User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 806 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 806
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeanB.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    If you want a game to spend hours with fun. Play this game. We can feel the Diablo brothers in it.
  2. Adam
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    My friend peak my interest into this game. So I got it and gave it ago. Surprisingly I have really enjoy it so far. Feels like playing an updated Diablo game. If you enjoy a good dungeon crawler/hack and slash game this is something to not pass up. For its price its very much worth it.
  3. SimonL.
    Jan 29, 2010
    9
    When I first started this game and I saw the inventory and all the resemblance to the "Diablo" franchise, I said to myself: "Let's play some Dia.. I mean Torchlight". The games are practivally identical. The game is quite long. As in Diablo 1, your walking down stairs. There are 35 floors and it takes around 20 minutes to complete one floor since the random level design. The gameplay When I first started this game and I saw the inventory and all the resemblance to the "Diablo" franchise, I said to myself: "Let's play some Dia.. I mean Torchlight". The games are practivally identical. The game is quite long. As in Diablo 1, your walking down stairs. There are 35 floors and it takes around 20 minutes to complete one floor since the random level design. The gameplay is fantastic. It's practicly the same as in Diablo and Diablo 2 but with some additions like the spellbar and just walking over coins to pick it up.(Note both of these features were announced for Diablo 3) The storyline is not close as good as in Diablo. No wonder though. This game is named Torchlight, but as much resemblance it has with the Diablo franchise, it would have made a great name as "Diablo 2.5". Expand
  4. Bunkai
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    It'd be a 10 if there were a multiplayer option... at least for LAN play. I don't require a battle.net type of multiplayer. I'm much easier to please than that. Great game, Runic! Bring on the MMO version!
  5. OveM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing! Tons of items to find and use, tons of quests and tons of dungeons to explore! It plays the same as the first Diablo. One town and a dungeon beneath the town to explore. The skill system is also very cool. You choose between three tabs with lots of skills in each. There are also 3 classes. This is a must for hacknslash fans!
  6. Ribblet
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    The game play is excellent. Even the music mimics that of Diablo, but with better graphics. I love dungeon crawling, so this is perfect. Would have scored a 10 if it had multi-player. Great game for the price. I would recommend it to anybody that likes Diablo.
  7. JackG.
    Jan 30, 2010
    8
    Great fun, wasted many hours playing this game. Graphics are nice and colourfull never without something interesting to look at on this game. Great value for money here! :D
  8. CharlieP
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    It's the WOW version of Diablo. Graphics are great. Gameplay is very entertaining. No video sequence or multiplayer but read the multiplayer may come later. If your a fan of Diablo and rpg games of that sort, it will be the best $20 you have spent for a game. They also offer a very nice demo should you want to try it before buying.
  9. funkymonkey
    Jan 8, 2010
    8
    one of the biggest clones of diablo, nice touch on the endless idea but the quests are so repetitive! its always kill this, find this, clear this. but altogether, its a great game.
  10. RT
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Very good game. Gameplay is very good. I'd highly recommend this game to anyone who wants a dungeon crawler game while waiting for D3 to come out.
  11. MattN.
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Great game, would of been better if it had multiplayer of some sort.
  12. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    For the price you are getting a great game that will make you wish Blizzard would at least announce when Diablo 3 is coming out, but... at the same time it shows a lot of promise and maybe the people behind this game can come up with a really good sequel.
  13. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    I got this game for five dollars and for that amount you can't lose. Torchlight has pleasant cartoon graphics that give the game a magical fun atmosphere and has excellent sound and music to match. The music is extremely similar to the music found in Diablo 1 and 2 but no complains there. There are many other elements that are extremely similar to the Diablo series, the gem crafting systemI got this game for five dollars and for that amount you can't lose. Torchlight has pleasant cartoon graphics that give the game a magical fun atmosphere and has excellent sound and music to match. The music is extremely similar to the music found in Diablo 1 and 2 but no complains there. There are many other elements that are extremely similar to the Diablo series, the gem crafting system works almost exactly the same but I think they went a little overboard with it as there are I believe seven levels of gem qualities and it can take ages finding the one gem you are missing in order to finish "transmuting" them altogether to get the final product. The prices in the game are a little wonky and gold can be hard to come by. A weapon that you paid 5000 gold for will normally sell back to the vendor for 50-100 gold. This can lead to one broke ass hero through the early stages of the game. I liked the fact that the game has unique animations for many of the weapons (with enchantment glows) and armor in the game, and they did a good job with the animations too. I find it highly amusing that a $5 little indie-esque game like this has better armor animations than the hugely grossing World of Warcraft. My ultimate gripe with the game is that sometimes dungeons will repeat. You'll be in a dungeon with a sense of deja-vu about the layout and once you figure out a stairway, door, exit is in the exact same place you will know that your assumption was well founded. It takes about 10-12 hours to get a character to level 35-40 and beat the main storyline of the game, but again for $5 I highly recommend this game. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very well rounded up monsterbashing and dungeon delving game. It is quick and nonstop action for one, but the foundation and focus is on character improvement. Which is dominated by loot and gear and pure collecting galore for the perfectionists, where each item is potentially better than the last. This is driven by a random system, looting and enchanting and everything to make the best out of your stuff. Retire your character and pass any one item to a descendant, it acts as a legendary and better version endlessly. The game may be tiny ,but this makes even repeating rewarding. Very nicely shaped game overall. Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    This is a solid game. If you are looking for a new and game changing RPG than this is not the game for you. If you are looking for a firmly detailed and complete RPG to fill the gap in your RPG gaming time this is the perfect game for you. There is nothing new that they do, but everything you've come to expect in a solid RPG is here. The positives: the games saves everything exactly as itThis is a solid game. If you are looking for a new and game changing RPG than this is not the game for you. If you are looking for a firmly detailed and complete RPG to fill the gap in your RPG gaming time this is the perfect game for you. There is nothing new that they do, but everything you've come to expect in a solid RPG is here. The positives: the games saves everything exactly as it is, you leave a town portal up it is still there later, and other such examples. The downside: lack of quests, they exist but are few and far between. The good thing is that the developers encourage mods. So if you feel that they are lacking in the quests mod some more. All in all, nothing new, but everything old has been perfected. Expand
  16. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome. I'm an avid isometric dungeon crawler fan, and Torchlight has been one of the most satisfying games in years. The combat mechanics and animations are highly entertaining and addictive. I get the impression that the FATE series (decent, not spectacular) was a warm-up for this company. Torchlight is the finished product. The art is good, the combat is spectacular,This game is awesome. I'm an avid isometric dungeon crawler fan, and Torchlight has been one of the most satisfying games in years. The combat mechanics and animations are highly entertaining and addictive. I get the impression that the FATE series (decent, not spectacular) was a warm-up for this company. Torchlight is the finished product. The art is good, the combat is spectacular, and I can't count the number of times I told myself "just ONE more floor..." This game would tempt me at $20-30. For the piddly amount stores (and my lord, STEAM) is asking for it, you have no excuse not to buy this game if you are serious enough to be reading this review. Doooo eeeet. Expand
  17. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    Superb game. I'd give it a 10 except that it doesn't have multiplayer and it had a few balancing issues at higher levels sometimes. Other than that, you can't beat the price. Looking forward to Torchlight 2. :)
  18. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    You can see the subtle signs this game shows in reference to other compelling hack and slash games. However, this game offers what all other similar games don't. A level editor in which you can decide what your journey will be.
