you do need more variety to make it interesting for longer. And the omission of multiplayer and the ability to share your game experience limits the longterm value. Regardless, this game understands what makes a action rpg tick. Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    This is a solid game. If you are looking for a new and game changing RPG than this is not the game for you. If you are looking for a firmly detailed and complete RPG to fill the gap in your RPG gaming time this is the perfect game for you. There is nothing new that they do, but everything you've come to expect in a solid RPG is here. The positives: the games saves everything exactly as it is, you leave a town portal up it is still there later, and other such examples. The downside: lack of quests, they exist but are few and far between. The good thing is that the developers encourage mods. So if you feel that they are lacking in the quests mod some more. All in all, nothing new, but everything old has been perfected. Expand
  22. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome. I'm an avid isometric dungeon crawler fan, and Torchlight has been one of the most satisfying games in years. The combat mechanics and animations are highly entertaining and addictive. I get the impression that the FATE series (decent, not spectacular) was a warm-up for this company. Torchlight is the finished product. The art is good, the combat is spectacular, and I can't count the number of times I told myself "just ONE more floor..." This game would tempt me at $20-30. For the piddly amount stores (and my lord, STEAM) is asking for it, you have no excuse not to buy this game if you are serious enough to be reading this review. Doooo eeeet. Expand
  23. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game does the hack n' slash genre to perfection.
    It is like a super-updated Diablo II, a thing the game creators don't deny, considering they also worked on DII.
    This is such a bargain at $15 now, that it makes me cry i wasted $60 on trash like Dragon Age II.
    Everyone should know about this game!!
  24. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    This is plain and simple a Diablo clone. It plays like Diablo, copies the main plot of Diablo (troubled town sitting on top of hell, or a long cavern thought to be hell), hell it was even made by some of the same people that made Diablo. If you want originality in a game...well, go back in time to the 80's, but this ain't it. What it does offer is fun gameplay at a reasonable price. This title now sells for $15, a reduction from a whopping $20, making it a screaming deal when it was full priced still. The graphics are pretty, not overly taxing on your system (the company says it can be played on a tablet, pretty cool) and it runs smoothly. Levels are randomly built so you won't have the same map over and over. Tons of loot drops, also randomly generated, keeping you always looking for an upgrade. Again, just like Diablo. A couple of things are missing from the game like the ability to keymap (seriously developers, let me set my own buttons, IN EVERY GAME) and you can't respec (I guess everyone is supposed to automatically know what every spell and ability does) both things which hurt the game. Another rude awakening thing you will learn is the enchantment system is also random and there is a chance that the item you are enchanting will be rendered useless (all stats removed) which is very annoying if you really like whatever it is you are using. But overall, considering how many Diablo clones there are in the world, how fun this one actually is to play and its price it comes out as quite a good game. Expand
  25. May 21, 2011
    8
    Torchlight is a solid game. It's an improved Fate, which was pretty good. It features nice cartoonish graphics and Diablo-esque mechanics, nothing new. It excels at gameplay, though. It's fast, violent and plain funny.
  26. May 21, 2011
    1
    I've played this game.. for a while. It's sad how this game got out after the Diablo 3 Gameplay Movies were showed to the world. Anyway, let's go to the subject, the game is a fail copycat after Diablo 3, has only 3 classes, the cartoon-ish graphics suck and it's boring like hell. It's sad to see game developers going after the glory of a best seller like Diablo 2. It would be nice if they really come with something new in Tourchlight 2 but I doubt it. Overall its a good but boring game to play until Diablo 3 comes out. Expand
  27. May 13, 2012
    9
    A few of the more negative reviews criticise the game for being a Diablo clone, clearly these people don't know the game was created by the co-designers of Diablo 1&2! It's certainly a more casual approach than Diablo, but that doesn't stop it being an extremely fun game to play, the 3 classes are distinctly different and all a joy to control. Combat feels very impacting, and the there's a perfect balance between fun and difficulty, though like most ARPG's it can be a bit samey, but hey that comes with the genre. The story is a bit meh and never really grips you but that doesn't matter, you won't be paying much attention to it anyway. Anyway if you like ARPG's you owe it to yourself to play it, it's a hoot. Expand
  28. Jul 11, 2011
    7
    This game has all the basic elements of an RPG, but lacks the variety of one. Environment leaves you feeling trapped in a box going back from the caves and then back to hometown. I feel this game is more linear and condensed than an actual world to explore.
  29. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    Superb game. I'd give it a 10 except that it doesn't have multiplayer and it had a few balancing issues at higher levels sometimes. Other than that, you can't beat the price. Looking forward to Torchlight 2. :)
  30. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Addictive, easy to pick up and loads of fun to play. You can't really go wrong with that formula. Diablo clones are a dime a dozen but this is one of those clones that gets everything right. If you're not too concerned about a wafer thin storyline you're going to definitely enjoy your stay in Torchlight. There's also great replay value as you can try different character builds and collect different sets of loot to swap about. One fault worth mentioning is that the load times can be surprisingly long at times and the abundance of enemies can be overwhelming to say the least, but it's really just nit-picking on an otherwise solid title. Expand
  31. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Diablo rip-off of the highest order, made by many of the same people who made Diablo itself. This was my favourite stress-relief device for over a year after release. It's only fallen out of favour recently because of a glitch: if you lose your portal into wherever you were in the infinitely deep dungeon (the Shadow Vault), you have to start it all over again, it seems (at which point you might as well make a new character...) Single player only; roll on Torchlight 2 (which will have more than 3 classes, and co-op!) Expand
  32. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This game is mostly excellent. It's not the reason why, but it explains it : the studio from which this game comes from (runic games) has been formed by Travis Baldree (creator of Fate), Max Schaefer and Erich Schaefer (co-founders of Blizzard North - who worked on the first Diablo).