  19. Jul 28, 2012
    8
    Torchlight is a simple RPG Adventure game made by Runic Games. It features similarities to World of Warcraft but brings in a whole new level of adventure. If you are a fan of dungeon crawlers, this game will be in for your interest, although it lacks the multiplayer for a game that feels like it should have such a feature, the other features such as Replay Value, class customization, etcTorchlight is a simple RPG Adventure game made by Runic Games. It features similarities to World of Warcraft but brings in a whole new level of adventure. If you are a fan of dungeon crawlers, this game will be in for your interest, although it lacks the multiplayer for a game that feels like it should have such a feature, the other features such as Replay Value, class customization, etc within the game make up for it. Get this on steam and prepare yourself for Torchlight 2 which will be available (or shall be available) on Steam! Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    I love this game, It beated Diablo3 in any way. This is one of the reasons why we should support smaller developers and start ignoring the giant ones who just make games because of profit not because they love making good games.
  21. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    I put about 15 hours into this game and for the most part found it very rewarding. For the price there is a lot of content and the looting is worth the effort. Clever ideas like having your pet go and sell your goods so you dont have to drop things all the time make for more fun, less bother. You can also take time out to go fishing, and then feed the fish to your pet turning it into aI put about 15 hours into this game and for the most part found it very rewarding. For the price there is a lot of content and the looting is worth the effort. Clever ideas like having your pet go and sell your goods so you dont have to drop things all the time make for more fun, less bother. You can also take time out to go fishing, and then feed the fish to your pet turning it into a more powerful creature. Things do get a little repetitive, but this format always will. Worth the coin Expand
  22. May 15, 2012
    9
    +Mods, +Fluid combat, +Cheap, +Three Classes each with three skill branches, +Pets, +Decent loot system, +Character to character item transfer. -No online play, -Dull environments, -Story is generic. If you liked Diablo, you will love this.
  23. May 15, 2012
    8
    If you loved Diablo and Diablo II, you will love Torchlight! Great graphics, great gameplay and lots of fun! Pets add an interesting dimension to gameplay as well. The story is sparse, but decent. Can't wait for Torchlight II!
  24. May 16, 2012
    9
    Torchlight is one of my favorite games. This is coming from someone who played Diablo, and Diablo 2 growing up. This game is made by people who know this genera really well because a lot of the guys from Runic Games came from Blizzard North. I'll start at the top of the list: graphics are sweet (I enjoy the art style); game play is smooth; the music is epic and really well done; and theTorchlight is one of my favorite games. This is coming from someone who played Diablo, and Diablo 2 growing up. This game is made by people who know this genera really well because a lot of the guys from Runic Games came from Blizzard North. I'll start at the top of the list: graphics are sweet (I enjoy the art style); game play is smooth; the music is epic and really well done; and the story is a good vs evil like any other game, but it works. Of course, the only downside, was no multiplayer. Torchlight 2 however, is my most anticipated game of this year, or even the past few years. Watch game play videos of that game and you'll understand. Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    This is a great aRPG for the price, which now is FREE w/ the $19.99 pre-order of Torchlight II on Steam. TL is highly moddable in every aspect and this adds to the re-playability and longevity of the game. The combat is smooth, the drops are frequent and the pets add a nice dimension to the game-play. Even though the game is lacking a couple of key features like co-op and pvp play it isThis is a great aRPG for the price, which now is FREE w/ the $19.99 pre-order of Torchlight II on Steam. TL is highly moddable in every aspect and this adds to the re-playability and longevity of the game. The combat is smooth, the drops are frequent and the pets add a nice dimension to the game-play. Even though the game is lacking a couple of key features like co-op and pvp play it is still worth playing...and w/ TL2 these features will be included. You can't go wrong w/ Torchlight. Expand
  26. TomerH
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Great game,anyone who loved Diablo series-this game is for him! Buy it now!
  27. David
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Finally a game that really feels as good as Diablo! The ambiance and soundtrack are also very refreshing! A very good game!
  28. JackG.
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Great fun, wasted many hours playing this game. Graphics are nice and colourfull never without something interesting to look at on this game. Great value for money here! :D
  29. Sep 30, 2010
    8
    really like this game which I'm sure everyone knows is sort of a Diablo knock off. That's not a drawback and at least 2 of the developers were key members of the original Diablo team. I don't play console and I have a mac so some of my choices are limited. This was a fantastic break from my usual MMO grind. Really nice game.