    The reasons (yes there are many) why this game is really great are :

    Simple but efficient game design
    (with the ability to use a "pet" to sell the loots without having your inventory always full of useless valuables) ; Cute and good looking SD character models and graphics ; A GREAT soundtrack which reminded me Diablo only few seconds after I started playing torchlight ; It has a very nice level editor ; Now, why nine and not ten ? Simply because there is no multiplayer capability yet (I've read somewhere it is planned for the sequel), and also because after a lot of time (but this game is so addictive that you easily spend a LOT of time on it) the randomized levels are a bit repetitive. Expand
  33. Dec 23, 2012
    5
    As mentioned before, Torchlight is a Diablo-clone where the player can control one of the three classes (Magician, Ranger or Warrior) through a dungeon-crawling adventure centuring around some type of corrupting ember that can be found below the towns of Torchlight. The gameplay is almost identical to Diablo I and II with the exception of the pet, which you are able to feed fish and it can carry items for you so you don't have to go back to town. The artwork is very bright and for some reason, they decided to give the whole game a sort of Japanese RPG look with over-sized hands, feet, hands and equipment which makes it look childish and breaks immersion. I played the game on the highest difficulty with the "hardcore" mode turned on (which deletes your progress should you die) but did not find the game challenging enough. For a game where the AI is expected to march in a straight-line towards you, it is profoundly dumb. Allied creatures will get stuck behind walls and enemies will stop chasing you when you leave their vicinity. Although the default controls aren't bad, you can't rebind any of them from within the game. The dungeons are procedurally generated which means that although randomized, will all tend to look-a-like and become a monotonous grind. Torchlight gets the gameplay right but not the atmosphere, there is no horror-story feel to it like Diablo 1 had and ARPG's don't have a whole lot going for 'm if the world and combat isn't interesting to look at. Expand
  34. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    It's a Dibalo clone, sure - but Torchlight is one of the best dungeon-crawler Action RPG's I've played in years. Clean, simple interface, and a slick visual style made this one of the most visually pleasing games of 2009. There's some great features, such as loading up your pet with items and sending him to town to sell them, that really add to the experience. As with most games in the genre, it can turn into a bit of a grind-fest at times, but the huge amount of variety between the different skills (and classes, for that matter) makes it totally worth it. I can't wait for Torchlight 2. Expand
  35. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    In the beginning you choose one of three common RPG archetypes, the warrior, rogue/ranger or mage. You are then placed in the small town of Torchlight, and thrust into action which foreshadows the main story line of the game. Now, I don't have a lot of experince in this genre really, but to me the story seemed very weak, which I will come back to later. In the first few missions you are only required to do simple things (kill this thing here, go talk to that person there) which I found boring at first, but after a while of clicking away the story progressed and so did the quests, and I started to really get into the combat and it became very entertaining. As I beleive to be common in the genre, as you level up you get a certain amount of points to increase your stats as well as gain new abilities. Playing as the 'alchemist' (the mage type character), I found the new spells and pets kept me playing, and for a while I really liked the game.
    The problems came after the 17th floor (each quest brings you deeper and deeper into the main 'dungeon', and I beleive there are 35 floors to the main dungeon) or thereabouts where the game slowed down to a crawl (in a dungeon crawl game, who would have thought?). I think there are several problems that are faced by each genre, and even in general, that need to be addressed by developers. In dungeon crawls, you are bascially asking the player to do the same thing over and over again to get through a dungeon, usually in a pretty formulaic way (you go through here, kill those, go to another level/area). To keep the player interested, I think its pretty important to balance interesting and varied combat against the background of an intriguing and engaging story so the player doesn't realise that all they are doing is clicking buttons and killing data.

    While Torchlight delivers varied combat, seen in its variation in level design (to an extent) and enemy models, introduction of new spells at a nice and natural pace and drawing the player into combat through an interesting armour/weapon discovery system which gives a good incentive, the story is greatly lacking. While not overly generic, the development of the story is slow and not overly compelling, making me often question why I was even bothering to play, other than to watch my character perform some devastating spells and attacks. To me, they failed in the balancing act I mentioned previously. By the 20th floor the game turned into nothing but 'walk here, AoE that, find the stairs to the next floor', which lead me to the analogy of self harm with kitchen utensils.

    The game also has some cool features worth mentioning, like having a dog or cat (you decide at the beginning of the game) to help you in combat, as well as being able to tell them to go back to town from a dungeon with items to sell, a handy way to make money as well as clear inventory space without losing momentum in dungeon crawling. The use of town portal scrolls is also handy, which allows you to teleport to town to hand in quests etc and then you can return to the place you teleported from. While being helpful features, they are not nearly enough to save the game from it's weak story line and player motivation.

    I do not contend that this is a horrible game, the combat (a key feature of this kind of game) is very fun, and the game does well to draw you in. Fans of the genre will probably enjoy this game a great deal, as I've read in numerous other reviews, overlooking the game's plot faults. It has a lot of replay value for fans, being able to try the game again on different difficulties or as a different class, as well as the option of fighting through a dungeon with infinite levels and side missions at the end of the main quest (but if I wanted to do this, I would go back to World of Wastecraft).

    To conclude, while the combat of Torchlight is fun and engaging, the story is not much of either. For people who aren't great fans of the genre, you will probably get a few hours of great fun and then a few hours of soul crushing monotony, while fans will probably spend the 10-60 hours of possible gameplay in complete bliss.

    Breakdown

    Presentation - 7/10 -The user interface is reasonably compact and functional, with the use of a number of easy to use buttons to hotkey spells. Some keys are a little awkwardly placed, which cramped my hands a few times.

    Graphics - 8/10 - Cartoony graphics, but quite detailed and very charming

    Sound - 8/10 - Very fitting musical score, capturing the ambiance and feel of each level of the dungeon

    Gameplay - 7/10 - Combat is very fun, but gets old some time into the game, slowing to a grind

    Plot - 3.5/10 - weak story, slowly implemented and not compelling/does not draw you in

    Lasting impact on player - variable - if you're a fan, you will love the options, but if you aren't like me you might avoid finishing it once


    Overall about a 6/10 (Okay)
    See other reviews at http://criticalgamingstudies.blogspot.com
    Expand
  36. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    Lots of fun effects and good gameplay but there is no atmosphere and it feels utterly pointless. I played for a while and it was so repetitive I got very bored.
  37. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    You can see the subtle signs this game shows in reference to other compelling hack and slash games. However, this game offers what all other similar games don't. A level editor in which you can decide what your journey will be.
  38. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    A very fresh game, and finally something besides Diablo II (which is still the best RPG Slasher-Looter-Level_Upper) which is worthy the gamers' attention. Tons of stuff, loot, weapons, skill trees. And considering the price no brainer!
  39. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Hah! Again ones of my favorite games. ;)
    This is the best Hack'n Slash after Diablo games ever. Great gameplay, nice graphics and good but just good maps. Biggest minus in this game is just 3 heroes..... This is enough.
    I can't played this game more them 10 hours in week because this become boring.
    I advice Torchlight Diablo II fans and people who likes Hack'n Slash games. My rate is 8.3/10
  40. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    Torchlight is a fun game with a lot of polish. The graphics are cartoonish but charming and look very good for how low the system specs are. I have two large complaints however. The first being no multiplayer whatsoever. It's a shame for a dungeon crawler like this to not have multiplayer support as this would have made the game much much more fun. The second issue I had was the lack of depth/re-playability. The game features only 3 classes and there aren't that many skills to chose from. Nonetheless if you are a fan of dungeon crawlers then you will definitely enjoy this game. Expand
  41. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Don't expect brilliance or endless replayability. This is something to tide you over until D3 releases. It's clear that this isn't as balanced as Diablo games - on normal, it's too easy, making it a boring grind after the first playthrough. On harder levels, it can be simply too difficult for some builds to complete the game. Also, some game mechanics are clearly broken, with some skills (like Vanquisher's Explosive Shot) completely overpowered, and other skills underpowered.

    All of that said, I got it for $15 and had tons of fun playing it through the first time. Totally worth the price at that level.
    Expand
  42. May 11, 2012
    7
    I don't understand how this game can exist at all. It is a carbon copy of the WT game FATE. From the graphics to the gameplay to the interface. EXACTLY the same. While it is a great game, I can't fathom how they avoided copyright infringement! All the same, I recommend this game (as well as FATE) to anyone who loves Diablo cloned dungeon crawlers.
  43. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    I liked so much about Torchlight--the graphics were were really cool, gameplay was fast-paced and the spells and abilities were fun. Overall I did like it, but for me it was brought down by the flimsy story and non-characters. None of the NPCs have anything interesting to say and no bosses (except the last one) have back stories or motivations, they just show up with their cool character designs and then you kill them and think, "Wish I knew what that guy's deal was." Even your character doesn't have any personality.