  30. May 18, 2011
    8
    Yes, it's a dungeon crawler "diablo" clone - but the thing is, Diablo is quite old by now, and there hasn't been many decent updates to the genre. Torchlight doesn't really do anything new, but that doesn't make it any less fun for a play through or two.
  31. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a blast that fills a serious void. If you love Diablo 2 you owe it to yourself to play this. My only complaint would be the lack of co-op. I've seen they are putting co-op in 2 so I'm extremely excited for that. Just hope they get it out before D3!
  32. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game does the hack n' slash genre to perfection.
    It is like a super-updated Diablo II, a thing the game creators don't deny, considering they also worked on DII.
    This is such a bargain at $15 now, that it makes me cry i wasted $60 on trash like Dragon Age II.
    Everyone should know about this game!!
  33. May 21, 2011
    8
    Torchlight is a solid game. It's an improved Fate, which was pretty good. It features nice cartoonish graphics and Diablo-esque mechanics, nothing new. It excels at gameplay, though. It's fast, violent and plain funny.
  34. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Addictive, easy to pick up and loads of fun to play. You can't really go wrong with that formula. Diablo clones are a dime a dozen but this is one of those clones that gets everything right. If you're not too concerned about a wafer thin storyline you're going to definitely enjoy your stay in Torchlight. There's also great replay value as you can try different character builds and collectAddictive, easy to pick up and loads of fun to play. You can't really go wrong with that formula. Diablo clones are a dime a dozen but this is one of those clones that gets everything right. If you're not too concerned about a wafer thin storyline you're going to definitely enjoy your stay in Torchlight. There's also great replay value as you can try different character builds and collect different sets of loot to swap about. One fault worth mentioning is that the load times can be surprisingly long at times and the abundance of enemies can be overwhelming to say the least, but it's really just nit-picking on an otherwise solid title. Expand
  35. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Diablo rip-off of the highest order, made by many of the same people who made Diablo itself. This was my favourite stress-relief device for over a year after release. It's only fallen out of favour recently because of a glitch: if you lose your portal into wherever you were in the infinitely deep dungeon (the Shadow Vault), you have to start it all over again, it seems (at which pointDiablo rip-off of the highest order, made by many of the same people who made Diablo itself. This was my favourite stress-relief device for over a year after release. It's only fallen out of favour recently because of a glitch: if you lose your portal into wherever you were in the infinitely deep dungeon (the Shadow Vault), you have to start it all over again, it seems (at which point you might as well make a new character...) Single player only; roll on Torchlight 2 (which will have more than 3 classes, and co-op!) Expand
  36. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This game is mostly excellent. It's not the reason why, but it explains it : the studio from which this game comes from (runic games) has been formed by Travis Baldree (creator of Fate), Max Schaefer and Erich Schaefer (co-founders of Blizzard North - who worked on the first Diablo).

    The reasons (yes there are many) why this game is really great are : Simple but efficient game design
    This game is mostly excellent. It's not the reason why, but it explains it : the studio from which this game comes from (runic games) has been formed by Travis Baldree (creator of Fate), Max Schaefer and Erich Schaefer (co-founders of Blizzard North - who worked on the first Diablo).

    The reasons (yes there are many) why this game is really great are :

    Simple but efficient game design (with the ability to use a "pet" to sell the loots without having your inventory always full of useless valuables) ; Cute and good looking SD character models and graphics ; A GREAT soundtrack which reminded me Diablo only few seconds after I started playing torchlight ; It has a very nice level editor ; Now, why nine and not ten ? Simply because there is no multiplayer capability yet (I've read somewhere it is planned for the sequel), and also because after a lot of time (but this game is so addictive that you easily spend a LOT of time on it) the randomized levels are a bit repetitive.
    Expand
  37. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This is a great game and I'm looking forward to playing Torchlight 2 when it comes out. If you like Diablo 2, you will love this game. Graphics are amazing and game is a lot of fun to play. I haven't purchased Diablo 3 yet and don't plan to unless they drop the price, but Torchlight 2 is definitely a game I will be purchasing at launch.
  38. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Very fun diablo clone. No story, all gameplay. There are lots of mods available adding even more classes or randomly generated dungeons in the game as well! 9/10
  39. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    Very good clone of Diablo 2 (minus network gameplay) with some improvement.
    No revolutionary idea, but no mistake either.
    The game is not that much difficult, and their is no end game (as in diablo).

    In sale, if you liked Diablo, it's a good bargain ... else it's up to you.
  40. May 5, 2012
    9
    Is it a Diablo clone? Yep! But so what? Diablo was one of the best games of all time - torchlight contains all of the epicness of d2 with a streamlined interface and more vivid graphics. For 15 bucks you really can't say no, you will have hours of fun figuring out how to turn yourself into an unstoppable train locomotive of gory death - and once you do, turning an entire room with 20Is it a Diablo clone? Yep! But so what? Diablo was one of the best games of all time - torchlight contains all of the epicness of d2 with a streamlined interface and more vivid graphics. For 15 bucks you really can't say no, you will have hours of fun figuring out how to turn yourself into an unstoppable train locomotive of gory death - and once you do, turning an entire room with 20 little guys and two big bosses into a bleeding pile of corpses in seven short seconds of screen shaking and big numbers gives you the spectacle that defines the action rpg genre. No running around forests gathering plants, you run dungeons and slaughter evil for your gear! It doesn't get a solid 10/10 because during the main questline you have to go through five-dungeon level jaunts of samey-looking environments and that gets old. In addition, there is so much white trash loot that it becomes cumbersome to pick through (since you can't just pick it all up and deal with it later because your inventory is small) in the middle of a dungeon, and that takes away from the flow of the game. Torchlight is a tribute to the genre of action RPGs - but if you have never played an action RPG before, do yourself a favor and play Diablo first. Expand
  41. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Very SMALL length game originally, but the gameplay is AWESOME, just like Diablo. I love this game no matter what. The graphics are not super, but not bad, like it's special style of Texture! Feels like Warcraft'ish.. I kinda like that! Misses Online Play, but that is coming with Torchlight II, what makes this game unique, is the Modding. Like Seriously.. The game can get 6 times biggerVery SMALL length game originally, but the gameplay is AWESOME, just like Diablo. I love this game no matter what. The graphics are not super, but not bad, like it's special style of Texture! Feels like Warcraft'ish.. I kinda like that! Misses Online Play, but that is coming with Torchlight II, what makes this game unique, is the Modding. Like Seriously.. The game can get 6 times bigger than Diablo II: Lord of Destruction with the modding. It's not as good though... But a very good RPG! I would put it second on the list. Definately worth 19,99$ ! Hope TOrchlight II will have more ACTs and zone types! Expand
  42. May 15, 2012
    10
    Torchlight is a superb game for anyone that is a fan of the dungeon crawling genre. Torchlight is by no means a "Diablo Clone", in fact, I would propose that is instead "Diablo Evolved." Added features in Torchlight such as the pet system and robust modding tools truly distinguish the game as an entirely different beast. The modding community for Torchlight is phenomenal; a testament toTorchlight is a superb game for anyone that is a fan of the dungeon crawling genre. Torchlight is by no means a "Diablo Clone", in fact, I would propose that is instead "Diablo Evolved." Added features in Torchlight such as the pet system and robust modding tools truly distinguish the game as an entirely different beast. The modding community for Torchlight is phenomenal; a testament to this is the community developed modding interface RGFHotSpot. This simple program presents you with a list of mods in database, and upon installing multiple mods, the tool can then be used to check for conflicting code that would prevent the game from running properly while running certain mods together.

    With Torchlight now being a gifted bonus for pre-ordering Torchlight 2 on steam, there is absolutely no reason to pass up playing this awesome game.

    Tell all your friends, "Torchlight isn't a clone, it's Diablo Evolved!"
    Expand
  43. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Can't wait for Torchlight 2. It's a shame Torchlight 2's release date says September 30th! I can't wait that long! Especially since Diablo 3 is terrible, we need an amazing RPG already!
  44. May 24, 2012
    10
    I'm not a fan of the art direction, it looks way too cartoony and it's basically a style-copy of WoW. However, the gameplay is everything that Diablo 3 should have been. Offline singleplayer (granted no multiplayer, but that's what Torchlight 2 is bringing), no LAG, and you're actually able to customize your character with attribute points and a skill tree (which is sorely lacking in D3).
  45. May 18, 2012
    8
    Just a SOLID game, and worth the $15 or $20 no question. In Diablo 3, it would be good at $10 but horrible at $60. Now, if Torchlight was $60 maybe I would only give it a 7, but at this price point it's a great purchase. short quests, usually, and fun to play. Lucky me, I never played Diablo or Diablo 2, so it makes it more fun. I've played GW and Skyrim, but this game is different.Just a SOLID game, and worth the $15 or $20 no question. In Diablo 3, it would be good at $10 but horrible at $60. Now, if Torchlight was $60 maybe I would only give it a 7, but at this price point it's a great purchase. short quests, usually, and fun to play. Lucky me, I never played Diablo or Diablo 2, so it makes it more fun. I've played GW and Skyrim, but this game is different. clean, smooth, and you will get your money's worth Expand
  46. May 20, 2012
    10
    I cant believe people are calling this a Diablo clone, or saying it "stole" things from Diablo.
    Wake up, be informed. This is made by the ORIGINAL CREATORS of Diablo after Blizzard North was shut down. T_T
  47. May 21, 2012
    8
    I had never bothered much with ARPG genre apart from bastion and a brief rampage through Titan Quest with my friends in which we some how managed to screw up the entire questing system. How ever all the excitement for Diablo 3 was infectious so i wanted to try it again but singleplayer TQ is boring and having pre-ordered Guild Wars 2 I didn't want to spent another £50. So II had never bothered much with ARPG genre apart from bastion and a brief rampage through Titan Quest with my friends in which we some how managed to screw up the entire questing system. How ever all the excitement for Diablo 3 was infectious so i wanted to try it again but singleplayer TQ is boring and having pre-ordered Guild Wars 2 I didn't want to spent another £50. So I tryed the demo for torchlight, and instantly preordered Tl2 once I finished. With that came the original and it is amazing. Tons of loot and the levels change scenary just as you are starting to get tired of them so it has great pacing. The combat is also extremely satisfying and has excellent blood splatters. It is also very addicting in the same way wow is, you constantly want better loot and to level up. And don't listen to the crap about how budget games are short, I tend to have the most fun with indie games and I have sunk 11hrs into the game, and I am on floor 22 and I don't know how many floors there are but there is an achievement for getting to floor 50. The reasons it doesn't get 10 is primarily the difficulty. There first few level can be played one handed and after that it does require some concentration but as long as u keep chugging healing potions which the game gives you plenty of will ensure you won't die. Though I am only playing on hard so the higher difficulty might improve this. Also it is such a rich and vibrant gameworld and as a lore addict I would have appreciated some more backround like what is ember used for? And what is happening outside of Torchlight. A bit more of a story than "Bad stuff is happening, lets go into this dungeon and keep on going deeper till we find it" would have been nice. Oh and multiplayer. but TL2 looks like all of this will be fixed, well I don't know about the story and the lore but one can hope. And there will be more hubs than the single one in the original which is also nice. Expand
  48. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Very fun game, this is what i've been missing lately. I can't wait for the sequel. For the ones that say it's too much like Diablo do some research, 2 of the 3 Diablo creators are at Runic games so yes it's meant to be like that.
  49. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    After wasting time and money on D3 I've gone back to playing the original Torchlight while I wait for Torchlight 2. I've realized that even the original Torchlight is a better game than D3. You actually get drops that your improve your character. When you break things and open chests you actually get gold and items. Imagine that.