    I'm someone who likes to read the same books over and over, and for me the replay value comes from the story. There wasn't any in Torchlight, so I beat it once and had fun... but I haven't played it since.
    Expand
  44. May 16, 2012
    9
    Awesome game, after all the Diablo 3 hooplah this week I had to come leave a review for Torchlight. It really is a fun, awesome game that you can pop in and out of. And you can't beat the price! Also, it's on steam so no on-line required DRM B.S. Can't wait for Torchlight 2!!
  45. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    Game started out OK but the cartoon graphics are disappointing. The game lacks richness and variety. While it might be cheap ($20), I'd gladly pay $60 for a better experience. Time is a more precious commodity to me than an extra $30-50. But this game wouldn't sell well at the higher price point. For the price, it's good value, but if graphics are an important part of the experience, I wouldn't bother buying this. This was my first dungeon crawler. It was very easy to pick up and play, but I got tired of it before finishing the whole thing. But since it only cost $20, I didn't feel ripped off. Expand
  46. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This is a great game and I'm looking forward to playing Torchlight 2 when it comes out. If you like Diablo 2, you will love this game. Graphics are amazing and game is a lot of fun to play. I haven't purchased Diablo 3 yet and don't plan to unless they drop the price, but Torchlight 2 is definitely a game I will be purchasing at launch.
  47. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    Good game, albeit repetitious -borrowing unashamedly for Diablo -yet it does not pretend to be anything more than it is.
    A small company that does a good job which has been a success against the odds (Diablo).
    It had better get its new version out before Diablo 3- as at lest abridge for addicts of the game - or its next more ambitious effort will lose sales ,at lest in the short term.
  48. May 2, 2012
    6
    Torchlight is a decent game. It follows in the model of Diablo hack and slash games with more cartoonish graphics. The game is well polished but the gameplay tends to get very repetative in a short amount of time. If you enjoyed Diablo you will likely enjoy Torchlight but you just won't love it.
  49. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Torchlight is a simple RPG Adventure game made by Runic Games. It features similarities to World of Warcraft but brings in a whole new level of adventure. If you are a fan of dungeon crawlers, this game will be in for your interest, although it lacks the multiplayer for a game that feels like it should have such a feature, the other features such as Replay Value, class customization, etc within the game make up for it. Get this on steam and prepare yourself for Torchlight 2 which will be available (or shall be available) on Steam! Expand
  50. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    A very neat and wonderful game. If it just had a little bit more depth/variety, I'd give it a 10. But this focuses on what's most important; just playing a game and enjoying yourself.
  51. Jan 25, 2012
    7
    Torchlight is a fairly standard hack and slash dungeon crawler. It's not a bad game by any means, but it doesn't do anything to make it stand out either. For the price, it's worth checking out if you're a fan of Diablo style games.
  52. Feb 28, 2012
    6
    Torchlight is a rare game we get, its a Diablo clone, that is clear, but its a great example on how a dungeon crawler is made. I really think this game has potential in it, or had, unfortunately it was not used to its maximum power. The environments are repetitive, really repetitive, every 5 dungeons or so you get a change but that doesn't kill the repetition, and all the lost dungeons and extra ones are the same thing, that is the major disappointment of this game. After I see the enemies getting extremely repetitive too which get a little tedious and then of course there is repetitive loot which is found in massive amounts. All these issues make this game a little bit tedious but there is a saving grace, the art style is just outstanding, the sound is good and the learning curve here is just about right. I will tell you to buy this game if you are a diablo fan since this is a great experience for dungeon crawler fans but its not the reboot of the genre nor is it innovative to death, it gets a 6/10 but i will still recommend a buy. Expand
  53. May 16, 2012
    7
    Torchlight is an interesting take of the Action RPG genre, adding a fresh style and some fresh scenery. The constant decent down Torchlight makes for an interesting adventure. The gameplay is traditional to the genre and offers not much in the way of innovation, however the game is still good regardless. The pet feature is often irritating to use at points where your pet simply becomes useless, however with a quick pimpin' the pet seems to carry his load quite literary too as the Pet Inventory selling is a fantastic way to get rid of unwanted loot, an evil disease you seem to get whenever playing any RPG.

    My only gripe with this game is the fact that skill trees need some variety. When playing the Vanquisher I was promised "Traps" however all I got was a skill tree full of "Throw Bomb", not very good at all. I hope to see better skill in T2 or I won't be interested. Overall pretty good experience and looks like some new "Light" for the genre.
    Expand
  54. Sep 16, 2012
    10
    10/10 for being from the original makers of d1 and d2
    and 10/10 for not being **** 3.