  50. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    This is the game that Diablo 3 wishes it was. this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement this is just to meet the character requirement
  51. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Game Play[9]
    Controls[9]
    Contactable/Easter Eggs[6]
    Innovation[6]
    Graphics[7]
    Sounds[5]
    replay Value[7]
    Gaming Satisfaction[8]
    Price/Playtime[10]
    Technical Issues[10]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All[7.7]
  52. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    I have completely fallen in love with this game. It is brilliant, very cute with outstanding gameplay. Good interfaces and easy to just pick up and play. There has been some criticism that the game does not feature co-op or multiplayer, however in this day and age where EVERYTHING has co-op and multiplayer I found it a refreshing change to have a game I can just sit and play all on myI have completely fallen in love with this game. It is brilliant, very cute with outstanding gameplay. Good interfaces and easy to just pick up and play. There has been some criticism that the game does not feature co-op or multiplayer, however in this day and age where EVERYTHING has co-op and multiplayer I found it a refreshing change to have a game I can just sit and play all on my own in peace. The treasure hunting and fishing aspects of the game keep it fresh as do the maps that lead to hidden bonus dungeons. I am still hunting for some very specific items to get full sets of the epic type suits with awesome bonuses. All in all this game has mass appeal, yes it is not original but damn it is fun, very pretty to look at and superb to play. Highly recommended and I am looking forward to the forthcoming release of Torchlight 2. Expand
  53. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Totally consuming and fun. $15 on STEAM! Unbelievable value for so great of a game. Anxiously awaiting Torchlight 2 very soon with Co-op play!
  54. May 13, 2012
    9
    A few of the more negative reviews criticise the game for being a Diablo clone, clearly these people don't know the game was created by the co-designers of Diablo 1&2! It's certainly a more casual approach than Diablo, but that doesn't stop it being an extremely fun game to play, the 3 classes are distinctly different and all a joy to control. Combat feels very impacting, and the there'sA few of the more negative reviews criticise the game for being a Diablo clone, clearly these people don't know the game was created by the co-designers of Diablo 1&2! It's certainly a more casual approach than Diablo, but that doesn't stop it being an extremely fun game to play, the 3 classes are distinctly different and all a joy to control. Combat feels very impacting, and the there's a perfect balance between fun and difficulty, though like most ARPG's it can be a bit samey, but hey that comes with the genre. The story is a bit meh and never really grips you but that doesn't matter, you won't be paying much attention to it anyway. Anyway if you like ARPG's you owe it to yourself to play it, it's a hoot. Expand
  55. May 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this instead of diablo 3.
    More fresh feeling ideas, more fun gaming, fully moddable etc etc. Even withoute multiplayer it is a lot better than diablo 3.
    BTW, wait untill T2 emerges from the embers, fully moddable and multiplayer. Can the fans create a new CS in the fantasy rpg ganre. Maby who knows what will happen, at least you wont be dissapointed.
  56. CameronB
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    To all the people hating because it's somewhat simple, that's the whole point. Go into a dungeon, kill lots of mobs, collect new armor and weapons, rinse and repeat. Torchlight does it amazingly, the graphics look like Team Fortress 2 met Diablo 2, and the lack of multiplayer is a small misstep, but considering I hated Diablo 2 single player and love this, you owe it to yourself To all the people hating because it's somewhat simple, that's the whole point. Go into a dungeon, kill lots of mobs, collect new armor and weapons, rinse and repeat. Torchlight does it amazingly, the graphics look like Team Fortress 2 met Diablo 2, and the lack of multiplayer is a small misstep, but considering I hated Diablo 2 single player and love this, you owe it to yourself to buy this game if you are even glancing at this review. Expand
  57. Macca
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Torchlight is firstly, a great game if you fancy something to pick up and play for an hour or two and feel a sense of doing something worthwile. Sure, it can be somewhat repetitive in its dungeon crawling ways, but it's pace makes up for that. As for having no multiplayer as some reviewers have stated, well, we all know this, but one thing to remember is that the developers are in Torchlight is firstly, a great game if you fancy something to pick up and play for an hour or two and feel a sense of doing something worthwile. Sure, it can be somewhat repetitive in its dungeon crawling ways, but it's pace makes up for that. As for having no multiplayer as some reviewers have stated, well, we all know this, but one thing to remember is that the developers are in the midst of making this title into an MMO, which could end up being a very nice game if it manages to do it before Diablo 3 is released - or after. I feel if they attempt it whilst D3 is out there, they may end up failing to bring the game to the market it deserves. If you are a fan of hack'n'slash, then you have to buy this game, if not, give it a go anyway, it's very user friendly and has a very intuative user interface with an easy learning curve. The only other suggestion I would say is don't play it on anything less than the Hard setting as normal and easy are ridiculously easy with no challenge whatsoever - at any stage of the game. Expand
  58. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    I see a mix of reviews but the trend is either you love the game or you hate it. I find those who rate the game a 1 or 2 either pissed off because they died too much or perhaps sodomizing themselves with a retractable baton because they blew their life savings on another dungeon crawler. Again, I've personally played almost every dungeon crawler out there and here's a secret ( they'reI see a mix of reviews but the trend is either you love the game or you hate it. I find those who rate the game a 1 or 2 either pissed off because they died too much or perhaps sodomizing themselves with a retractable baton because they blew their life savings on another dungeon crawler. Again, I've personally played almost every dungeon crawler out there and here's a secret ( they're all button mashing, mouse clicking adventures ). Although the concepts behind the game are not original (primarily absorbed from DII and Fate) there was still a lot of work and creativity that went into designing this game at a movie ticket price. So for those trolls out there who are score raping this game, you should reconsider based on the definition of a dungeon crawler. Expand
  59. May 16, 2012
    9
    Awesome game, after all the Diablo 3 hooplah this week I had to come leave a review for Torchlight. It really is a fun, awesome game that you can pop in and out of. And you can't beat the price! Also, it's on steam so no on-line required DRM B.S. Can't wait for Torchlight 2!!