    What more really needs to be said than, **** that loser diablo 3
  55. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    This game sucks, is incredibly boring, and looks like ****

    I am typing this because I need 150 characters blalblalblALBLALBLALDSFLKSDFLKlksdflksgdflLKSDF.
  56. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Good to play while waiting for Diablo III. Torchlight is simply yet another Diablo clone and... the Diablo clone par excellance at the same time. The most Diablo-ish thing in it is Matt Uelman's music, simply adorable and magnificent! Cartoon graphics would make this game eternal, just like in the case of World of Warcraft, if it not were for the re-playability... I got bored after about 3 hours. Maybe because I found it challenging only at Very Hard difficulty setting... or maybe the quests were so repetitive... Anyways, TL is a good game, but not an epic one. Expand
  57. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Very fun diablo clone. No story, all gameplay. There are lots of mods available adding even more classes or randomly generated dungeons in the game as well! 9/10
  58. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    Very good clone of Diablo 2 (minus network gameplay) with some improvement.
    No revolutionary idea, but no mistake either.
    The game is not that much difficult, and their is no end game (as in diablo).

    In sale, if you liked Diablo, it's a good bargain ... else it's up to you.
  59. May 11, 2012
    8
    Is this game perfect? No. It's a bit repetitive, unbalanced in moves (some awesome, others useless) and combat (most levels easy, last few very hard), very little actual story/ dialogue and no multiplayer. That said this game is amazingly cheap for the gameplay and length. The graphics while bright and colorful are well done, the effects are nice and the sound is awesome. The good moves are very satisfying and there is TONS of loot. Definitely recommend. Expand
  60. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge fan of action RPGs, and this game is definitely the best one I've yet played. It has everything an RPG should have: three different classes, three different pets, tons of weapons,armor, and enemy types, and a magical overworld to top it all off. If you're a fan of Diablo or any other dungeon crawlers like it, pick this up for $15 on Steam. You're guaranteed a good time.
  61. May 5, 2012
    9
    Is it a Diablo clone? Yep! But so what? Diablo was one of the best games of all time - torchlight contains all of the epicness of d2 with a streamlined interface and more vivid graphics. For 15 bucks you really can't say no, you will have hours of fun figuring out how to turn yourself into an unstoppable train locomotive of gory death - and once you do, turning an entire room with 20 little guys and two big bosses into a bleeding pile of corpses in seven short seconds of screen shaking and big numbers gives you the spectacle that defines the action rpg genre. No running around forests gathering plants, you run dungeons and slaughter evil for your gear! It doesn't get a solid 10/10 because during the main questline you have to go through five-dungeon level jaunts of samey-looking environments and that gets old. In addition, there is so much white trash loot that it becomes cumbersome to pick through (since you can't just pick it all up and deal with it later because your inventory is small) in the middle of a dungeon, and that takes away from the flow of the game. Torchlight is a tribute to the genre of action RPGs - but if you have never played an action RPG before, do yourself a favor and play Diablo first. Expand
  62. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Very SMALL length game originally, but the gameplay is AWESOME, just like Diablo. I love this game no matter what. The graphics are not super, but not bad, like it's special style of Texture! Feels like Warcraft'ish.. I kinda like that! Misses Online Play, but that is coming with Torchlight II, what makes this game unique, is the Modding. Like Seriously.. The game can get 6 times bigger than Diablo II: Lord of Destruction with the modding. It's not as good though... But a very good RPG! I would put it second on the list. Definately worth 19,99$ ! Hope TOrchlight II will have more ACTs and zone types! Expand
  63. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    First of, i'm not going to compare it to Diablo. No. I'll add to all the things that people have already said; The game is amazing! It is a perfect example to a game that has less graphics, but more GAMEPLAY and content! The online experience is everything that i wanted from TL1. The H&S is just what you would want from H&S game: "More please!". Simple... The game is rich in content and upgrades from the-already-great TL1 experience; More awesome skills, many quests and dungeons! All-in-all, You will find yourself spending a lot of hours on this one, trust me! Expand
  64. Mar 15, 2012
    6
    A LOT like Diablo, even going so far as to use some of the same musical scores and SFX. Quite addictive for a while but feels very samey. I did enjoy playing it but don't know if I'd ever go back to it or even purchase a sequel.
  65. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Nice visual style, features, gameplay. Somewhat repetitive maybe, but so is every hack-and-slash game ever released. Modest price and less idiotic DRM than the one used in upcoming Diablo III make this game a sight for sore eyes when it comes to looking for some good-old hack-em-up action!
  66. Apr 7, 2012
    6
    +Small learning curve; +Cute graphics; +Lots of items; -Soo repetitive, -Lots of clicking, -Quests are boring, -Character development not the best. Play this game if you're looking for something quick to get into and if you have a long attention span.
  67. Apr 8, 2012
    0
    This game is Diablo 2 stripped of the community, saddled with a pointlessly obtuse stat system, with the most dull characters ever. You get a melee warrior, a ranged archer, and a wizard. Yes, the most cliched, generic classes you could imagine. They even kept the same composer as Diablo 2 so the music will sound nostalgiac, but the mediocre art design (note that I am not criticizing the game for being cartoony, just for being ugly) will ruin that immediately. Furthermore, the lack of multiplayer means that gear doesn't matter. The game is poorly balanced for enemy levels. If you just go down the main dungeon, the game should mostly be fine but you will outlevel the enemies by the 10th or so floor. If, however, you complete some of the optional side dungeons that open up, you will overlevel the content and the game will largely consist of you mindlessly clicking on, and one shotting every single enemy without even the slightest fear of death. It becomes unbearably dull. So what we are left with is a few generic classes, stuck in a pointless Diablo 2 clone with no multiplayer, grinding for loot that never matters using a leveling system that rarely awards with the player with new abilities and always forces you to mindlessly dump stat points that are never really choices at all.

    This is the worst Diablo 2 clone of all time. Avoid. At any cost. Even free. Do not waste your time.
    Expand
  68. Aug 8, 2012
    3
    Flawed hack'n'slash-style gameplay offers nothing new or useful to the Action/RPG genre. Unless you enjoy fighting a game's interface most the time, then this is only for impatient Diablo 3 fans!
  69. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I love this game, It beated Diablo3 in any way. This is one of the reasons why we should support smaller developers and start ignoring the giant ones who just make games because of profit not because they love making good games.
  70. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    I put about 15 hours into this game and for the most part found it very rewarding. For the price there is a lot of content and the looting is worth the effort. Clever ideas like having your pet go and sell your goods so you dont have to drop things all the time make for more fun, less bother. You can also take time out to go fishing, and then feed the fish to your pet turning it into a more powerful creature. Things do get a little repetitive, but this format always will. Worth the coin Expand
  71. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    For the price of admission, the game is definitely a decent product. It can get pretty repetitive unlike its competitors, but its competitors are considerably more expensive. The cartoon-ish type graphics are great as it makes this a game for all gamers, young/old, experienced/casual, etc. Although it is very similar to other action RPGs, it has its own identity. It seems somewhat short and more shallow than others like Diablo 3.

    It won't keep you nearly as busy as others, but if you like Action RPGs or dungeon crawlers, this is a must buy.
    Expand
  72. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Not a fan of this genre so surprised I enjoyed the most parts of it. Very basic quest system only three side quests rinsed and repeated over and over again plus the main quest. Tons of loot, fun powers and abilities, with the usual RPG skill trees. Gameplay is repetitive but still holds the attention and colorful cartoon like graphics are a nice change.
  73. May 15, 2012
    9
    +Mods, +Fluid combat, +Cheap, +Three Classes each with three skill branches, +Pets, +Decent loot system, +Character to character item transfer. -No online play, -Dull environments, -Story is generic. If you liked Diablo, you will love this.
  74. May 15, 2012
    10
    Torchlight is a superb game for anyone that is a fan of the dungeon crawling genre. Torchlight is by no means a "Diablo Clone", in fact, I would propose that is instead "Diablo Evolved." Added features in Torchlight such as the pet system and robust modding tools truly distinguish the game as an entirely different beast. The modding community for Torchlight is phenomenal; a testament to this is the community developed modding interface RGFHotSpot. This simple program presents you with a list of mods in database, and upon installing multiple mods, the tool can then be used to check for conflicting code that would prevent the game from running properly while running certain mods together.

    With Torchlight now being a gifted bonus for pre-ordering Torchlight 2 on steam, there is absolutely no reason to pass up playing this awesome game.