  60. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    If Blizzard didn't have to break a pc sales record every game they make, this would pretty much be Diablo 3. Don't get me wrong, this is actually Fate with some extra Diablo thrown in (music made by the same composer as Diablo 2 and such). But that doesn't mean its bad. The gameplay works fine if you're not trying to have a bunch of minions on the screen, as pathfinding took a hitIf Blizzard didn't have to break a pc sales record every game they make, this would pretty much be Diablo 3. Don't get me wrong, this is actually Fate with some extra Diablo thrown in (music made by the same composer as Diablo 2 and such). But that doesn't mean its bad. The gameplay works fine if you're not trying to have a bunch of minions on the screen, as pathfinding took a hit somewhere in development. Otherwise its just a new Diablo 2, and you know the drill for that - click monsters dead, get loot, repeat. However, if you've played video games before, start on "Hard" since "Normal" is actually the "Very Easy" setting. Expand
  61. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Hah! Again ones of my favorite games. ;)
    This is the best Hack'n Slash after Diablo games ever. Great gameplay, nice graphics and good but just good maps. Biggest minus in this game is just 3 heroes..... This is enough.
    I can't played this game more them 10 hours in week because this become boring.
    I advice Torchlight Diablo II fans and people who likes Hack'n Slash games. My rate is 8.3/10
  62. May 11, 2012
    8
    Is this game perfect? No. It's a bit repetitive, unbalanced in moves (some awesome, others useless) and combat (most levels easy, last few very hard), very little actual story/ dialogue and no multiplayer. That said this game is amazingly cheap for the gameplay and length. The graphics while bright and colorful are well done, the effects are nice and the sound is awesome. The good movesIs this game perfect? No. It's a bit repetitive, unbalanced in moves (some awesome, others useless) and combat (most levels easy, last few very hard), very little actual story/ dialogue and no multiplayer. That said this game is amazingly cheap for the gameplay and length. The graphics while bright and colorful are well done, the effects are nice and the sound is awesome. The good moves are very satisfying and there is TONS of loot. Definitely recommend. Expand
  63. JesseS
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game! The art is crisp, clean and beautifully rendered and will keep you mesmerized as you adventure throughout the levels. The levels are short enough to keep it casual, but the game play is fast paced, and fun enough, that you wont want to stop.
  64. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Such a simple game yet so charming, addicting, and entertaining. This is what all games should be: easy to pick up and enjoyable for a 10 minute session or a 4 hour marathon. And at its price, it's one of the best values around. It easily beats every other Diablo clone, and only Torthlight II or Diablo III will be able to trump it. So for what it is I give it a 10, despite it being fairlySuch a simple game yet so charming, addicting, and entertaining. This is what all games should be: easy to pick up and enjoyable for a 10 minute session or a 4 hour marathon. And at its price, it's one of the best values around. It easily beats every other Diablo clone, and only Torthlight II or Diablo III will be able to trump it. So for what it is I give it a 10, despite it being fairly short on content. Expand
  65. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    It's a Dibalo clone, sure - but Torchlight is one of the best dungeon-crawler Action RPG's I've played in years. Clean, simple interface, and a slick visual style made this one of the most visually pleasing games of 2009. There's some great features, such as loading up your pet with items and sending him to town to sell them, that really add to the experience. As with most games in theIt's a Dibalo clone, sure - but Torchlight is one of the best dungeon-crawler Action RPG's I've played in years. Clean, simple interface, and a slick visual style made this one of the most visually pleasing games of 2009. There's some great features, such as loading up your pet with items and sending him to town to sell them, that really add to the experience. As with most games in the genre, it can turn into a bit of a grind-fest at times, but the huge amount of variety between the different skills (and classes, for that matter) makes it totally worth it. I can't wait for Torchlight 2. Expand
  66. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Don't expect brilliance or endless replayability. This is something to tide you over until D3 releases. It's clear that this isn't as balanced as Diablo games - on normal, it's too easy, making it a boring grind after the first playthrough. On harder levels, it can be simply too difficult for some builds to complete the game. Also, some game mechanics are clearly broken, with some skillsDon't expect brilliance or endless replayability. This is something to tide you over until D3 releases. It's clear that this isn't as balanced as Diablo games - on normal, it's too easy, making it a boring grind after the first playthrough. On harder levels, it can be simply too difficult for some builds to complete the game. Also, some game mechanics are clearly broken, with some skills (like Vanquisher's Explosive Shot) completely overpowered, and other skills underpowered.

    All of that said, I got it for $15 and had tons of fun playing it through the first time. Totally worth the price at that level.
    Expand
  67. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Nice visual style, features, gameplay. Somewhat repetitive maybe, but so is every hack-and-slash game ever released. Modest price and less idiotic DRM than the one used in upcoming Diablo III make this game a sight for sore eyes when it comes to looking for some good-old hack-em-up action!
  68. May 22, 2012
    10
    A perfect game for a low price, and loads of hours of gameplay. Torchlight 2 is going to amazing also. Love these games. I really could care less about Diablo 3 after playing the Torchlight series
  69. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    A Diablo clone, but much less linear. Unfortunately, there are so many sidepaths that I felt I had to take in this game that I eventually leveled my character higher than the normal campaign's monsters, such that I trivialized the content for myself. The game is just like Diablo 1 but with Diablo 3 graphics.
  70. May 12, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  71. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/13/2012: Torchlight doesn't have multiplayer. That is a major shortcoming in this sort of game. That said, it's a damn good dungeon crawler. Coming from the developers behind the first two Diablos (and featuring music by the same composer, a man that will make you believe guitars can sound haunting and foreboding) it should come as no surprise that it does everything those games did and2/13/2012: Torchlight doesn't have multiplayer. That is a major shortcoming in this sort of game. That said, it's a damn good dungeon crawler. Coming from the developers behind the first two Diablos (and featuring music by the same composer, a man that will make you believe guitars can sound haunting and foreboding) it should come as no surprise that it does everything those games did and more, with various time-saving, anti-frustration features that serve to streamline the game experience and keep you in the fight. I played Torchlight for a lot longer then it took to simply beat the final boss, which should be testament to it's sheer addictiveness. However, an addictive game is not necessarily a fun one, and Torchlight will eventually wear out it's welcome in your library. It's worth its low price for what you get, but at this point you may be better off waiting for the multiplayer sequel or the eventual MMO. Expand
  72. MC
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Excellent hack and slash RPG - Great value for money..once you start playing, you'll want to come back for more...
  73. JohnnyW
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    I think this game is amazing. It is a dungeon crawler at the very finest. I finished the demo and will be buying it soon. There are three distinct classes and a plethora of items and loot to discover. The varying difficulty levels add a nice touch.
  74. AlbanN
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    Finally a game simple, addicted, worth the price, fast on any machine. What else do you want??? let's rock with it!!
  75. DaveL.
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best Action-RPGs I've played in a long-long-long time. It's fun and simple. It's extremely addictive too. I can't remember the last time I felt drawn to a game like this. The graphics are simple while being very vibrant. The only thing this game needs is a multi-player component. With some multi-player thrown in I'd give this a 10.
  76. JaredJ
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Sometimes I wish people like Anon T would do some research before bashing a game unjustly. Torchlight may seem like a "clone" and yet... how can you clone Diablo when you co-created it? That's right. This game was made by the co-creators of Diablo. I loved the music and the new art direction taken by the team. This game is well worth the 20$.
  77. MenanP
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    People who say this is just a rip off Diablo and Fate, yeah it is a rip but for good reasons, same developers and designers. They reworked the action-RPG genre and for $20 it's a steal, especially when it's on sale. Low requirements is a plus for those looking for the latest RPG but only have the hardware to play Diablo 2. Nice game with very little innovation though.
  78. johnccjohnc
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazingly fun game! It's like someone took Diablo, boiled it down to the best parts, and then added a bunch of wild stuff. When I found out I could be a rifle-toting wizard leading a group of imps, it was cool. When my pet dog started summoning zombies it was REALLY cool. Add a steam punk robot in there, too. And this is all before level 10! Can't wait to see what the developers Amazingly fun game! It's like someone took Diablo, boiled it down to the best parts, and then added a bunch of wild stuff. When I found out I could be a rifle-toting wizard leading a group of imps, it was cool. When my pet dog started summoning zombies it was REALLY cool. Add a steam punk robot in there, too. And this is all before level 10! Can't wait to see what the developers throw at me next. They also did an amazing job with the enemies. They've avoided the "parking lot full of critters to kill" feel of Diablo that was such a grind. Instead there are typically separate large rooms with bosses who send minions out before them. The fighting comes in intense waves, rather than boring, bug-stomping sameness. I think the reviewers aren't quite seeing the creative genius of this game. Yeah, it plays like a Diablo clone. But at the same time they've advanced genre. In fact I hope Blizzard takes a long look at Torchlight and learns a few things for Diablo III. Expand
  79. SeanB
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    Game is refined sugar, perfect for Diablo fixes!
  80. WilliamH
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Great prequel to Diablo III
  81. NickS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    The best dungeon crawler available so far. Very simple but plenty of complexity if you desire it. Difficulty modes definitely challenge a player and can keep the new players to the hardcore players happy. A ton of game for the price. With a good editor and great gameplay, this is a game thats hard to pass up.
  82. Harpy
    Dec 21, 2009
    8
    I never really got into the diabolo-style rpg, finding it a little dull and repetitive, particularly the constant back-tracking once the inventory fills. Thankfully, torchlight almost completely eliminates this problem, giving you instant access to merchants and storage from almost everywhere via inexpensive "town portal scrolls", which provide a two-way portal to town. It takes you to I never really got into the diabolo-style rpg, finding it a little dull and repetitive, particularly the constant back-tracking once the inventory fills. Thankfully, torchlight almost completely eliminates this problem, giving you instant access to merchants and storage from almost everywhere via inexpensive "town portal scrolls", which provide a two-way portal to town. It takes you to the exact point where you were in the dungeon. You can also send your companion pet to town to automatically sell some of your items, which is extremely convenient. But that's not all. The entire package is designed to eliminate the dull or confusing parts of diabolo-style rpgs. The controls are intuitive and the tool-tips are helpful (as are the loading screen tips). The effects of items, which are automatically adjusted to skill levels, are clearly displayed, and are even colour-coded to indicate the source of the effects. Even the characters move quickly, to minimise the boredom of backtracking, in the few cases where it's required. The only problem is that the gameplay is a little shallow and gets a little repetitive, but for $20, this game does a fine job keeping you entertained. Expand
  83. EvanC
    Dec 20, 2009
    8
    Date is 20 december 2009. I am a pretty hardcore gamer. This game is brilliant. The love and detail that has gone into is cool. Its hardly a revolution, but by stripping back everything and leaving it unclutter it just feels fun and above all cool. The combat looks incredibly bright and animated and at times you get drawn inot it a bit and can really feel every blow. It is of course only Date is 20 december 2009. I am a pretty hardcore gamer. This game is brilliant. The love and detail that has gone into is cool. Its hardly a revolution, but by stripping back everything and leaving it unclutter it just feels fun and above all cool. The combat looks incredibly bright and animated and at times you get drawn inot it a bit and can really feel every blow. It is of course only a dungeon crawling diablo clone we have become used to but everything in ti feels fresh and fun, i can't beleive i got it for only 7:50. Its somewhat tedious and repetitive, but you hardly notice it when your having so much fun tearing through enemies. So maybe not a gameplay revolution but everything is spot on if not particularly invoative or original. Hard to argue for the price their asking. If you like action-Rpgs, buy it. Expand
  84. Franc
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Torchlight is a stunningly addictive singler player Diablo clone. If you liked the original Diablo or simlilar hack'n'slay games - then you will LOVE Torchlight. Don't get me wrong, the game is far from perfect: no multiplayer, negligible storyline, the dungeons are "genereted" yet look and feel the same, the only real innovation is the updated pet - and yet the game Torchlight is a stunningly addictive singler player Diablo clone. If you liked the original Diablo or simlilar hack'n'slay games - then you will LOVE Torchlight. Don't get me wrong, the game is far from perfect: no multiplayer, negligible storyline, the dungeons are "genereted" yet look and feel the same, the only real innovation is the updated pet - and yet the game shines. It's fast, easy to get into, runs well on slower hardware and looks good on never, is very affordable and the best of it: it's FUN to play. What else do you expect from a game? A great play for casuals, or to feed your gaming needs after a long hard working day - and it deservers credit for doing this so well. Expand