    Tell all your friends, "Torchlight isn't a clone, it's Diablo Evolved!"
    Expand
  75. May 15, 2012
    8
    If you loved Diablo and Diablo II, you will love Torchlight! Great graphics, great gameplay and lots of fun! Pets add an interesting dimension to gameplay as well. The story is sparse, but decent. Can't wait for Torchlight II!
  76. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Can't wait for Torchlight 2. It's a shame Torchlight 2's release date says September 30th! I can't wait that long! Especially since Diablo 3 is terrible, we need an amazing RPG already!
  77. May 16, 2012
    9
    Torchlight is one of my favorite games. This is coming from someone who played Diablo, and Diablo 2 growing up. This game is made by people who know this genera really well because a lot of the guys from Runic Games came from Blizzard North. I'll start at the top of the list: graphics are sweet (I enjoy the art style); game play is smooth; the music is epic and really well done; and the story is a good vs evil like any other game, but it works. Of course, the only downside, was no multiplayer. Torchlight 2 however, is my most anticipated game of this year, or even the past few years. Watch game play videos of that game and you'll understand. Expand
  78. May 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this instead of diablo 3.
    More fresh feeling ideas, more fun gaming, fully moddable etc etc. Even withoute multiplayer it is a lot better than diablo 3.
    BTW, wait untill T2 emerges from the embers, fully moddable and multiplayer. Can the fans create a new CS in the fantasy rpg ganre. Maby who knows what will happen, at least you wont be dissapointed.
  79. May 24, 2012
    10
    I'm not a fan of the art direction, it looks way too cartoony and it's basically a style-copy of WoW. However, the gameplay is everything that Diablo 3 should have been. Offline singleplayer (granted no multiplayer, but that's what Torchlight 2 is bringing), no LAG, and you're actually able to customize your character with attribute points and a skill tree (which is sorely lacking in D3).
  80. May 17, 2012
    7
    Pretty fun game. I got it because I pre-ordered the sequel, and I'm enjoying it very much. The vanilla game does have a few things that annoy me, such as not being able to rebind keys and an awkward UI. Very moddable, though, which is a plus. All around a fun game, but the sequel is looking to be much, much, much better.
  81. May 18, 2012
    8
    Just a SOLID game, and worth the $15 or $20 no question. In Diablo 3, it would be good at $10 but horrible at $60. Now, if Torchlight was $60 maybe I would only give it a 7, but at this price point it's a great purchase. short quests, usually, and fun to play. Lucky me, I never played Diablo or Diablo 2, so it makes it more fun. I've played GW and Skyrim, but this game is different. clean, smooth, and you will get your money's worth Expand
  82. May 20, 2012
    10
    I cant believe people are calling this a Diablo clone, or saying it "stole" things from Diablo.
    Wake up, be informed. This is made by the ORIGINAL CREATORS of Diablo after Blizzard North was shut down. T_T
  83. May 21, 2012
    8
    I had never bothered much with ARPG genre apart from bastion and a brief rampage through Titan Quest with my friends in which we some how managed to screw up the entire questing system. How ever all the excitement for Diablo 3 was infectious so i wanted to try it again but singleplayer TQ is boring and having pre-ordered Guild Wars 2 I didn't want to spent another £50. So I tryed the demo for torchlight, and instantly preordered Tl2 once I finished. With that came the original and it is amazing. Tons of loot and the levels change scenary just as you are starting to get tired of them so it has great pacing. The combat is also extremely satisfying and has excellent blood splatters. It is also very addicting in the same way wow is, you constantly want better loot and to level up. And don't listen to the crap about how budget games are short, I tend to have the most fun with indie games and I have sunk 11hrs into the game, and I am on floor 22 and I don't know how many floors there are but there is an achievement for getting to floor 50. The reasons it doesn't get 10 is primarily the difficulty. There first few level can be played one handed and after that it does require some concentration but as long as u keep chugging healing potions which the game gives you plenty of will ensure you won't die. Though I am only playing on hard so the higher difficulty might improve this. Also it is such a rich and vibrant gameworld and as a lore addict I would have appreciated some more backround like what is ember used for? And what is happening outside of Torchlight. A bit more of a story than "Bad stuff is happening, lets go into this dungeon and keep on going deeper till we find it" would have been nice. Oh and multiplayer. but TL2 looks like all of this will be fixed, well I don't know about the story and the lore but one can hope. And there will be more hubs than the single one in the original which is also nice. Expand
  84. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Torchlight is a nice combination of a dungeon crawler mixed with the Diablo franchise. Unfortunately, just like the Diablo franchise, the game gets old very quickly. You'll see everything there is to see within an hour of two of playing the game.
  85. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Very fun game, this is what i've been missing lately. I can't wait for the sequel. For the ones that say it's too much like Diablo do some research, 2 of the 3 Diablo creators are at Runic games so yes it's meant to be like that.
  86. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    After wasting time and money on D3 I've gone back to playing the original Torchlight while I wait for Torchlight 2. I've realized that even the original Torchlight is a better game than D3. You actually get drops that your improve your character. When you break things and open chests you actually get gold and items. Imagine that.
  87. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This is the game that Diablo 3 wishes it was. this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement
  88. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    Tedious and boring. Another lootfest game that needs no skill to play. It just boils down to a point and click game Hardest difficulty, all you need to do is move around and click what you want to loot, as your pet has one shotted most NPCs before they are even on the screen.