  85. WimH
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    I first tried out the demo, which I played for an hour. I liked it a lot because its a great challenging game. It's been a while since I played my last RPG, but this game got me all interested again. The graphics look superb and the sounds are very realistic (as realistic as killing bad evil monsters could sound I think ;)). The game story is not that deep, but I dont care, I play I first tried out the demo, which I played for an hour. I liked it a lot because its a great challenging game. It's been a while since I played my last RPG, but this game got me all interested again. The graphics look superb and the sounds are very realistic (as realistic as killing bad evil monsters could sound I think ;)). The game story is not that deep, but I dont care, I play these games for the loot and the leveling. The VERY good price made me buy it right after I quit the demo. $20 is really a nice price which should be used more. Expand
  86. GuzM
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Torchwood is an excellent Diablo clone. The graphics are pretty and the gameplay is fun. The pet, which may act as amule, tank and trashloot vendor, is an innovative idea. The game is very affordable and seems to offer a lot of content, This also applies to the free demo, I've played it for a few hours (without getting to its end) before purchasing the game and it allows you get a Torchwood is an excellent Diablo clone. The graphics are pretty and the gameplay is fun. The pet, which may act as amule, tank and trashloot vendor, is an innovative idea. The game is very affordable and seems to offer a lot of content, This also applies to the free demo, I've played it for a few hours (without getting to its end) before purchasing the game and it allows you get a realistic impression about the game with no recognizable restrictions. Well done Runic! Expand
  87. PierricB
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Loved it. Followed Runic from back as flagship seattle working on mythos and I love their single player action rpg Torchlight!
  88. JasonW
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great game; a great addition to the dungeon crawler ARPG ranks.
  89. DonJuan
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Best $20 addiction going! If you at all like Diablo, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. Story is paper thin but the gameplay is solid and just all round fun.
  90. coltharsironfist
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Great game! A refresh into the genre and, great ideas, fun gameplay it´s all a player want from a simple game.
  91. RyanV
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This game is the best dungeon crawler out there right now. From creators of Fate, Diablo, Mythos, Hellgate: London, comes Torchlight. It's only single player right now, But with the Modding Tools being released soon, Its worth the wait on multiplayer.
  92. DorthL
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Best game I bought this year so far. Worth every cent of it twice.
  93. JoaoS
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Given the price point, and the ammount of fun it brings, you'd be hard pressed to have an AAA console game that brings you 3 times the fun this "little" game does.
  94. WilliamG
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Very fun. Easy to get into and have a blast.
  95. VascoR
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I'm rating this game for what it is. The game makes no pretenses of being more than a Diablo clone, but it's such a great one and a lot of fun. And when it comes to games for me, fun is the most important feature (not multiplayer, not a million different classes, etc, etc). If you even remotely like the genre, you need to get this game.
  96. ShaunChoo
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    This game is a-mazing! Runs on just about any hardware and is extremely good fun for all who love an old school dungeon crawler. Can't go too far wrong when several key players from Diablo are involved in creating Torchlight :)
  97. MichaelH
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this. Price, performance, action and adventure. The game is gorgeous on my Quad Core + GTX260 and on my little Netbook ( amd64 1.2ghz + ATI x1270 ). The editor is going to be available to extend the game. Best 20 bucks I've spent in ages.
  98. JeffH
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    Extremely solid ARPG and is great fun in a genre that lacks any decent games. The developers provide excellent support in the forums and are releasing extensive mod tools (all their dev tools) for the game. The only reason I can't give 10/10 is because it lacks multiplayer. BUT DON'T PASS THIS UP; the single player is amazingly well done and well worth it.
  99. JulienF
    Nov 7, 2009
    9
    Excellent Diablo 2.5 ! I'm Diablo's fan since the beginning, and all I can say is it's the best diablo-like ever ! I tried Loki, Silverfall, Titan quest, Hellgate london and all were just crap. Untill Torchlight.
  100. MarkoT
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    The best ARPG since the Diablo games. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer but it had to be done in order to ship the game now. MP is being worked on, in two years there will be a full blown MMO version of the game with more classes, more environments, more quests, similar gameplay but with expanded skill trees and so on. If you enjoy games like Diablo - you should love this. The best ARPG since the Diablo games. The only drawback is the lack of multiplayer but it had to be done in order to ship the game now. MP is being worked on, in two years there will be a full blown MMO version of the game with more classes, more environments, more quests, similar gameplay but with expanded skill trees and so on. If you enjoy games like Diablo - you should love this. It's adorable and the team behind it certainly knows what to do and how to accomplish it. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 90
    With phenomenal music and great art direction, combined with an addictive combat system, it's hard to step away from the keyboard and mouse after the first floor.
  2. Runic hasn't dumbed down the experience, they've removed the fluff and distilled it down to the truly fun parts. Add in a few innovations and what you've got is Torchlight; a game that raises the expectations for dungeon-crawling action RPGs by being not just fine-tuned but affordable as well.
  3. The core of the game is its combat and character progression, and both of those are outstanding. Torchlight might not be breaking any new ground, but the soul of Diablo hasn't been so ably captured in years. You won't find much that approaches Torchlight's worth at its $20 price point.