    Hardest difficulty should be hard as hell, and not designed for some console kiddie.
  89. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    This is a great aRPG for the price, which now is FREE w/ the $19.99 pre-order of Torchlight II on Steam. TL is highly moddable in every aspect and this adds to the re-playability and longevity of the game. The combat is smooth, the drops are frequent and the pets add a nice dimension to the game-play. Even though the game is lacking a couple of key features like co-op and pvp play it is still worth playing...and w/ TL2 these features will be included. You can't go wrong w/ Torchlight. Expand
  90. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    It was pretty fun. some of the AI lacked I. I played it for about 25 hours and had a good time. One lack was a coop. However, I did enjoy the mindless hack and slash as well as the beautifully drawn worlds.
  91. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    A Diablo-like from some of the original creators of Diablo and Diablo II. This game from a team of action-RPG veterans and it shows. The combat is fast-paced and visceral and the randomisation plus modability means there is always something to do.
  92. Sep 24, 2012
    6
    Torchlight was again that i played 3 times each with each character on a different difficulty level. First of all although it is clear that this is a diablo clone, it can hold its own against most dungeon crawlers. The skill trees and the plethora of the items was amazing! On the other hand i found a lot of disadvantages of the game. First of all the quests get really repetitive and i mean a lot. Furthermore, there is no real main quest with any twists or turns. The graphics were a bit cartoony for my taste too, although the music wasn't so bad. The gameplay was very simple point n click and it featured little dialogue. I also felt that the environments and enemies were quite repetitive and that the absence of epic one of a kind loot was there. Finally i found it very easy to play even on hard with the warrior character. They also could have made some more characters... Generally though, this is one of those games that you don't play for the intriguing quest but to waste time Expand
  93. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Torchlight was actually a surprise to me. I'd only ever heard about it a couple times, and the reviews were mixed. But one day, it was on sale on Steam, and I took a chance with it. My first complaint was evident immediately, specifically not being able to customize my character's appearance. See, when I play any RPG, I like to actually create a character, rather than choose a preset and just train him. But once I started playing, I started really getting into it, specifically as the Alchemist, as the spells were an absolute blast to use. I didn't really play as the other two classes though, but I had no real desire to. Yes, the gameplay does boil down to left click on enemies, right click to use an assigned spell/ability, and the number keys to use other assigned spells/ abilities or potions. Simple? Yes. Fun? Yes. Easy? Not as much as you'd think. I've died plenty of times because I was hit by a horde of enemies all at once. The story is pretty straightforward, evil guy causing problems, you must kill said evil guy to restore peace. Over-used? A bit. But the dungeon designs are creative, expansive, and a tad bit confusing, which adds to the fun. The loot drops are fun, too, and the mini-boss enemies are a nice touch. All in all, an entertaining game. I just wish it had online multiplayer. Expand
  94. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Decent game,on average.At first it is stunning.It has the feel and touch of a perfect fantasy game.After the user goes in the dungeon and descend further,he will discover that the game lacks variety.The quests are identical in all good sense.And how long does it take Syl to cure the player of corruption?And then she gets kidnapped.Then bam!at around level 30,the player fights the final boss and goes into an infinite randomly generated dungeon.Seems like the developers ran out of ideas almost halfway through the game.Now for the good.Nice music!Also the death penalty is balanced.Difficulty level is a bit low,but to compensate there are other penalties,like enchantment(unless you get a mod). Expand
  95. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    A game I really enjoyed, It has a lot of problems when it was release, but with the Mod community you can add it at less 10 hours more. I really think that this was a beta test for Torchlight 2( of course Runic are just 30 and they are a small company with no money when they did TL1) any way it was super fun
  96. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Very good game, well designed skill-trees. You get what you pay :) If you want a game to spend hours with fun. Play this game and support Runic Games.
  97. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Usually i like to play melee and Torchlight has satisfied my desire to smash everything with a sword and shield. Nice graphics and companion, that fight at your side and can be send to the city for selling your loot, is a brilliant idea.
  98. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This is the first dungeon crawler I have ever played. Definitely am in love with it. I think this game has made me into a dungeon crawler fanatic, in fact! It adheres to my OCD play style where I always have to check something and make sure I did it right. And it rewards me for it.
  99. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Highly addictive, straightforward game (just like Diablo).
    Cannot write a long review...
    Have to go kill some more monsters...
    Just a dozen more...
    I promise...
  100. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    A Diablo clone, but much less linear. Unfortunately, there are so many sidepaths that I felt I had to take in this game that I eventually leveled my character higher than the normal campaign's monsters, such that I trivialized the content for myself. The game is just like Diablo 1 but with Diablo 3 graphics.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 90
    With phenomenal music and great art direction, combined with an addictive combat system, it's hard to step away from the keyboard and mouse after the first floor.
  2. Runic hasn't dumbed down the experience, they've removed the fluff and distilled it down to the truly fun parts. Add in a few innovations and what you've got is Torchlight; a game that raises the expectations for dungeon-crawling action RPGs by being not just fine-tuned but affordable as well.
  3. The core of the game is its combat and character progression, and both of those are outstanding. Torchlight might not be breaking any new ground, but the soul of Diablo hasn't been so ably captured in years. You won't find much that approaches Torchlight's worth at its $20 price point.